View Full Version : Televised Games 2012

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

25/02/2012, 4:44 PM
Jeez ye must be hard up if you have a guy with a broken leg playing for ye.

Yet the 62 and 65 year olds are perfectly fine?

Spudulika
26/02/2012, 8:06 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/hoops-do-spring-eternal-for-rte-3031823.html

Why is it that in the LOI it's every club for themselves and the cheerleaders in the meeja go at it? I know bias is good in ways, but any coverage is better than nothing (though rumours of RTE Sport being rebranded - SRFCTV - do seem to gather momentum in certain parishes, I for one welcome the introduction of our new overlords from Tallaght. Note to Chairman/Owner - settle debts with LCC and tell them they'll get 15c in the euro, and be happy with it :p )

26/02/2012, 8:46 AM
That journo's weekly rant gets worse by the week.

What did he say when there were 0 live LOI games Pre-1997?

Mark
26/02/2012, 12:28 PM
Your RTE staffer contact is either a figment of your imagination or is feeding you a big load of BS.

The TV companies deal with the FAI (not the clubs) on live broadcast requests and any re-scheduling issues.

Oh please don't say 'staffer'. It's soooooooo American!
Next we'll be saying games will 'air' at 7.05

Spudulika
26/02/2012, 1:41 PM
That journo's weekly rant gets worse by the week.

What did he say when there were 0 live LOI games Pre-1997?

At least he's open about his bias, but he should be using his column to be constructive and push the LOI, not turn floaters away. Then again, he's writing for the paper of record (that record being one of hatred towards the FAI and LOI thanks to the ongoing shareholder battle between Irish clans).

CrowdedHouse
08/03/2012, 7:55 PM
Under 20's egg ball tomorrow night FFS

Trainee
08/03/2012, 9:50 PM
Under 20's egg ball tomorrow night FFS

It still beats supporting SD Galway tomorrow

noddy102
25/03/2012, 4:19 AM
Does anybody know if the Pats-Bohs game is available worldwide on the rté website or is it just available in Ireland?

SPXcyan
25/03/2012, 1:28 PM
Only available in Ireland AFAIK

galwayhoop
25/03/2012, 4:17 PM
Please God only on Ireland - painful watching

harry crumb
25/03/2012, 4:19 PM
God this is ****e.

Fagan will make a difference id say.

adamd164
25/03/2012, 4:27 PM
Atrocious viewing, you can hear the players shouting for handballs and free kicks. It's like watching a lazy afternoon kickabout in the park.

Hibs4Ever
25/03/2012, 4:34 PM
Does anybody know if the Pats-Bohs game is available worldwide on the rté website or is it just available in Ireland?

All LOI games are worldwide on RTE

25/03/2012, 5:45 PM
I nearly fell asleep with the boredom of it! bohs are **** poor and callaghan is not much addition either..the more I see them the more I am convinced that they will get relegated this season..imo it serves them right to being too gleeful when they had this extra cash five years ago so I have no sympathy for them..

ger121
25/03/2012, 6:13 PM
I nearly fell asleep with the boredom of it! bohs are **** poor and callaghan is not much addition either..the more I see them the more I am convinced that they will get relegated this season..imo it serves them right to being too gleeful when they had this extra cash five years ago so I have no sympathy for them..

Well hopefully we won't disappoint you then and you can come and visit us next Season in Division 1.

1st time post
25/03/2012, 8:08 PM
Athough some 'well placed insiders' insited on this forum that we would not switch our games to facilitate tv, Sligo Rovers and Derry City will take place on RTE2 on Friday 13 April with a 7.05 k.o.

marinobohs
26/03/2012, 5:17 PM

Awful game and performance by BOTH teams and worst possible advert for live LOI. Pitch looked very bumpy and was certainly not condusive to decent (any) football. Bohs were nervous as hell, probobly due to our null points todate but Pats just didn't look interested which was strange as they have asperations to be contenders.

can not remember a decent Bohs/Pats game in years so not overly surprised at yesterdays snorefest (believe it or not there have been worse games between them in recent years (note to RTE planning future live games)

* our "glee" may have been related to winning trophies, apparently not an uncommon reaction among supporters.

26/03/2012, 8:14 PM
can not remember a decent Bohs/Pats game in years so not overly surprised at yesterdays snorefest (believe it or not there have been worse games between them in recent years (note to RTE planning future live games)

Have to agree there have been some horrible Bohs /Pats games over the years. Usually when live on TV. ( the games at Richmond have by and large been a bit better) Even by those standards though, yesterdays game was awful. Can only hope on our part that it's due to the new team still finding it's way. We looked pretty toothless upfront without Dean Kelly. Our best forward so far. O'Flynn is big and arkward, but seems to have more than a touch of donkey-itis. Miss yesterday was shocking. How did he not even hit the target from there ?

Anyway, I think we'll improve, hopefully starting in Tolka on Friday against the Filth.

12/04/2012, 3:11 PM
Rovers Vs. Pats, Friday 27th April. 7.05pm kick-off RTE.

12/04/2012, 7:19 PM

assume thats sligo rovers thats playin that nite!! few ex players playin for each side.

Dave_SRFC
13/04/2012, 7:09 AM
Should be a good game, fair play to rte showing all the games so far. I know the clubs dont get any money but the league and it's clubs should embrace the publicity...

