22/07/2011, 10:18 PM
Seanie Connor's going on the dole

born2bwild
22/07/2011, 10:23 PM
Better make sure you have your collective ass covered, legally speaking. Seanie boy loves the high court.

22/07/2011, 11:17 PM

I take offence. What's wrong with the dole?

colonelwest
22/07/2011, 11:24 PM
Now I have very little time for Connor (and thats an understatement!) but this just smacks of skullduggery and trying to get him off the pay roll. If he digs his heels in he'll be in for a hefty payout seeming as he has a three year contract and as born2bwild said he's plenty of experience and previous on that front. What exactly do GUST/ the management committee expect of him with a team of kids and amateurs over there after the club lurching from one disaster to the next?

The Lep
22/07/2011, 11:49 PM
the fault is with gust not sean.

23/07/2011, 12:01 AM
Now I have very little time for Connor (and thats an understatement!) but this just smacks of skullduggery and trying to get him off the pay roll. If he digs his heels in he'll be in for a hefty payout seeming as he has a three year contract and as born2bwild said he's plenty of experience and previous on that front. What exactly do GUST/ the management committee expect of him with a team of kids and amateurs over there after the club lurching from one disaster to the next?

Skullduggery? If there was such a thing it came from the Leeson when he gave Connor a massive contract just before he gave up control of the club. GUST had feck all to do with it.. they were and are stuck with him.

At this stage his pay is probably around as big as what the whole remaining squad is getting paid. GUFC cannot afford this, or anything near it. Connor has every right to hold the hand out for his money but in doing so would be taking advantage of the Leeson's actions and damaging (perhaps fatally) the chances of the club surviving.

He should look for a deal and walk away.

As for the blame being with 'GUST not Sean'... it's neither's fault really.. Leeson and those that bought his horse crap are to blame.

23/07/2011, 1:11 AM
Skullduggery? Seriously? 5 points from 24 games. That's 0.2 points a game. In any other league he'd have been sacked months ago.

edit: at any other team he'd have been sacked months ago.

The Lep
23/07/2011, 1:35 AM
Skullduggery? Seriously? 5 points from 24 games. That's 0.2 points a game. In any other league he'd have been sacked months ago.<br />
<br />
edit: at any other team he'd have been sacked months ago.<br />
<br />
I dont think anyone would do better with the squad and money available.

23/07/2011, 1:54 AM
His squad (pre-transfer window) was probably better than Drogheda's and had more exceptional players than UCD's.

Mr Maroon
23/07/2011, 2:00 AM
His squad (pre-transfer window) was probably better than Drogheda's and had more exceptional players than UCD's.

It also cost more than Drogheda's.

23/07/2011, 4:23 AM
Seems a bit mad to me. While I understand wanting him gone, ye can hardly afford to sack him can ye?

23/07/2011, 4:37 AM
Well if they were going to sack him they'd have sacked him. A vote of no confidence is a polite way of saying "quit please."

23/07/2011, 7:29 AM
Well if they were going to sack him they'd have sacked him. A vote of no confidence is a polite way of saying "quit please."

I don't think they have the power to sack him though, hence the statement saying it was up to the board of directors now?

I read that as putting pressure on the directors to do something about it, when it seems to me their hands are tied.

Red Star
23/07/2011, 8:13 AM
Very poor statement. I agree they need rid of him though.

23/07/2011, 8:57 AM

I don't think anyone could do any worse. he's a horrendous manager, and seems to be a bit of a **** too. Not a good combination

Nugget
23/07/2011, 9:44 AM
A well organised team would have fluked a result at this stage. He needs to go

23/07/2011, 12:55 PM
I don't think anyone could do any worse. he's a horrendous manager, and seems to be a bit of a **** too. Not a good combination

Now, Dodge, if you scroll back up the thread, you'll discover that Seanie has a genius for spotting players. I expect he will bring in ten or eleven great ones from his 'personal friend' Steve Bruce at Sunderland and the push for Europa League begins in earnest next weekend.

gufc2000
23/07/2011, 1:04 PM
the fault is with gust not sean.
You my friend are so far removed from the whole thing, don't know how in God's name you could blame GUST for this. They are the reason we still have a club

The Lep
23/07/2011, 1:27 PM
What is the point of GUST when Galway has gone downhill since it was set up?

23/07/2011, 1:37 PM
Simple. There would not be a Galway United without them.

Things have not got worse on their watch- they've uncovered the scale of the damage done by the previous regime.

Mr Maroon
23/07/2011, 3:32 PM
Simple. There would not be a Galway United without them.

