View Full Version : Mons?
Pages :
[
4]
MagicMon
18/06/2012, 5:10 PM
I haven't posted on here in a while and I'll probably not need the site much for the rest of the season :(
Leaving the league mid-season is probably better than struggling on until the end leaving wages unpaid and screwing over local businesses when we fold. How much did lesson and co owe to those caterers in Galway? Roddy can't be blamed, we probably would have gone sooner without promotion and he gave us great memories from last season. Financially, I doubt if many clubs could surivive with no sponsor, or could cope short-term with having two of their biggest gates being rescheduled to midweek. Our budget was the smallest of the premier teams, this was never fingal/shels/bohs type spending, it would have been very easy to break the bank to keep the Brennans etc.
But mainly I'm just feeling gutted. I can t be arsed to waste my afternoon listening to the fields of athenry as whelan misplaces another pass, while knowing that John Delaney is sitting there on his wages watching on. I doubt if I'll watch a live loi game again for a long time.
My sympathy to all those fans who have lost clubs because I finally know what it's like now, and I hope that no more clubs go because this feels really, really ****.
18/06/2012, 5:13 PM
http://www.fai.ie/domestic-a-grassroots/airtricity-league/news/102594.html
Update from the FAI.
Sligo not back in the cup. One team will recieve a bye.
Monaghan results, as expected, will be expunged.
18/06/2012, 5:14 PM
I know a lad who was a Kildare fan who then started following Monaghan, imagine how he feels!
18/06/2012, 5:15 PM
Quick question. When's the last time a team was relegated by finishing bottom of the Premier Division?
18/06/2012, 5:22 PM
Feel sorry for Monaghan, a nice little club they had there. Their support may have been small, but incredibly loyal and proud. Thought they'd go from strength to strength following promotion.
Of the teams elected in 1985, only Derry and Bray remain. Disappointing to see clubs falling off the radar like this. Unless the FAI pull up their socks and start taking an active interest in this league, more and more clubs will fall by the wayside.
As a fan of a club who has gone to the wall, I can only empathise with the Mons fans.
Also, for all those who knocked GUFC last season, fair enough we were rubbish but we did see out the season. Dropping out mid-season really makes a mess of things
Yeah, but if you had have dropped out mid-season, you already had the added decency of losing to everyone so it wouldn't mess up the table.
18/06/2012, 5:29 PM
UCD have been rightly fecked over by this
El-Pietro
18/06/2012, 5:38 PM
20 team division may mean nothing for a lot of teams, but the attendances would rise for a lot of those clubs which could mean the difference between survival and folding. If the likes of Mervue and Salthill were able to get an extra 200 or 300 through the gate from away fans at Shamrock Rovers, Cork, etc. they would end up being a lot stronger financially don't you think?
It also makes a home derby game much more appealing. Playing your derby game 4 times in one season just takes away from the occasion.
they had that from us and Derry in recent seasons.
RTE couldnt even use the correct crest ffs.
Used this
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/07/Monaghancrest.jpg
18/06/2012, 5:54 PM
I know a lad who was a Kildare fan who then started following Monaghan, imagine how he feels!
Keep him well away from Flancare ffs
Guinney
18/06/2012, 5:59 PM
John Delaney is a joke, partying it up in Poland with the "Best fans in the world" until the early hours whilst the domestic league is falling apart. How can we expect to produce decent players when the League of Ireland is in such a state, Mon Dogs gone, Dundalk struggling (got my letter in the post today asking for a donation) & many many more having financial problems in recent times. How he justifies his salary of €400k amazes me, especially when you think of the pittance giving out in prize money.
Then you have the "best fans in the world" giving out about the state of the national team. For me they have no right to this when the majority of them don't give a dam about their domestic league. What an embarrassment to be the only nation in the Euros to not have one player from our own domestic league. To be honest at this stage I don't think the Irish people deserve a decent national team and it might sound harsh but I wouldn't care if Italy destroyed Ireland tonight as it would help highlight the state of football in this country. Anyone can sing along to the "Fields of Athenry", have the craic, jump on the bandwagon but try going to support your local team in a wet and windy evening week in week out no matter what the result is. COYBIG
18/06/2012, 5:59 PM
I know Dunny, I think that made me nearly more angry than anything else today!
Battery Rover
18/06/2012, 6:01 PM
Keep him well away from Flancare ffs
Pass on my number and I will give him a personal escort despite the dangers of crossing the border :p
Oldred
18/06/2012, 6:17 PM
http://www.fai.ie/domestic-a-grassroots/airtricity-league/news/102594.html
Update from the FAI.
Sligo not back in the cup. One team will recieve a bye.
Monaghan results, as expected, will be expunged.
