View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2010/11

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

mysteryman
27/08/2010, 1:32 PM
saw most of the lish v bruff game,lively enough match but disappointed with the football played,too much long ball and to be fair bruff just about deserved it.caherconlish had a few regulars on the bench ,whats the story there lads ?

caherconlish are a long ball side, seen them a few times last season and in pre season, thats jus the way they play, but it works for em so play to ur strengths.

ProEvo
27/08/2010, 2:14 PM
pike were missing a few players last night with 2 called up to the the a team and 2 injured, but looked like a tough game athlunkard look to be a strong side and will do well this season. as usual the ref was poor

so you would have had 7 or 8 subs for last night then.

ProEvo
27/08/2010, 2:20 PM
caherconlish are a long ball side, seen them a few times last season and in pre season, thats jus the way they play, but it works for em so play to ur strengths.

Totally agree they play to there strengths and there good at it. bit suprissed they slipped up last night but v early days in the leauge. good start for hospital but 1 loss and the rest can pass them out thats the way its gonna be I think for the year lots of table hoping every week!!

Fairkop
27/08/2010, 11:19 PM

your right,but having seen them a few years back they seemed to have changed their style,not playing the football they played previously.nothing worse than watching a game with long ball after long ball,ugly stuff.

stevieg
28/08/2010, 8:57 AM
your right,but having seen them a few years back they seemed to have changed their style,not playing the football they played previously.nothing worse than watching a game with long ball after long ball,ugly stuff.promotion for the last 3 or four seasons obviously they are doing something right

champs09
28/08/2010, 11:58 AM
so you would have had 7 or 8 subs for last night then.

ya as pike have 22 signed big squad

Big Mack
28/08/2010, 1:51 PM
ya as pike have 22 signed big squad

Didnt have dat big a squad last year, who ar the new lads this year?

mysteryman
28/08/2010, 7:53 PM
promotion for the last 3 or four seasons obviously they are doing something right

like i said, if it works for them go with it, they play to their strengths well... and dont get ahead of yourself, the only promotion of note was that of last season.

and in reply to pro evo... bruff with a full team are a tough side to play against... they will hold their own in this league.

stevieg
29/08/2010, 12:50 AM
like i said, if it works for them go with it, they play to their strengths well... and dont get ahead of yourself, the only promotion of note was that of last season...
and in reply to pro evo... bruff with a full team are a tough side to play against... they will hold their own in this league.i agree with you about playing to your strengths yes ..secondly im not getting ahead of myself but i reckon any promotion you get would have been hard fought for and an achievement at that time so mysteryman dont agree with you on that but we are all entitled to our own views

villain10
29/08/2010, 12:17 PM
Hospital 2-2 Athlunkard

We went 1-0 late in the first half, in which we rode our luck a little. We played much better in second half, but mistakes cost us 2 goals. The second of which was a fantastic finish from the center forward. That was with 5 mins to go, our player manager came on and scored the equiliser with 1 min to go with a superb header.

champs09
29/08/2010, 1:08 PM
any results from todays games

abbeyvale
29/08/2010, 5:28 PM
Hospital 4 3 1 0 10 5 10
Cappamore 4 3 0 1 8 5 9
Athlunkard Villa 4 2 2 0 10 6 8
Knockainey 3 2 0 1 9 8 6
Caherconlish 3 1 1 1 4 4 4
Herbertstown 4 1 1 2 6 8 4
Bruff Utd 2 1 0 1 4 4 3
Pike Rvs B 2 1 0 1 2 2 3
Caledonians 4 1 0 3 6 11 3
Dromore Celtic 3 0 1 2 4 7 1
Murroe 3 0 0 3 2 5 0

Results
Sunday 29th
Murroe 0-1 Cappamore,
Hospital 2-2 Athlunkard Villa,
Bruff OFF Pike B,
Herbertstown 0-1 Caledonians,
Dromore 1-2 Caherconlish,

Thursday 2nd
Athlunkard Villa v Bruff
Hospital v Herbertstown
Pike B v Dromore
Caherconlish v Murroe
Knockainey v Cappamore

