View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2010/2011

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9

carloz
21/09/2010, 3:24 PM
Thanks for the info about Julian Kelly. Mentioned it to my friend who is looking after the Trap index.

Not sure if this will interest many, but an article here about Pat Walker, Carlow man who moved to Scandanavia over 20 years ago and acheieved quite a lot as a manager over there

http://greenscene.me/2010/09/spotlight-pat-walker-irishman-done-good-in-scandanavia/

22/09/2010, 8:23 PM
Kevin Thornton with an assist to McKays goal against Liverpool. Obviously not the feat it once was but worth mentioning.

HarpoJoyce
26/09/2010, 5:59 PM
Conor Sammon (Ex-UCD, Ex-Derry City). scores against pet club Hamilton Academicals. From an 89th minute header.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/9028893.stm
"..The fightback was complete two minutes from time. Rui Miguel's shot was set to fall well wide until Sammon threw himself in front of the effort and nodded into the net to claim a share of the points."

theworm2345
26/09/2010, 7:44 PM
Lee Trundle scored a penalty for Neath today

AlaskaFox
27/09/2010, 1:20 PM
Richie Partridge also scored this weekend for TNS. Think they won 5 or 6-0.

carloz
27/09/2010, 1:29 PM
Lee Trundle scored a penalty for Neath today

Had no idea he was even there

AlaskaFox
27/09/2010, 1:38 PM
Had no idea he was even there

I doubt he'll be declaring for Ireland and getting a call-up based on performances in Wales anyway.

carloz
30/09/2010, 11:45 AM
http://greenscene.me/2010/09/dominic-foley-a-european-career/

Article about Dominic Foley who is still doing well in belgium

02/10/2010, 11:57 AM
Irish Abroad monthly statistics for September 2010: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/MonthlyStats?month=9
Paddy Kenny reflected QPR's dominance in the Championship with 4 wins in September, leading Darren Randolph, Ian Harte, Sean Dillon, Wes Hoolahan, Shane Long, Anthony Stokes and Jon Daly who each finished the month with three wins.
Millwall's David Forde and Alan Dunne topped the draw table in September with 3 games finishing level. Dunne also topped the bookings table, he was shown the yellow card 4 times
Preston's Sean St Ledger and Keith Treacy warm up for two massive qualifiers in October by losing more games than any other player in September, with 4 losses
Despite starting 6 games each, David Forde, Cliff Byrne, Eddie Nolan, Alan Dunne do not find their way into Trapattoni's squad, along with Joe Murphy Sean St Ledger, Liam Lawrence and Keith Treacy who also lined out 6 times for their clubs
Of these, only Murphy, Forde, Dunne, St Ledger, Nolan and Lawrence completed 90 minutes in each of those game
Treacy was the most substituted player, the winger was withdrawn from the action 5 times in September. He also topped the scoring table along with Anthony Stokes and Liam Lawrence. Each player found the back of the net 3 times. Each of Stokes' goals led to a win for his club.
Conversely, Robbie Keane was the most introduced player, the Ireland captain was summoned from the bench 5 times
Unsurprisingly, goalkeepers top the most unused substitute table, with Shay Given, Saul Deeney, Rene Gilmartin and Brian Murphy remaining on the bench 5 times each

HarpoJoyce
04/10/2010, 5:56 AM
Conor Sammon of Kilmarnock (ex-UCD, Ex-Derry City) gets another last minute goal at home against Dundee United.

pics from Kilmarnock FC
http://www.kilmarnockfc.co.uk/articles/20101002/killie-v-dundee-united_85961_2173115

report from Kilmarnock FC
http://www.kilmarnockfc.co.uk/articles/20101002/kilmarnock-1-dundee-utd-2_85931_53549

BBC commentary, available in UK.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/scotland/9055809.stm

gastric
08/10/2010, 8:00 AM
I could be in trouble for posting this here, but in today's Indo there is a good article on the tragic career of Graham Barrett, ex Arsenal, potential superstar whose career was similar in decline to Terry Dixon.

AlaskaFox
08/10/2010, 8:26 AM
Thanks for the heads up gastric. Here's the link for the online version:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/barretts-cruel-decline-robbed-ireland-of-a-star-2370500.html

08/10/2010, 9:54 AM
Thanks for the heads up gastric. Here's the link for the online version:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/barretts-cruel-decline-robbed-ireland-of-a-star-2370500.html
dear God, who did the research on that article??

