View Full Version : A Couple of Questions Re Dundalk
Morginho
12/07/2012, 7:22 PM
That's the wage bill cut in three. Possibly the catering bill too.
Bit of a nobbish thing to say. Know the man personally, he coached me when i was young. One of the nicest men about and one of the best coaches in the country. Wrong place wrong time.
nom, nom, nom, nom.
jinxy lilywhite
12/07/2012, 8:02 PM
In relation to the McCaffrey era, i have to say it was an awful appointment on two fronts. 1) he was never given a chance by the vast majority of dundalk fans by using youth. unfortuneately the thing he needed most was time but experiments like these when they go wrong are very costly. 2) at board level even when they knew that it was the wrong choice they dithered and dothered over his future by hiding their heads in the sands. This decision should of been made after the monaghan defeat.
Personally I would like to thank Seanie for agreeing to leave by mutual consent and not putting the clubs supporters through further hardships as we all have our work cut out.
I hope the stay away fans come to oriel on friday night now because we need your support now more than ever
Ps also if Guardiola wanted to manage I think some dundalk fans would have some objection with it
bullit
13/07/2012, 12:37 AM
What UEFA coaching badges would Darius have? Has he enough on board to take the side to the end of the season?
bullit
13/07/2012, 3:02 AM
And a bit of a cnut too you see.Do you remember his foul mouthed tirade when he was asked some honest questions earlier this season? and then he had a go again at the supporters that were paying his wages this week http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/dundalk-boss-hits-out-at-unforgiving-supporters-1-4043690re
Out of his depth here in Dundalk and we all wish him well :rolleyes:
orters http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/webimage/1.4043688.1342004293%21image/677626351.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_595/677626351.jpg Dundalk FC in a huddle prior to kick-off against Shelbourne FC in the Airtricity League Premier Division at Tolka Park
By Gavin McLaughlin (gavin@dundalkdemocrat.ie)
Published on Wednesday 11 July 2012 11:58
DUNDALK manager Sean McCaffrey admits he would still have accepted the manager’s job even if he had foreseen the events that have transpired since his appointment last December.
McCaffrey also hit out at the club’s supporters, labelling them “unforgiving” after his side’s 4-0 drubbing against Shelbourne at Tolka Park, a result that leaves the Lilywhites two points off the bottom of the table.
“I knew the club was in difficulties but I didn’t think they were as bad. I knew we would only have a budget of €5-6,000 a week but we never even seen that amount. And now we have to cut it again by another two. It’s very difficult.
“I didn’t think that the fans would have been as unforgiving in the early days and I don’t think the Board could foresee the financial situation.
“But, having said that, we play Chelsea Reserves on 14 August and that’s an opportunity to make a few pound. Tickets are going very well for it.
“My main concern is that we stay up and also that the players are treated well and looked after, and that the platform is there for them to try and concentrate on playing and not be worried about off-the-field situations.
“At this moment in time, there is that much stuff going into the press and that much stuff coming out of the club that it’s very difficult.”
McCaffrey went into further detail about his remark about the “unforgiving” supporters.
“I think at the start of the season when the lads were playing reasonably well and not getting results, the fans were very unforgiving.
“They were very abusive to them – a small section of them. There are 2-300 fans who come every week who are great and they were great again tonight.
“But there are masses of fans or spectators – whatever you want to call them – who if they were still coming to the matches and getting behind the team, there would be far more finances and the club wouldn’t be in the state that it’s in.
“It’s a chicken and egg situation. The club hasn’t won a trophy in ten years yet they expect us to come in and be top of the league with a crowd of teenagers.
“You’re not going to win an awful lot with a young squad like we have; what you’re trying to do is establish a style of football, stay up, keep it solid and try to add to it next year. That was the aim at the start of the year and I expected that.
“But I didn’t expect after 8-9 matches to be told that the budget is being cut and then be told after another 4-5 after that that it has to
Spudulika
13/07/2012, 3:43 AM
Bullitt - where is he saying something wrong? You and I both know that there are some noobs who land out on the Carrick Road purely to mouth off. They did it before and will always do it and (as we can all admit to) they are not representative of the support base. But they do turn off people from going. Friends of mine who were season ticket holders from the 80's and 90's stopped going during the Co-op era as they felt it wasn't a place to bring kids (they had 3 boys from 9-14). They continue to support the club but from a distance. Every club has an element of scumbaggery (if that's the correct spelling), what was coming on stream at the end of last season and this season just plumbed new depths.
edit: In saying all of that, I didn't want Sean McCaffrey from the off as he was never going to stand a chance. But now I'm even more worried as the burberry brigade are calling for the only manager never to have been relegated, ever (tm Looney Tunes) to come to Oriel. Well, he did the double before - Dublin City and Shamrock Rovers, so why not Dundalk and Monaghan.
