View Full Version : Galway put entire squad up for sale

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

legendz
22/06/2011, 10:16 PM
Since Mervue won promotion in '08 and Salthill in '09, no other club has been able to win promotion after season playing in the Championship. At least they earned their right to be in a position for promotion based on being the best first team club in the A Championship.

22/06/2011, 10:21 PM
and to think, that video (showing other clubs facilities) and their fictitious "crowds" impressed the FAI so much that they promoted them :rolleyes:

Salthill should edit it a very small bit and resubmit it. Possible promotion on the cards for them then.

22/06/2011, 10:39 PM
and to think, that video (showing other clubs facilities) and their fictitious "crowds" impressed the FAI so much that they promoted them :rolleyes:

The other club were being paid a five figure for the use of that facility for Training no one said it was ours and all the match footage was the game against Shamrock Rovers in the first when there was almost 4,000 people at it before the new stand was built.

22/06/2011, 10:44 PM
The other club were being paid a five figure for the use of that facility for Training no one said it was ours and all the match footage was the game against Shamrock Rovers in the first when there was almost 4,000 people at it before the new stand was built.

Well in fairness Cousins should have said we "use" a great facility out in Drom. He actually said "we have" a great facility in Drom and "we have" a gym and we have a television upstairs for analyzing and so on. He gave the impression it was Galway Utds.

22/06/2011, 11:23 PM
The way Galway went up was an absolute joke. People may think I'm bitter but only for Colin Scanlan's late goal we might still be down in the First Division while this joke of a club are still in the Premier.

Galway won promotion according to the rules one season. A Limerick player scoring in Tolka Park won Dundalk promotion according to the rules another season. Both clubs needed outside help to go up and got them. What's there to be bitter about?

22/06/2011, 11:33 PM
It disgusts me. We were cheated out of premier football to allow Galway in and they are about to fold. Shame on everyone who screwed us over. Oh and before I get in trouble, I have left the management committee at Mons so am speaking purely as a fan.

Am gutted for Galway fans though.

22/06/2011, 11:40 PM
This (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Icarus) pretty much sums it up.

We all remember the arrogance, the nonsense, the bullspit, and the fact that they piddled money at the first team in the Premier without doing a tap in the background is a damning indictment of all involved.

But tis harsh all the same. :ball:

gufcfan
22/06/2011, 11:54 PM
So from "the best run club in Ireland" in 2006 to this. The five-year plan was to become the laughing stock of the league was it? Well done on getting there.
The people currently doing their best to rescue the situation and not see players and local creditors shafted had absolutely no input in how the club was run until a few days before this season started. They were routinely lied to and deceived by Leeson. You will more than likely counter with a comment such as "He's Nick Leeson, what the f did you expect". That is true, but we didn't employ him or allow him to become a member of the board.

I for one am not sad to see Galway in their current state. Go make another DVD and see how far you get.
Well done, what a great crack at us that was and original too.

I understand your anger, but must point out that the number one reason the club is in such a state is Nick Leeson and those who allowed him to do so, his employers and fellow directors of the club. Not to mention that the directors (allegedly) seem to have been borrowing in the name of the club and then spinning it to the public as money they were investing personally.

The FAI are not far behind either. If their procedures for implementing the sham of licensing process had any level of common ****ing sense applied to it, there wouldn't be an asterisk on the league table every ****ing year. As recently as this month someone in the FAI remarked upon how well the club ran things a few years ago. You couldn't make it up.

Blame can be laid in a few places, but not at the feet of those currently doing their utmost to right the wrongs of the last five years and the culture that has existed at Galway United for far longer.

22/06/2011, 11:55 PM
Aren't Galway lucky they have someone to blame for all their troubles.

23/06/2011, 12:16 AM
Always a great trip, certainly the best away trip in terms of before and after the game, for overnighters (and recently during the game too...), so very sad to see the state of the club. The game in that video was a good game except for the result, great crowd...looked like Rovers weren't going to finish top that night.

A regular source of three points, beating Bohs home and away, good away support, welcoming fans, 'took' a promotion spot from Dundalk...they'll be missed by a lot of Hoops while they regroup. Hopefully it's a quick rebound :)

23/06/2011, 1:16 AM
The people currently doing their best to rescue the situation and not see players and local creditors shafted had absolutely no input in how the club was run until a few days before this season started. They were routinely lied to and deceived by Leeson. You will more than likely counter with a comment such as "He's Nick Leeson, what the f did you expect". That is true, but we didn't employ him or allow him to become a member of the board.

