View Full Version : What the FAI thinks of progressive clubs:
Pages :
[
10]
20/01/2011, 2:36 PM
Limerick denied a Licence will be on the back page shortly.
This assumes that they wouldn't have denied us one for the shenanigans earlier on in the year anyway.
I'm confident enough, they're struggling for clubs as is shur. :)
Hold on, don't FIFA hate it when clubs take associations to court? Could this potentially affect the national side?
With the grace and help of God.
I doubt it though.
marinobohs
20/01/2011, 3:13 PM
Hold on, don't FIFA hate it when clubs take associations to court? Could this potentially affect the national side?
No Mr A the FAI will assure FIFA that the LOI has no connection whatsoever with football, the International team or the Assosiation itself and whats more it never did have :rolleyes:
20/01/2011, 3:19 PM
No Mr A the FAI will assure FIFA that the LOI has no connection whatsoever with football, the International team or the Assosiation itself and whats more it never did have :rolleyes:
Exhibit A:
http://stigonline.com/misc/massop2.jpg
Spot the ball.
If you said, C3 (http://stigonline.com/misc/massop.jpg), give yourself a prize.
20/01/2011, 3:22 PM
Spoiler FAIL :>
i would have said D5 myself judging on my ability!
20/01/2011, 3:44 PM
Looks like a Longford UCD fans game? Do I win a prize for that?
it could be a slim Paul Byrne on the left there.
Also, is there a person standing beside the two in the photo. I see what looks like a bare shin in between fat lads legs.
20/01/2011, 10:30 PM
Exhibit A:
http://stigonline.com/misc/massop2.jpg
Spot the ball.
If you said, C3 (http://stigonline.com/misc/massop.jpg), give yourself a prize.
thats a good few years ago that picture.. the fella on the left is a young massop 10 that posts on here!!:D
21/01/2011, 12:25 AM
it could be a slim Paul Byrne on the left there.
Also, is there a person standing beside the two in the photo. I see what looks like a bare shin in between fat lads legs.
And the top of a head!
bullit
21/01/2011, 4:44 AM
b3 swallowed the ball,and a2 i wouldnt want to meet in a fight!! the arms on him!!
21/01/2011, 8:42 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-look-to-hold-talks-with-limerick-over-barca-fixture-fallout-2505458.html
THE FAI have made informal attempts to arrange discussions with Limerick after the Shannonsiders applied to the High Court to seek arbitration on their case against the association's decision to block a friendly match with Barcelona last summer.
Limerick had lined up the Catalan giants to visit Thomond Park, and have presented papers which prove that stars such as Lionel Messi and Xavi were lined up to play at least 45 minutes of the game.
Full article available on the link.
21/01/2011, 9:41 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-look-to-hold-talks-with-limerick-over-barca-fixture-fallout-2505458.html
Full article available on the link.
Would prefer myself if this got sorted outside of the courts and cleared up at last.
The FAI need to put there arrogance aside and sit down with Limerick and talk it out.
Can't help but feel the FAI thought Limerick FC would just go away with time if it dragged out long enough.
21/01/2011, 10:00 AM
Can't help but feel the FAI thought Limerick FC would just go away with time if it dragged out long enough.I think that is why it has ended up in court. According to the article, Limerick have been trying to contact the FAI for months.
I'm guessing that the FAI hoped to just ignore it, but now they have to deal with it. Nothing on the RTE or Irish Times site about it. No surprise there.
21/01/2011, 10:02 AM
t's understood that high-ranking Abbotstown officials feel they are due an apology from the club for going public with their anger at the situation.
Now that's arrogance.
21/01/2011, 1:04 PM
There is a good recap on page 78 of the Star of the events so far.
21/01/2011, 4:36 PM
t's understood that high-ranking Abbotstown officials feel they are due an apology from the club for going public with their anger at the situation.
http://tvblog.dallasnews.com/assets_c/2011/01/dawson-thumb-150x138-103339.gif
Aw diddums. They'll be waiting I'd say! :D
Is their something in the fact that the FAI are seeking Arbitration rather than stonewalling the club to death I wonder or am I just being a hopeless dreamer? :)
23/01/2011, 1:32 AM
Tic Toc Tic Toc :)
Verdebianco
23/01/2011, 2:13 AM
Fair play to Limerick for standing up to those chunts. Does anyone think the FAI actually cares about the LOI? Obviously other than Bohs fans.