Brusher
13/04/2012, 7:36 AM
Did I read that Pat Dolan will be in the rte studio for this ? What's the story with his Setanta gig ?

13/04/2012, 8:25 AM
Did I read that Pat Dolan will be in the rte studio for this ? What's the story with his Setanta gig ?

Thats long finished. He's been on MNS every week

13/04/2012, 9:49 PM
was wonderin why dolan disappeared off setanta suddenly

Strawberry
25/04/2012, 3:34 PM
Rovers v Shams moved to 1:45 on saturday May 12th.

Rte can really go **** themselves at this stage

25/04/2012, 3:52 PM
Bloody hell, that's awful scheduling. Maybe Sligo can salvage something from it by turning it into a family day or something like that.

ger121
25/04/2012, 4:24 PM
Rovers v Shams moved to 1:45 on saturday May 12th.

Rte can really go **** themselves at this stage

Does that have anything to do with Rugby on a Friday night? At least the PL is finished by then, but an awful time for a match it has to be said...

25/04/2012, 5:42 PM
disgraceful

A N Mouse
25/04/2012, 6:11 PM
Does that have anything to do with Rugby on a Friday night? At least the PL is finished by then, but an awful time for a match it has to be said...

Don't know about the rugby.

But epl finishes on the sunday, otherwise that would probably be a better bet.

And setanta final is 4pm, on the 12th - don't know where they pulled that time from either.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/04/2012, 6:54 PM

I think there's rugby on TV at 7.35 on the Saturday night. That's when Leinster are playing their semi final anyways

Trainee
25/04/2012, 7:13 PM
Rte must have rugby on Friday and Saturday night

Rte should have looked at Sunday evening or even Monday night as that much be much better than the kick off time.

27/04/2012, 8:09 AM

This is still on tonight yeah?

bullit
27/04/2012, 8:12 AM
This is still on tonight yeah?

Yep but you wont see it because you will be in/trying to get into Tolka

adamd164
17/05/2012, 11:12 AM
Drogs vs Dundalk on June 1st live on RTE.

Bizarre choice of game. Not likely to interest people living in Louth, nevermind outside.

Guinney
17/05/2012, 11:44 AM

Bizarre choice of game. Not likely to interest people living in Louth, nevermind outside.

Fiercest derby in the country

adamd164
17/05/2012, 11:50 AM
Can see very poor viewing figures. Hope I'm wrong!

marinobohs
17/05/2012, 12:10 PM

Hardly a big draw alright but would risk that just to see a game outside Dublin (just !) get coverage. There has been critisism of RTE for saturation coverage of the shams games todate so here at least is an alternative.

wonder88
17/05/2012, 12:12 PM
Are the viewing figures available anywhere. A couple of decent games on rte this year; Pats/Shamrocks and Sligo/Shamrocks, both had some good soccer played and the refs did not stole the show and ruin the games. The Setanta Sligo/Crusaders game was the best in my opinion.

17/05/2012, 12:33 PM

Other options
Mons v Pats - don't think they can show a live game there
Rovers v Cork - and risk the wrath of the "why are you always showing rovers" brigade?
Bohs v Sligo - maybe, but assume Sligo going to be on fair bit (3 home games from 6 so far)
Bray v UCD - clearly not an option
Derry v Shels - 2 mid table teams

So it boiled down to Bohs v Sligo or the Derby game. Don't see an issue with that

17/05/2012, 12:34 PM
Hardly a big draw alright but would risk that just to see a game outside Dublin (just !) get coverage.

9 games shown live in the first series, 6 of them outside Dublin...

marinobohs
17/05/2012, 1:49 PM
9 games shown live in the first series, 6 of them outside Dublin...

OK Dodge, probobly should have said - game not involving Dublin team.

adamd164
17/05/2012, 3:44 PM
Other options
Mons v Pats - don't think they can show a live game there
Rovers v Cork - and risk the wrath of the "why are you always showing rovers" brigade?
Bohs v Sligo - maybe, but assume Sligo going to be on fair bit (3 home games from 6 so far)
Bray v UCD - clearly not an option
Derry v Shels - 2 mid table teams

So it boiled down to Bohs v Sligo or the Derby game. Don't see an issue with that
Do you think the chosen game will attract the highest viewing figures? I can see at least 2, possibly 3 other games there I believe would get higher.

17/05/2012, 3:54 PM
Do you think the chosen game will attract the highest viewing figures? I can see at least 2, possibly 3 other games there I believe would get higher.

Rovers Cork probably would. But if they were basing it purly on viewing figures, they'd be shown every week. Damned if they do etc etc

17/05/2012, 4:06 PM
Out of that list Derry v Shels is the stand out if you ask me.

17/05/2012, 4:15 PM

We don't all watch TV to throw things at Derry people on screen

MeathDrog
17/05/2012, 6:33 PM

Disagree. There were some great Drogs V Dundalk games last year, none of which were shown on RTE.

17/05/2012, 7:13 PM
Grand. Saves me going to humpty dumpty park.

adamd164
17/05/2012, 7:18 PM
That's one of the games I was referring to that would pull a bigger audience.

Anyway, better they show any match than none.. I'd just be amazed if this isn't a very low audience.

17/05/2012, 7:19 PM
Grand. Saves me going to humpty dumpty park.
Sure you wouldn't be tempted by the free package of crips?

17/05/2012, 7:27 PM
Sure you wouldn't be tempted by the free package of crips?

Im a Blood, brudda.