I understand your anger, but must point out that the number one reason the club is in such a state is Nick Leeson and those who allowed him to do so, his employers and fellow directors of the club. Not to mention that the directors (allegedly) seem to have been borrowing in the name of the club and then spinning it to the public as money they were investing personally.

The FAI are not far behind either. If their procedures for implementing the sham of licensing process had any level of common ****ing sense applied to it, there wouldn't be an asterisk on the league table every ****ing year. As recently as this month someone in the FAI remarked upon how well the club ran things a few years ago. You couldn't make it up.

Blame can be laid in a few places.

If you knew the state you were in when you were relegated, why did you appeal the decision, when it would make more sense to rebuild in the other division? The FAI must have been satisfied that you would have seen through the season without this stuff going on, when accepting the appeal.

gufcfan
23/06/2011, 1:28 AM
If you knew the state you were in when you were relegated, why did you appeal the decision, when it would make more sense to rebuild in the other division? The FAI must have been satisfied that you would have seen through the season without this stuff going on, when accepting the appeal.
The decision to deny a licence was over an issue with the club's tax clearance cert, not a question over the ability of the people wanting to save the club to run things properly.

The Revenue promised a tax clearance cert in time for the FAI deadline. The person within the Revenue with the authority to grant one was not available to do this in a timely fashion. The appeals committee must have taken this into account when making a decision.

The FAI don't know what they are at. The people running the club now are the best possible people for the job, but there is a noose around their necks because of the negligence of the FAI. Accounts submitted by Leeson to the FAI have to have been works of fiction to rival JRR Tolkien's best. No more than with the five eights account any meaningful examination of the situation would have unearthed major concerns. It seems that one or two starstruck idiots on the board who had no idea what was going on must have allowed their admiration and trust in the man rub off on more than a few lads in the FAI.

Doing a Foras might not be the silver bullet people make it out to be, for us anyway. It would shaft a lot of people who United would need the support of going forward. I also think that by getting to the end of the season at least, GUST can prove they are capable of running a club properly. I know for a fact that they are well able to do it, but the current circumstances would break lesser men.

As for that you said about rebuilding in "the other division", that wasn't an option. The tax clearance cert is a requirement for a Premier or First Division licence, but not the A Championship. The appeals process was an all or nothing situation. The club would fold immediately if that happened. GUST would have been looking at trying to apply for a licence themselves for 2012, but sure God knows if there will be an A Championship next year or what the story is going to be.

23/06/2011, 6:09 AM
If debts were the reason we were relegated then im afraid over half the teams in the league would have been with us.

Footballing debts (which we had agreements with those listed) and a Tax Clearence Cert (which we had faxed agreements from the Revenue which showed the main reason we hadnt got one was due to delay by the self same FAI in lodging money that was resting in their account to clear our tax debt).The appeals committe of independent people found that the FAI Licencing Dept. were totally wrong in their original decision.

This whole scenario has been forced on galway by the PFAI and Stephen McGuinness in particular on the behest of 2 players who are owed less than €500 between them and who have tried to bully the rest of the squad. Uur total Debt bar the bank debt of the former directors (which they are liable for) is less than €300,000 which is a lot less than a lot of other clubs in the league.

This site has gone down the tubes in the last year as it has turned into a nasty bichfest where fans gloat over the travails of other clubs misfortune and shows perfectly why this league is in the mess it is.

there are no more sugar daddys (bar limerick) around the league and most clubs are being run by genuine supporters who are fighting tooth and nail to keep the wolf from the door without any help from the FAI.

geezer
23/06/2011, 6:48 AM
€50 is the wages sum owed to 2 players after tuesday nights game.
One of them has tried to instigate a team revolt but forgot the galway lads, They ran to their professional body because they got done before. The same two refused for months to supply rsi numbers.
One of them has blasted news all over dublin we are gone, its understandable he is upset over unpaid wages, but €50??

something else is at play here.

I hope they are as up to date on their pfai subscriptions

23/06/2011, 7:22 AM
'He's blasted it over Dublin?'

You really think Dublin cares?

