View Full Version : Anthony Pilkington M Fleetwood Twn b.1988

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

mark12345
02/01/2012, 5:36 PM
My bad! He did make a few points, but this is the one I was talking about.

"Jesus, Ireland has suffered from emigration for centuries. It means that we have an overseas pool of players who are proud to pull on the green jersey and represent their homeland. Other football teams would kill for such a resource.

I myself have not lived in Ireland since 1986. Probably since before some of the whingers on this thread were born.

Sure, it would be great if we could turn back the clock and undo everything that caused emigration. There'd be 30 million people living in Ireland. We'd have four Richard Dunnes and five Damien Duffs.

Limiting the current Irish team only to those that are born and bred on the island of Ireland is like punishing ourselves twice over for emigration.

And so what if some of them are confused about where their allegiance lies. If they have an English father and an Irish mother then of course they are going to feel torn. It's only natural. It's all a part of being en emigrant. It's why Mark Lawrenson says "we" when talking about either Ireland and England. I never had a problem with that. But some little-Irelanders do."

02/01/2012, 5:50 PM
Mute comments and deaf ears, not a good combination

OK I have now realised BRINE 3 is a poster here, I think the all caps confused me somewhat.

It didn't quite register with me despite me having replied to brine3 at least twice!! :D

So my bad!!

Jaysus
02/01/2012, 7:52 PM
Next few weeks could be very interesting regarding Pilkington. Have a feeling Trap will try to call him up for the next friendly, let's see his reaction then. If he's hesitant than leave him.

Deckydee
03/01/2012, 10:51 AM
When is the next friendly anyway?

03/01/2012, 11:20 AM
We play the Czech Republic on the 29th of Feb.

03/01/2012, 11:22 AM
wed 29th Feb v Czech republic i heard

IsMiseSean
03/01/2012, 5:44 PM
wed 29th Feb v Czech republic i heard

There is nothing on FAI.ie about this fixture, but the Czech FA have it on their website.

03/01/2012, 11:32 PM
It was confirmed a few months ago: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1203/1224308526300.html

TrapAPony
04/02/2012, 3:50 PM
Just scored for Norwich :

Anthony Pilkington finds the net with a goal from close in to the bottom right corner of the goal. Norwich 2-0 Bolton.

theworm2345
11/02/2012, 3:12 PM
Just scored again against Swansea.

Yard of Pace
12/02/2012, 10:43 AM
Lads, has there been any mention of Pilkington with Trap so far? I'd like to think he's been sounded out by now, considering he's already an U-21 cap and he's scored 6 or 7 EPL goals already this season. I can well understand the McClean talk but why so little mention of Pilks???

Jaysus
12/02/2012, 11:22 AM
Lads, has there been any mention of Pilkington with Trap so far? I'd like to think he's been sounded out by now, considering he's already an U-21 cap and he's scored 6 or 7 EPL goals already this season. I can well understand the McClean talk but why so little mention of Pilks???

Because he hasn't nailed his colours to the mast yet. If he does that, he will get talked about much, much more on here.

Yard of Pace
12/02/2012, 11:31 AM
Because he hasn't nailed his colours to the mast yet. If he does that, he will get talked about much, much more on here.

Has anyone asked him yet?

From November in the Irish Times

Former Huddersfield winger Pilkington (23) has played for the Under-21s and would consider the offer if it arrived from the senior set-up, but clearly has more pressing issues on his mind.

“I think he’s (Tardelli) been to a few games. I played for the 21s when I was younger. I’ve not had any contact with them, so I’ll have to think about it if anything does come in but I’m not really thinking about that at the moment.

Surely to god the management team would get on to him by now.

irishfan86
13/02/2012, 8:19 AM
McLean has an excuse for not being involved up to now -- he's only broken through to first team football now....but Pilkington could have made things a bit more clear before now -- that's probably the thought of Trap.

Given his age and ability, getting him aboard for next campaign would be great, and I hope he does, but declaring his allegiance now after qualification is probably a non-starter.

That said, I'd be happy for him to join our ranks next campaign, or sooner if there was an injury crisis.

dr_peepee
13/02/2012, 12:29 PM
Nah.. The louder clamour for McLean rather than Pilkington is purely down to McLean being tailor made for Traps system in terms of what he offers as a wide player.

13/02/2012, 12:59 PM
It doesn't sound as if he's that pushed about it either way.

Former Huddersfield winger Pilkington (23) has played for the Under-21s and would consider the offer if it arrived from the senior set-up, but clearly has more pressing issues on his mind.

“I think he’s (Tardelli) been to a few games. I played for the 21s when I was younger. I’ve not had any contact with them, so I’ll have to think about it if anything does come in but I’m not really thinking about that at the moment.

