View Full Version : Mons?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

kerrysock
18/06/2012, 11:39 AM
Sad day for football, a one division premier is looking more and more likely next season in my view. The FAI licensing structure needs to become more strict and get rid of teams that are not financially viable. Otherwise our league is going to become a joke with teams going out of existence every few weeks!

White Horse
18/06/2012, 11:39 AM
Will Dundalk cut it back to the very, very, bare bones now and take their chances in a playoff??

That would kill the club. It can't survive on two men and a dog watching a team being well beaten in every game for half a season.

White Horse
18/06/2012, 11:40 AM
The FAI licensing structure needs to become more strict and get rid of teams that are not financially viable.

That would be a very small league.

18/06/2012, 11:40 AM
Otherwise our league is going to become a joke
Become a joke?! It's been a joke for a long time

adamd164
18/06/2012, 11:43 AM
Sad day for football, a one division premier is looking more and more likely next season in my view. The FAI licensing structure needs to become more strict and get rid of teams that are not financially viable. Otherwise our league is going to become a joke with teams going out of existence every few weeks!
Yeah, Tralee and Cobh were rejected at the start of the season for not being financially viable but Mons clearly had a sustainable plan in place.:rolleyes:

Delaney's dancing in the streets of Poznan tonight anyway. Hope the Italians absolutely massacre them.

Captain2007
18/06/2012, 11:47 AM
what a ****ing state this LOI is in, every year for the past 5/6 years we have had someone go belly up, most managers were calling for one division so clubs may have a better chance of survival, maybe the penny will finally drop..sad to see MONs go, this cost of licensing needs to be questioned, Bray fell over the line with a week before deadline as I am sure other clubs did..:(:(

sullanefc
18/06/2012, 11:49 AM
Dangerous route to take. Limerick or Longford would have no fear of them.

It might not matter if the league is reduced to one division.

18/06/2012, 11:52 AM
Dangerous route to take. Limerick or Longford would have no fear of them.
I can't see how there's going to be 2 divisions next year. There must be temptation for Limerick and Longford to reduce budget where they can as well. Total disaster for the rest of the season in both divisions, as the expectation must be relegation/ promotion won't matter.

NeverFeltBetter
If that does happen, when will the FAI be so good as to make it public? Can't have teams like Longford, Limerick, Waterford, Dundalk and UCD finding out everything their doing this season is pointless.

Just to clarify a few points:

1. The manager and 2 player representatives were informed of the decision BEFORE the press release was issued and asked to inform all the team. We felt it would be better coming from the manager and player representatives.

2. We highlighted a few months back that due to a lack of a sponsor we needed money fast. This was not a decision taken lightly and when we did increase the wages at the start of the season it was all within our projected means, which is all you can do.

18/06/2012, 11:53 AM
That would be a very small league.
They don't need to get rid of teams, just insist on viable budgets. You know, do what licencing is supposed to bloody do.

White Horse
18/06/2012, 11:54 AM
The manager and 2 player representatives were informed of the decision BEFORE the press release was issued and asked to inform all the team. We felt it would be better coming from the manager and player representatives.

Each player should have been informed directly by the club.

There is no excuse for such disgraceful behaviour.

18/06/2012, 11:57 AM
2. We highlighted a few months back that due to a lack of a sponsor we needed money fast. This was not a decision taken lightly and when we did increase the wages at the start of the season it was all within our projected means, which is all you can do.
Sorry, but this is rubbish. You can budget for only the money you know you'll get in, and then make reasonable assumptions on things like crowds based on past experience. It shouldn't be the difference between the club seeing out the season or not. Budget for no sponsor if none is in place, and bring in players in the window if it does materialise. No free pass for the committee, and no free pass for the licencing committee for accepting it.

Captain2007
18/06/2012, 11:57 AM
The league had Bray travel to Derry just before the break..wait for it ...on a Monday.. please tell me where the logic is in that fixture and the expense and time the Bray players had too give up to travel to Derry... why did they not fix the fixture for Derry v Sligo ????? maybe the LOI want to bankrupt their clubs because they are going the right way about it putting fixtures like that together..

18/06/2012, 11:59 AM
I see Dan McDonnell makes referece on Twitter to another club having a big meeting tomorrow. Who's that? Dundalk?

bluewhitearmy
18/06/2012, 11:59 AM

1. The manager and 2 player representatives were informed of the decision BEFORE the press release was issued and asked to inform all the team. We felt it would be better coming from the manager and player representatives.

