View Full Version : What the FAI thinks of progressive clubs:

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12

19/05/2010, 12:15 PM
Thanks endabob, and apologies to gspain for doubting him...

19/05/2010, 12:21 PM
The team that draws home country advantage must have the semi-final venue at least 60km (open to correction there) away from their home ground.
How did Toulouse hold their semi in Toulouse?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/05/2010, 12:26 PM
The team that draws home country advantage must have the semi-final venue at least 60km (open to correction there) away from their home ground.

That's not correct as Toulouse played Leinster in Toulouse soccer stadium. I think it works something like you can play it in a ground that's not your regular home ground with a capacity of 20,000 or more.

19/05/2010, 3:39 PM
Someone from the League is going to be on the Last Word on Today FM defending this decision.

Might be worth emailing in some of the questions raised here!

Ezeikial
20/05/2010, 12:19 AM
Someone from the League is going to be on the Last Word on Today FM defending this decision.

Might be worth emailing in some of the questions raised here!

It was really embaressing and another lost opportunity. The politician, ex mayor of Limerick, was so lacking in cogent points and so full of waffle he made Fran Gavin sound like a resoned caring director of an altruistic organisation. His main thrust was like "ye Dubs are not giving us Limerick folk a proper share out" He even said it was a disgrace that Limerick have been overlooked for the Premier Division!

20/05/2010, 5:12 AM
They've also taken a 15mill loss on the Aviva naming rights by selling the bond to an investor in exhange for an upfront payment. This sounds completely untrue.

----

You're right, it does sound untrue but, sadly, you are incorrect.

A fascinating article in the Sunday Times Business section at the weekend outlined the dire state of the FAI finances. Not available on-line but there's a similar story in today's Indo headlined the 'Real cost of the Aviva stadium': http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/the-real-cost-of-the-aviva-stadium-2184726.html

Here's an extract from the Sunday Times:

"NSL, formerly the Lansdowne Road Stadium Development Company, sold their 10-yr naming rights to Aviva for 40 mill but securitised them to clients NCB Stockbrokers for 25mill to get cash up front."

Yes, that's a hit of 15mill. And they're denying Limerick the chance of making a paltry 100k to keep them afloat!
This one? http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/ireland/article7127685.ece

OK, this is completely misleading.

First of all, Aviva paid 44m to the Lansdowne company for the naming rights - that's 22m each for the IRFU and FAI. A hit of 15m would be 7.5m apiece. It's the difference between writing of 66% of the fee and 33%.

Second, securitising a loan doesn't mean you literally sell the assets for the amount quoted. They would normally take that money in over a period of years (presumably ten years, such is the duration of the sponsorship) and the cumulative total of 40m would be worth less than 40m today minus lost interest payments. Securitisation is like placing a bet that the money will be more use to you today than the equivalent amount will be in ten years.

The article is misleading on a number of issues. The FAI does have serious funding issues but it's entirely related to their ability to shift their share of the seats, nothing to do with the independent company that runs the stadium.

Buile Shuibhne
20/05/2010, 7:09 AM
It's all Daniel McDonnell's fault :D

The FAI need new PR advice - with the first principle being - When in a hole, stop digging!

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/correspondence-between-fai-and-the-irish-independent-2186686.html

20/05/2010, 7:36 AM
Fair play to Dan!

seand
20/05/2010, 7:58 AM
Legend. Magnificent stuff. He did get caught out for a couple of petty swipes and generalisations but it's hilarious that the FAI decided to have a go.

20/05/2010, 8:42 AM
terrific stuff by McDonnell

Fair play to him (and *gulp* his Indo editors)

20/05/2010, 8:44 AM
terrific stuff by McDonnell

Fair play to him (and *gulp* his Indo editors)

Yeah, I have to admit it's great stuff, and I wouldn't normally say that about the Indo.

athloneman
20/05/2010, 10:45 AM
fair play to dan, he is a legend and is exactly what the league of ireland needs to stand up to them clowns in the fai, and in the replies i think the fai tripped over themselves and got caught up in there own lies!

20/05/2010, 11:33 AM
Fair play to him. It's about time people started standing up to the FAI.