Despite making an impact on the international scene in the interim period, scoring minutes into his Ireland debut under Kerr in a friendly against Finland in 2002, his career stopped and started and spiralled into a steady decline.Mick McCarthy was in charge of that game, it was a friendly after the World Cup, Kerr didn't take over until 2003!

09/10/2010, 10:11 PM
I could be in trouble for posting this here, but in today's Indo there is a good article on the tragic career of Graham Barrett, ex Arsenal, potential superstar whose career was similar in decline to Terry Dixon.

tragic indeed - the real tragedy for him being he ended up playing for Shamrock Rovers.

theworm2345
10/10/2010, 8:43 PM
Richie Partridge netted a hat trick today for The New Saints in Wales

gastric
11/10/2010, 10:05 AM
According to today's Sun, so of course it's true, West Brom are interested in taking Liam Lawrence in January.

gastric
15/10/2010, 9:02 PM
Nicky Colgan has gone on loan from Grimsby to Huddersfield.

16/10/2010, 3:01 PM
Oh yeah, James Collins Jnr has gone to Burton me thinks. http://goo.gl/jotN

16/10/2010, 3:38 PM
Oh yeah, James Collins Jnr has gone to Burton me thinks. http://goo.gl/jotN
Started on the bench and came on at half time

TheBoss
16/10/2010, 3:42 PM
Kevin Long went to Accrington on Loan yesterday http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/accrington_stanley/9091991.stm

....and gets sent off on debut

16/10/2010, 3:47 PM
Kevin Long went to Accrington on Loan yesterday http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/accrington_stanley/9091991.stm

....and gets sent off on debut
really early on too, 17th minute

16/10/2010, 9:06 PM
haha I saw that a player named Long had been sent off and I wondered if it was him. Good impression to make.

theworm2345
17/10/2010, 4:44 PM
Billy Mehmet scored a penalty for Genclerbirligi today.

17/10/2010, 6:06 PM
Billy Mehmet scored a penalty for Genclerbirligi today.
http://forum.football365.com/images/smiley_icons/fergie.gif
I thought he'd defected? Never the less, hope he does well.

TheBoss
18/10/2010, 12:52 AM
Amond made a very brief appearance in the cup on Sunday.

http://www.fcpf.pt/catalogo_noticias.php?ID=2110

gastric
18/10/2010, 7:38 AM
Celtic in talks to sign Paddy Madden from Bohs.

theworm2345
18/10/2010, 9:39 PM
I'm having a tough time remembering, but were Walters and Delaps goals for Stoke in the past few weeks the only two goals by Irishmen in the EPL so far this year?

Balanced bias
19/10/2010, 11:20 AM
Does any1 know where Jim Goodwin is these days? I remember him was a great young talent alongside John O Shea for the U16s.

Last I heard he was with Huddersfield.

19/10/2010, 8:40 PM
goals for Lawrence (penalty) & Mark Yeates in the championship today.

Also, McGugan scored for Forest - has he declared? is he eligible?

TrapAPony
19/10/2010, 8:44 PM
Also, McGugan scored for Forest - has he declared? is he eligible?

Someone here before said his father was Irish. Lewis Shay McGugan does sound Irish so you never know.

Irish_Praha
19/10/2010, 9:31 PM
Someone here before said his father was Irish. Lewis Shay McGugan does sound Irish so you never know.

He has played underage for England and I think his Scottish connections are stronger than his Irish ones but Livehead would know better. Come to think of it I haven't seen him on here in a while.

theworm2345
19/10/2010, 9:34 PM
I think his father is Jamaican...or may be his mother but I'm pretty sure he's eligible for Jamaica (which obviously doesn't preclude him from representing Ireland...just ask the Clint)

TrapAPony
19/10/2010, 9:36 PM
There was a mini discussion about him a good while back where livehead1 said that he found out that McGugan's father is Irish. Here it is.

http://foot.ie/threads/74152-Lewis-McGugan

AlaskaFox
20/10/2010, 10:08 AM
Does any1 know where Jim Goodwin is these days? I remember him was a great young talent alongside John O Shea for the U16s.

Last I heard he was with Huddersfield.

