View Full Version : Galway put entire squad up for sale
BRING BACK TONY MANNION ! Best local based manager the club has ever had, 3 times !
25/07/2011, 9:50 PM
BRING BACK TONY MANNION ! Best local based manager the club has ever had, 3 times !
What about John McIntyre?
25/07/2011, 10:17 PM
Having a mercenary like stuey Byrne talking about it was even more galling
There's no such thing as a mercenary in the LOI. These people make below the average industrial wage to do what they love.
peadar1987
25/07/2011, 11:09 PM
There's no such thing as a mercenary in the LOI. These people make below the average industrial wage to do what they love.
And have to put up with clubs promising to pay wages they can't afford, then trying to cut deals when they eventually fold. Not only this, the players then get slated for it!
26/07/2011, 8:09 AM
No other club in the country would have kept a manager with the record Connor has this season
We kept Doolin after we lost the first nine games of the 2003 season and were pretty much relegation certs. We couldn't afford to get rid of him (until Drogheda took him off our hands). That's what it comes down to at times.
They do now. Stuey Byrne didn't always.
Doesn't detract from the fact he was a professional and was entitled to earn as much as he could for himself. And unlike some, I'm fairly certain he approached his job in the same manner, regardless of how much he was paid
passerrby
26/07/2011, 12:28 PM
Its a sideshow anyway at this stage THE MC are saving a club, The manager is saving himself if he came out with the reason he is hanging on you would have more respect for the man . Any local man would die of embarrassment with that set of results. He was well aware of the basket case he came into[/QUOTE]
He's hanging around to ensure you honour his contact with him and he's dead right
If no one has the money to pay him off, it was a stupid move by the management committee. Still, I guess with the players released, they needed a new hate figure. So far this season it's been Revenue, Leeson, Players, Manager. If they don't slow down, someone will actually have to take responsibility!
26/07/2011, 12:54 PM
Never hated the Revenue the fault with the tax clearence Cert lay more at the FAI's door than anyone else. The MC are working with their hands tied behind their back due to 3 deals Ewan did in the last 3 days before he left.The MC are also the only ones raising finance and paying Creditors the Board havent been paying anything since before the end of last season.
The Trader is not gone away as thanks to him SC is contracted to the board of directors of which he is one but no one has seen or heard from him since he cleared his bunker in Terryland.
gufc2000
26/07/2011, 1:00 PM
If no one has the money to pay him off, it was a stupid move by the management committee. Still, I guess with the players released, they needed a new hate figure. So far this season it's been Revenue, Leeson, Players, Manager. If they don't slow down, someone will actually have to take responsibility!
Nobody is trying to play the blame the game, the MC are just trying to ensure that those who have left us in this mess are held responsible.
Revenue- The club had things in order, they just didn't issue the tax clearance cert in time.
Leeson- need we say anything here
Players- Nobody has been blaming the players, it was the best squad that could be cobbled together for the money that was available. Some of them were limited in ability but still didn't deserve to be lambasted after the match in Hunky Dorys Park in April.
Manager- Its just come to the stage where he can't do anything more with this group. We haven't got as much as a draw since his outburst in Drogheda. Indeed I wasn't aware of some of the things that were going on behind the scenes until one of the MC members told some of the antics that were going on behind the scenes.
I don't think people here actually understand how hard the MC have worked to ensure we get a team on the pitch every week.
Ezeikial
26/07/2011, 2:00 PM
The Trader is not gone away as thanks to him SC is contracted to the board of directors of which he is one but no one has seen or heard from him since he cleared his bunker in Terryland.
Way of the mark! Any contract is with the club. SC is contracted to Galway United FC
Nobody is trying to play the blame the game, the MC are just trying to ensure that those who have left us in this mess are held responsible.
I hope you can see that this is not how it appears. "Blame" and "responsibility" are subtle differences of interpretation.
I don't think people here actually understand how hard the MC have worked to ensure we get a team on the pitch every week.
Hard work and well thought out actions can often be very different. I really can't figure out how the statement by the MC is going to improve the situation at all.
Do you think the general Galway public will rally to the cause of the club with this sort of very public rift within the ranks?
geezer
26/07/2011, 2:11 PM
Its a sideshow anyway at this stage THE MC are saving a club, The manager is saving himself if he came out with the reason he is hanging on you would have more respect for the man . Any local man would die of embarrassment with that set of results. He was well aware of the basket case he came into
He's hanging around to ensure you honour his contact with him and he's dead right[/QUOTE]
The manager is in a crises. He doesnt like the outcome of professional measurement on a weekly basis. None of us do but in work it happens.