20/05/2010, 11:50 AM
Great to see a journalist standing up to the FAI, I hope the league of Ireland clubs band together to give him the VIP treatment when he turns up at their grounds, we all know the FAI will do everything in their power to freeze him out completely now.

CuanaD
20/05/2010, 12:21 PM
This actually makes me want to start buying the Indo - Keep it up Mr McDonnell :ball:

20/05/2010, 12:43 PM
Really good work, glad to see.

Declanus
20/05/2010, 1:15 PM
Its obvious that the FAI have sold their souls and that a third party is making the decisions about friendlies. Just go back to the playing of the friendly against Brazil in the Emirates when Croker was available. That should have started the alarm bells ringing.

20/05/2010, 1:26 PM
Wrong.

-That was Kentaro, who have confirmed they are not the agents.
-That was classed as a Brazil game
-Ireland got a flat fee, that was a good deal for us
-Croker was significantly more expensive
-The less we give the big ballers and their self congratulating Central Council the better.

20/05/2010, 1:27 PM
Nothing wrong with that decision. it was basically an away friendly. Whatever they make on the back of the national side is alright with me

This thing is completely different

20/05/2010, 3:29 PM
maith an fear, Daniel.

20/05/2010, 3:35 PM
Don't forget Dan is one of us - I remember him contributing greatly to JWs old forum - and always supported the Forum Football Matches

20/05/2010, 5:05 PM
Wonder will any of the "big name" scribes pick up the ball and run with it on this one?

No doubt Humphries and Co will continue to write the same navel gazing tripe on the Premiership whilst enjoying the backslapping and late nights in the hotel bars on away trips with the FAI crew.

Well done Dan, I hope you haven't damaged your career but at least you can sleep easy in your bed at night unlike the vast majority of the football branch of the Fourth Estate who are nothing more than glorified FAI cheerleaders.

20/05/2010, 5:15 PM
Wonder will any of the "big name" scribes pick up the ball and run with it on this one?

wasnt that how rugby was created?

20/05/2010, 5:59 PM
fair play to Daniel McDonnell.

the FAI just cant help themselves can they? they seem determined to keep showing us what gobsh*tes they are

20/05/2010, 6:09 PM
How do the clubs actually feel about the carry on of the FAI? Is there the same feeling amongst the chairmen and board members of the clubs as there is amongst the fans? Has anybody here been getting any feedback from there clubs?

20/05/2010, 6:15 PM
Good article.

Candystripe
20/05/2010, 7:22 PM
Not many journalists seem to have their ear to the L.O.I. clubs more than Dan and maybe even Mark Mc Cadden although Dan has the bit between his teeth right now and fair play to him for outting the fiasco that the Barca game has brought to the doors of Abbotstown.

Having read the statement from Limerick and Barca will the f.A.I. now be asked by someone why they lied about the game not being confirmed by Barca?

Hopefully this drags on until the F.A.I. have to come out and admit the bull**** they have been spewing in the past week to cover-up what even the barstoolers see as a Goliath V David battle.

This has enormous consequenses for all clubs as it now limits us to never being able to organise big name friendlies with crowds of over (insert what the F.A.I. decide that week/day) to raise much needed funds.

What if Tallaght was developed to over a 15k capacity, will that mean that it would be of no use to Rovers for anything other than a competitive game?

20/05/2010, 8:00 PM
It's good to see journalists not just accepting exactly what they're given and asking the questions that need to be answered. Only last week I was thinking that the standard of football journalism in this country didn't have anything to offer in comparison to the likes of this article about Portsmouth's self destruction: http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/mattslater/2010/05/its_a_fudge_not_a_fairytale.html

20/05/2010, 8:06 PM
Not many journalists seem to have their ear to the L.O.I. clubs more than Dan and maybe even Mark Mc Cadden

Good shout on McCadden too. The pair of them are streets ahead of the rest with LOI coverage.

Riddickcule
20/05/2010, 8:37 PM
As much as the Indo is a load of bull that man is a good journo.

