View Full Version : What the FAI thinks of progressive clubs:

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

16/05/2010, 11:36 PM
Sun May 16:
John Delaney: 'We also got correspondence from Barcelona last week saying they had not agreed to the game in Limerick at this stage. I don't believe Barcelona have agreed to it."

:rolleyes: nice one John

16/05/2010, 11:38 PM
I know its a silly point,but couldn't the IFA legally sanction the game? Also did Noel Mooney and Pauric Smith meet with Limerick on Thursday or not(as stated by JD on radio this morning)?

Mooney is from limerick, but hasnt been down in some time and smith might have been down around the time of seasons budgets and pushing vantage club tickets on the club but nothing of late

16/05/2010, 11:42 PM
To me this is just bizare.

Like, why would Limerick FC lie about it?!?!

To force the FAI's hand.

I'm not saying they have done, but it should be easy enough to prove either way.

16/05/2010, 11:44 PM
To force the FAI's hand.

Into giving Limerick permission to play a friendly they had no confirmation of though :confused:

fieldofmarkets
16/05/2010, 11:44 PM
Just listened to that interview. I'm blown away. He calls Limerick liars, naive, in poor taste, bringing the game into disripute.....oh and Limerick said they were ok with the refusal last week...holy cow. Regardless of him not doing everything humanly possible to get the game go ahead...is any of that acceptable from the man in charge of the game and league? This guy has to go.

Would like to see him go on a sportshow and deal with questions.

He managed to mention manchester united plenty of times.

16/05/2010, 11:52 PM
Into giving Limerick permission to play a friendly they had no confirmation of though :confused:

Presumably FAI permission would also make it easier for Barcelona and whatever crowd was organising it to finalse the deal

Alf Honn
16/05/2010, 11:53 PM
Just listened to that interview. I'm blown away. He calls Limerick liars, naive, in poor taste, bringing the game into disripute.....oh and Limerick said they were ok with the refusal last week...holy cow. Regardless of him not doing everything humanly possible to get the game go ahead...is any of that acceptable from the man in charge of the game and league? This guy has to go.

Would like to see him go on a sportshow and deal with questions.

He managed to mention manchester united plenty of times.

...and most cynically of all - "Sure you can watch Messi playing for Argentina on Aug 11 in Aviva (anyway)".

Sure what would he care about a four-hour round-trip to/from his shrine for Limerick people. This man's arrogance knows no bounds.

17/05/2010, 12:03 AM
Presumably FAI permission would also make it easier for Barcelona and whatever crowd was organising it to finalse the deal

Well the game can't be finalised without sanction anyway??

Just listening there....... wow.

fieldofmarkets
17/05/2010, 12:05 AM
That was pretty bad.....but I suppose those who can't make it up there can make do with watching Messi playing in the world cup on tv anyway. So no-one should be bothered really. He even sounds like a horrible smug ar****le.

17/05/2010, 12:06 AM
I hope that a few of the journos that read this board pick up on the points made, sure the story is already written for ye. However they face the prospect of a North Korean like exile if they dare to be too critical.

Jicked
17/05/2010, 12:14 AM
I'd hazard a guess that the third party the FAI have the deal with is Aviva. Probably part of the naming rights deal that all big football games over a certain presumed attendance would be held there for the next 20 years.

Which raises yet another interesting question...if a LoI side qualified for the Champions League group stages, the chances are they'd move the games to Lansdowne to get in bigger crowds, as well as the licencing issues. But does this third party deal mean that the FAI are contractually obliged to demand clubs move their games to their stadium before sanctioning them?

Surely FIFA/UEFA must have some rules governing this type of carry on.

DannyInvincible
17/05/2010, 1:28 AM
Just listened to the interview. What a truly arrogant man. There's a lot worse I could use than "man", only it'd be censored on me. It's a shame he was allowed to feel so at home and comfortable. No penetration at all. At times, it was like a jovial discussion between two friends who hadn't seen each other in a few months. He was allowed to smugly rest on his laurels once he mentioned that there were third-party agreements in place which legally prevented the FAI from authorising certain games in Ireland. As if that explained everything satisfactorily or the agreements were something the FAI couldn't have avoided entering into in the first place. Just because they already exist and there's nothing that can be done about them now doesn't make them excusable or beyond criticism. Questions must still be asked of them to get to the bottom of their nature.