He will stay as long as the board say so, He wants the mc gone because he thinks the board do a better job managing from far off fields and by phone.
The thing is the MC are lining up to carry minimum 200k debt into the future if the remnants of the board manage to do a debt deal and resolve their debt issues and with that coming down there is no way a club in the first division can sustain both.
They cant have their cake and eat it.
The MC are on a new roadway and whilst committed to the future and prepared to take on the remaining debt its important this is all done and dusted this season and not carried over the winter. Something will give, it has to.
In the meantime we now have a real club full of people prepared to square up to any undermining or financial manoevres.
The Galway United Academy will evolve and if it has to be the FC United of Galway academy for a few years so be it but people better make up their minds what they want . In the meantime we will continue putting a team on the pitch and getting to the end of season
WoodquayBoy
26/07/2011, 2:53 PM
Way of the mark! Any contract is with the club. SC is contracted to Galway United FC
And who do you think owns the club? The directors. Waaaaaaaaaaayyyy off the mark my Lilywhite friend
26/07/2011, 3:00 PM
Doesn't mean he's contracted to the directors though. If the directors all left, he'd still have a contract with the club.
I hope you can see that this is not how it appears. "Blame" and "responsibility" are subtle differences of interpretation.
Hard work and well thought out actions can often be very different. I really can't figure out how the statement by the MC is going to improve the situation at all.
Do you think the general Galway public will rally to the cause of the club with this sort of very public rift within the ranks?
Im afraid your way off the mark with the first part his contract is with Galway United F.C. Limited which is owned lock stock and barrell by the board of directors. GUST would not and did not take a shareholding in this Company as there are debts in the region of €1.2m of which the Majority is Bank Debt Guarenteed by the self same board.
The MC is made up entirely of members of the Trust who got involved to save the club and are all fans who work voluntarily and the clubs entire budget now is less that the administration budget when the trader was involved.
The majority of people in galway do support the mc as they know the mountain of **** we faced when we agreed to take over the big problem is the trader being involved on the board.
Ezeikial
26/07/2011, 3:26 PM
And who do you think owns the club? The directors. Waaaaaaaaaaayyyy off the mark my Lilywhite friend
Im afraid your way off the mark with the first part his contract is with Galway United F.C. Limited which is owned lock stock and barrell by the board of directors. .
and so we come back to square 1 - Any contract is with the club and not personally with the directors as an entity distinct from the club. SC is contracted to Galway United FC
GUST would not and did not take a shareholding in this Company as there are debts in the region of €1.2m of which the Majority is Bank Debt Guarenteed by the self same board.
The MC is made up entirely of members of the Trust who got involved to save the club and are all fans who work voluntarily and the clubs entire budget now is less that the administration budget when the trader was involved.
I am not suggesting that the Trust / MC members are anything other then decent and hardworking people. I just don't get the strategy behind the statement or what the MC expect it to achieve.
The majority of people in galway do support the mc as they know the mountain of **** we faced when we agreed to take over the big problem is the trader being involved on the board.
I presume that you mean the majority of regular supporters? Clearly the wider support and goodwill of the people of Galway is badly needed in the current situation.
Faction fighting and in-house turmoil rarely galvanises the lukewarm interests of the community
Someone better tell Seanie as his mainline is he is not answerable to the MC and his contract is with the board.
Only 1 member of the board has been doing anything to sort out the mess and that was the main reason in bringing out the statement. The board has fannied about for the last 18 months without anyone controlling the manager and former CEO and direct action was the only way to get them to walk up to the plate.
Are you on the MC? because you're babbling here.
Seriously, I wish you nothing but good luck, but your posts here only come across as bitter and confusing.
If this is the type of stuff Connor has to defend himelf against, he'll easily get his money IMO
Ezeikial
26/07/2011, 4:45 PM
I'm beginning to think that this was a poorly conceived and badly thought out statement that was issued out of frustration and pique by the MC/GUST.
Seannie dismisses the MC on the basis that he is answerable to the Board. The MC/GUST are annoyed with Seannie and disillusioned with the Board who wont do what MC/GUST want.
"Direct Action", "Walk up to the plate", "appropriate action by the directors" is all fine and dandy as rethoric, but surely this is just leading to a mad scramble to pay off the remainder of Seannie's contract before the next licensing application is considered.
passerrby
26/07/2011, 6:42 PM
The manager is in a crises. He doesnt like the outcome of professional measurement on a weekly basis. None of us do but in work it happens.