Sunday 05th
Herbertstown v Athlunkard Villa, 10.30, B Kelly
Dromore v Bruff, 10.30, J Curran
Murroe v Pike B, 10.30, T Mannion
Cappamore v Caledonians, 10.30, J Clancy
Knockainey v Caherconlish, 10.30, T Meagher

mogus
29/08/2010, 5:43 PM
Results
Sunday 29th
Murroe0-1 Cappamore,
Hospital 2-2 Athlunkard Villa,
Bruff OFF Pike B,
Herbertstown 0-1 Caledonians,
Dromore 2-4 Caherconlish,
scores might be wrong but results are right
Thursday 2nd
Athlunkard Villa v Bruff
Hospital v Herbertstown
Pike B v Dromore
Caherconlish v Murroe
Knockainey v Cappamore[/QUOTE]

stevieg
29/08/2010, 7:12 PM
caherconlish 2 dromore 1 deserved win in the end for the lish

Benjamin
30/08/2010, 2:05 PM
Is Danger the worst referee in the history of Limerick soccer?

kingofkillteely
30/08/2010, 3:02 PM
No, Johnny Carey will never be beaten.

Benjamin
30/08/2010, 3:42 PM
No, Johnny Carey will never be beaten.

Ha Ha!

It's a poor reflection on referees in general in Limerick that they get so much flak. Enda Quaid was one of the best referees in Limerick & was always fair to both sides. But the fact that Danger is still refereeing shows that nobody really wants to take up refereeing. Danger tends to annoy both teams and you can't talk to him or he goes off talking in this dialect that nobody understands. He dishes out yellow cards for fun & angers players with his behaviour. Football is all about letting the game flow but sadly in his case, all that flows is what comes out of his mouth, some language that nobody understands.

rooney10
30/08/2010, 4:55 PM
danger is by far worse than carey....danger gave an offside for a backpass in our last match.

villain10
30/08/2010, 11:37 PM
Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them publically on this. Without them, there would be no games at all. Even 5 professional officials get decisions wrong in a top european game, so 1 amateur official is bound to make lots of wrong decisions. We all get games where refs are "all for them" and "all for us". Think ye lads can do better, a whistle in Limerick Sports Store costs 2.75. Best of luck.

lankyboy26
30/08/2010, 11:43 PM
Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them pubically on this. Without them, there would be no games at all. Even 5 professional officials get decisions wrong in a top european game, so 1 amateur official is bound to make lots of wrong decisions. We all get games where refs are "all for them" and "all for us". Think ye lads can do better, a whistle in Limerick Sports Store costs 2.75. Best of luck.

well said! the poor aul referees get an awful doing. it's bad enough the abuse they have to tolerate on the pitch from players and managers without being publicly slated on the internet. give em a break. let's not forget that players make mistakes on the pitch too

30/08/2010, 11:49 PM
There are a few refs that are very bad and could do with packing it in but at the end of the day if these refs weren't around then we'd be all on this complaining about even more matches being cancelled due to lack of refs.

Benjamin
31/08/2010, 11:21 AM
Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them publically on this.

Fair point, but if a manager/player makes a mistake they are criticised. I agree the referees do a vital job but I also believe so much of refereeing is common sense. There are some who you know will not be for one side or the other and they will make their calls and get some right, some wrong. I think we can all accept that. But if a referee gives a decision & refuses to be questioned and books any player that questions him, I think that is out of order. A lot of the younger referees realise that and are willing to explain their decisions as long as they are not ranted at and are not abused. Not for one second would I condone abusing any official, that is out of order.

But I do believe no referee is above criticism & my criticism of Danger is not his decision making but his inability to let players enjoy the game. I have refereed at underage level myself, it is a thankless job and of course I got decisions wrong, but what I tried to do was let the players get on with the game. If you look at the best there has ever been in world football (Collina) players say he let the game flow & treated players like adults & was always willing to explain his decisions. Simple approach but it works.

kk11
31/08/2010, 3:57 PM
Fair play, we all make mistakes

Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them publically on this. Without them, there would be no games at all. Even 5 professional officials get decisions wrong in a top european game, so 1 amateur official is bound to make lots of wrong decisions. We all get games where refs are "all for them" and "all for us". Think ye lads can do better, a whistle in Limerick Sports Store costs 2.75. Best of luck.