Whatever happened to a good left-wing newspaper? lol

22/05/2010, 2:35 PM
didnt Daniel McDonnell write for the star before the indo.. one of the best journalists around .. and always speaks well on 3e too!

blueblood
25/05/2010, 6:42 PM
Thank f#ck there's no club like Wimbledon looking to locate to Dublin or the FAI would probably take their arm off if offered a few euro

Dotsy
26/05/2010, 1:19 PM
From Extratime.ie

"The Provincial Associations/Junior Council Committee, which represents the four provincial football associations and all junior and youth football through 37 leagues across Ireland, met yesterday in Dublin and have issued the following statement in relation to recent actions by some League of Ireland clubs.

The statement reads:

The Provincial Junior Council Committee has been a strong supporter of the five-year merger between the FAI and the League of Ireland and has backed the massive investment by the Association in the senior game since 2007. However, our support for an extension of the merger beyond 2011 should not be taken for granted.

The Committee is extremely concerned at the manner in which Limerick FC behaved during its recent disagreement with the FAI over the decision not to grant permission to play a friendly match against Barcelona FC at Thomond Park.

As an important part of the Association, we know that significant funding is invested into the running of the Airtricity League clubs but the actions of some last week was disappointing. The commercial benefits that will be derived from the control of large club friendly fixtures at the Aviva Stadium stand to benefit all affiliates of the Association as well as the Airtricity League.

It is also disappointing that Limerick FC deliberately chose to go public at the same time as the Aviva Stadium was being officially opened and their recent actions are unhelpful to improving relationships between the professional and amateur games.

The Committee hopes that all League of Ireland clubs will take on board its concern at recent events and recognise that we expect the FAI to act in the best interests of the entire football family and not just one particular club.

Under the leadership of the FAI, all levels and sectors of Irish football have made tremendous progress in recent years and we are pleased at the manner in which our sport has been governed since December 2004. "

I wonder who told them to issue that statement.

26/05/2010, 1:25 PM
Once again, the tail wagging the dog...

No disrespect to anyone involved in jumior ball but we're dealing with different worlds, and they must not be allowed to control the league.

26/05/2010, 1:33 PM
I wonder would a statement like that have been released if the FAI refused the friendly between DunmanwayTown and Liverpool last season. Sorry i forgot that friendly benefited the whole of Irish football :rolleyes:

Sounds like they are licking the FAI's arses if you ask me. After the recent mess in the FAI Junior Cup you'd think the FAI would be last people they'd be praising.

marinobohs
26/05/2010, 2:16 PM
Sorry, is that my tongue up your ass Mr delaney ? Junior football must really have improved if its only concern is an embarrassment of Delaney et al. As for the "tremendous progress at every level" - highly debatable is putting it mildly.

It is a joke that these clowns have the audacity to infer a threat to funding of the League and the only thing the clubs should "take on board" is to tell them to butt out.

26/05/2010, 4:21 PM
Very disappointing that the junior council and provincial associations would release such a complaint only days before an Ireland home friendly. The negative publicity that will surely follow will only detract from that match, which will of course provide money for all affiliates of the FAI.

26/05/2010, 4:25 PM
Also- I love the December 2004 thing. Guess who came to power in December 2004? Go on, you can do it if you put your mind to it. :sarcastic:

You really could not make this stuff up!

26/05/2010, 4:59 PM
In reply to that statement:

We the League of Ireland clubs wish to use your statement and tell you to shove it up your h*le.
If you want to kiss Delaney's arse, please do so in private and not in the public eye where young innocent children could be exposed to your drivel.
That is all.

26/05/2010, 5:03 PM
In reply to that statement:

We the League of Ireland clubs wish to use your statement and tell you to shove it up your h*le.
If you want to kiss Delaney's arse, please do so in private and not in the public eye where young innocent children could be exposed to your drivel.
That is all.

In furtherance to that statement:

Yesterday the League of Ireland clubs issued a statement telling junior clubs to shove it up their holes and stop kissing Delaneys arse. On reflection, this was not what was intended to be said. To clarify, we think the FAI has done an excellent job at promoting the game and will, in due course, be forming an orderly queue and puckering up to kiss Delaneys arse.