Surely if Monaghan hav'nt "existed" in this years League, they did'nt exist in any competition!
gufc2000
18/06/2012, 6:30 PM
The League of Ireland in its current guise is on life support. The success of clubs in Europe and the sale of players to clubs across the water are only papering over the cracks. Unless something is done fast, more clubs will slip down the swanny.
Ourselves, Kilkenny, Kildare, Fingal Monaghan and Cobh have hit the rocks since 2008. That's a ridiculous number of teams to lose within this time frame. A 12-14 team National League built on a pyramid structure to incorporate regional leagues is a possible avenue forward. A structure like this would allow clubs in difficulty to filter down the divisions to get their houses in order without having to drop out of senior football.
Sadly, football's governing body in this country couldn't give a hoot about the LoI. If they took a leaf out of our President's book and actually took an interest in what was going on, it would be a start.
The Lep
18/06/2012, 8:16 PM
I was sad to read on teletext earlier about Monaghan. From someone that has lost 2 clubs Dublin city and Fingal ,i feel your heartache. I was only up there once with Dublin City and got respect. Sorry to see you go Monaghan.
18/06/2012, 9:07 PM
Sorry for the club to be gone. Its few fans also. The FAI press release smells of bitterness and sour grapes. Funny how the FAI gave Mons €150,000 and only 6 weeks later asked Limerick to put a couple of hundred thousand euro in the bank in advance of the season in order to participate in that season.
gufc2000
18/06/2012, 9:49 PM
Good news if true, something positive to hold onto for Mons fans
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/8332/mcglone-mons-can-stay-in-business/
horton
18/06/2012, 9:49 PM
Are the Mondogs gone for good aswell now?
My thoughts and prayers are with Mons fans at this difficult time. Gutted for ye.
bullit
18/06/2012, 10:09 PM
Are the Mondogs gone for good aswell now?
Franchise opportunity ?? Must be served by a pretty girl in Mons striped shirt though ;)
Fivesilver
18/06/2012, 10:32 PM
Surely if Monaghan hav'nt "existed" in this years League, they did'nt exist in any competition!
From a purely logical point of view, I thought the same myself. But at the same time, I have no objection to us not being reinstated in the Cup. We were knocked out of it, in pretty convincing fashion - so good luck to whoever gets the bye.
18/06/2012, 10:40 PM
Franchise opportunity ?? Must be served by a pretty girl in Mons striped shirt though ;)
limerick have been doing the pretty girls in shops for some years now :p
Oldred
18/06/2012, 11:36 PM
From a purely logical point of view, I thought the same myself. But at the same time, I have no objection to us not being reinstated in the Cup. We were knocked out of it, in pretty convincing fashion - so good luck to whoever gets the bye.
I agree with your sentiment, Fivesilver, but the fact that teams are gaining League points they did'nt win makes rather strange.
I would have thought that ALL Monaghans results were now expunged.
Anyway, it's a sad day again for LoI and Mon. fans in particular. Always liked the way they battled on regardless of poor support and will miss the trips to Gortakeegan.
18/06/2012, 11:44 PM
I only heard the news by txt at half six and had to check on aertel. I couldnt believe what I was reading.. For the first time in a long time i had no interest in the irish match tonight after reading of JD's shannigans. He should get the bullet along with the other muppets in his drink club. Monaghan Utd were one of the better run clubs so its a hell of a shock as it was unexpected. The amount of clubs that have gone since foot.ie was founded eleven yrs ago I am surprised noone has mentioned that..
To sum up sad day for monaghan utd and for irish football.. Irish football RIP
19/06/2012, 12:24 AM
I only heard the news by txt at half six and had to check on aertel. I couldnt believe what I was reading.. For the first time in a long time i had no interest in the irish match tonight after reading of JD's shannigans. He should get the bullet along with the other muppets in his drink club. Monaghan Utd were one of the better run clubs so its a hell of a shock as it was unexpected. The amount of clubs that have gone since foot.ie was founded eleven yrs ago I am surprised noone has mentioned that..
To sum up sad day for monaghan utd and for irish football.. Irish football RIP
So you're saying it's all Adam's fault...
Seems legit.
19/06/2012, 12:47 AM
Only one mons left to look out for now :(
http://i45.tinypic.com/2w49y0k.jpg
19/06/2012, 2:06 AM
Sorry for the club to be gone. Its few fans also. The FAI press release smells of bitterness and sour grapes. Funny how the FAI gave Mons €150,000 and only 6 weeks later asked Limerick to put a couple of hundred thousand euro in the bank in advance of the season in order to participate in that season.
Eh eh....wrong. fai lent us that money a few years ago. We have been paying it as well as giving them thousand of euros of free use of the pitch since so you can shove your half baked sob story up your arse.