Being honest thats not good enough nothing should have been said until ye were 100% sure all players were aware of the situation really.

adamd164
18/06/2012, 12:01 PM
The league had Bray travel to Derry just before the break..wait for it ...on a Monday.. please tell me where the logic is in that fixture and the expense and time the Bray players had too give up to travel to Derry... why did they not fix the fixture for Derry v Sligo ????? maybe the LOI want to bankrupt their clubs because they are going the right way about it putting fixtures like that together..
That's a load of nonsense. We had Drogs away that night. Bray barely have to travel outside Leinster!

marinobohs
18/06/2012, 12:06 PM
On Radio confirming that Mons are pulling out of LOI. very sad news :(

Neish
18/06/2012, 12:08 PM
Horrible news always love the trips to Gortakeegan, very sorry for the Mons fans who I always found to be very friendly

Hairy Bowsie
18/06/2012, 12:11 PM
F*cking league is a total joke. We can all sit here during the Euros and laugh/criticize the barstoolers but honestly lads with things like this happening every year, can you honestly blame them?

gufcfan
18/06/2012, 12:12 PM
The FAI licensing structure needs to become more strict and get rid of teams that are not financially viable.

Stricter rules? That will make absolutely no difference.

They brought in stricter rules with the UEFA licensing and still let Leeson give them barefaced lies every month without ever testing any of the figures.

Yeah, Tralee and Cobh were rejected at the start of the season for not being financially viable

That wasn't the reason, that was the FAI spiel. There was far more to that and not the fault of either of them two clubs either.

Huge embaressment for the FAI whatever way you try to look at it. On the day that Delaney is swanning around with the ole ole brigade, another club dies............terrible news

sullanefc
Sorry, but this is rubbish. You can budget for only the money you know you'll get in, and then make reasonable assumptions on things like crowds based on past experience. It shouldn't be the difference between the club seeing out the season or not. Budget for no sponsor if none is in place, and bring in players in the window if it does materialise. No free pass for the committee, and no free pass for the licencing committee for accepting it.

Agree with this. Its absolutely bulls**t. Making out a budget should be something that is easy to do. If you are conservative, then the club should not go to the wall. Obviously the idiots in Monaghan let there egos get in the way and were incapable of making out a reasonable conservative budget. They stretched themselves in order to survive and have f*cked their club. I feel sorry for the Monaghan fans, but as Macy says, the people running the club should not get a free pass.

CMcC
18/06/2012, 12:18 PM
So sorry for the Mons fans and those people who gave up their time and energy to help out in various positions around the club. Its a very sad time for them.

Is there still going to be a club? Is it just dropping out of the LoI?

Deacypark1
18/06/2012, 12:29 PM
Sorry for the Mons fans' loss, we know your pain

monkey9
18/06/2012, 12:30 PM
PFAI Statement

It is with great surprise and disappointment that news of Monaghan United's withdrawal from the league has reached us. Prior to this, no discussion had taken place with the PFAI nor was any indication of their impending withdrawal communicated to this association. No player we have spoken to was contacted by the club prior to the statement being released and many players first heard that they had lost their jobs through Twitter.
We find it extraordinary that no attempt was made to reach a solution with the players either directly with them or through this association. Situations like this have arisen in the past and agreements have been reached in order to keep a team in the league.
It is hugely disappointing that players and fans have seen a club withdraw from the league in these circumstances without an effort being made to explore all possibilities with the players.
It is, however, a relief to hear that all creditors will be paid and we assume that players wages which are currently in arrears and the remainder of their contracts will be honoured. We look forward to hearing from the club with details of how these payments will be made.
End

18/06/2012, 12:31 PM
I presume it will just mean first automatically up as usual and the winner of the playoff in the first division will be straight up too without having to play the second from bottom in the premier.

White Horse
18/06/2012, 12:31 PM
...we assume that players wages which are currently in arrears and the remainder of their contracts will be honoured. We look forward to hearing from the club with details of how these payments will be made.

Not likely.

Morginho
18/06/2012, 12:32 PM
Funny the way its just some Limerick fans calling it a disgrace about us etc. Get over what happened its just sad at this stage

NeverFeltBetter
18/06/2012, 12:35 PM
What.

bluewhitearmy
18/06/2012, 12:35 PM
Funny the way its just the Limerick fans calling it a disgrace about us etc. Get over what happened its just sad at this stage

Have you even read the people saying it? Ive just looked at this page and seen people that aren't Limerick fans say it...One of them has a Cork jersey as an avatar that may be a hint?

Whats sad is your joke of a club not even telling people they were going to be with out a club......

marinobohs
18/06/2012, 12:36 PM
PFAI Statement

It is with great surprise and disappointment that news of Monaghan United's withdrawal from the league has reached us. Prior to this, no discussion had taken place with the PFAI nor was any indication of their impending withdrawal communicated to this association. No player we have spoken to was contacted by the club prior to the statement being released and many players first heard that they had lost their jobs through Twitter.
We find it extraordinary that no attempt was made to reach a solution with the players either directly with them or through this association. Situations like this have arisen in the past and agreements have been reached in order to keep a team in the league.
It is hugely disappointing that players and fans have seen a club withdraw from the league in these circumstances without an effort being made to explore all possibilities with the players.
It is, however, a relief to hear that all creditors will be paid and we assume that players wages which are currently in arrears and the remainder of their contracts will be honoured. We look forward to hearing from the club with details of how these payments will be made.
End

Shows what Monaghan (and I suspect most clubs ) think of the PFAI :rolleyes: Good luck to them with that last bit though (I suspect they are going to need it).