Signed for Hamilton at the start of September.

20/10/2010, 1:03 PM
Signed for Hamilton at the start of September.
thanks, I missed that
I'll include that in his player profile on Irish Abroad - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=20715&seasonID=140 - in the next update. Should be tonight.

TrapAPony
22/10/2010, 2:46 PM
I don't know how true this is but I was reading through VillaTalk & someone mentioned that Marc Albrighton has a granny from Westmeath. Anyone know whether true or not? :confused:

22/10/2010, 3:55 PM
Birmingham trying to get Jay O'Shea out on loan
http://www.bcfc.com/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10412~2192644,00.html

23/10/2010, 2:50 PM
No doubt about the game of the day so far in the Championship. Keith Treacy grabs his sixth goal of the season to make it Preston 3-1 Crystal Palace and what a strike it is. From 25 yards out he rifles his effort into the top corner giving the keeper no chance, this after Owen Garvan had smashed in a sensational strike of his own to level matters. Meanwhile, Rotherham have pegged back Wycombe who flew out of the blocks, 2-2 there, thanks to Jason Taylor's leveller."

gastric
23/10/2010, 9:31 PM
McGugan scored a beauty today and David Kelly has described him as having 'magic in his boots' at the moment! Jamie Deviit played today for Hull and it's good to see Stephen Hunt annoying the Chelsea fans again on his debut for Wolves ( he nearly scored). Dunne and Sean Dillon scored too, unfortunately own goals!

gastric
23/10/2010, 9:48 PM
Tets, I am not feeling your love at the moment. On 07/09 I wrote on Official Tranfers that Goodwin was moving to Hamilton and you claim you did not know until AlaskaFox broke the news. Shocked and hurt I am!

25/10/2010, 1:43 PM
Tets, I am not feeling your love at the moment. On 07/09 I wrote on Official Tranfers that Goodwin was moving to Hamilton and you claim you did not know until AlaskaFox broke the news. Shocked and hurt I am!
Sorry, I am legally obliged to not let anyone "feel my love" ever since....the incident...

25/10/2010, 1:44 PM
Connor Clifford added to Irish Abroad: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=57479

AlaskaFox
25/10/2010, 4:01 PM
Sounds like our lads in Europe had a decent weekend, even if none of them scored.
http://greenscene.me/2010/10/continental-irish-25-october-2010-update/

26/10/2010, 9:52 AM
Garvan's and Treacy's goals from the weekend online here: http://www.skysports.com/video/inline/0,26691,16428_6467337,00.html
Both absolute belters. Garvan's is really impressive, controls the ball with his left and volleys it home with his right
Paddy McCarthy got the assist on Palace's second

TrapAPony
26/10/2010, 1:17 PM
There's a 17 year old prospect (Ravel Morrison) at Man Utd who has just been given squad number 49 for tonight's Carling Cup match against Wolves. Anyway, his mother's name is Sharon Ryan which indicates that he must have Irish there.

http://www.rednews.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?p=435999
http://thebusbyway.com/2010/10/26/squad-numbers-for-ravel-morrison-robbie-brady-ahead-of-wolves-game/

26/10/2010, 1:20 PM
Jaysus, that's some A+ research on the ma's name.

26/10/2010, 1:25 PM
There's a 17 year old prospect (Ravel Morrison) at Man Utd who has just been given squad number 49 for tonight's Carling Cup match against Wolves. Anyway, his mother's name is Sharon Ryan which indicates that he must have Irish there.

http://thebusbyway.com/2010/10/26/squad-numbers-for-ravel-morrison-robbie-brady-ahead-of-wolves-game/
Played for the England U17's last year: http://www.thefa.com/England/mens-u17s/News/2009/turkey_report_280809

<EDIT>

Actually turned out for them 3 times: http://www.thefa.com/England/All-Teams/Players/M/Ravel-Morrison

26/10/2010, 4:06 PM
Birmingham trying to get Jay O'Shea out on loan
http://www.bcfc.com/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10412~2192644,00.html
Snared in the Boro allegedly, Stevenage
http://www.bcfc.com/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10412~2197601,00.html

26/10/2010, 4:08 PM
Birmingham don't sound too happy about it.

theworm2345
26/10/2010, 6:09 PM

Could be Montserratian