23/06/2011, 7:23 AM
Sean Connor on Morning Ireland now.

23/06/2011, 7:31 AM
'Sean Connor on Morning Ireland now'

You really think Ireland cares?

23/06/2011, 7:55 AM
I thought Terryland was owned by the Galway League, or something, not by United.
Sorry - I was making the point about why "anyone" would extend credit to LoI clubs - some clubs have an asset as security. Why anyone would to the clubs that don't have an asset, I don't know.

23/06/2011, 7:57 AM
In 2006 banks were handing out Money to everyone with or without Assets.

23/06/2011, 8:00 AM
Doing a Foras might not be the silver bullet people make it out to be, for us anyway. It would shaft a lot of people who United would need the support of going forward. I also think that by getting to the end of the season at least, GUST can prove they are capable of running a club properly. I know for a fact that they are well able to do it, but the current circumstances would break lesser men.
Do GUST have full legal control of the club? Without that GUST are nuts to be even more involved and financially committed at this stage. They would be better holding it in reserve for either a "new" club a la Foras/Derry, or to take over the exsiting after an examinership a la Rovers, if the current owners won't hand over total control. IIRC, other clubs have started again, and the new owners have put in place agreements to pay off the old creditors to maintain goodwill.

23/06/2011, 8:21 AM
Could we be looking at a situation where Mervue emerge as the sole LOI side in Galway? Things are not looking good for Utd and there's been rumour of Salthill pulling out in this thread. Mervue have already played in Terryland and would appear to be running things in the correct manner with the LOI side independent of their schoolboy and junior sides, it might be easy enough for them to rename the LOI side as "Galway County" or just "Galway FC", almost the equivalent of a new club being formed but with much deeper roots and support structures already in place. Might something like this be better for football in Galway in the long term? People are saying here that a lot of the people at Salthill and Mervue games as it is are just Utd fans with nothing better to do, would it be that hard for them to follow the new side?

Spudulika
23/06/2011, 8:31 AM
Most interesting about SC's interview this morning was how he's been on the phone to clubs in Ireland, England and Scotland to get players, while his players are all up for sale. I don't know if it was just in my mind, but something just wasn't right. I like SC, despite his detractions, and he does care about football, though it just seems like the latest LOI hard luck story. The media will love it, until some barney breaks out at a division 3 Junior camogie match in Cavan.

23/06/2011, 8:59 AM
Connor's a fruitcake. They're being relegated, and looking to go the rest of the reason without paying wages and he wants to bring in lads from the UK?

I'd say the Galway board are just waiting for a chance to get rid of him and save that money too. Looper

23/06/2011, 9:04 AM
Anyone with half a knowledge of the Politics behind Galway Football would but you straight on the Chances of Mervue changing their name or Other Clubs fans supporting them.If GUFC go to the wall then LOI is gone in Galway City.Fran Gavins idea of all 3 merging is even dafter with Mervue & Salthill hating each other more than they do us.

We couldnt go down the Foras route because of the 3 club scenario and we would be burning local businesses which didnt bother Nick but went completely against GUST's Principles. The trouble we are in at the moment is diificult but surmountable and wouldnt have raised its head only for the bully boy tactics of 2 players and the action of the PFAI who had no Galway players signed up until Stephen McGuinness appeared in the dressing room at Tallaght and demanded that the amateurs get out.

23/06/2011, 9:11 AM
No way are we not paying players till the end of the season that is complete bull. Sean for all his faults has taken a wage cut and gone without wages . We would have had this sorted entirely before mid july but unfortunately the 2 players at the centre of this are from the old school who think money still grows on trees.

El-Pietro
23/06/2011, 9:18 AM
This (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Icarus) pretty much sums it up.

We all remember the arrogance, the nonsense, the bullspit, and the fact that they piddled money at the first team in the Premier without doing a tap in the background is a damning indictment of all involved.

But tis harsh all the same. :ball:

good analogy, I hope Limerick fans take heed :)

23/06/2011, 9:26 AM
No way are we not paying players till the end of the season that is complete bull

Why are you paying players? You're going to finish last. Why not do it as amateurs and keep the couple of grand a week the team is costing you now

23/06/2011, 9:39 AM
Every club is 1 step from ending up in our situation. If their benefactor is put into NAMA not alone are they stopped putting anymore money but NAMA can go after the club to try and get their investment back. This actually happened with 2 ex directors but they put NAMA in the picture that we werent a mark but if we owned our ground it could have been a problem.

