View Full Version : Galway put entire squad up for sale

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

bluewhitearmy
06/07/2011, 6:18 PM
That is a lie, not true. Not the first lie from that camp either.

4 different players that i have talked to have said it.

Mr Maroon
06/07/2011, 6:25 PM
What players would Galway fans feel would best help the club avoid relegation or in other words, who has contributed very little this season and will not be missed if they go

These are the only players who I think have played alright this season:

Alan Murphy
Mikey Gilmore
Stephen Walsh
Ronan Caldwell
Gary Kelly
Eduardo Dusi
Gary Curran (when fit)

I'd be confident of them staying too.

06/07/2011, 8:19 PM
That is a lie, not true. Not the first lie from that camp either.

"That camp" being "people you have owed money" ya??

Curse their oily hides!!

06/07/2011, 10:06 PM
Limerick fans are so full of Bull its unreal.See Shaun Kelly played GAA in Donegal last saturday night did he tell Pat Scully that. The Players will get every cent they are owed like they did last year.Check out with any player that was here last year.
a

geezer
06/07/2011, 10:55 PM
4 different players that i have talked to have said it.

Limerick have been more than good to us in the last few months, in fact way better than the people that run the game here and we probably deserve what we are getting. But lies are out of order and pm me the names and i will get them to ring you back and confirm its lies. If Limerick sign maher they will be doing us a big favour. He has a right to be upset over unpaid wages but no one has a right to tell lies unless there willing to stand over what they say. So pm me and i will prove to you they were lying or repeating lies that were told to them

07/07/2011, 12:08 AM
Limerick fans are so full of Bull its unreal.See Shaun Kelly played GAA in Donegal last saturday night did he tell Pat Scully that. The Players will get every cent they are owed like they did last year.Check out with any player that was here last year.
a

Limerick have been more than good to us in the last few months, in fact way better than the people that run the game here and we probably deserve what we are getting. But lies are out of order and pm me the names and i will get them to ring you back and confirm its lies. If Limerick sign maher they will be doing us a big favour. He has a right to be upset over unpaid wages but no one has a right to tell lies unless there willing to stand over what they say. So pm me and i will prove to you they were lying or repeating lies that were told to them

Pat and the lads running the club are decent sorts in fairness.

I genuinely hand on heart have no beef with Galway at the moment at all (had a bit of a laugh to myself but that's human nature), we were left in a very, very, similar situation to what I think is happening ye at the moment a few years ago (we owed no wages mind)

I just don't think you're helping yourselves with the constant public dirty linen washing, I've been there, it doesn't help. at all. What do any of ye care what a few pointy heads on t'internet think?? Go about your business do what you have to do, f*** em.

That Shaun Kelly thing is beyond childish btw. :ball:

gufcfan
07/07/2011, 6:50 AM
See Shaun Kelly played GAA in Donegal last saturday night

Yes and he scored a goal. Probably did as much good for them in one match that he did for us all season nearly.

The pair of you have been making eejits out of yourselves and United, sometimes arguing against comments made that are actually true, other times just having a go at people without a valid point.

Give it a bloody rest.

WoodquayBoy
07/07/2011, 9:59 AM
The ones for me who would be no loss would mainly be goalkeeper Greg Fleming (on trial with Bradford!), Shaun Kelly (gone), Paul Sinnott and Shaun Maher - 3 of our back four, plus the 'keeper. The fact we have conceded 58 goals this season should explain why I've singled them out. We'll miss Karl Moore, hope Gary Curran stays, Alan Murphy has beend ecent, Bobby Ryan has had his sporadic moments, but it is the yoyunfg lads like Dusi, Gary Kelly, Shane Keogh and Mikey Gilmore who have impressed. They may not be world-beaters, but I can't fault their effort.
As for Maher, not travelling with the squad for the Dundalk league game, only to turn up in the dressing room at half-time demanding his money, was poor form. Yes he is owed money, yes he is entitled to look for it, but in the dressing room at half-time in a game he wasn't involved in? There are times and places for everything, that wasn't one of them.
Still, we've brought this on ourselves, but please bear with us as we try to right the wrongs of recent years

gufcfan
07/07/2011, 10:26 AM
The ones for me who would be no loss would mainly be goalkeeper Greg Fleming (on trial with Bradford!)
People are very disheartened by how things have gone on the pitch this season but it's ridiculously unfair how people have badmouthed Fleming. He has probably faced more shots this season than a couple other Premier keepers put together. There were a good few games where he kept the score from being a massacre. He made an absolute howler against Drogs. It looks worse every time you see it, but it was one mistake, of which there were very very few since March. When Derry hockeyed us in the Brandywell the local commentators were signing his praises. Not often you hear that when a team gets hammered off the pitch.