Would prefer myself if this got sorted outside of the courts and cleared up at last.
I actually hope it goes to the high court.
I really do think it was a disgrace the way limerick were treated - and that loi supporters should actually boycott this 4 team tournament in the summer in support of limerick. I certainly will be boycotting after the way limerick were treated.
Good luck to Limerick in this - and I really do hope you hammer them in the high court!!
23/01/2011, 3:02 PM
and that loi supporters should actually boycott this 4 team tournament in the summer in support of limerick. I certainly will be boycotting after the way limerick were treated.I'll be boycotting it anyway after the way LOI teams are treated for it, it's a stupid tournament that does nothing to benefit the league.
noddy102
23/01/2011, 3:07 PM
I'll be boycotting it anyway after the way LOI teams are treated for it, it's a stupid tournament that does nothing to benefit the league.
Not trying to stir things up, but why should an International tournament like this benefit the league?
mrtndvn
23/01/2011, 3:11 PM
Wish Limrick would just drop this. The FAI bend over backwards to help clubs and this is all the thanks they get.
The conditions of the league were pretty clear when they signed up, they will simply embarrass themselves and the league in public.
bluewhitearmy
23/01/2011, 3:12 PM
Not trying to stir things up, but why should an International tournament like this benefit the league?
Id say he is talking about the tournament with Man City,Inter,Celtic and a Loi Selection.
bluewhitearmy
23/01/2011, 3:13 PM
Wish Limrick would just drop this. The FAI bend over backwards to help clubs and this is all the thanks they get.
The conditions of the league were pretty clear when they signed up, they will simply embarrass themselves and the league in public.
No the FAI bend over backwards for clubs like ye and Bohs we got screwed out of 100,00 for no reason.
noddy102
23/01/2011, 3:15 PM
Id say he is talking about the tournament with Man City,Inter,Celtic and a Loi Selection.
ah right thanks.
is the mid-season break later than normal to provide for this tournament?
bluewhitearmy
23/01/2011, 3:18 PM
ah right thanks.
is the mid-season break later than normal to provide for this tournament?
Ya they changed the break to suit the tournament alright.
peadar1987
23/01/2011, 3:37 PM
I was under the impression that the conditions were not made clear at all, especially judging by the amount of twisting, turning, and downright lying the FAI did when trying to cancel the game. The redder their faces are made by this affair the better
23/01/2011, 3:55 PM
The conditions of the league were pretty clear when they signed up,
Limerick are looking for clarity
they will simply embarrass themselves and the league in public
http://www.reece-eu.net/gallery/var/albums/funny/Pot%20Kettle%20Black.jpg?m=1272644241
23/01/2011, 4:17 PM
my sides ;)
nope limerick will win and John Delaney will vanish to eufa and leave the association with massive debts that they cannot and will not ever service, thus resulting in the FAI handing back AVIVA stadium to the IRFU. None of his cronies which he appointed around him will step up to the plate and will all resign prior to season starts knowing that delaney will try to pin blame on them for the attack on Limerick....but irish ole ole fans will be glad to know that future talent is still comming tru and schoolboy clubs will be proud fof their work untill the full endemol deal is revealed and all budding stars are owned by an external company who flog them to english clubs.
Limerick will win
tic toc tic toc
mrtndvn
23/01/2011, 10:09 PM
I was under the impression that the conditions were not made clear at all, especially judging by the amount of twisting, turning, and downright lying the FAI did when trying to cancel the game. The redder their faces are made by this affair the better
Nope, they were clear. Limrick fans will believe what they want to believe.
It will be just another victory for the FAI against a loi club. At this stage you'd think they'd realise that they aren't going to get one over on the football association just by raging some media war.
Investment in the league has massively increased since the fai took over, this unfortunately has to be paid for.
23/01/2011, 10:15 PM
Nope, they were clear.
This is a lie regardless of how much whinging you get on with in the rest of your post.
