View Full Version : Galway put entire squad up for sale
Red Star
26/06/2011, 5:31 PM
He is owed €150 and will be paid and the door will be closed behind him.
Galway brought this whole mess upon themselves. If you owe someone pay them and stop crying over the internet. I have no time for anyone holding back money to working class lads who don't earn much anyway and when its a small amount it shows how petty GUFC are. How do you know how much they could be stuck for this money? Galway United is still rotten to the core if this is the way you still carry on.
ped_ped
26/06/2011, 5:34 PM
[Its amazing that Lims fans hold such bitterness towards GUFC as there has always been a grate comrdeship between both clubs except for a few youn pc warriors who have all forgotten about LOI now that they have copped on and started following Barstoolers.
For the record, I'd be very disappointed if the club went under, as I was when Fingal went under. Poor management has Galway where they are now, like with Fingal, Cork and Limerick before them. They're trying to get things right though so I'd have no bad feelings towards the club, who I always like to see do well.
geezer
26/06/2011, 6:42 PM
When you have no money you cant pay, When you see warning signs like 11 defeats you bring them in and tell them income is going to be down, and cuts will follow. 15 defeats in a row, reality bites, its lousy but you expect babies throw the bathwater out of the bath not so called professionals to run to mammy and spout lies. At 15 defeats they should hide themselves in embarrassment
As geezer said we cant pay what we dont have.The people involved now are ordinary supporters trying to save their club from going bust and have already paid out of their own pocket but none of us are money men .No bank will give us an overdraft due to the debt owed by the previous regime so how do you propose we pay.
Every club is a few results away from being in the same situation we find ourselves but if it takes us 10 years we will turn around the situation.
bluemovie
26/06/2011, 7:50 PM
I just bought the Galway back four for €7.99 on ebay. Hope that helps.
26/06/2011, 8:13 PM
As geezer said we cant pay what we dont have.The people involved now are ordinary supporters trying to save their club from going bust and have already paid out of their own pocket but none of us are money men .No bank will give us an overdraft due to the debt owed by the previous regime so how do you propose we pay.
Every club is a few results away from being in the same situation we find ourselves but if it takes us 10 years we will turn around the situation.
If a club with a five-figure weekly turnover is stuck for 150 euro then they shouldn't be operating at all.
gufc2000
26/06/2011, 8:13 PM
Galway brought this whole mess upon themselves. If you owe someone pay them and stop crying over the internet. I have no time for anyone holding back money to working class lads who don't earn much anyway and when its a small amount it shows how petty GUFC are. How do you know how much they could be stuck for this money? Galway United is still rotten to the core if this is the way you still carry on.
Well you are some ignorant yoke...the lads on the MC are working their holes off week in week out to keep the club afloat, and here are lads like you knocking them. They're trying to undo all the wrongs of the previous regime, give them time. They could have folded the whole thing over the winter, but they've been decent and began to repay back some of the debt to creditors to ensure they get paid. Thats more than what can be said for other clubs.
If a club with a five-figure weekly turnover is stuck for 150 euro then they shouldn't be operating at all.
Im afraid its a hell of a long time since we have had a five figure turnover .Our last three gates together didnt make 5 figures.
26/06/2011, 9:40 PM
Well I was factoring in fixed income like season tickets too. That's a pretty dire situation if true though.
Its true and anyone at the club will verify it we have over 500 season ticket holders so if our gates are down its usually the pay on the night fans who stay away hence the dramatic drop in income.
Our flag day yesterday was great to involved in and over 20 volunteers stood from 9.30am yesterday morning in pouring rain with people like that we will pull through .We have a Concert and Poker Classic coming up the next 5 weeks we will sort out every penny with the players and they have been kept in the picture by the mc who hve met them all . We were thrown into complete chaos when the Licencing Comittee refused us our licence and had only 4 days effectively to sign a full squad of players.
horton
27/06/2011, 12:37 PM
Well you are some ignorant yoke...the lads on the MC are working their holes off week in week out to keep the club afloat, and here are lads like you knocking them. They're trying to undo all the wrongs of the previous regime, give them time. They could have folded the whole thing over the winter, but they've been decent and began to repay back some of the debt to creditors to ensure they get paid. Thats more than what can be said for other clubs.
Dare I ask who that dig refers to? Your problems lie in Terryland Park, sort your own house out before preaching about the conduct of others.
gufc2000
27/06/2011, 1:31 PM
Dare I ask who that dig refers to? Your problems lie in Terryland Park, sort your own house out before preaching about the conduct of others.
This 'dig' as you call it refers to how GUFC have began paying back creditors. Some clubs folded up, started again afresh, ensuring some creditors never saw anything.
