View Full Version : Russia v Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 6th September 2011 - Euro 2012 Qualifier
Pages :
[
7]
06/09/2011, 3:44 PM
Listening on the radio is horrendous. Still 0-0 seems like a major positive at this stage.
backstothewall
06/09/2011, 3:44 PM
Any change can only be an improvement. But we need a bit of possession. Not sure about Hunt to do that. McCarthy for Andrews for me. Drop Doyle into midfield to make up for height and physicality in the middle of the park..
ken foree
06/09/2011, 3:45 PM
heartstopping.
picture gone again ffs
Closed Account 2
is it h/t yet ? how much injury time ?
backstothewall
We got a corner!!!
theworm2345
06/09/2011, 3:46 PM
is it h/t yet ? how much injury time ?
Shouldn't be any
Murfinator
has been uncomfortable viewing the last 20 minutes.
Crosby87
what are they doing with that corner.
06/09/2011, 3:47 PM
just finally able to get this going now with no sound... how has it been so far?
best not to ask.
Agree with TC. McGeady with Ward, Ward for Hunt.
Maroon 7
06/09/2011, 3:48 PM
Off the line again.
DannyInvincible
Phew, that whistle was a relief. This has been terrifying.
theworm2345
Well say what you will be we haven't conceded 3 goals yet...Dunphy's thoughts should be interesting.
If anyone needs me, I'll be continuing this coronary in the canteen
Thank fupp for that
Crosby87
06/09/2011, 3:49 PM
that was fast paced. we are going to have some exhausted players back there if they aint already.
06/09/2011, 3:49 PM
Fresh kaks please
eekers
06/09/2011, 3:50 PM
Huge list of streams for anyone who needs to see this horror show from the p2peu guys
http://forum.wiziwig.eu/threads/59905-Tuesday-s-Football-Links?p=1346532#post1346532
06/09/2011, 3:51 PM
Unbelieveable deluge here in NW London. I hope our defence is tighter than my roof.
haunted to be at 0-0. we've created virtually nothing.
ward is a mess, hopefully trap will ball him out of it and tell him not to bomb forward in the second half. don't think he's the type to take a player off at HT.
IsMiseSean
06/09/2011, 3:52 PM
Ronnie Whelan saying Keane isn't fit, well he's working harder than Doyle...
06/09/2011, 3:52 PM
How the hell we kept a clean sheet in that half is beyond me. Simply can't handle their movement.
Time for Giovanni to earn his money. If he can't improve us tactically in the second half, then there is simply no point in keeping him employed beyond this campaign. More and more, 4-4-2 in its classic form is becoming redundant.
06/09/2011, 3:53 PM
Good job we have Dunne. Awful with the ball but we had a bright first 8 minutes. Russia in control since 25th minute.
Noelys Guitar
Richard Dunne v Russia. Has to change things second half. Whelan was running in treacle near the end of the half. Andrews turned his back on that Arshavin shot. Having said that Doyle has won his last two headers. Get McGeady on the ball as much as possible. I'd bring on McCarthy for either Andrews or Whelan. I have a feeling he will do well on this surface.
Crosby87
I honestly don't think we had the ball for more than 15 or so seconds in the 15 mins I watched.
Predator
06/09/2011, 3:54 PM
I hate hearing the soundbites from the commentary saying how much of an achievement it is to not concede and how a brief spell of possession is "bright". It is not an achievement and managing to keep the ball for more than 30 seconds before wasting possession and creating nothing is not bright. We need to stop settling for second best.
Philly
How we are not 2 or 3 down is beyond me. The next 45 minutes could well determine Trap's future with us - here's hoping he has a Plan B to show us...
I'm praying this is similar to what's being said in both dressing rooms
p671JaPTdbI
06/09/2011, 3:55 PM
If we get out of this with even a point, Trapattoni can have all the contracts he likes. It has been a battering.
We're playing a team low on confidence and we are giving them every opportunity to build it up by allowing them to play football. If we're going to let them have the ball, the least we can do is start kicking them to pieces. This standing off strategy is a recipe for disaster.
edit: as great as Dunne's goalline clearance was, it was a pitiful attempt from the striker. Robbie would have buried it in the far corner.
DannyInvincible
06/09/2011, 3:57 PM
If this is how we're supposed to be playing, Trap is looking to give himself a heart attack. We could easily be a few goals down. It's clear for all to see that the system isn't working as it's supposed to.
dantheman
Lulling them into a false sense of security. Well done so far lads
'Harrowing;' if ever one word summed up a half.
ArdeeBhoy
Pure sh*te all round, so a far a disaster in the making?
Good job I too a dumb before kick off :p
Diarmo
06/09/2011, 3:59 PM
Aagh. It's been a hammering without us conceding. Realistically, this is far worse than our display at Landsdowne against them and we're still not behind. Not bad. I was a big Trap fan, but his tactics are hopeless lately. McCarthy on for Andrews, Hunt for Ward later, maybe. Or maybe try the midfield diamond, with Robbie in an attacking mid position like in Bari.
Noelys Guitar
06/09/2011, 3:59 PM
The thing is we have two players on the bench who can make a difference in Hunt and McCarthy. We look like we might give away a peno if this pressure keeps up. Change it now Trap (knowing that he won't).
06/09/2011, 4:00 PM
I am feeling confident actually, surprisingly enough, it's still level and only
45 minutes to go, we can grab a late goal as the push forward, that's
my plan for a win.
Predator
Andrews has been poor and has Whelan even had the ball?
Crosby87
need some sort of weird lucky freak goal.
Anybody able to work out what our gameplan is? Surely kicking the ball back to Russia isn't one?
06/09/2011, 4:03 PM
Anybody able to work out what our gameplan is? Surely kicking the ball back to Russia isn't one?
http://kevishere.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/trench-warfare-wwi.jpg
Crosby87
06/09/2011, 4:03 PM
what ever it is its not being executed Shaker. i doubt he said "So A heres-a da plan. Run around like da Pollo with da no-a head."
06/09/2011, 4:04 PM
Lads lucky ive always only listened to myself on Ireland stuff as its made this easier watch because everything from Friday is what i said would be a problem if Russia were capable of exposing us.
Why do we never put anyone on front post.
Does trapatoni really think sitting back ia the key?when the 3 times we pushed up and tackles we won the ball or saved pressure.
Fixer82
06/09/2011, 4:05 PM
Hunt in left back i think. or Foley or Delaney even. Ward is not a LB. Doyle off for McCarthy too I think
theworm2345
06/09/2011, 4:05 PM
Games 0-0, a new half, clean slate
backstothewall
06/09/2011, 4:06 PM
No changes. Back into the valley of death ride the 600
theworm2345
06/09/2011, 4:08 PM
Dunney Monster!!!
Fixer82
06/09/2011, 4:10 PM
That's twice the commentator has mentioned Tardelli freaking out with Trap on sideline
06/09/2011, 4:12 PM
Yep disagreeing with trap.fair play
06/09/2011, 4:13 PM
Keith Andrews is the clumsiest footballer in the world