18/06/2012, 12:36 PM
Funny the way its just the Limerick fans calling it a disgrace about us etc. Get over what happened its just sad at this stage

Bit weird considering the most vocal about this isn't a Limerick fan and most Limerick fans haven't exactly stuck the knife in.

Sounds like someone needs to do some 'getting over it' themselves

18/06/2012, 12:37 PM
Huge embaressment for the LOI whatever way you try to look at it. On the day that Delaney is swanning around with the ole ole brigade, another club dies............terrible news

We need to stop splitting the LOI away.

Its an embarressment for Irish football. Everyone involved in it

Always had a soft spot for Monaghan. Sad to see them go.

18/06/2012, 12:37 PM
Funny the way its just some Limerick fans calling it a disgrace about us etc. Get over what happened its just sad at this stage

Here's a fella who can't read.

You didn't do up the budget by any chance did you??

GalwayRed
18/06/2012, 12:38 PM

I've a lot of sympathy for Monaghan United but that's just not good enough. The players deserve at the very least to find out directly from the club. Passing that responsibility onto player and management representatives isn't good enough. The idea of some players finding out through twitter that they're club is leaving the league is disgraceful.

18/06/2012, 12:42 PM
I've a lot of sympathy for Monaghan United but that's just not good enough. The players deserve at the very least to find out directly from the club. Passing that responsibility onto player and management representatives isn't good enough. The idea of some players finding out through twitter that they're club is leaving the league is disgraceful.
The idea that union reps didn't pass on the information is as bad. This issue is nothing in the grand scheme of things. its a complete red herring.

Back onto the real issue...

18/06/2012, 12:42 PM
So is the league just going to be cut to 11 teams with one team not playing every week?

Brusher
18/06/2012, 12:43 PM
Why are good LOI fans on this forum and elsewhere calling the League a joke ? Every Club in it wants to competitive and provide fans with a decent/good/high level of soccer, so I don't find that particularly funny ! The joke is the FAI who can't/won't or refuse to support the decent Real Supporter in providing a proper Senior League ! My best wishes to The decent Monaghan people within the club who strived for better.

18/06/2012, 12:52 PM
We need to stop splitting the LOI away.

Its an embarressment for Irish football. Everyone involved in it

Always had a soft spot for Monaghan. Sad to see them go.

Sorry Dodge, me bad, actually meant to say FAI not the LOI, fixed it, thanks. Yeah as a LOI fan im a bit peed off as I guess we all are.

Comic Book Guy
18/06/2012, 12:54 PM
I'm devastated for the Monaghan officials and fans, I know how it feels but I wonder how many of 'best fans in the world TM' or the FAI alickadoos will actually give a **** that a senior club has pulled out of football back home?
I always had good time for your club it alaways seemed to be well run; i.e living within its' means and to those that travelled the length and breadth of the country and give up their spare time for the betterment of your club I am truly sorry.
I wonder how much do the league affiliation fees/ matchday official fees etc cost now? I can imagine that they must have been a substantial drain on a club with limited resources?

dong
18/06/2012, 12:55 PM
How is this the FAI's fault?

18/06/2012, 12:57 PM

Who approved their budget?

Partizan
18/06/2012, 12:59 PM
Monaghan United, another jokeshop club forced to face reality.

White Horse
18/06/2012, 1:03 PM
Monaghan United, another jokeshop club forced to face reality.

Harsh. I've never consider Monaghan Utd a joke.

Just saw this on twitter:

John Delaney's salary - c. €400k, 1st place in the #LoI - €100k, 4th place in the #LoI - €15k, cost to enter - €19k. Something's not right...

bluewhitearmy
18/06/2012, 1:11 PM
Harsh. I've never consider Monaghan Utd a joke.

Just saw this on twitter:

Not really harsh they caused this and then treated people terribly.

marinobohs
18/06/2012, 1:17 PM

I generally find it saves time to just presume they are responsible for anything that goes wrong :cool:

18/06/2012, 1:18 PM
The idea that union reps didn't pass on the information is as bad.
We don't actually know who the club considered player reps, and whether it included the players PFAI rep(s) - could be any of the players, and wouldn't be the first time an employer has pulled such a trick. btw it's fairly obvious they aren't going to honour player contracts - if they were they might as well see out the season, but good work (for once) of the PFAI to highlight it in the press release.

18/06/2012, 1:19 PM
They oversee club licencing, which is supposed to check a clubs financial viability. Either the club lied to the licencing committee, or licencing accepted unrealistic assumptions. Maybe fair enough to absolve them if this was the first time licencing has been shown to be a total farce...

Real ale Madrid
18/06/2012, 1:27 PM
How many full time players did Monaghan have ?