View Full Version : Anthony Pilkington M Fleetwood Twn b.1988

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

IsMiseSean
07/08/2013, 2:36 PM
Didn't he do this last season too and then play for Norwich on the opening day?

07/08/2013, 2:42 PM
Well that was a week later and it's unclear where he'd even have been eligible in the first place. I'd give him the benefit of the doubt for that.

08/08/2013, 5:49 PM
Still good news about Madden. (assuming he isn't injured)

Grafter
09/08/2013, 6:03 PM
http://footballrepublic.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Pilkington-Irish-Passport.jpghttp://s0.thejournal.ie/media/2013/02/republic-of-ireland-midfielder-anthony-pilkington-gets-his-new-passport-6-310x415-310x415.jpghttp://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF943/715674.jpg

Whose idea was it to go to Norwich last winter and do an Irish photoshoot with Pilkington???
It was certainly a first in terms of an Irish player declaring for us.....

Was it an FAI idea? Did they smell a chance to stick a jersey on his back before he got cold feet??? Struck me as odd thing at the time.... perhaps I'm just a conspiracy theorist...

09/08/2013, 6:36 PM
Kind of reminds me of politics, if you are not going to do something the more you have to talk about doing it!!!

Crosby87
09/08/2013, 9:34 PM
Even they couldn't even get a top for him without the sponsor on it.

Paddy Garcia
09/08/2013, 9:38 PM
Even they couldn't even get a top for him without the sponsor on it.

That was his own top that he had already. Usually wears it down the pub when the lads are playing.

Sullivinho
09/08/2013, 10:44 PM
http://s23.postimg.org/v6vak4vy3/715674.png

http://s8.postimg.org/5de65gjgl/republic_of_ireland_midfielder_anthony_pilkingto.j pg

I solidified my Irishness motherf**ker! What have you done?!

11/08/2013, 9:13 PM
Looks like Trap believes it's just an injury issue. He suggests Pilkington is getting from game to game with injections and should probably just give himself time to recover.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/anthony-pilkington-retains-the-faith-of-giovanni-trapattoni-1.1491053

11/08/2013, 9:58 PM
Sounds like he's a permanent injury concern and will not be available for international duty as he will need that time to recover.

Paddy Garcia
11/08/2013, 10:01 PM
I actually think he is going to be awesome for us.

Crosby87
12/08/2013, 10:34 PM
Trap: Me still like Pilker.
Pretty good article for goal.com.
http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2013/08/12/4181337/anthony-pilkington-remains-in-giovanni-trapattonis-plans-despite-

IsMiseSean
14/08/2013, 2:41 PM
Pilko just posted this picture, how can anyone question this man's loyality :D
http://instagram.com/p/c_ztcIlLVC/

peadar1987
14/08/2013, 3:27 PM
Looks like he's teaching his kids how to batter a dog with a stick.

Nice to see he's embracing all of Irish culture, and not just wearing the jersey!

Junior
14/08/2013, 9:33 PM
Ah come on... Facebook....Twitter....Instagram I cant/dont want to keep up. Just someone post the fcuking pic.

ta.

Sullivinho
14/08/2013, 9:34 PM
http://distilleryimage6.ak.instagram.com/0263e25804ee11e388e422000a1fb6e3_7.jpg

27/08/2013, 6:40 PM
Fit enough to start for Norwich in the league cup tonight. Hoolahan also back in the side.

27/08/2013, 7:20 PM
And has scored within 14 minutes to put Norwich 2-0 up at home to Bury.

Grafter
27/08/2013, 9:10 PM
And has scored within 14 minutes to put Norwich 2-0 up at home to Bury.

Good stuff, assist by Wes too:)

DannyInvincible
01/09/2013, 4:57 PM
Pilkington's finally Dublin-bound: https://twitter.com/Pilkington_11/status/374199201057357824/photo/1

Here we go then! Had to wait a while but finally off to Dublin ✈  pic.twitter.com/WNjJ6oJbyS

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BTFsMMnCYAAJOA8.jpg

01/09/2013, 5:14 PM
He'll probably injure himself on the long walk around the Dublin terminal!!!

01/09/2013, 6:03 PM
Even Keith O'Neill could manage that walk.

Sullivinho
01/09/2013, 6:31 PM
That passport has had more photo ops than George A. Louis.