Also sugar daddys in Ireland dont have millions to fire into a dark hole so they become bored if they arent getting some kind of a return on the pitch at least no matter how much they love the club.

23/06/2011, 9:40 AM
Amateurs get expenses in our club at least.

23/06/2011, 9:55 AM
They get less than a semi pro wage though, surely?

23/06/2011, 10:02 AM
Yes but we wont be all Amateur.We will lose the mercenarys but there are professional that want to stay and as we all have said 2 players are the only ones who caused this the rest of the players have been more than helpful in their dealings with the club.The players have been kept upto date throughout the last 3 weeks and 3 officals met them once again after the Pats Game to pay them what we could after the game but again the 2 individuals were trying to cause friction within the camp.

23/06/2011, 10:15 AM
We couldnt go down the Foras route because of the 3 club scenario and we would be burning local businesses which didnt bother Nick but went completely against GUST's Principles.
Not necessarily - I'm pretty sure Derry put in place plans to pay back creditors, even though they didn't have the legal obligation to, to maintain goodwill towards the club. You could pick and choose who to burn in that situation. How much of the debt is "directors loans"?

bluewhitearmy
23/06/2011, 10:26 AM
good analogy, I hope Limerick fans take heed :)

Great that you just totally ignore the fact he said doing nothing in the background our lads have done tons in the background.

El-Pietro
23/06/2011, 11:01 AM
Great that you just totally ignore the fact he said doing nothing in the background our lads have done tons in the background.

lets just wait and see shall we, my club has been through this and it all looks very familiar to me. just try and keep a close eye on your club and don't just assume everything is rosy because you are being told so - don't want to take this thread off topic so won't be posting on this subject again in this thread.

hope everything works out for Galway, I don't know how serious it is but it makes sense to cut costs where you can when you are almost certainly getting relegated. Hope they can pull out of this and build a strong sustainable club. The more we have the better the league will be be.

23/06/2011, 11:06 AM
Directors loans and Bank loans guarenteed by them is over 3/4 of the debt if not more and they are in discussions with the banks involved to try and work out these. GUST have no shareholding in the Company so we arent laible for any of this.

People on here seem to think that the club is beng run by the directors it is not and has not for nearly a year now by the supporters who have actually reduced the debts while trying to keep the show on the road. A lot of people on here read a headline and automatically assume we are going bust well if we have anything to do with we will be here for many years to come but it is going to take many years hard work and we knew this when we agreed to take over the running of the club.

peadar1987
23/06/2011, 12:23 PM
Now that the club is being run sustainably, it does actually make sense for the creditors to make deals with Galway to consolidate the debts. There is at least a chance they'll get some or most of their money back eventually in that case. If they all start acting like the seagulls out of Finding Nemo, the club will go to pieces almost instantly, and none of them will get anything. I think it's a slightly different situation to Sporting Fingal, or Agent Coughlan's time at Cork, and Galway have a better chance of coming out the other end of it at some point.

23/06/2011, 1:34 PM
Directors loans and Bank loans guarenteed by them is over 3/4 of the debt if not more and they are in discussions with the banks involved to try and work out these. GUST have no shareholding in the Company so we arent laible for any of this.

People on here seem to think that the club is beng run by the directors it is not and has not for nearly a year now by the supporters who have actually reduced the debts while trying to keep the show on the road.
It did ring a bell alright that GUST had taken over running the club earlier.

What happens if/when all debts are paid? Have GUST any guarantee's about taking control of the club?

I'm still not sure the GUST approach is right, seems the worst of all worlds to me, but I assume it was a democratic decision.

23/06/2011, 2:38 PM
It was Macy after an EGM. We looked at all the possibilities and we decided this was the only way feasible of keeping the club going. The FAI dont care because havent Galway got 2 other clubs anyway.

23/06/2011, 2:41 PM
lets just wait and see shall we, my club has been through this and it all looks very familiar to me. just try and keep a close eye on your club and don't just assume everything is rosy because you are being told so - don't want to take this thread off topic so won't be posting on this subject again in this thread.