villain10
31/08/2010, 7:28 PM
If a ref calls every decision right in a game (theoretically of course :P ) he will still get abuse off of teams. Players will be treated like adults when they act like adults. As a past ref yourself, would you like to hear your name mentioned in "the top 5 worst referee's in limerick" if you were still doing it at present? Another thing is we rarely give praise to refs. Players and managers get congratulated all season, at end of seasons awards. Refs get a handshake at the end of the match (sometimes not even that). Why not mention the top refs in town. IMO they are the ones who have played before, the ones with the common sense, so I do agree with you on that. Donal Power is prob my fave. Played until his mid 30's or so, came in a few years ago and is a fantastic ref.

abbeyvale
31/08/2010, 9:48 PM
Table (31/08/10)
Hospital 4 3 1 0 10 5 10
Cappamore 4 3 0 1 8 5 9
Athlunkard Villa 4 2 2 0 10 6 8
Knockainey 3 2 0 1 9 8 6
Caherconlish 3 1 1 1 4 4 4
Bruff Utd 2 1 0 1 4 4 3
Pike Rvs B 2 1 0 1 2 2 3
Dromore Celtic 3 0 1 2 4 7 1
Murroe 3 0 0 3 2 5 0

Fixtures
Thur 02/09/10
Athlunkard Villa v Bruff Utd, R Hennessy
Hospital v Herbertstown, P O’Brien
Pike B v Dromore, R Peiper
Caherconlish v Murroe, O Hayes
Knockainey v Cappamore, M O’Halloran

Sun 05/09/10

Thur 09/09/10 @ 18.15
Athlunkard Villa v Dromore
Hospital v Cappamore
Pike B v Knockainey
Caledonians v Caherconlish

Benjamin
01/09/2010, 11:46 AM
Some good points there Villain10. I think Mike Burke, Jim Clancy & young Hennessy are good refs. I've always liked Ollie Hayes. He's not the fittest, but he is a ref who will explain his decisions and I've NEVER seen him go out to do one side, give decisions against them etc.

bruffunited
01/09/2010, 12:21 PM
Fair point, but if a manager/player makes a mistake they are criticised. I agree the referees do a vital job but I also believe so much of refereeing is common sense. There are some who you know will not be for one side or the other and they will make their calls and get some right, some wrong. I think we can all accept that. But if a referee gives a decision & refuses to be questioned and books any player that questions him, I think that is out of order. A lot of the younger referees realise that and are willing to explain their decisions as long as they are not ranted at and are not abused. Not for one second would I condone abusing any official, that is out of order.

But I do believe no referee is above criticism & my criticism of Danger is not his decision making but his inability to let players enjoy the game. I have refereed at underage level myself, it is a thankless job and of course I got decisions wrong, but what I tried to do was let the players get on with the game. If you look at the best there has ever been in world football (Collina) players say he let the game flow & treated players like adults & was always willing to explain his decisions. Simple approach but it works.
this is true and also referees in this league are too inconsistant they give a free and book a player then 5 mins later the exact same situation comes along and nothing happens no booking no free this happened alot in the bruff caherconlish game..if a ref makes a wrong call ok no one is perfect but atleast be consistant

bruffunited
01/09/2010, 1:10 PM
any changes on the early predictions on who people think have a chance in winning this league this year?

AllBalls
01/09/2010, 2:35 PM
Dont know about predicting the winners, but I am delighted to see an old team of mine start very Well. Athlunkard Villa had been in 2A so long its great to see them up there competing in 1B this year, have not seen them this season, watched quite a few last season and they have a nice style of football. hope to see thursdays game.

any changes on the early predictions on who people think have a chance in winning this league this year?

Zizou
01/09/2010, 6:45 PM
Is Danger the worst referee in the history of Limerick soccer?

Yes, yes he is..

Trevor Hoare was the best ref this town ever saw, but enough on refs lads, back to the beautiful game.
I was delighted to see Hospital drop points the weekend and if we win our games in hand we will be just a point off the pace. We'll be going all out for 6 points by Sunday evening..

abbeyvale
01/09/2010, 9:19 PM
Yes, yes he is..

Trevor Hoare was the best ref this town ever saw, but enough on refs lads, back to the beautiful game.
I was delighted to see Hospital drop points the weekend and if we win our games in hand we will be just a point off the pace. We'll be going all out for 6 points by Sunday evening..

You would have to say that............