01/09/2013, 8:21 PM
Anyone else slightly proud of the fact he has a flight booked on Ryanair for him.

Serb
02/09/2013, 10:28 AM
Anyone else slightly proud of the fact he has a flight booked on Ryanair for him.

Yeah, but he's ruined it by reserving a seat, picking up priority boarding and checking a bag.

02/09/2013, 10:53 AM
Ya the seat bit i didnt like either.

I can understand the checking the bag though. He is away for a week and a half, ye can't fit that much in the holdall for a week without changing a least one pair of jocks and socks.

Still the easier and more expensive and comfortable option was Southend via Cunnilingus.

punkrocket
02/09/2013, 1:01 PM
So where's he hiding the boarding passes for 1A and 1C then?
Hope he keeps his legs well in untill the herd have all passed him by.

DannyInvincible
02/09/2013, 4:53 PM
Uncanny (courtesy of Balls.ie (http://balls.ie/news/irish-sporting-lookalikes-2/)):

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1175128_10151936053626042_646014057_n.jpg

DannyInvincible
02/09/2013, 4:58 PM
"'I was always committed' - Anthony Pilkington emphasises desire to play for Ireland": http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2013/09/02/4232435/i-was-always-committed-anthony-pilkington-emphasises-desire

The Norwich City winger has vowed that he was determined to play for the Boys in Green despite speculation surrounding several squad withdrawals

Anthony Pilkington maintains that he has always been committed to the Republic of Ireland since declaring his allegiance.

The Norwich player's claim of commitment was not helped by no fewer than five withdrawals since his initial call-up to the squad for a friendly with Poland in February. He withdrew from that game with a hamstring injury and was subsequently included in four more of Giovanni Trapattoni's squads but each time pulled out, usually due to a troublesome knee.

However, speaking to reporters in Dublin on Monday morning, the 25-year-old defended his absences amid suggestions that it proved he was not 100 per cent committed to Ireland.

"Obviously, I can see why people started talking," he said. "But I'd be no good to anyone coming here and playing with a dodgy knee or a torn hamstring. I wouldn't be helping myself or the country.

"People need to realise that I had the injuries. I was always committed. The first time I had to pull out my bags were packed, ready to come over.

"We had a morning game and we were due to fly out, me and Wes [Hoolahan, Norwich team-mate] after the game. I got injured during the game.

"I'm over here now and I'm excited for the game and hopefully get a good week's training, and pick up the points that we need on Friday [against Sweden in the Aviva Stadium]."

The former Huddersfield man pointed out that there had been no communication breakdown between Norwich and the FAI at any stage and explained that they had been in frequent contact.

He added: "[Giovanni Trapattoni] understood, the medical teams both spoke to each other constantly.

"The boss was always talking to me on text, there was always communication between both parties at all times. Luckily, he kept calling me up and my knee feels all right at the moment."

Pilkington also revealed the part that Canaries boss Chris Hughton, a former Ireland international and assistant manager, played in his decision to declare for the Boys in Green.

"When the country was asking about my availability, he came and spoke to me and told me what the set-up was like, because obviously he's been over here. He played as well, he said 'go over there and you'll enjoy it.'"

Trapattoni, speaking at a press conference in Dublin this morning, did not elaborate on the possibility of Pilkington playing some part against Sweden on Friday, a must-win game for Ireland's chances of qualifying for the World Cup.

He said: "[Pilkington] is good, he had a little knee problem, but I am evaluating his situation at the moment. I have also to think about the opponent, Sweden."

Grafter
09/09/2013, 12:09 AM
After training, Anthony took some timeout to climb the Alps.....http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/simgad/17238217721299649301

IsMiseSean
09/09/2013, 1:00 PM
A proper Irishman would have climbed Croagh Patrick in his bare feet...

09/09/2013, 9:24 PM
Just had a quick (so might have miscounted) look at his results for last season and it seems he played in every
Premiership victory but only 10 of their 14 defeats. Played in 10 out of 14 draws too.

so I make that 40 points from 30 games? Whereas over all they got 44 from 38 games. So points averages of 1.33 v 1.16.

So had he played them all they would have finished on 50 not 44 points and in 8th (behind Liverpool) not 11 place.