ENDS

26/05/2010, 5:08 PM
Lads, ye sound like a bunch of kids. What exactly are ye hoping to achieve with the above, cos if it's humouring people ye'll need to try again.

passerrby
26/05/2010, 5:21 PM
Lads, ye sound like a bunch of kids. What exactly are ye hoping to achieve with the above, cos if it's humouring people ye'll need to try again.

we are on a football forum talking to ourselves there is nothing in the world we would hope to achieve, if we wanted to achieve something we would get a life
lets face it the only reason most people come on to a place like this is to have a pop at others from the safety of there workstations .
and as for the jounior council they are to be admired and respected what a press release nearly as good as a ryanair press release (of the past)

26/05/2010, 5:28 PM
And that would be an example of why football is as disorganised and to a certain extent corrupt as it is in Ireland. Irish people being Irish, bitching about it all in the pub and on forums and doing feck all about it. I guess hearing about it is as bad as doing it though, eh?

(I certainly don't have the answers, but I would've thought that 1 amongst the 1,000 members that visit Foot.ie every month would have something more credible to say on this topic than the likes of "we should cut their head off and eff them with a broomstick ha ha FACT".)

26/05/2010, 7:35 PM
I'd say less than 10 people have said somethign like that.

If ony 1% of posters are nutjobs, then we're ok.

Others have said its a terrible decision, but realise that it isn't the worst decision that was ever made (sorry limerick lads)

passerrby
26/05/2010, 7:40 PM
is that because it was not that bad of a decision or they have made really bad ones in the past

26/05/2010, 7:44 PM
is that because it was not that bad of a decision or they have made really bad ones in the past

Both. Not for one minute am i sticking up for the FAI but the reason why there hasn't been a dahamsta style coup, isn't apathy. its because people realise that for all their faults, the FAI is still the best option.

Well bar the 1% obviously

26/05/2010, 8:37 PM
Saying I'm arguing for a coup is overstating things a tad Dodge, as ever. All I'm saying is that any action is better than no action. Poking (lame) fun here or coming up with "let's start a chant at the next international, that'll learn 'em" isn't action.

Your argument is the same as the dog in the street "sure all politicians are the same" guff, which is why our country is in tatters. You're an intelligent guy, I don't get why you continue to parrot the kind of garbage written in the redtops.

Again, I don't have the answers. But Delaney and his cronies as the best option? I don't think so.

26/05/2010, 8:51 PM
what is action then? Some Bohs fans had banners up at Richmond last Friday. Thats action in my book even if it was of little effect. Theres also the Maxi type action. Im sure Dodge could co-ordinate some "action" but, really, who would care outside the LOI community? The league clubs could and should have taken the lead here, taken a united stand, and they didnt. In fact, they actually backed up Delaney and his goons. Is it any wonder posters here dont have the appetite to take it upon themselves?

If there is apathy and frustration here that spills over into (attempted) humour, it is because of the apathy of the Irish public in general towards the League and the struggles that the clubs face. So what? Look at the way this whole fiasco panned out. Sometimes all you can do is laugh.

26/05/2010, 8:56 PM
You can't convert the Irish public to football, the football has to convert them, and that's not going to happen while it plays nth fiddle in the FAI. Your post has one simple activity though: if the clubs won't stand up for themselves, give them a hint of what a ground looks like without fans for one match.

I'm sure that's lame; again, I don't have the answers. All I know is that Delaney's been around for years and people've been bitching about him since year one, yet he's still presiding over clusterfecks like this. That doesn't make any sense to me. But then neither did Bertie. Don't even get me started on Cowen.

Scrufil
26/05/2010, 8:58 PM
As an important part of the Association, we know that significant funding is invested into the running of the Airtricity League clubs but the actions of some last week was disappointing. The commercial benefits that will be derived from the control of large club friendly fixtures at the Aviva Stadium stand to benefit all affiliates of the Association as well as the Airtricity League.

This is the bit that really takes the biscuit. Way, way, way over-stepping the mark. It you want real wheeler-dealing and mud then these Junior crowd put the League of Ireland in the shade. Talk about black kettles and burnt pots!!! It is a well known fact that certain players prefare to stick to the 'Cobh Ramblers' mode (I have nothing against Cobh Ramblers but this is the route that landed them in the mire.) because there are more backhanders and blind eyes cast plus rolls of money floating about in the junior circles.