For what its worth I would like to wish all those now associated with GUFC the very best of luck with the job at hand. Although at times it may seem very dark, if you keep plugging away I'm sure things will improve until you eventually get the club back on an even keel.
Personally I always loved our trips to Galway. Great city and a nice ground too (one of my favs). Pity we were the only side you were consistently beating up to recently.
Every club in this leage has had, is having or will have their own financial problems. Nobody can afford to preach.
Anyway best of luck lads and keep the chin up.
Financial Stew
27/06/2011, 4:33 PM
[QUOTE=gufc2000;1502288]Well you are some ignorant yoke...the lads on the MC are working their holes off week in week out to keep the club afloat, and here are lads like you knocking them.
You knock the players and we knock you. I think that's fair
28/06/2011, 12:54 PM
Wow. Get ready for this one. Nick Leeson has written a piece for The Journal stating that "Galway United chiefs are risking economic stability for short-lived success." I'm speechless.
http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/column-galway-united-chiefs-are-risking-economic-stability-for-short-lived-success/?utm_source=shortlink
28/06/2011, 1:13 PM
Wow. Get ready for this one. Nick Leeson has written a piece for The Journal stating that "Galway United chiefs are risking economic stability for short-lived success." I'm speechless.
http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/column-galway-united-chiefs-are-risking-economic-stability-for-short-lived-success/?utm_source=shortlink
Looking forward to the response to this:
Economic conditions dictate that every opportunity possible be taken to stabilise the club rather than pursuing the folly of success on the pitch. Targets set by the Management Committee to sell season tickets, increase funding and balloon support have all failed. To my mind, this has nothing to do with legacy debt that is largely underwritten by the directors. It is a simple case of over-trading – revenue is far less than
expenditure. I believe whoever signed those playing contracts is at fault and I believe they will pay the ultimate penalty, whether that is simply relegation or something more serious for the long-term future of the club.
From the Galway members on here. He's basically accusing you of being completely at fault for the current situation.
athloneman
28/06/2011, 1:15 PM
nick leeson is a clown!! from what i've heard from friends in galway he handed sean connor a 3 year contract on around 800 a week and a percentage of any profit made by the club a day or 2 before he left!! that is a joke if true and i am open to correction from the lads involved with galway united!!!
What a shockingly self serving, inaccurate, puke inducing load of nonsense. Get on there and set the record straight boys and girls!
28/06/2011, 1:33 PM
I like Leeson, he's a great guy and brilliant for the league.
Galway United fans on the other hand are scum of the earth.
the sub
28/06/2011, 1:45 PM
All you have to look at Cobh Ramblers to see what happens when a club don't stay united. We are out of the league now over 3 years .. No supporters .. No club .. No money .. No lfuture .. Hope all goes well for Galway united .. Don't let uour club fold
GUFCghost
28/06/2011, 2:21 PM
If the worst came to the worst and Galway United shut down, would the fans go to support Mervue United, Salthill Devon or no one?
No one,we are not going to support a housing estate or a sea-side area.
passerrby
28/06/2011, 3:19 PM
So shamrock rovers and bray are none runners
28/06/2011, 3:34 PM
Hey, that's not fair. There's also an industrial park in Tallaght.
28/06/2011, 5:55 PM
I dunno about sea-side area, more like bog on top of a hill.
Mr Maroon
28/06/2011, 5:59 PM
I dunno about sea-side area, more like bog on top of a hill.
Yeah, Drom is anything but seaside.
geezer
28/06/2011, 6:06 PM
When we are finished the fire fight we are working on at the moment all thanks to the great Mr Nik He may have to run away again in the dead of night..and its true he handed a contract to the manager despite the fact he hadnt paid him since the previous august.
Poor nik has left more questions than answers he should shut his face
Ezeikial
28/06/2011, 11:54 PM
Most observors would be highly sceptical about the veracity of Nick Leesons article, but the claim about a €4,000 wage bill against a €2,500 budget needs to be dealt with by the club:
Sources close to the club suggest the weekly playing outlay is close to €4,000 as opposed to the €2,500 that was paid at the end of the 2010 season. This is against the advice of many representatives of the League and the FAI who advised caution, especially with the season that was in it.
Sean Connor has many talents as a manager, but is not known for willingly staying within a defined budet.
If the current board of the club has allowed this to happen it beggars belief and would put a different complexion on their ability to rescue the club
29/06/2011, 12:27 AM
I don't see how playing staff costs could have risen that much. Were lads like Sheppard, Conneely and O'Donnell playing for free?
Seanie has an expensive taste...;)
The whole Article is a joke lads. The man left debts of €1.2m the fans ended up paying the players wages at the end of last season. Nick also signed Sean Connors new contract the day before he left the club giving him an increase in his wages.
This years playing Budget is far lower than the financial wizard had last year and let him keep on talking because he is walking himself into a very large black hole .