If they were clear why all the blather from Fran and John at the time.
If you have proof of this clarity show us. If not stop telling lies.
23/01/2011, 10:58 PM
The conditions of the league were pretty clear when they signed up.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0518/1224270599758.html
The association has told Limerick the game cannot go ahead on the basis that it is prohibited under the terms of a contract it has with an agent from granting permission for games that might attract a crowd of more than 15,000 spectators.
Speaking yesterday, however, the association’s communications director, Peter Sherrard, confirmed the clubs had never actually been told of any such restriction. Rather, they are simply obliged to accept the association has a power of veto thanks to the sweeping nature of the licensing agreement which all clubs are forced to sign if they want to take part in the league.
shantykelly
23/01/2011, 11:15 PM
disagree. from what i can gather, the fai had the power to veto an event that wasn't in the interest of the association or its member clubs. this friendly was obviously in the best interests of limerick, and i dont think any other fai club would begrudge them it. rather, most, if not all, would have been slightly green with envy.
as for bending over backwards to help clubs? balls. they help out clubs from large population centres, or those they view as important to any sort of strategic development of the league, and let the rest twist in the wind. an inability to properly enforce THEIR OWN RULES has led to the common asterisk becoming a common sight on our league tables, and fudge becoming a staple part of a LoI supporter's diet. Yes the clubs aren't perfect, but quite a few are definitely trying and are moving in the right direction, only to see their efforts spat on.
peadar1987
24/01/2011, 12:16 AM
And wasn't the original reason given that the match couldn't take part on the same day as a competitive match in Longford, or something? Until it was pointed out that the Shams - Madrid game, among others had happened at the same time as league games. And didn't Limerick offer to reduce the capacity of Thomond for the game, after which the FAI promptly revised the limit? And didn't someone connected with a club explicitly state that there was nothing in the participation agreement Limerick signed along the lines of what the FAI were claiming.
Doesn't sound clear to me.
i wish Limerick nothing but the best on this. They were shafted unmercifully by the FAI, particpation agreement or not. Tough situation for a club and its fans to find itself in. Whether it achieves anything or not remains to be seen i suppose.
I take objection however to claims by some limerick fan here that the FAI has bailed Bohs out.
24/01/2011, 7:04 AM
It will be just another victory for the FAI against a loi club. At this stage you'd think they'd realise that they aren't going to get one over on the football association just by raging some media war.
Investment in the league has massively increased since the fai took over, this unfortunately has to be paid for.
Doh, thats what they are there for - ii is the Football Ass of Ireland:rolleyes:
And how much do they squander on the joke of a natioanl team?
Doh, thats what they are there for - ii is the Football Ass of Ireland:rolleyes:
And how much do they squander on the joke of a natioanl team?
You mean the national team that provides the vast majority of their revenue?
peadar1987
24/01/2011, 10:02 AM
Although the LOI could provide a significant chunk more revenue if it were properly managed and promoted.
marinobohs
24/01/2011, 10:28 AM
Although the LOI could provide a significant chunk more revenue if it were properly managed and promoted.
Not sure I would ever be promoting the LOI as possible money earner for the FAI :confused: (not inthe short/medium term at least) but the national Assosiation does have a responsibility to promote the LOI which they have often negleted. having said that as we all know clubs have often been their own worst enemy so FAI not quite the "bogeymen" portrayed on here.
The treatment of Limerick FC by the FAI was abysmal, the fact no club was told of a contract that governed their business is shocking and they are right to feel aggrieved. I am unsure however if taking the legal route is the way to go, even if they win compensation (surely their best outcome) one suspects that JD & Co will be waiting in the long grass and with any LOI club never more than a heartbeat from the next disaster.......
24/01/2011, 12:54 PM
Are you getting value for money? Doubt it
Witout grassroots football their is no national team.
24/01/2011, 2:11 PM
and the same national team which only exists due to there being a semi pro league in that country.
24/01/2011, 2:33 PM
and the same national team which only exists due to there being a semi pro league in that country.
His point was that the national team is a massive cash cow. The claim that loads of money is squandered on it - which is what he was replying to - is, frankly, a bit silly.