Conor Winn will get eaten alive in the Premier and anyone that thinks he will do better than Fleming are in for an awful shock. He's a young lad with one league cup game under his belt and didn't stand out in A Championship. The Premier is no place to develop a young keeper, playing week-in, week-out, but that's what it has come to for us.

El-Pietro
07/07/2011, 10:29 AM
I've only seen Galway United play once this season. I can only judge based on that, but in the game on Friday your keeper put in the worst goalkeeping performance I've ever seen. He was horribly at fault for the second (I think) goal and was at fault for at least one more.

In fact, the MOTM for me was the UCD keeper who conceded 3 goals so its not like I'm saying he conceded 4 goals so he must be terrible.

WoodquayBoy
07/07/2011, 11:53 AM
My thoughts exactly El Pietro. Swop keepers the last night and I think we'd have won at a canter, Barron was exceptional, and was named as goalkeeper in the Indo's Team of the Week on Monday. Fleming has been, by and large, an absolute disaster - as good as punching in UCD's second goal on Friday, picking up an obvious back pass a few weeks ago. To suggest he has made "very very few" mistakes since March is absolutely laughable. We have a goalkeeper who has conceded 58 goals - what are we supposed to do, nominate him for player of the season? How criticism of Fleming has turned into praise of Conor Winn seems to be a direct link for gufcfan, but it is one no-one else is picking up on. I have a knot in the pit of my stomach at the prospect of Winn being our first choice 'keeper, I have not suggested he is better than Fleming, but why should that preclude criticism of Fleming, who brought to mind the wonderful displays of such goalkeeping stalwarts at United such as Dimitri Brinias, Norman Costello and Joey Power.

geezer
07/07/2011, 12:07 PM
i was thinking of joey myself, and gabby higgins. Incredible saves in woeful teams that were pummeled for weeks on end and naturally made some brilliant saves with all the shots. The manager had shag all time to bring in players but what he brought in had played bad long before the problems surfaced. Winn has the perfect chance now to play in real games, no a teams, reserve etc now its the real deal. The rest of the games till the play off in my opinion are of no consequence other than developing team spirit, gaining experience and preparing 11 lads to give all in a play off.

Patrick Dunne
07/07/2011, 2:37 PM
Wouldnt blame anyone for under- performing for Galway a week after they had signed the deals at the start of the season they had to take a cut. Not a great start to life at a new club.
This is incorrect. Practically all players were in paid in full as per terms of contract up to the end of May.

Red Star
07/07/2011, 7:55 PM
What about in June did they get paid?

Patrick Dunne
07/07/2011, 8:13 PM
Players are due wages for June.

WoodquayBoy
09/07/2011, 8:02 AM
Conor Winn will get eaten alive in the Premier and anyone that thinks he will do better than Fleming are in for an awful shock.
You were saying? I won't use just one game to say he is the future, but just the same, don't use one game to write him off. He had a cracking game last night

Sean South
11/07/2011, 7:01 PM
What BANK are Galway United Football Club with? I'd like to donate some cash, will a BANK draft do lads?

Sean South
11/07/2011, 7:02 PM
And how were the players paid?

Red Star
12/07/2011, 7:14 AM
I see Galway can't even afford to have a website anymore hard times for the tribesmen

12/07/2011, 7:54 AM
That's an issue with the provider rather than GUFC.

Nice try though.

Nugget
12/07/2011, 12:37 PM
What BANK are Galway United Football Club with? I'd like to donate some cash, will a BANK draft do lads?

Barings

Redzer
13/07/2011, 12:16 PM
Galway United Press Release

Galway United have released Gary Curran, Karl Moore, Brian Cash and Shaun Maher.