Things have not got worse on their watch- they've uncovered the scale of the damage done by the previous regime.Also GUST wasn't set up when the Management Committe starting running the club. GUST has been around for years.

I don't think they have the power to sack him though, hence the statement saying it was up to the board of directors now?

I read that as putting pressure on the directors to do something about it, when it seems to me their hands are tied.

The Management Committe can't afford to and aren't going to pay him off. It's up to him to resign (:rolleyes:) or the directors to do something about it.

23/07/2011, 5:48 PM
or the directors to do something about it.

What exactly can the directors do though?

Mr Maroon
23/07/2011, 7:16 PM
What exactly can the directors do though?

Negotiate a deal with Connor. It seems unlikely though.

Ezeikial
23/07/2011, 7:58 PM
Leave aside the debate about Seannies managerial qualties for a moment.

I just don't understand the wisdom or intent behind this statement. The Galway Utd Management Committee issues a public statement on their vote of no confidence in the manager and call on the board of directors to take the "appropriate action".

1) Did the Management Committee express their dissatisfaction with the Board directly and discuss the possibilities?

2) What was / is the Boards position or view on this?

3) If it is the case that Seannie has a 3 year contract and is not willing to resign or do a deal on compensation, do the Management Committee suggest that he is sacked, with the probably resultant claim for his contract to be paid up in full?

4) Why go public on this issue and risk creating further dissention from the Galway public as they observe further issues of division within the club? Is this really in the best interests of the football club?

23/07/2011, 10:08 PM
Maybe they should have turned the statement into a DVD presentation.

Olander
23/07/2011, 10:11 PM
Maybe they should have turned the statement into a DVD presentation.
Maybe you will stop posting like a gimp but that's unlikely to happen.

monkey9
23/07/2011, 11:58 PM
<br />
<br />

Pat Devlin took over a seemingly relegated Bray Wanderers midway through last season. He did an exceptional job. Sean Connor is a grumpy, miserable, uninspiring sulky manager. They are finishing bottom. Hopefully, for their sake, he walks and they appoint someone who can at least inspire something into what is a weak heartbeat of Gakway Utd!

24/07/2011, 3:23 PM
Martin Russell,Mick Cooke and Pat Devlin all had smaller budgets than Seanie.Our current run started after Seanie lambasted his Players after our first match in Hunky Dory Park.

Ezeikial
24/07/2011, 3:37 PM
Martin Russell,Mick Cooke and Pat Devlin all had smaller budgets than Seanie.Our current run started after Seanie lambasted his Players after our first match in Hunky Dory Park.

So Seanie has lost the dressing room?

Sounds familiar, first Kenna, then Foster and now Seanie. Something really needs to be done about it.

24/07/2011, 5:06 PM
Foster & Kenna both left the club for better deals one honorably the other cowardly.

bullit
25/07/2011, 1:15 AM
Any response from SC yet ??

Trainee
25/07/2011, 3:28 AM
rumor has it he wont be back in galway till Wednesday week

geezer
25/07/2011, 6:17 AM
wednesday week springs to mind

bullit
25/07/2011, 6:23 AM
Cheers lads.

the undertones song

wednesday week springs to mind

Bum da doo laa # Good tune !

Ezeikial
25/07/2011, 12:03 PM
Here is how the Irish Times interpreted the statement:

AFTER THE final whistle last night and another defeat, the Galway United Management Committee announced they had passed a vote of no confidence in manager Sean Connor, adding to the turmoil at the troubled club. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0723/1224301203858.html

"Added turmoil" is hardly the road forward for a club in crises. Why go public on this?

If it is intended to put pressure on Connor to resign without a pay-off, it is a very long shot to succeed.

On the other hand if the Management Committee are looking to put pressure on the board of directors..............

Galway fans can you clarify where the Board sit on this one?

The Irish Examiner:

The troubled club want Connor out, but haven't the financial wherewithal to pay off his contract which has two-and-a-half years to run.
Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/sport/connors-future-in-doubt-as-galway-lose-again-513875.html#ixzz1T7NHkRgZ

25/07/2011, 1:18 PM
According to a post on the GUST forum, the directors want him kept. But they keep a very low profile indeed.

Very strange situation.

25/07/2011, 1:27 PM
What is the point of GUST when Galway has gone downhill since it was set up?

Fingal was definitely the right club for you so...

The Lep
25/07/2011, 3:27 PM
meaning?