24/01/2011, 2:40 PM
His point was that the national team is a massive cash cow. The claim that loads of money is squandered on it - which is what he was replying to - is, frankly, a bit silly.
The two things can be true though. It would still be a massive cash cow even if less was spent on it. There's necessary spending, and there's squandering. How much of the latter is being done? I have no idea myself (and don't really think it's relevant to this thread).
bluewhitearmy
24/01/2011, 3:39 PM
i wish Limerick nothing but the best on this. They were shafted unmercifully by the FAI, particpation agreement or not. Tough situation for a club and its fans to find itself in. Whether it achieves anything or not remains to be seen i suppose.
I take objection however to claims by some limerick fan here that the FAI has bailed Bohs out.
Apologies for that :peace:
24/01/2011, 3:53 PM
No its not, how much is Trap and all the gang on? How much does Delaney get? Jesus even Stapleton and Givens were on the pay role for a good while:rolleyes:
25/01/2011, 10:55 AM
No its not, how much is Trap and all the gang on? How much does Delaney get? Jesus even Stapleton and Givens were on the pay role for a good while:rolleyes:
What does Delaney's wages have to do with the NT? Absolutely nothing.
Trap gets, what, €2m a year from the FAI? (Half his wages come directly from Denis O'Brien.) One sell-out home game in Lansdowne brings in something like that kind of money, and that's before you consider TV money and sponsorship. The TV money was compromised to put on Monday Night Soccer (indicated at this fans forum (http://foot.ie/threads/103696-FAI-Fans-Forum-Abbotstown-Saturday)), Eircom (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/eircom-set-to-pull-plug-on-league-of-ireland-sponsorship-1439697.html) pulled out of the league sponsorship before the national team. The money taken in from the national team utterly dwarves the expenditure, and whether you think Trap was a good investment or not, the extra money expended on him is very likely recouped in terms of the impact of the increased viability of the team on the various revenue streams.
I don't see what your point was, beyond a petty swipe at the FAI.
passerrby
25/01/2011, 1:43 PM
[QUOTE=John83;1444436I don't see what your point was, beyond a petty swipe at the FAI.[/QUOTE]
there ya go again knocking our hobbies
25/01/2011, 3:29 PM
What does Delaney's wages have to do with the NT? Absolutely nothing.
Trap gets, what, €2m a year from the FAI? (Half his wages come directly from Denis O'Brien.) One sell-out home game in Lansdowne brings in something like that kind of money, and that's before you consider TV money and sponsorship. The TV money was compromised to put on Monday Night Soccer pulled out of the league sponsorship before the national team. The money taken in from the national team utterly dwarves the expenditure, and whether you think Trap was a good investment or not, the extra money expended on him is very likely recouped in terms of the impact of the increased viability of the team on the various revenue streams.
I don't see what your point was, beyond a petty swipe at the FAI.
My point is that the FAI SHOULD be investing in the LOI.
Delaney gets more in a salary that nearly the whole of the prize money on offer in the LOI - not bad for a useless get.
How many times have the national team filled the new stadia yet? Will be very interesting to see the crowds at the upcoming games?
25/01/2011, 3:43 PM
I don't think any of those paragraphs actually related to each other.
If I were the FAI, I wouldn't invest much in the LoI until the clubs copped the hell on to themselves. (Though you could even argue that the FAI are investing in Bohs...). And as John83 pointed out, MNS is a tangible investment in the league.
How many times have the LoI filled the new ground? The Man Utd game doesn't count obviously.
25/01/2011, 4:48 PM
I don't think any of those paragraphs actually related to each other.
If I were the FAI, I wouldn't invest much in the LoI until the clubs copped the hell on to themselves. (Though you could even argue that the FAI are investing in Bohs...). And as John83 pointed out, MNS is a tangible investment in the league.
How many times have the LoI filled the new ground? The Man Utd game doesn't count obviously.
Thats all fair, but the attitude is that the FAI when it helps the LOI we should all be thankful. Its their job to progress football in this country, its what they should be doing and we shouldn't applaud them for that. The LOI is the sick man of Irish football, while the national team get all the press and money despite not doing anything of note on a long while.