You actually haven't a bulls notion what you're talking about :D

Don't worry about us, we're grand for the next two or three years. ;)

the 2 individuals were trying to cause friction within the camp.

All the insinuation abut the Galway two and mercenaries and blah, blah, blah going on is getting tedious.

These aren't megastars, these are working class blokes many with small families I'm sure, if you owe them money pay them and they'll stop cribbing. How would anyone here like it if their boss ghouled them around to the extent gufc have been ghouling their players around?

Also any player that wouldn't give you their tax details shouldn't be signed surely?

23/06/2011, 3:19 PM
Also any player that wouldn't give you their tax details shouldn't be signed surely?

I dont think the 2 individuals realise the position they have put themselves in.Most of our players were signed right up to 24 hrs before the season kicked off because of the appeal so everything was rushed through and we got all the other players details within a week but the 2 amigos thought they were being smart.

Its amazing that Lims fans hold such bitterness towards GUFC as there has always been a grate comrdeship between both clubs except for a few youn pc warriors who have all forgotten about LOI now that they have copped on and started following Barstoolers.

The present regime in Galway hasnt ghouled anyone and fully intend to pay up whats due except maybe the 2 amigos.

23/06/2011, 3:35 PM
I dont think the 2 individuals realise the position they have put themselves in.Most of our players were signed right up to 24 hrs before the season kicked off because of the appeal so everything was rushed through and we got all the other players details within a week but the 2 amigos thought they were being smart.

Was the club paying them all along without their tax details sorted? How did ye work that out?

Its amazing that Lims fans hold such bitterness towards GUFC as there has always been a grate comrdeship between both clubs except for a few youn pc warriors who have all forgotten about LOI now that they have copped on and started following Barstoolers.

Puzzling.

The present regime in Galway hasnt ghouled anyone and fully intend to pay up whats due except maybe the 2 amigos

:bulgy:

EDIT: My 6000th post :eek: Pretty underwhelming in fairness.

23/06/2011, 3:39 PM
Not puzzling at all with what there on sorting out the tax situation is simple like both of these lads.

Terry-Lander
25/06/2011, 8:06 PM
Thank you to all those who have sent messages of goodwill and to those from clubs accross the LOI and Galway who contributed to the United Flag day collection today. All contributions / donations, no matter how small (or big) are welcome and appreciated.

nosebleds
25/06/2011, 11:22 PM
[QUOTE=gufct;1501228]Also any player that wouldn't give you their tax details shouldn't be signed surely?

GUFC.u will bounce back,it may take time but u will come good,V Best of luckin the n
ext few months.
:ball::ball::ball:

Red Star
26/06/2011, 10:26 AM
Galway are a joke of a club. Board members hanging up all the dirty laundry all over the internet like children. Continually blaming the last board for their problems and crying victim then have the nerve to call footballers who weren't paid mercenaries? You work a honest week you should expect to get paid the players are well in the right to make a issue about it if Galway are messing around with them.

bullit
26/06/2011, 10:38 AM
Galway are a joke of a club. Board members hanging up all the dirty laundry all over the internet like children. Continually blaming the last board for their problems and crying victim then have the nerve to call footballers who weren't paid mercenaries? You work a honest week you should expect to get paid the players are well in the right to make a issue about it if Galway are messing around with them.

Yeeee-Haaaa lets get this thread moving !!! :)

26/06/2011, 4:12 PM
One star Player who was down to play on Friday Turned up at half time in Oriel on Friday night the self same player who has been trying to instigate all the players to bring the club to its knees.We dont have a board we have a volunteer Managment Commitee who were all on the streets of Galway yesterday in the pouring rain collecting money in our flag day to pay this clowns wages.

26/06/2011, 4:15 PM
In all fairness it is a little rich for you to complain about someone who's owed money by your club. whatever the amount. We're not talking about lads of millions a year. They earn less than a working wage and deserve to have whatever contract they signed be honoured

Your constant snipes about then are pathetic

26/06/2011, 4:22 PM
He is owed €150 and will be paid and the door will be closed behind him.

26/06/2011, 5:06 PM
From the sound of it he won't be particularly upset to hear the door shot. If it's such a small amount of money the club should make it a priority to pay, particularly since, as Dodge pointed out, they're not making a living wage. As a self-employed person I have very little sympathy for companies that withhold relatively small amounts of money.