13/07/2011, 3:20 PM
And how were the players paid?

Ask the four wise men !!!

geezer
13/07/2011, 11:03 PM
Good turnout tonight, €43000 required to get through season and to play off.
up to 8 realistic fundraisers showcased and a determined effort agreed by all to make it happen. At least we can see light at the end of the tunnell now. A bit of luck on the field will make a massive difference... Well done all, The website back up now as well . Now if we could only get a point even in the next few weeks

13/07/2011, 11:42 PM
€43000??

Is that extra money you hope to raise on top of matchday income or is it everything??

Cutting it fine! :eek:

Patrick Dunne
14/07/2011, 12:07 AM
Extra money, not including projected gates in the interim. €3,000 a week over next 15 weeks, hard work but attainable.

dong
14/07/2011, 12:17 PM
€43000 required to get through season and to play off.

Have ye any ambition to avoid the play off? Or have ye decided to continue on and lose every game and take your chances?

14/07/2011, 12:23 PM
Of course we have ambition to Avoid the Play Off and that will be evident in every game we play. We will be signing local Amateur Players who wont be signing up to lose every week.

Realism and survival is what we are about and after what we have gone through in the last 6 months we are ready and up for the fight.

WoodquayBoy
14/07/2011, 3:23 PM
Dong, you'll hopefully see tomorrow night how much ambition we have to avoid the playoff. I, for one, would not fancy our chances against any of Cork, Limerick or Monaghan. Then again, thought that about Bray before the play-off last season, and we came through that

Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/07/2011, 8:42 PM
Have ye any ambition to avoid the play off? Or have ye decided to continue on and lose every game and take your chances?

Nothing wrong with budgeting for being in a play off. Every club down there should. What do you want to happen? That they get to the end of the season and then tell the players they can't pay them just before they play in the play off?

bullit
14/07/2011, 9:06 PM
I will tell you what.Galway fans are throwing everything at their survival that they possibly can.Maybe they took their eye of the ball for a while and let themselves become immersed in the mire that they are in ?? but by god and fair play to them they are now firefighting the situation like hero's.
The ammount of fund raising ideas that these guys have come up with is immense.
Walking tours of the City to name just one. :) (Who would have thought that would raise a few quid??)

Also,say what you want about him but the manager has an eye for a player or two and i reckon that they could still be in the Premier next season.
It wont be for the lack off effort on the fans part if their not.

14/07/2011, 10:41 PM
I will tell you what.Galway fans are throwing everything at their survival that they possibly can.Maybe they took their eye of the ball for a while and let themselves become immersed in the mire that they are in ?? but by god and fair play to them they are now firefighting the situation like hero's.
Walking tours of the City to name just one. :) (Who would have thought that would raise a few quid??)

Also,say what you want about him but the manager has an eye for a player or two and i reckon that they could still be in the Premier next season.
It wont be for the lack off effort on the fans part if their not.

Probably best that I don't take up this invitation.

bullit
14/07/2011, 11:07 PM
Probably best that I don't take up this invitation.

Seanie will never be rembered in Dundalk with any great fondness let me tell you but his record stands for what it is when you take the hair out off your face.
The guy knows a player and he has brought some good talent to the leauge.

15/07/2011, 6:35 AM
At least ye know now exactly what needs to be done. A target can make all the difference. Best of luck with it. We know how hard the fundraising can be but come the end of the season if ye've a club and can start afresh it'll all be worth it.

dong
15/07/2011, 7:12 AM
Nothing wrong with budgeting for being in a play off. Every club down there should. What do you want to happen? That they get to the end of the season and then tell the players they can't pay them just before they play in the play off?

Yeah, that's what I meant.
Look, if you read Geezers post it makes it sound like they are resigned to a play off. That was all I was questioning. Time will tell if that is the case or not.
Personally I think Connor may have lost the dressing room.:D
He doesn't look up for the fight and his teams look unusually disorganised . He's a lot more hunched over these days too.
Which is worrying.

WoodquayBoy
15/07/2011, 8:28 AM
We're okay if Connor has lost the dressing room, seen as most of the players who would have been in that dressing room are now gone! Obviously hoping to avoid the play-off, but we are 6 points behind Drogheda, with a far inferior goal difference, and have lost nearly all of our experienced players so while we want to avoid the play-off, we are expecting to be in one.