He will stay as long as the board say so, He wants the mc gone because he thinks the board do a better job managing from far off fields and by phone.
The thing is the MC are lining up to carry minimum 200k debt into the future if the remnants of the board manage to do a debt deal and resolve their debt issues and with that coming down there is no way a club in the first division can sustain both.
They cant have their cake and eat it.
The MC are on a new roadway and whilst committed to the future and prepared to take on the remaining debt its important this is all done and dusted this season and not carried over the winter. Something will give, it has to.
In the meantime we now have a real club full of people prepared to square up to any undermining or financial manoevres.
The Galway United Academy will evolve and if it has to be the FC United of Galway academy for a few years so be it but people better make up their minds what they want . In the meantime we will continue putting a team on the pitch and getting to the end of season
thats twadle you hired him (and by that i mean galway united) he is under contact to galway and is not going to jump because of a vote of no confidence he will want his money and who could blame him.
Redzer
26/07/2011, 6:56 PM
If Seannie is contracted to some "Board of Directors" and not to galway united, then why the F**k are the MC paying him? I really believe ye havn't a clue what ye're at.
Im afraid your way off the mark with the first part his contract is with Galway United F.C. Limited which is owned lock stock and barrell by the board of directors. GUST would not and did not take a shareholding in this Company as there are debts in the region of €1.2m of which the Majority is Bank Debt Guarenteed by the self same board.
As far as the FAI and the licence is concerned Galway United FC Limited is Galway United FC for now. Certainly in terms of all responsibilities, budgets and contracts.
It's irrelevant if the MC has any shares in the company. The board own the company, the board are allowing the MC to run the club for them.
He is not contracted to the board, he is contracted to the company and club. However, from his point of view, his bosses are the people who hired him e.g. the board. If he's acting up for the MC then the board need to put him in his place, explain to management structures of the company, and warn him if he doesn't comply.
Is he really on a 3 year contract? I cant understand why he would have warranted that coming on the back of a poor enough season and 12 mth contract with us. The man is a bit of a gangster, and total bluffer, but I cant see anyway out for GUFC in this situation other than to agree a settlement.
Mr Maroon
27/07/2011, 7:41 PM
Is he really on a 3 year contract?
Yes.
The former CEO signed it shortly before he stepped down.
The Lep
27/07/2011, 7:56 PM
Did he get his wages cut same as the players?
geezer
27/07/2011, 7:58 PM
Survival update...
Progress is being made on the amount required to get to seasons end we still have a target of €39000 to bag. Knights Of Leon, Poker night, shop street stand, Maroon Army, Cormacs Tours, Car boots and Lotto commencing soon so just a reminder for all to keep focused. If we can draw with Derry and attract a good crowd to the Shamrock rovers game 2 weeks after we could get under the 30k mark
The next 2 weeks are crucial as well as its a two week gap because of the break so come on
dont worry the funds arent going to the pockets of the dublin based friends of the lazy mns couch pundits anymore who dont bother to get two sides of any story.
but thankfully Emmet Malone had a very balanced article in the paper of record the Irish Times on Tuesday
Keep focused and thanks for your opinions, help and of course your fundraising collection activities.
Galway Bay Hotel, Galway Shopping Centre deserve a big thanks for help in the last few weeks , support these business
also thanks to Limerick, Cork and other LOI sides fans for coming to games in solidarity your €12 made a huge difference
This post has been edited by geezer: Today, 09:51 PM
Mr Maroon
27/07/2011, 9:02 PM
Did he get his wages cut same as the players?
SC hasn't taken any pay cut.
The Lep
27/07/2011, 9:44 PM
Is he being paid?
geezer
27/07/2011, 9:49 PM
suffered reduced wages to be fair, and deferred payment whilst he carried out his instructions to move on players that couldnt be afforded no longer. He done this and then requested to be paid in full once they had left as he had reduced the weekly wage bill. He is out money as well and has suffered so that has to be acknowledged. Once it was agreed that there was 54% wage cuts required on the 6th of june just to survive he naturally resisted but also had to consider protecting his own income and carried out his instructions from the MC and both parties moved them on.
This of course has been followed by further riding instructions and naturally the elastic is tight so its then he went to the board and began to baulk at the weekly measurements v contract and riding instructions being issued to him by the MC and since the MC were authorised to manage him directly after the 6th of june.