MagicMon
19/06/2012, 6:05 AM
Good news if true, something positive to hold onto for Mons fans
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/8332/mcglone-mons-can-stay-in-business/
I can't see a league team returning to Monaghan for some time. It would require a massive upturn in the fortunes of the whole LOI- and more importantly the Irish economy. But I'd far rather see MUFC leave the league now and continue to produce players (there are 2 ex-Mons in the current Ireland U21 squad) and have Gortakeegan as an asset to the community, than carry on to the grim end and have everything disappear.
And as you watch an Irish team crash out of the Euros, and an Irish team leave the league, just think: John Delaney earns more than all of the prize money for the entire league combined, and (I believe) more than the combined budget of all the Irish youth teams.
19/06/2012, 7:48 AM
Eh eh....wrong. fai lent us that money a few years ago. We have been paying it as well
Eh i said yee recieved money and you say you were lent money? :confused:
[/QUOTE] so you can shove your half baked sob story up your arse.[/QUOTE]
Limerick had to deposit a a couple of hundred thousand euro in an Fai acc so wheres a sob story?
19/06/2012, 8:45 AM
Always sad to see a club fold. Saddened for the football people following them, less so for others (including but not limited to Paul Oliphant). Would echo Macy and Dodge though, those running the club have to take their share of blame (in tandem with the licensing committee obviously), if the loss of the projected income from a sponsor is their main reason for pulling out it makes you wonder what kind of sum they were expecting to get in the first place if it was the difference between survival and withdrawal.
Sean South
19/06/2012, 9:00 AM
Will Monaghan contuine in some lower league or is that good night?
Partizan
19/06/2012, 9:13 AM
More than likely will be playing in the Ulster Senior League
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_Senior_League_%28association_football%29
I was sad to read on teletext earlier about Monaghan. From someone that has lost 2 clubs Dublin city and Fingal ,i feel your heartache. I was only up there once with Dublin City and got respect. Sorry to see you go Monaghan.
Only there once and infected them by the sounds of that post. Jinx
CuanaD
19/06/2012, 9:47 AM
19/06/2012, 10:04 AM
Would love to see Monaghan build towards a come back in the Irish premier division that would really make the FAI look bad.
bluewhitearmy
19/06/2012, 11:40 AM
Eh eh....wrong. fai lent us that money a few years ago. We have been paying it as well as giving them thousand of euros of free use of the pitch since so you can shove your half baked sob story up your arse.
Least ye could do after they gave ye 150 grand and got ye promoted in fairness.
19/06/2012, 12:02 PM
Andrew they didnt GIVE us money. Its a loan that is being paid back. As for getting us promoted, cop yourself on.
Trevor, I meant that you seemed to be crying that we had gotten this money in the same week that you were forced to put up the money.
White Horse
19/06/2012, 12:13 PM
As a matter of interest, do many clubs get six figure loans from the FAI? Access to credit is such a problem for clubs.
bluewhitearmy
19/06/2012, 12:21 PM
Andrew they didnt GIVE us money. Its a loan that is being paid back. As for getting us promoted, cop yourself on.
Trevor, I meant that you seemed to be crying that we had gotten this money in the same week that you were forced to put up the money.
Andrew? Ok then they GAVE ye a loan.
Ye were more then happy to back Big John and the FAI last year when they were helping ye out now ye are saying they didn't help ye enough i find that amusing.
Sean South
19/06/2012, 12:27 PM
Just because you know people's real names don't use them it makes you look like a complete d!ck.
Good to see Monaghan trying to keep the club going, the are a proper football club not like some of the franchises we had like Fingal, Kildare, Galway, Dublin City etc where it was LOI or nothing.
gordongekko
19/06/2012, 12:43 PM
Just because you know people's real names don't use them it makes you look like a complete d!ck.
Good to see Monaghan trying to keep the club going, the are a proper football club not like some of the franchises we had like Fingal, Kildare, Galway, Dublin City etc where it was LOI or nothing.
Galway are still on the go.
bluewhitearmy
19/06/2012, 12:45 PM
Galway are still on the go.
Are they still playing?
total hoofball
19/06/2012, 1:11 PM
8 clubs crashing out of the league since the FAI took over and undoubtedly others in the future on this current trajectory of calamity.
If this had happened in most countrys Delaney and Gavin would be ran out of the place instead they're pocketing €430,000 per year buying off the support of the 'Best Fans in the World'.
The league has no future under these cowboys and has no future with the clubs running the league itself.
Spudulika
19/06/2012, 1:22 PM
Good lord, I love the sense of perspective we all have. th, 8 clubs "crashing out of the league" - "calamity", are you writing for the Indo?