Yard of Pace
13/02/2012, 3:56 PM
We'd know more if we actually tried to call him up. I'm sorry but I feel like I'm on crazy pills here. There's a lad in his first EPL season who's scored 6 or 7 goals already, who's already played for the U-21s and there is little clamour to call him up or get in contact with him and tell him we'd like him to be involved in the next campaign? If he was from Cabra the media would be frothing at the mouth for him to be called up, regardless of what system he suits. And he's already played for us! I don't understand this at all.

13/02/2012, 4:15 PM
We'd know more if we actually tried to call him up. I'm sorry but I feel like I'm on crazy pills here. There's a lad in his first EPL season who's scored 6 or 7 goals already, who's already played for the U-21s and there is little clamour to call him up or get in contact with him and tell him we'd like him to be involved in the next campaign? If he was from Cabra the media would be frothing at the mouth for him to be called up, regardless of what system he suits. And he's already played for us! I don't understand this at all.
There can only be one media flavour of the month and its JMcClean at the moment. Pilks might be second in line. Not sure what postion Andy Reid is at the moment.

Yard of Pace
13/02/2012, 5:09 PM
There can only be one media flavour of the month and its JMcClean at the moment. Pilks might be second in line. Not sure what postion Andy Reid is at the moment.

Pilks has been excellent all season though! And he's only going to get better. I'm a Huddersfield fan so I've followed him a while. I re-iterate - if he was from Ireland there'd be no end of talk about him. I don't think he feels any huge affinity for Ireland but I do know he's a good lad and if he was called up and played he would give it his all, a la Liam Lawrence, a player who was a credit to himself with his attitude towards playing for us. Pilks is better than Lawrence though.

13/02/2012, 6:03 PM
Pilks has been excellent all season though! And he's only going to get better. I'm a Huddersfield fan so I've followed him a while. I re-iterate - if he was from Ireland there'd be no end of talk about him. I don't think he feels any huge affinity for Ireland but I do know he's a good lad and if he was called up and played he would give it his all, a la Liam Lawrence, a player who was a credit to himself with his attitude towards playing for us. Pilks is better than Lawrence though.
I know what you're getting at, but it's very hard to prove.
At the moment:
Ex LOI player > Irish born/English trained player > English born Irish player, in terms of media consciousness. C'est la vie and good luck trying to change that mindset.

Interestingly, I think Pilkington has a better chance of being called up if the Media aren't clamouring for him, as Trap seems to go against that grain. If we all start screaming for another Paul Green call up, it'll ensure he never gets called up again. (no problem with Paul though, just a little out of his depth against the top nations)

13/02/2012, 6:10 PM
We'll call him Pilks from now on though.

Yard of Pace
13/02/2012, 7:51 PM
I know what you're getting at, but it's very hard to prove.
At the moment:
Ex LOI player > Irish born/English trained player > English born Irish player, in terms of media consciousness. C'est la vie and good luck trying to change that mindset.

Interestingly, I think Pilkington has a better chance of being called up if the Media aren't clamouring for him, as Trap seems to go against that grain. If we all start screaming for another Paul Green call up, it'll ensure he never gets called up again. (no problem with Paul though, just a little out of his depth against the top nations)

I know what you mean, and I agree on how the media works but I'd have thought that Pilks' continuing goalscoring exploits would at least cause one of journos to quiz Trap on him.

09/04/2012, 3:21 PM
Scored again today vs Spurs.

A texter to BBC live updates writes: "If Kyle Walker is in with a shout for England then surely eight-goal Anthony Pilkington who is causing him all sorts of problems should be too."

Hands off our boys FA!

TrapAPony
09/04/2012, 3:27 PM
Scored again today vs Spurs.

A texter to BBC live updates writes: "If Kyle Walker is in with a shout for England then surely eight-goal Anthony Pilkington who is causing him all sorts of problems should be too."

Hands off our boys FA!

Until Trapattoni caps him, which he should have been doing, then Pilkington is not one of ours yet.

Olé Olé
09/04/2012, 6:05 PM
It does stand to reason that if McClean was deemed worth a cap then Pilkington could have been called up too, even if a far lesser level (if any) of media attention in this country is directed at Pilkington.

Perhaps Trap has been waiting for a strong declaration of intent to play for Ireland from Pilkington. As someone mentioned in this thread, there's every chance that he'll be in the reckoning for the London Olympics as part of the Great Britain squad. Then there's the fact he has only played one game for Ireland, so it's not as if he's in a McGeady or McCarthy position whereby he's been part of the FAI youth set-up since he was a teenager and has grown comfortable in that environment to the degree that he actively wants to play for Ireland, rather than England.

There's also the speculation (not sure if it's true) regarding Pilkington being unaware he qualified to play for Ireland, which hints that he holds no great affinity with the country or his Irish heritage.