There are good reasons why the board dont approve of no confidence motions at a time they are trying to reduce liabilities and they dont need a court case for unpaid contracts and adding to the debt, but people, directors, manager have to be accountable in this business weekly and actions minuted, recorded and measured and reducing liabilities talks or preparing the ground so any agreements can be paid cant go on forever as when agreements are made its the MC who will be taking on the legacy debts which could be north of 200k over 20 years and this cant be done unless costs are reduced.
MC has also to tick off boxes to be ready for any licence process in the winter and need to push now for certainty on this and get agreements quickly, complete the fixtures or just throw the hat at it and maybe the Local FA or someone will show leadership and Pull all the strands of soccer together in Galway and use the €200k the two galway based 1st division clubs and the €200k GUFC spend per year and pool it together with arm wrenching by the FAI and Local Fa asa positive forward looking Connacht Rugby will attract up all the young kids in the west because of apathy created by fractious footballing culture in Galway
Pressure to survive for the MC and pressure for results on the managers part have resulted in a fork in the road. This will be resolved He will be told to comply with management instructions one way or the other like all Professional managers in any industry.
Its my own opinion now and hindsight is easy, i was happy to close my ears to Dundalk upset at the time that we were fudged into the premier, were never properly prepared are far from a premier outfit and all we can hope is to go back to basics , start an academy and hold on to the LOI licence that permits us to play in the 1st division and come back on merit... football merit
The Lep
27/07/2011, 10:06 PM
So going by the above and Mr Maroon's post, does it mean that not all at GUST knows whats actually happening?
geezer
27/07/2011, 10:44 PM
Gust had an open meeting 2 weeks ago, everything was discussed, I cant make everyone attend every MC Meeting and I dont know Mr Maroon and am fairly sure he is not on the MC. Unfortunately I cant ensure everyone associated with the club takes on everything thats going on, discussed at open meetings, printed in the press or on forums as with so much going on I can find it hard myself to keep up after a few days off.
The one thing we can guarantee is that this MC will complete its fixtures, honour commitments the MC entered into, tick licence boxes , be open and honest.
The MC Strategy is clear, its to prepare for licencing, obey the rules of the FAI , work with the Local FA, complete our fixtures, begin our Academy and pray to god that the board can do their bit and secure some certainty on liabilities built up over the last 5 years.
Now thats more than Dublin City or Sporting Fingal could do
The Lep
27/07/2011, 11:11 PM
Thats just a wish list not a guarantee. Why mention City and Fingal ? its a bit of a worry if you are using them as a benchmark . "well at least we did better than Dublin City and Fingal "
Who is actually in charge at Galway utd? who does the buck stop with? is O'connor part of the MC? Its seems like there are too many chiefs and not enough Indians . I wish you well but it would be a disgrace if Galway Utd accepted a premier licence next year if the situation remains the same. Is the bottom team relegated this year or is it a play off and are Galway just going through the motions until that play off game and banking on winning it to stay up?
Mr Maroon
27/07/2011, 11:13 PM
I'm not a member of the MC. I do know what's going on. I was at the meeting a couple of weeks ago.
geezer
28/07/2011, 9:02 AM
[QUOTE=The Lep;1512940]Thats just a wish list not a guarantee. Why mention City and Fingal ? its a bit of a worry if you are using them as a benchmark . "well at least we did better than Dublin City and Fingal "
its documented, measured, discussed every tuesday for 3.5hours, The difference between you and me is that i know the lads who have brought it from 60k survival on june 6th to 39k to survival on july 28th.
The reason i mentioned fingal is that you have a fingal crest. Pulling out of the leaguei whilst the season is on is absolute no no for a club in existence for 35 years. Connor is the manager, The MC were given approval on 6th of june to manage the manager weekly, One member board intervened last week to stop us issueing a vote of no confidence, Which is teir right, The mc will continue fundraising, surviving looking after suppliers and ticking off boxes in preparation for Licencing and taking on a huge anount of debt.
28/07/2011, 10:19 AM
So going by the above and Mr Maroon's post, does it mean that not all at GUST knows whats actually happening?
What Mr. Maroon said is correct Sean Connor has not taken any wage cut actually he got an increase in his super 3 year contract from Nick & The Board .He took a deferral of wages but still got paid a reduced amount when his players werent paid.
The MC meetings are on every tuesday and any member of GUST can attend if they wish a lot more open than any other club or former club.
Patrick Dunne
28/07/2011, 10:36 AM
It is no-ones business here what the length of Sean Connors contract is, what he is due, or how much he gets paid - no more than it is none of my business what contract Roddy Collins is on, how much money Liam Buckley is due, etc, etc.