WoodquayBoy
29/06/2011, 10:44 AM
No, he is not walking himself into a very large black hole, he is actually rubbishing, ridiculing and making a mockery of the club we the fans are fighting to keep alive. I really hope the MC or GUST come out and set the record straight instead of once again letting Mr Leeson make unchallenged claims which many of us know are completely inaccurate
gufcfan
29/06/2011, 10:48 AM
Is Maxi available for hire if I can provide an address?
Petrol money included.
I'm only half joking.
Most observors would be highly sceptical about the veracity of Nick Leesons article, but the claim about a €4,000 wage bill against a €2,500 budget needs to be dealt with by the club:
Sean Connor has many talents as a manager, but is not known for willingly staying within a defined budet.
If the current board of the club has allowed this to happen it beggars belief and would put a different complexion on their ability to rescue the club
sorry, i couldnt read after that part due to the tears of laughter streaming down my face... ;) ;)
(obviously joking - he knows how to have Galway beat Bohs 9 times out of 10 for starters!) :)
Ezeikial
29/06/2011, 4:17 PM
sorry, i couldnt read after that part due to the tears of laughter streaming down my face... ;) ;)
(obviously joking - he knows how to have Galway beat Bohs 9 times out of 10 for starters!) :)
Probably his biggest trick was getting paid by Bohs.
bullsh!t Ezeikial - people have being pulling that one for years! ;)
gufcfan
02/07/2011, 8:15 PM
Some interesting comments on the situation on this page on the galway section of boards
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055558537&page=71
pateen
05/07/2011, 2:30 PM
Some interesting comments on the situation on this page on the galway section of boards
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055558537&page=71
What players have stayed or gone gufcfan.
I heard your man, kelly was going to limerick and last night on MNS, it mentioned your keeper is off to Bradford
Mr Maroon
05/07/2011, 3:08 PM
What players have stayed or gone gufcfan.
I heard your man, kelly was going to limerick and last night on MNS, it mentioned your keeper is off to Bradford
The only player who has officially left the club is Shaun Kelly, who has signed for Limerick.
Fleming is on trial at Bradford this week. http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11750_7018571,00.html
05/07/2011, 8:44 PM
The only player who has officially left the club is Shaun Kelly, who has signed for Limerick.
Fleming is on trial at Bradford this week. http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11750_7018571,00.html
According to the Sun today 6 players have left. Joesph Yoffe, Brian cash, Karl Moore, Greg Fleming and Steve Feeney all after Kelly.
Cash left a good few weeks ago and has been since touting himself to a few clubs
El-Pietro
05/07/2011, 11:27 PM
did he play on Friday? ye are better off shot of him if it was him
Trainee
05/07/2011, 11:38 PM
According to the Sun today 6 players have left. Joesph Yoffe, Brian cash, Karl Moore, Greg Fleming and Steve Feeney all after Kelly.
Officially these players are Still GUFC players, as they have not signed release forms that need to be submitted to FAI to released them from their contracts.
Only player to do this was Kelly, hence the official announcement he left GUFC
Trainee
05/07/2011, 11:39 PM
did he play on Friday? ye are better off shot of him if it was him
Yes he was in goals on Friday night, should be no major loss
thomas72
06/07/2011, 1:38 PM
Sean maher to Limerick
I heard It's done also the star newspaper are s
SAying it.
Is he ANy good?
marinobohs
06/07/2011, 1:58 PM
Sean maher to Limerick
I heard It's done also the star newspaper are s
SAying it.
Is he ANy good?
Very experienced centre half. made his name at Bohs before spending years in England (Bournemouth I think) before coming back to Sporting Fingal. After Fingal imploded had talks with shams but his terms were too much for them. Not sure what he ended up on at Galway - it was a late deal.
He has had injury problems - especially during his time in England - but would be a definite asset if joining Limerick
WoodquayBoy
06/07/2011, 2:48 PM
Not going by his displays with us he won't. No pace, no 'voice' on the pitch, bit of a 'stirrer' at United in the past couple of weeks, though some may excuse that given the fact he was owed money
Paul90
06/07/2011, 3:43 PM
What players would Galway fans feel would best help the club avoid relegation or in other words, who has contributed very little this season and will not be missed if they go
poster
06/07/2011, 4:11 PM
bit of a 'stirrer' at United in the past couple of weeks, though some may excuse that given the fact he was owed money
Was he given his €50?
bluewhitearmy
06/07/2011, 4:24 PM
Wouldnt blame anyone for under- performing for Galway a week after they had signed the deals at the start of the season they had to take a cut. Not a great start to life at a new club.
geezer
06/07/2011, 6:16 PM
That is a lie, not true. Not the first lie from that camp either.