15/07/2011, 9:10 AM
Seanie will never be rembered in Dundalk with any great fondness let me tell you but his record stands for what it is when you take the hair out off your face.
The guy knows a player and he has brought some good talent to the leauge.

Seanie wouldn't know a player if he fell out of the sky and landed on his head. Ever heard of Gerry Cassidy?

Ezeikial
15/07/2011, 2:34 PM
Seanie wouldn't know a player if he fell out of the sky and landed on his head. Ever heard of Gerry Cassidy?

Only ever hear of Cassidy on foot.ie when some Sligo fans make outlandish claims like the above.

Seannie has many faults and has signed a fair few duds (McGinlay, Singh & Mansaram come to mind) but his record certainly chows he has the ability to spot more good players.

15/07/2011, 4:20 PM
In an even semi decently run league there's no way Galway could expect to be in the Premier next season, avoiding the playoff me eye!!

Having said that.........

16/07/2011, 12:07 AM
Only ever hear of Cassidy on foot.ie when some Sligo fans make outlandish claims like the above.

Seannie has many faults and has signed a fair few duds (McGinlay, Singh & Mansaram come to mind) but his record certainly chows he has the ability to spot more good players.

Trust me on this. Seanie never spotted a player in his life - he merely signed players who were found for him.

16/07/2011, 1:28 AM
Connor has been manager at various clubs when good players have been signed. Whether he spotted them himself or took advise is hardly relevant.

16/07/2011, 1:48 AM
blaming him for the duds but not giving credit for the successes hardly seems a logical thought process alright.

16/07/2011, 9:35 AM
blaming him for the duds but not giving credit for the successes hardly seems a logical thought process alright.

Two columns listing the successes and duds would be fairly lopsided but , no matter, the point is the man is a chancer and a charlatan and has left trouble in his wake everywhere he's been.

Ezeikial
16/07/2011, 10:53 AM
Two columns listing the successes and duds would be fairly lopsided but , no matter, the point is the man is a chancer and a charlatan and has left trouble in his wake everywhere he's been.

That was not the point you made at all:

. Seanie never spotted a player in his life - he merely signed players who were found for him.

BohsFans
16/07/2011, 3:22 PM
LookLeft magazine article, GUFC - 'In the hands of the fans'.

Recent years have seen Galway United go from a potential provincial powerhouse, to a debt ridden club jettisoning fans. The hardcore are now in control - Andrew Donlan investigates.

LookLeft magazine is now available at all EASONS shops in Ireland (including Shop Street, Galway) and these locations (http://www.lookleftonline.org/get-you-copy-of-lookleft/), priced €2.

16/07/2011, 4:38 PM

http://weplayonfridays.com/in-praise-of-galway-united-fans/

Disclaimer: I'm not mad keen on plugging, but occasionally a link seems justified. :)

bluemovie
19/07/2011, 1:57 PM
I just bought the Galway back four for €7.99 on ebay. Hope that helps.

Dear Sir/Madam,

Having bought the Galway United back four for €7.99, I have since found that they are not fit for purpose. I respectfully request a full refund.

yours sincerely,
bluemovie.

19/07/2011, 3:00 PM
Dear Sir/Madam,

Having bought the Galway United back four for €7.99, I have since found that they are not fit for purpose. I respectfully request a full refund.

yours sincerely,
bluemovie.
That's what you get for not reading the fine print. They were listed under "meat substitutes (not fit for human consumption)". I don't see you getting your money back on this one.

19/07/2011, 6:08 PM
That was not the point you made at all:

Well, then, you may consider me to have made a second point.

gufc2000
22/07/2011, 8:47 PM
The Galway United Management Committee consists of loyal and committed
supporters of the club. Our responsibility is to ensure any actions we take
are in the best interest of the football club. Following a Management
Committee meeting on Tuesday 19th July a unanimous decision was taken to
endorse a motion of no confidence in Sean Connor continuing as manager of
Galway United Football Club.

In the interests of giving our players every support to secure a result in
Drogheda this evening, we have deferred issuing this statement until after
the match.

The responsibility now rests with the board of directors to take the