13/07/2012, 3:59 AM
Bullitt - where is he saying something wrong? You and I both know that there are some noobs who land out on the Carrick Road purely to mouth off. They did it before and will always do it and (as we can all admit to) they are not representative of the support base. But they do turn off people from going. Friends of mine who were season ticket holders from the 80's and 90's stopped going during the Co-op era as they felt it wasn't a place to bring kids (they had 3 boys from 9-14). They continue to support the club but from a distance. Every club has an element of scumbaggery (if that's the correct spelling), what was coming on stream at the end of last season and this season just plumbed new depths.
edit: In saying all of that, I didn't want Sean McCaffrey from the off as he was never going to stand a chance. But now I'm even more worried as the burberry brigade are calling for the only manager never to have been relegated, ever (tm Looney Tunes) to come to Oriel. Well, he did the double before - Dublin City and Shamrock Rovers, so why not Dundalk and Monaghan.
Eh? Bit of a preemptive strike there spud?
Spudulika
13/07/2012, 7:54 AM
Would love to say it's getting a retaliation in 1st, but I've had a sinking feeling since last year that this could be the case. Then again, having the Hand of Rod bring down the final curtain worked for Carlisle, Rovers and new Cork! So why not :-)
Morginho
13/07/2012, 3:14 PM
And a bit of a cnut too you see.Do you remember his foul mouthed tirade when he was asked some honest questions earlier this season? and then he had a go again at the supporters that were paying his wages this week http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/dundalk-boss-hits-out-at-unforgiving-supporters-1-4043690re
Out of his depth here in Dundalk and we all wish him well :rolleyes:
Erm derp, wow unforgiving what a cuntish thing to say. What if you were and you's really didn't ever give the man a chance.
Bullsh*t.
Eminence Grise
13/07/2012, 3:50 PM
Surely like most people on this site - including the poster you quoted - you could have had the decorum to avoid the naked expletive? I'm far from prudish, but there are customs that are generally observed here.
Spudulika
13/07/2012, 4:25 PM
Morginho, I have to say that in fairness the majority of fans did give him a chance to start with, they even understood that it was a poisoned chalice. Though with RTE, the usual idiots and frustrated locals, there was a building hostility that was responded to incorrectly from the manager - then again, what would he say. The club is a mess, I'm being treated badly and I'm outta here?
Re RTE, I notice Stephen Kenny not coming out to speak afterwards was quickly brushed aside, not being conspiratorial, just blunt, but I wonder if it's down to Con's allegiances that he didn't make the same meal he made of the ex-Dundalk manager doing the same thing?
colonelwest
13/07/2012, 9:49 PM
Spud, he was a marked man from day one with the majority of our support, even before he got the job from when he was first mentioned on OW. He was caught in the crossfire between the support and the ongoing shenanigans of GM and his cronies that's been going on this years. I say this as a Dundalk fan but it's the gods honest truth, if there's one thing Dundalk supporters can do better than any other supporters in the land it's a good over the top knee jerk reaction to one result or the smallest thing during a match and they'll run it into the ground and never move past it. He didn't stand a chance with the way our lot go on. Ok, he made mistakes, who doesn't, but he had to play the hand he was dealt from above, he had a good long term plan but with the situation at the club he was a dead man walking from day one. As was said previously it was the wrong time and the wrong club for that way of thinking with the precarious situation the club was and is in but sure we move on and try and save the club as best we can from this quagmire we find ourselves in.
14/07/2012, 12:54 AM
http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255264_422973324408793_465953902_n.jpg
redarmyfaction
14/07/2012, 2:33 AM
I always felt sorry for McCaffrey when he was on TV but he didn't inspire as a manager of athletes when you seen him in the flesh.
bullit
14/07/2012, 3:25 AM
Spud, he was a marked man from day one with the majority of our support, even before he got the job from when he was first mentioned on OW. He was caught in the crossfire between the support and the ongoing shenanigans of GM and his cronies that's been going on this years. I say this as a Dundalk fan but it's the gods honest truth, if there's one thing Dundalk supporters can do better than any other supporters in the land it's a good over the top knee jerk reaction to one result or the smallest thing during a match and they'll run it into the ground and never move past it. He didn't stand a chance with the way our lot go on. Ok, he made mistakes, who doesn't, but he had to play the hand he was dealt from above, he had a good long term plan but with the situation at the club he was a dead man walking from day one. As was said previously it was the wrong time and the wrong club for that way of thinking with the precarious situation the club was and is in but sure we move on and try and save the club as best we can from this quagmire we find ourselves in.
Apart from OW would you read around any other forums? Maybe you should,fans are tough on losing managers.Trickle into the Shams forum right now or have a look at DerryChat.com.
Nailor
14/07/2012, 11:27 AM
I've never been at a game where the lights were switched off so soon after FT, leccie bill must be due:) hopefully that is a metaphor for Kenny's disastrous time in charge.