Of course I assuming all games were equally difficult and have no idea what the standard deviation on those statistics is. :)

09/09/2013, 10:13 PM
You need to test for statistical significance. A t test or a p score would be useful :)

09/09/2013, 11:40 PM
I have not actually done statistics, I think it is a load of rubbish really but looking at stats with out all the
mathematical stuff is seems he has a quite a significant positive effect
He also played in their victories over

Man U
Man City
Arsenal
Everton

And both draws with Spurs which makes his record even more impressive

All the top teams bar Chelsea.

Hard to argue with his selection on that basis.

10/09/2013, 4:02 PM
Only tricky colour could go to the trouble of analysing Pilkington's season and presenting the statistics and then admit he thinks statistics are rubbish.

10/09/2013, 6:34 PM
Only tricky colour could go to the trouble of analysing Pilkington's season and presenting the statistics and then admit he thinks statistics are rubbish.

No, my statistics are fine, other peoples statistics are rubbish, there is a subtle difference. Ie all this standard deviation stuff is rubbish IMO.

For example I would probably try and come up with a probability that Pilkington better results were produced by luck
ie try and say the chance of him getting 4 extra wins when he played were 10-1 or whatever.

DannyInvincible
29/09/2013, 1:02 PM
A clean-shaven Pilkington has made his first Premier League start for Norwich this season in the absence of Nathan Redmond.

Wilson and Walters have started for Stoke, although Wilson isn't having a great game so far in midfield.

Marc Wilson has not been at the races in the Stoke midfield. Twice he's been caught in possession and now he is very late to smash into Ricky van Wolfswinkel and earn a booking from referee Anthony Taylor.

Norwich have just gone 1-0 up.

Grafter
29/09/2013, 1:11 PM
A clean-shaven Pilkington has made his first Premier League start

That's a relief! I'm all for clean shaven footballers and the positive effect it can have on their game, oh for Shane Long to follow suit and freshen his game as a result:pray:

ArdeeBhoy
29/09/2013, 2:32 PM
Was Noel there?

CraftyToePoke
29/09/2013, 2:48 PM
A clean-shaven Pilkington has made his first Premier League start for Norwich this season in the absence of Nathan Redmond.

Redmond can play for us too cant he ? Looked very good recently on M.O.T.D.

Grafter
29/09/2013, 2:53 PM
Redmond can play for us too cant he ? Looked very good recently on M.O.T.D.

Ah that ship has sailed.... he has 6 under 21 england caps and opted for england in spite of having Hughton as manager at Birmingham. He's English full stop.

29/09/2013, 3:46 PM
Was Noel there?
yeah, he was at the Stoke - Norwich game

DannyInvincible
29/09/2013, 4:44 PM
Ah that ship has sailed.... he has 6 under 21 england caps and opted for england in spite of having Hughton as manager at Birmingham. He's English full stop.

He's been playing with England from under-16 level. Out of interest, how does he qualify for us?

29/09/2013, 6:51 PM
His name is redmond.

CraftyToePoke
29/09/2013, 7:03 PM
He's been playing with England from under-16 level. Out of interest, how does he qualify for us?

I think (think) it's his grandmother / grandparents. Albrighton at Villa is the same I think I read someplace. And Reilly of Birmingham already in our u21s, all lads from that part of the world.

Crosby87
29/09/2013, 7:32 PM
Posh you didn't go to the Steelers game? The punter qualifies for Eire through his gran. You could have recruited him.

dr_peepee
29/09/2013, 10:06 PM
Pilkington looked alright in the game if the MOTD highlights are anything to go by.

29/09/2013, 10:12 PM
Posh you didn't go to the Steelers game? The punter qualifies for Eire through his gran. You could have recruited him.

No I went to the vikings game ;) ya I knew that.like Brady.rothhilsberger is more than just a cool name.

06/10/2013, 2:41 PM
Scored Norwich's equaliser against Chelsea today, but they wound up losing 3-1 after two late goals.

Closed Account 2
07/10/2013, 9:03 AM
His corner led to Chelsea's goal that made it 2-1. He lofted a ball to edge of the "d", it wasnt a great corner, no Norwich player got near it, Chelsea broke and went down the other end of the pitch and Hazard scored (aided by Tetty and Ruddy making bad errors).