Predator
09/04/2012, 10:32 PM
Seen this on Pilkington's twitter:

RT @livergary (https://twitter.com/#%21/livergary): @Pilkington_11 (https://twitter.com/#%21/Pilkington_11) do you think you will be picked for the world cup qualifiers in september?»» NO

Not sure if the inquirer is referring to England or Ireland.

Crosby87
10/04/2012, 11:26 AM
Then there's the fact he has only played one game for Ireland

There's also the speculation (not sure if it's true) regarding Pilkington being unaware he qualified to play for Ireland, which hints that he holds no great affinity with the country or his Irish heritage.

So he played a game for Ireland but was still unaware that he qualified to play for them?

Yard of Pace
10/04/2012, 12:15 PM
So he played a game for Ireland but was still unaware that he qualified to play for them?

I think he means that Pilks was unaware he qualified until he was called up to the U21s.

My view on all this is that Trap could put all it to bed in about 10 minutes by calling him and telling him he'd like to name him in a squad and ask Pilks to make up his mind. He obviously doesn't feel like he'll ever get a chance with England and if he was happy to bother his arse coming to play an underage game for us you'd imagine he'd be interested in playing for the senior team. I suspect we might see him after the Euros, though I think it's a shame that two of the EPL's star performers this season, Pilks and Hoolahan, will play no part for us in June.

10/04/2012, 1:48 PM
I think it's a shame that two of the EPL's star performers this season, Pilks and Hoolahan, will play no part for us in June.

hasnt hoolahan been in and out of the Norwich team all season? Has had a few eye catching performances but including him as one of the leagues star performers is pushing it

Yard of Pace
10/04/2012, 3:28 PM
hasnt hoolahan been in and out of the Norwich team all season? Has had a few eye catching performances but including him as one of the leagues star performers is pushing it

He's started 22 of 33 games and appeared as a sub in a further 7. I can't say I have seen every Norwich game but any time I do he's pretty much central to everything good that they do. Gregg Roughley wrote a piece in the Guardian recently which featured this:

Norwich City's manager, Paul Lambert, polled second with 40%. His side are just one place below Swansea in 12th, having entertained with a no-fear approach while making household names of players with little to no previous Premier League experience: Grant Holt, Steve Morrison, Anthony Pilkington, Wes Hoolahan.

Any player who is now a "household name" surely must be considered a star performer this season, I would have thought. Norwich are now up to 10th, incidentally.

10/04/2012, 9:34 PM

i think to characterise Hoolahan as anything other than a star performer for Norwich is doing him a disservice. Thats not exactly what you have said, granted, but he (along with Pilkington) has been a key part of a team that has superceded all expectations in the EPL this year. Holt has been one of the leagues star performers though, without question.

AlaskaFox
14/04/2012, 5:10 PM
Any player who is now a "household name" surely must be considered a star performer this season, I would have thought. Norwich are now up to 10th, incidentally.

Emile Heskey is a household name.

TrapAPony
19/11/2012, 3:34 PM
From the Herald

"NORWICH midfielder Anthony Pilkington sent a clear message to Giovanni Trapattoni on Saturday night with a match-winning performance against Manchester United. Pilkington spoke with Ireland goalkeeping coach Alan Kelly last week and is expected to join up with the Irish team in 2013.":D

theworm2345
19/11/2012, 4:11 PM
From the Herald

"NORWICH midfielder Anthony Pilkington sent a clear message to Giovanni Trapattoni on Saturday night with a match-winning performance against Manchester United. Pilkington spoke with Ireland goalkeeping coach Alan Kelly last week and is expected to join up with the Irish team in 2013.":D
Hope he enjoys backing up Simon Cox :rolleyes:

Yard of Pace
19/11/2012, 4:21 PM
Wonderful news, if true. The MOTD commentator on Saturday night was exclaiming that he'd be getting an England call before long.

Supreme feet
19/11/2012, 4:50 PM
I'd be happy to see him called up. With Coleman reverting to RB, Duff retired, Hunt and Lawrence in the wilderness, McClean off the boil, and McGeady continuing to flatter to deceive, the wide midfield areas have become something of a problem position for us in the last 12 months.

Olé Olé
19/11/2012, 5:08 PM
From the Herald

Given that he's only 24 and we've recently seen 31 year-old Leon Osman gain England recognition, his chances of eventually getting a cap or more for England isn't far-fetched, particularly on the basis of his career's trajectory thus far.

I hope there's basis to this story. Am I right in saying that the Herald isn't the most reliable source for this type of news? Positive nonetheless, but I don't understand why he hasn't been capped by now, especially when, in effect, he operates in a role which Trap loves to accommodate in his squads; a player who can play on the wing or but is of decent stature to play up front (Keogh, Cox, Walters etc.).