WoodquayBoy
25/07/2011, 6:35 PM
The Board don't want to fire him - I am presuming (apologies for that) that is because they don't have the cash to buy him out, or don't want to go looking for it. From my perspective, the supporter-run Management Committee had to be seen to take some stance after the club had lost 18 games (17 league and 1 in Cup) on the bounce. That is now 19 games after Friday night. They are trying to pressurise the board into sacking a manager who has presided over that run. That was as much as they could do as his contract is with the Board, not the MC. I don't think that is particularly skullduggery-like - would anyone here put up with a run like that from their team?
The thing is, I can't see who would come in to take over, even until the end of the season. As far as I know, the only person locally with the required PRO licence is former Mervue United manager Tom French, who was on the shortlist for the job after Jeff Kenna left, but was beaten to the position by Ian Foster. Johnny Glynn doesn't have the necessary qualifications (meaning a completed A Licence and acceptance onto the PRO course AFAIK), and I wouldn't want him either as I don't rate him as a manager. Ski McGee (GOOD GOD NO) is in the same boat, as is Mike Quirke (legend of a left back for us, assistant at Salthill Devon last year and this). So IF the MC do get rid of Connor . . . who comes in in his place??

25/07/2011, 6:39 PM
The Board don't want to fire him - I am presuming (apologies for that) that is because they don't have the cash to buy him out, or don't want to go looking for it. From my perspective, the supporter-run Management Committee had to be seen to take some stance after the club had lost 18 games (17 league and 1 in Cup) on the bounce. That is now 19 games after Friday night. They are trying to pressurise the board into sacking a manager who has presided over that run. That was as much as they could do as his contract is with the Board, not the MC. I don't think that is particularly skullduggery-like - would anyone here put up with a run like that from their team?
The thing is, I can't see who would come in to take over, even until the end of the season. As far as I know, the only person locally with the required PRO licence is former Mervue United manager Tom French, who was on the shortlist for the job after Jeff Kenna left, but was beaten to the position by Ian Foster. Johnny Glynn doesn't have the necessary qualifications (meaning a completed A Licence and acceptance onto the PRO course AFAIK), and I wouldn't want him either as I don't rate him as a manager. Ski McGee (GOOD GOD NO) is in the same boat, as is Mike Quirke (legend of a left back for us, assistant at Salthill Devon last year and this). So IF the MC do get rid of Connor . . . who comes in in his place??

At this stage I'd reckon its a case of getting Connor to step down without a massive payoff and just getting any person with said qualifications just to finish out the season. Doesn't matter who it is so long as the club survives.

WoodquayBoy
25/07/2011, 6:44 PM
But that's just it - who in their right mind would come near the place??

geezer
25/07/2011, 6:54 PM
The manager has proved extremely hard to work with. He lost the dressing room months back in drogheda and everyone of the mc to a man cant trust him.

Now when you cant trust working with someone it gets very difficult. Everyone can have arguments etc but people just dont believe a word the man says, he constantly undermines people, calls the mc yellow but funnily enough hasnt the balls to tell this t to the mc faces. He blames everyone for his woes and unbelievably accepted a mad contract including the biggest payroll increase of any man on the island of ireland this year despite it coming from the man who hadnt paid him the previous 5 months.

Its a sideshow anyway at this stage THE MC are saving a club, The manager is saving himself if he came out with the reason he is hanging on you would have more respect for the man . Any local man would die of embarrassment with that set of results. He was well aware of the basket case he came into

25/07/2011, 7:45 PM
Funny how the MNS guys didn't mention Leeson when apportioning blame. Either they're entirely ignorant of what they were talking about (nothing new there) or don't have the balls to say it.

25/07/2011, 8:03 PM
They didnt bother doing any proper background investigation into the roles of the Board who have dissappeared for the last 9 months and Gust & the MC who are trying to keep the show on the road. Having a mercenary like stuey Byrne talking about it was even more galling and as for Johnny Glynn I wont even go there. They should have interviewed one of the local Journalists who know the full story and not just the soundbytes we had tonight. No other club in the country would have kept a manager with the record Connor has this season and it all goes back to him lacerating his own players after they had got a point in Hunky Dory last MARCH !!

kdjaC
25/07/2011, 8:21 PM
No other club in the country would have kept a manager with the record Connor has this season and it all goes back to him lacerating his own players after they had got a point in Hunky Dory last MARCH !!

ahhahah Mahon does that when we win ffs.

Cuyahoga
25/07/2011, 8:24 PM
[QUOTE=gufct;1512106] Having a mercenary like stuey Byrne talking about it was even more galling

Cuyahoga
25/07/2011, 8:25 PM
[QUOTE=gufct;1512106] Having a mercenary like stuey Byrne talking about it was even more galling He is no more a mercenary than most other loi players.