Fair play to the dundalk lads, looked well up for it and could have won it on another night.
colonelwest
14/07/2012, 12:13 PM
Apart from OW would you read around any other forums? Maybe you should,fans are tough on losing managers.Trickle into the Shams forum right now or have a look at DerryChat.com.
Aye of course I do and it's stating the obvious that fans are hard on managers. Our lot are a law unto themselves though when it comes to managers and players when they get a collective notion in their heads, they'll always find someone or something to moan about and they'll run it into the ground. The toys were thrown out of the pram before a ball was kicked or a player was signed by a high percentage of Dundalk fans. There's no middle ground with our lot. As I said previously, right plan, wrong time with the situation the club has been in the last 2 years. For his plan to work we needed a stable club and we've been anything but. It all boils down to the situation with the owner and everyone's frustration with that. It's a chicken and the egg scenario, the fans stayed away so income is down drastically, even from ST's before the season started, and if the income had of stayed around the same level that could have been 2 or 3 more experienced heads in the team. McCaffrey was the one in the publics eye so he took it in the neck, the 6 months he was there isn't the issue, GM, his cronies and their shenanigans over the past few years are.
Guinney
14/07/2012, 4:02 PM
McCaffreys idea of a youth policy might be a good noble idea, but McCaffrey was never the man to implement it. He hadn't got a good enough knowledge of the league and some of the players he signed are just not good enough, even if he felt he was restricted by the budget. The most talented players at the club were either here last year or from the youth system. His demeanour at the matches was poor, just look at Darius Kierans last night on his feet throughout, instructing and encouraging the players. I know if I was a young player possibly lacking in confidence what type of manager I want to see on the sidelines. True the fans were on his back nearly from the word go but he never helped himself with some of his ridiculous comments to the press and criticising the fans to the local media is never a good thing to do even if you under a great deal of pressure.
Hopefully Dundalk get a few fans back through the gates again to help with he money problems. Think getting rid of McCaffrey is a start, a tube of a manager if i've ever seen one
bullit
14/07/2012, 11:00 PM
Aye of course I do and it's stating the obvious that fans are hard on managers. Our lot are a law unto themselves though when it comes to managers and players when they get a collective notion in their heads, they'll always find someone or something to moan about and they'll run it into the ground.
Imo they are no better or worse than fans at any club or on any club mb.Anyway we move onwards,Darius will be offered the job mid-week and will accept it and then we will have another target to vent our frustrations on ;):D
colonelwest
15/07/2012, 12:19 PM
Imo they are no better or worse than fans at any club or on any club mb.Anyway we move onwards,Darius will be offered the job mid-week and will accept it and then we will have another target to vent our frustrations on ;):D
Just as long as he lays off the fake tan a bit, we all remember the abuse Jamie Duffy used to get! :D I'd be happy enough to let him have a shot til the end of the season and see how he gets on but are we in the same situation as when he took over the Drogs? McCaff got on the Uefa course instead of him to get the licence didn't he?
Guinney
15/07/2012, 12:40 PM
Just as long as he lays off the fake tan a bit, we all remember the abuse Jamie Duffy used to get! :D I'd be happy enough to let him have a shot til the end of the season and see how he gets on but are we in the same situation as when he took over the Drogs? McCaff got on the Uefa course instead of him to get the licence didn't he?
Also what was with the dodgy cardigan Darius was wearing the other night :P
But I'd be surprised if it wasn't Darius until the end of the season. Firstly he deserves a go. Secondly he is already on the wage bill and we have no money to pay anyone else at the moment. He would know the players and the club well so no big settling in period.
15/07/2012, 2:11 PM
Did an ex Drog ever take us on as manager berfore rather than the many that went the other way out to graze at Drogs?
marinobohs
16/07/2012, 12:40 PM
I always felt sorry for McCaffrey when he was on TV but he didn't inspire as a manager of athletes when you seen him in the flesh.
Yea, he was no Pat Dolan :rolleyes:
Sean South
16/07/2012, 9:48 PM
What's the story with Derry? Some fans saying on Friday the team didn't get paid last week.
16/07/2012, 10:03 PM
What's the story with Derry? Some fans saying on Friday the team didn't get paid last week.
Only one of the payments anyway.
17/07/2012, 8:57 AM
Only one of the payments anyway.
Are Derry in trouble again so or what? Will we have to listen to Stephen McGuinness again now yeah? :(
If there are issues at Derry, there are no mentions of it on their forum (that I've seen anyway), and they did just sign at least one new player so I'd be pretty doubtful about this. Ironically enough, the only speculation I see about wages is that Sligo didn't pay their players last week!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/07/2012, 12:22 PM
If there are issues at Derry, there are no mentions of it on their forum, and they did just sign at least one new player so I'd be pretty doubtful about this. Ironically enough, the only speculation I see about wages is that Sligo didn't pay their players last week!