Zizou
01/09/2010, 9:30 PM
Yes, yes I would!! Hard to beat him though Al, maybe you could name one, cos I'm struggling!

abbeyvale
01/09/2010, 10:04 PM
Yes, yes I would!! Hard to beat him though Al, maybe you could name one, cos I'm struggling!

Enda Quaide, Robbie Broe, George Clancy, Trevor Hoare, Mike Kiely, Ryan McCann, Andrew Keogh, John Mc, T Muzar, Stephen Jordan (I may have missed one or two).......................all of the above are/were fine refs, and in all fairness, yes they make the odd mistake, but dont we all.

I have often given out about refs making poor decisions in the past, but I have always said two things about refs.

1. Without refs, we would have no football.

2. Its always only the losing team that complains about the ref (if your team are winning or win a game, then anyone could have reffed it and it wouldn't have made a difference).

lankyboy26
02/09/2010, 1:10 AM
Dont know about predicting the winners, but I am delighted to see an old team of mine start very Well. Athlunkard Villa had been in 2A so long its great to see them up there competing in 1B this year, have not seen them this season, watched quite a few last season and they have a nice style of football. hope to see thursdays game.

Definitely nice to see Athlunkard doing well! They play Bruff on thur night so that should be a good game as I hear that Bruff are handy this season. Dromore seem to be having a nightmare but I fancy them to start picking up some points soon.

Predictions :

Athlunkard Villa 2-1 Bruff Utd, R Hennessy
Hospital 1-1 Herbertstown, P O’Brien
Pike B 1-2 Dromore, R Peiper
Caherconlish 1-0 Murroe, O Hayes
Knockainey 1-3 Cappamore, M O’Halloran

Hospital v Herbertstown (local derby), tough game for Hospital

Benjamin
02/09/2010, 8:18 AM
1B is certainly a tough league this season. The points total for the winners could be lower than normal. With each team playing 20 games, 40 points could win the title. Any one of 6 sides could win it methinks.

Zizou
02/09/2010, 12:41 PM
Definitely nice to see Athlunkard doing well! They play Bruff on thur night so that should be a good game as I hear that Bruff are handy this season. Dromore seem to be having a nightmare but I fancy them to start picking up some points soon.

Predictions :

Athlunkard Villa 2-1 Bruff Utd, R Hennessy
Hospital 1-1 Herbertstown, P O’Brien
Pike B 1-2 Dromore, R Peiper
Caherconlish 1-0 Murroe, O Hayes
Knockainey 1-3 Cappamore, M O’Halloran

Hospital v Herbertstown (local derby), tough game for Hospital

I disagree entirely. Allow me to retort:

Athlunkard Villa 3-2 Bruff Utd, R Hennessy
Hospital 2-1 Herbertstown, P O’Brien
Pike B 3-0 Dromore, R Peiper
Caherconlish 2-0 Murroe, O Hayes
Knockainey 2-2 Cappamore, M O’Halloran

Zizou
02/09/2010, 12:48 PM
Enda Quaide, Robbie Broe, George Clancy, Trevor Hoare, Mike Kiely, Ryan McCann, Andrew Keogh, John Mc, T Muzar, Stephen Jordan (I may have missed one or two).......................all of the above are/were fine refs, and in all fairness, yes they make the odd mistake, but dont we all.

I have often given out about refs making poor decisions in the past, but I have always said two things about refs.

1. Without refs, we would have no football.

2. Its always only the losing team that complains about the ref (if your team are winning or win a game, then anyone could have reffed it and it wouldn't have made a difference).

Disagree with this a tad Al, I think even when winning, we can differentiate between good and terrible. I've often come off the pitch after hammering a team and thought the ref was shocking, but you tend to be a wee bit more vocal when you've just been smashed.. Easier than admitting your team is crap..

bruffunited
02/09/2010, 3:38 PM
1B is certainly a tough league this season. The points total for the winners could be lower than normal. With each team playing 20 games, 40 points could win the title. Any one of 6 sides could win it methinks.

what 6 teams is that??

villain10
02/09/2010, 7:44 PM
good shout on us lanky:

Athlunkard 2-1 Bruff

Bruff went ahead undeservedly after about ten mins, but dominated the rest of the half. Our keeper kept us in the game with some fantastic saves. Last kick of the first half was a penalty for us which was slotted home to take us in even at the break. We settled a lot better in the 2nd half and went ahead with a fine finish. Both teams created chances, with our keeper making more fantastic stops. We held onto possession very well and battled to win the 3 points against a team that will cause problems for anyone.

champs09
02/09/2010, 8:08 PM
pike 3 dromore 0

allab
02/09/2010, 8:10 PM
pike 3 dromore 0

good call zizou :)

briancool21
02/09/2010, 8:59 PM
Caherconlish 0-3 Murroe very poor peformance from Caherconlish to be fair not helped by having a definite goal chalked off at 1-0 ball clearly over the line even hit the top of the net madness ...even the murroe keeper admitted to us behind the goals afterwards but murroe fair is fair defended well and i think caherconlish were there own downfall with the midfield too far up givin rooney and the other lad up front no space to move ..Hopefully a better performance next time out

paddy
02/09/2010, 9:14 PM
Knockainey 3 4 Cappamore Celtic

bruffunited
02/09/2010, 9:15 PM
good shout on us lanky:

Athlunkard 2-1 Bruff

Bruff went ahead undeservedly after about ten mins, but dominated the rest of the half. Our keeper kept us in the game with some fantastic saves. Last kick of the first half was a penalty for us which was slotted home to take us in even at the break. We settled a lot better in the 2nd half and went ahead with a fine finish. Both teams created chances, with our keeper making more fantastic stops. We held onto possession very well and battled to win the 3 points against a team that will cause problems for anyone.
bruff just lost control completly in the 2nd half if they kept the ball as well they did in the 1st half this game would have been very diferent but both keepers played well at 1-0 bruff had 2 or 3 chances only for villa keeper to save them but well done a good match...oh and by the way very well refed for everyone giving out about the refs

Fairkop
02/09/2010, 9:45 PM
saw most of athlunkard v bruff,and got to credit villa who were always trying to play good football even under pressure at times.improved certainly in the 2nd half as bruff were a handfull in the 1st half,and probably deserved a draw.on the villa keeper he made three top drawer saves while i was there and having seen him before is a much improved goalie.good win for pike there lads they look like they will be in contention.whats happening at caherconlish,thats two defeats now is it? and both at home i saw them v bruff recently thought they were quite poor.any result for hospital?

abbeyvale
02/09/2010, 9:50 PM
Table (02/09/10)
Cappamore 5 4 0 1 12 8 12
Athlunkard Villa 5 3 2 0 12 7 11
Hospital 4 3 1 0 10 5 10
Pike Rvs B 3 2 0 1 5 2 6
Knockainey 4 2 0 2 12 12 6
Caherconlish 4 1 1 2 4 7 4
Bruff Utd 3 1 0 2 5 6 3
Murroe 4 1 0 3 5 5 3
Dromore Celtic 4 0 1 3 4 10 1

Results
Thur 02/09/10
Athlunkard Villa 2-1 Bruff Utd,
Hospital v Herbertstown, (no result yet)
Pike B 3-0 Dromore,
Caherconlish 0-3 Murroe,
Knockainey 3-4 Cappamore,

Fixtures
Sun 05/09/10

Thur 09/09/10 @ 18.15
Athlunkard Villa v Dromore
Hospital v Cappamore
Pike B v Knockainey
Caledonians v Caherconlish

The Kaiser
02/09/2010, 10:46 PM
Knockainey 3:4 Cappamore

Benjamin
03/09/2010, 8:54 AM
Just heard Hospital V Herbertstown finished a draw, not sure of the score.

Zizou
03/09/2010, 9:46 AM
good call zizou :)

It was though, wasn't it...

Pike 3-0 Dromore

Without ever really hitting top form we managed to run out convincing winners here, after a grind rather than an exhibition. Dromore were strong and well drilled but really offered no threat up front. We were 1up at half time after a superb header from Anthony Lee. Second half space opened up for us as legs got heavy and we added further goals from Mike Geary and Shane Keenen.(Not certain of that 2nd name). All round good team display by us, best on the night for me were Darren Duffy, James Doran and Mike Geary.

ProEvo
03/09/2010, 2:27 PM
looks like the lish are getting found out with there tactics.... still a long way to go they will start to pick up points soon. how did hospital get on ??