I mean, there are two reasons as to why he hasn't been capped at this stage:
1. Trap hasn't felt the need to call him up
2. Pilkington himself has been hesitant to pledge himself to Ireland

Well, now would be a strange time for Pilkington to over-come his hesitancy. And Trap has called him up once before, but he pulled out due to injury. So did Trap judge him not to be worthy of a place in his squads before and after that friendly?

19/11/2012, 5:34 PM
I mean, there are two reasons as to why he hasn't been capped at this stage:
1. Trap hasn't felt the need to call him up
2. Pilkington himself has been hesitant to pledge himself to Ireland

Well, now would be a strange time for Pilkington to over-come his hesitancy. And Trap has called him up once before, but he pulled out due to injury. So did Trap judge him not to be worthy of a place in his squads before and after that friendly?

Was he actually called up for a squad? I think there were only rumors that Trap inquired as to his availability for the Serbia friendly.
Trap denied that contact had been made about Pilkington joining up with the squad.
But it appears that some contact had been made, Trap had requested from Pilkington that he first get a passport and then commit himself to Ireland.

Paddy Garcia
19/11/2012, 7:13 PM
Hughton is one manager who would always do the right thing by Ireland

DannyInvincible
20/11/2012, 8:37 AM
Was he actually called up for a squad? I think there were only rumors that Trap inquired as to his availability for the Serbia friendly.
Trap denied that contact had been made about Pilkington joining up with the squad.

Don't think he was called up. Apparently, inquiries were made by FAI officials though: http://www.edp24.co.uk/sport/norwich-city-fc/injury_rules_out_anthony_pilkington_as_republic_of _ireland_replacement_for_wes_hoolahan_1_1480743

But it appears that some contact had been made, Trap had requested from Pilkington that he first get a passport and then commit himself to Ireland.

Shouldn't he already have an Irish passport from representing us previously?

It was a friendly, mind, and haven't there been suggestions that things are more lax for under-age friendly games? Interestingly, Séamus Coleman also played in that game: http://www.soccerscene.ie/ss21/matchdetails.php?id=39

20/11/2012, 9:20 AM
Don't think he was called up. Apparently, inquiries were made by FAI officials though: http://www.edp24.co.uk/sport/norwich-city-fc/injury_rules_out_anthony_pilkington_as_republic_of _ireland_replacement_for_wes_hoolahan_1_1480743

Yeah I see there was a report on the FAI news page
Trap welcomes squad for serbia friendly (http://www.fai.ie/international/senior-men/102663-trapattoni-welcomes-squad-ahead-of-serbia-friendly.html)

"Following Wes Hoolahan's withdrawal from the squad on Friday (Achilles), Norwich City were contacted about the availability of Anthony Pilkington. However, Pilkington sustained a hamstring injury and came off after 65 minutes in a pre-season friendly yesterday and is not fit to report."
I suppose that amounts to a request. However, Trap denies that there was such a contact. Could be a case of a FAI official getting ahead of themselves, I wouldn't rule that out :)

Shouldn't he already have an Irish passport from representing us previously?
Who knows, Trap just referred to him and passport.
Unextrapolated quote from Trap,
"I sent SMS but at this moment we have to ask as we need to make the passport," Trapattoni told reporters. "We have doubt situation. He has good quality but we need time.
"Until now he must answer us. It’s not the first time. There is no contact, he is not our player," he added

DannyInvincible
20/11/2012, 9:32 AM
"I sent SMS but at this moment we have to ask as we need to make the passport," Trapattoni told reporters.

Clearly, the FAI's Passport Production Department aren't what they used to be. Back in the day, I remember they managed to manufacture one for Tony Cascarino in no time!

20/11/2012, 9:44 AM
I reckon if he keeps up these performances then he will surely be called up to England by that stage.

ArdeeBhoy
20/11/2012, 10:07 AM
Why ?

20/11/2012, 10:38 AM
Because there is a "doubt situation" existing.

ArdeeBhoy
20/11/2012, 10:43 AM
Well, be amazed if England pick him...

Besides them, he's only eligible for Ireland?
Unless he's moving to Qatar...

theworm2345
02/12/2012, 3:36 PM
Goal. Long ball over the top, Pilkington played on side by Kilgallon. Manages to get behind Kilgallon, though forced away from goal by Cuellar, cuts it back and in side Cuellar, and finishes past Mignolet into the corner from about 12 yards out.

02/12/2012, 4:18 PM
Sunderland getting back into the game got they got one back to 2-1 then there was one of the most shocking misses I have ever seen, not sure
which Sunferland player is was, a fair haired one. Kilgallonn. Shocking miss worth seeing.

IsMiseSean
02/12/2012, 4:52 PM
Wasn't Kilgallon mentioned as possibly being eligible a few years back?

02/12/2012, 5:02 PM
Wasn't Kilgallon mentioned as possibly being eligible a few years back?

He is mentioned here.
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055756787

But judging by that miss we aren't missing much!!!