Do you not see the speculation about Derry up above?!
Where did you see about us not paying players?
That was in the Sligo match thread on derrycitychat, mostly on the second page. There were a few comments about how problems may not be far away if crowds keep dropping.
I could well have missed stuff by the way, I shouldn't have been as definitive about it above. Wouldn't want people to think I obsessively read football forums!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/07/2012, 12:53 PM
Was just wondering as hadn't heard anything about it. Derry fans speculating about everyone then by the sounds of things!
Most clubs would be in trouble if crowds keep dropping all the same.
horton
17/07/2012, 4:25 PM
The Derry rumour mill is well known to be full of BS. Some of the stories that've been spread around the town over the years are mental. Our crowds have dropped a bit, but the players were paid as far as I'm aware. If someone can prove otherwise feel free:)
Trainee
17/07/2012, 4:31 PM
any idea if anyone outside the Dundalk Trust has put in a bid to buy the club
redobit
17/07/2012, 4:36 PM
If there are issues at Derry, there are no mentions of it on their forum (that I've seen anyway), and they did just sign at least one new player so I'd be pretty doubtful about this. Ironically enough, the only speculation I see about wages is that Sligo didn't pay their players last week!
UEFA wont let you play in Europe if you owe monies to players or anybody else for that matter.
any idea if anyone outside the Dundalk Trust has put in a bid to buy the club
Yes there is one serious offer outside of the Trust afaik
gufcfan
17/07/2012, 5:50 PM
Yes there is one serious offer outside of the Trust afaik
You're happy with a slab of Harp and a box of Hunky Dory's then?
I'll be round for the keys tomorrow.
Make it a few bottles of bucky and we have a deal.
GCdfc
18/07/2012, 10:53 AM
You're happy with a slab of Harp and a box of Hunky Dory's then?
I'll be round for the keys tomorrow.
Are you a Drog in disguise?
Derry supporters in Oriel tonight:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/487349_402924549764855_1648662151_n.jpg
21/07/2012, 5:32 AM
A week out of the loop. How's it looking?
jinxy lilywhite
21/07/2012, 3:05 PM
i think we will generate enough funds to see out the season. a commendable amount of fundraising initiatives have been put together that really will hopefully bring in much needed resources.
if we can sort out the ownership issue sooner rather than later that will bring more a more long term certainty and assurance to more supporters and hopefully we can build on the club from where gerry left off.
apparently two bids are in. one from the trust but one unnamed. which is possibly fastfix/bond consortium. i havent checked my Euromillions tickets yet so I wont be putting in a bid as of yet.
Bohs11
25/07/2012, 11:43 AM
Theres kind of a glorious irony here in that the same fans who were chanting about Bohs going bust a couple of years ago are out in Dalymount tomorrow with the begging buckets.
Regardless I hope ye survive.
mcgonigle
25/07/2012, 12:35 PM
Theres kind of a glorious irony here in that the same fans who were chanting about Bohs going bust a couple of years ago are out in Dalymount tomorrow with the begging buckets.
I can guarantee you that none of the fans chanting about the demise of Bohs will be doing a bucket collection in Dalyer on Friday. Those idiots have long deserted the club!
HomerJay
25/07/2012, 1:15 PM
I agree it is. However on the terraces a bit of chanting is a bit of craic/banter, no-one wanted ye to go out of existence. Just like I'm sure none of ye wanna see us go under.
From my understanding It was Bohs that approached us on doing a bucket collection in the Jodi for us. That is serious craic going out of the way like that. Fair play Bohs!
Just like Some Shamrock Rovers paying double in when we played them 3 or so weeks ago, just like Derry going to the effort of making the "Save Dundalk" banner and donating something. Now Bohs are doing this bucket collection around the Jodi. A Pats fan has also got in contact personally looking to sort something out in them helping us.
Beyond the banter/hatred/ we may have for each other on the Terraces, it's amazing to see so many drop the rivalry and forget our differences. No matter how small it may be.
A big Thank you to all.
bullit
26/07/2012, 2:14 PM
Dundalk based company i believe-
LMFM RADIO @LMFMRADIO (https://twitter.com/LMFMRADIO) A major company may be investing a 5 figure sum in Dundalk FC for the naming rights to Oriel park. Stay tuned to our sports news for more
Fyffes banana split park :)
Surely the split won't happen until later?
26/07/2012, 3:44 PM
Dundalk based company i believe-
I recall a couple of years ago when Harps had 'Borderloo Toilet Hire' on the back on the jerseys, have visions of something similar for Dundalk.
gufcfan
26/07/2012, 4:28 PM
I hope the five-figure sum isn't ten grand... You lads need to do what you can to survive, but it would be a pity not to get value for it.
10k for a season is better than nothing for a season.