It's so easy to blame the FAI for this, like they allow clubs overspend, or let owners/gm's/ceo's play games with figures. The strictures are in place in Ireland as in most other leagues and for crying out loud can't it be clearly said that the clubs are at fault? It wasn't the FAI that forced Ollie to take loans from all comers. Or for Fingal to depend on one main source of income, or even on Derry to have twice the fun with contracts. The league is ignored because it suits too many to have it that way. It suits the LOI "fans" because they feel special. It suits the clubs because they can get away with all sorts. It suits the FAI because they can keep the good times rolling at the top table. JD's salary shouldn't be the issue, or this constant and teeth grindingly bitchy "best fans in the world" comment pouring from posts. Fans are fans, supporters are supporters. Fans come and go, supporters stay. Rovers hung on because they'd a large group of supporters to see them through, Limerick chopped and changed but a core of supporters still stuck it out. Monaghan have a loyal, solid core of support, they just didn't grow it enough and attract the "fans". But they'll be back. It's not anyo one group's fault, it's just business.
It suits the LOI "fans" because they feel special.
Knew you'd find a way to have a pop at football fans as usual.
galwayhoop
19/06/2012, 1:42 PM
Sorry now but can you explain to me in what way Galway are/were a franchise?
If GUFC are/were a franchise they are no more so than most other LOI clubs.
Limerick fans are a bitter/morbid bunch, ye of any group seem happy when clubs go out of business.
Ye Are on here still with sour grapes cause Mons got 3 points for Harps playing an illegal player last year (rightly so - they are the rules not some FAI conspiracy). And rubbing salt into their wounds now. Ye were the same when we got refused our license last year.
Ye of the multiple carnations ffs.
I hope it stays fine for ye with the moneybags owner because ye would be in some pile of sh1t if he walked.
RIP Mons.
I hate it when teams fold, no matter who they are.
bluewhitearmy
19/06/2012, 1:48 PM
Sorry now but can you explain to me in what way Galway are/were a franchise?
If GUFC are/were a franchise they are no more so than most other LOI clubs.
Limerick fans are a bitter/morbid bunch, ye of any group seem happy when clubs go out of business.
Ye Are on here still with sour grapes cause Mons got 3 points for Harps playing an illegal player last year (rightly so - they are the rules not some FAI conspiracy). And rubbing salt into their wounds now. Ye were the same when we got refused our license last year.
Ye of the multiple carnations ffs.
I hope it stays fine for ye with the moneybags owner because ye would be in some pile of sh1t if he walked.
RIP Mons.
I hate it when teams fold, no matter who they are.
You do know that Sean South is not a Limerick fan ya?
For the record anyway i hate to see any club go out of business and id feel sorry for anyone that it happened to including Galway but i feel no sympathy for Monaghan. Its not over anything to do with them getting promoted off the field its because of the horrible way our fans were treated up their the despicable lies made up and carried on by people involved with the club regarding our fans and the fans attitude to the whole thing.
I didn't want them to go out of business but i don't feel bad that they have.
Spudulika
19/06/2012, 1:58 PM
Knew you'd find a way to have a pop at football "fans" as usual.
You forgot the inverted commas so I fixed it for you :p I'm a fan of baseball, but I don't support it. I do see a difference, but maybe it's my new glasses.
Can we clear up what a franchise is once and for all - no, feck it, separate thread. Ye're all wrong! Sporting Fingal weren't a franchise, if they were, we all are:
DefinitionA form of business (http://www.investorwords.com/623/business.html) organization (http://www.investorwords.com/3504/organization.html) in which a firm (http://www.investorwords.com/1967/firm.html) which already has a successful product (http://www.investorwords.com/3874/product.html) or service (http://www.investorwords.com/6664/service.html) (the franchisor) enters (http://www.investorwords.com/9573/enter.html) into a continuing contractual (http://www.investorwords.com/9295/contractual.html) relationship with other businesses (http://www.investorwords.com/623/business.html) (franchisees) operating (http://www.investorwords.com/3455/operating.html) under the franchisor's trade name (http://www.investorwords.com/5024/trade_name.html) and usually with the franchisor's guidance (http://www.investorwords.com/5599/guidance.html), in exchange (http://www.investorwords.com/1797/exchange.html) for a fee (http://www.investorwords.com/1922/fee.html). Some of the most popular franchises in the United States include Subway, McDonalds, and 7-Eleven.
Read more: http://www.investorwords.com/2078/franchise.html#ixzz1yFPDrYJr
Spudulika
19/06/2012, 2:01 PM
Now, for this to work, it means the FAI/LOI has to be a firm with a successful product or service which enters into a relationship for franchisees to trade under the same name (FAI Sligo Rovers FC etc). 2 things wrong with that - what's the FAI/LOI's successful product or service - apart from self-aggrandisement? And clubs aren't trading under the same name.
19/06/2012, 2:07 PM
Can anyone clarify what exactly was the cause of this? Monaghan had they thought was a nailed-on sponsor but it fell through and they couldn't find a replacement?