Clubs like Shamrock Rovers, Galway United, Finn Harps, etc are accountable to their members and supporters, not to anonymous posters here (whether we like it or not).
Of course people can ask any questions they want, not all have to be answered, or should be answered.
The Lep
28/07/2011, 12:27 PM
fair play to you geezer, its a pity that some of the galway heads on here are not on the same wavelength as you.
bullit
31/07/2011, 3:58 AM
Has anyone heard anything from seannie ?? And what happens next week for the Derry match,im sure yee(Galway Utd.) guys are not going to boycott it ??
geezer
31/07/2011, 11:40 AM
The Manager Sean Connor attended a football fixtures, Training & planning session last friday scheduled by the MC. The manager will be at the A Championship match this weekend plans are now in place for the u19 team as well. The club will continue to fulfill its fixtures naturally. The MC have no confidence in the manager, notified the board but the board decide if he is removed or remains . The MC continue their work running the day to day until the end of season as per the working agreement reached with the board at the start of season and with the approval of the leagues Directors offices
Ezeikial
31/07/2011, 6:29 PM
The Manager Sean Connor attended a football fixtures, Training & planning session last friday scheduled by the MC. The manager will be at the A Championship match this weekend plans are now in place for the u19 team as well. The club will continue to fulfill its fixtures naturally. The MC have no confidence in the manager, notified the board but the board decide if he is removed or remains . The MC continue their work running the day to day until the end of season as per the working agreement reached with the board at the start of season and with the approval of the leagues Directors offices
As the MC/GUST obviously want him removed by the board, how do MC/GUST propose this to be funded?
geezer
31/07/2011, 6:57 PM
The board may not decide to terminate his contract, they may seek to re negotiate it, its unaffordable now 19 losses in and rising, Day to day activities cant support that contract now. The MC just have no confidence in the Man, thats the way it is. His wages were totally funded from August to start of season by supporters that wont happen anymore. Trust has dissolved completely between the manager and the MC , maybe the board will pay him every week now or fund a settlement themselves. Costs have been reduced to ensure survival all over the club and operate at a completely different level. Thats the task in hand now we are carrying out... survival of the club.. not any one individual
Ezeikial
31/07/2011, 10:11 PM
So the level of confidence that the MC has in the manager will be directly related to his willingness to take a pay cut?
Survival of the Club? If Galway Utd intend to apply for a 2012 licence in its current structures then the manager will have to be paid in full (or have agreed other arrangements)
12/08/2011, 11:12 PM
Anyone happen to read Pat Dolans column in the Star today? Jesus I had some laugh at him giving out about Galway and their treatment of Sean Connor. "If they don't want him there then why don't they give him his money and sack him?" This being his main argument. Fantastic entertainment.
Nugget
12/08/2011, 11:22 PM
It's absolutely pathetic, I mean if you're going to go to the bother of writing an article, at least do a bit of research first
"If they don't want him there then why don't they give him his money and sack him?" This being his main argument. Fantastic entertainment.
I don't read the star, but that comment on it's own is fair enough comment, imo. The motion of no confidence was stupid if no one has the money to pay him off.
It's absolutely pathetic, I mean if you're going to go to the bother of writing an article, at least do a bit of research first
90% of journalists don't bother, why should Pat Dolan?
Redzer
13/08/2011, 1:40 PM
90% of journalists don't bother, why should Pat Dolan?
If the MC at Galway don't explain to the media ( or the Galway public for that matter) why they voted no confidence in their manager. Then Dolan and the rest of the journalists have only one side of the story.
Ezeikial
19/08/2011, 1:50 PM
This statement was just released
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/galway-united-management-committee-statement
It's now 4 weeks on since the Galway MC 'no confidence' statement. It does not appear to have achieved its objective (if that was ever actually fully clear). Whats the view of Galway folk of it's wisedom in hindsight?
Here's a bit from one of the local papers: http://www.galwaynews.ie/21077-its-time-management-committee-galway-united-follow-through
Ezeikial
19/08/2011, 2:46 PM
Thanks for that Mr A.
This extract from the Galway City Tribune piece you linked sums up why I am still baffled by the original statement and the subsequent lack of explanation as to its rationale:
Galway City Tribune wrote:
The problem with that is, as long as the Management Committee continue their ostrich-like approach to the matter, there is only one side of the story being put across. Members of the Management Committee argue that the most important thing is getting a team onto the pitch every week while trying to address the massive debt at the club, and have no interest in getting involved in a slanging match, but the fact is, they threw the first punch with their statement, and are now running away from the fight.