Why wasn't he asked the purpose/details behind these arrangements, with whom they were arranged, who stood to benefit and why the FAI signed up to them in the first place? Also, were the clubs aware of these secretive agreements that clearly directly impinge upon them? He should be begging for mercy by the end of any interview he's involved in right now given what has gone on this past week within Irish football. The last thing he should have the audacity to be doing is to be casually joking about trivialities and non-issues like being asked for Ireland tickets by a priest or something (?) who sent him home from hurling training ten years earlier for wearing an Ireland "soccer" jersey. Sweet Jesus. There are plenty of questions that still could do with an answer. Are Finnucane and Delaney buddies? He needs to be challenged by someone who has an in-depth understanding of the pressing issues here and someone who is acutely aware of what needs to be dragged out from the murky corridors of Abbotstown and into the public spotlight.

I'm puzzled as to how clubs can arrange certain friendlies but not others.

DannyInvincible
17/05/2010, 2:36 AM
This, his "explanation" pretty much, from the story on RTÉ doesn't answer anything we don't already know:

Speaking on the Marian Finucane programme on RTÉ Radio on Sunday morning, Delaney said:

'We would have a relationship (with an agency) in terms of the organisation of friendlies coming into Ireland.

'There are certain games we can grant and there are certain games we can't in terms of attendance figures.'

'I think Limerick have acted very naively in the whole situation.

'Noel Mooney (FAI official) spoke to the owner of Limerick on Friday and explained that we couldn't grant the game.'

'We're contractually obliged to other people. I would love the game to be played in Limerick.'

There's nothing remotely revelatory about it - we've been well aware of these "third-party commercial agreements" for a few days now - bar, maybe, some vague and unclear mention of something to do with attendance figures. Presumably, friendlies which will host an attendance above a certain capacity must fall within the realm of these third-party agreements then? Still no justification of them offered, mind. When people are asking why the game can't go ahead, they're not asking to be reminded of a vague third-party commercial agreement. They want details. They want to know exactly how and why - not if, seeing as we already know of its existence - a third-party agreement is preventing Limerick from organising a friendly against Barcelona. Why should a third party be dictating what friendlies over a certain attendance can occur in this country?

And if he'd love these types of games to be going ahead, then I can't quite understand what he was doing getting into agreements with parties unrelated to the clubs that would prevent the FAI from sanctioning these games due to stipulations that are quite obviously specifically designed to directly impede club independence and autonomy. :rolleyes:

17/05/2010, 7:26 AM
Times reporting this morning that Limerick are taking legal advice on Delaney's comments.

poster
17/05/2010, 7:47 AM
Newstalk reporting Athlone have applied for a friendly with Real Madrid.

17/05/2010, 7:55 AM

Seriously? Jesus I love this league.................

HammerNThongs
17/05/2010, 8:12 AM
Seriously? Jesus I love this league.................

Same here...but following it is horrific sometimes

17/05/2010, 8:25 AM

I love LOI.

17/05/2010, 8:34 AM
Get it right ... Madrid applied for a freindly against Athlone :D

After all, we are bigger than Barca!

17/05/2010, 8:54 AM
This has to be one of the most bizarre episodes in LOI history- and that's fecking saying something. The most plausible theory so far is that there is some agreement in place that friendly matches over a certain attendance have to be at the Aviva.

But what is the magic number? If Limerick drop the ticket sales by a few thousand could they go ahead with the game?

And what is the exact situation regarding friendlies? One of the major benefits envisaged for our new stadium is the ability to host big friendlies and other events- are there agreements we should know about before even thinking of that?

17/05/2010, 9:21 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/same-old-raw-deal-for-the-clubs-as-fai-look-after-no-1-2182496.html

At least the tide is turning on the FAI.

17/05/2010, 9:35 AM
So, effectively clubs will be prohibited from organising big-name friendlies with attendences over 20,000 for their own benefit until the FAI don't need the money any more. Which, if you believe the rumours about the finances, could be another 100 years.

The 20,000 figure is interesting, as that effectively limits it to games using the Aviva or Thomond. So in reality, Limerick are probably inadvertent losers here. That said, it also takes the option of an other LoI club looking to use the Aviva for a friendly off the table (unless of course they fancy donating all the money to the J Delaney Stadium Charity).

Messy situation all round, with the FAI handling with their usual Mr. Bean-like PR skills.

Despite all of the above, the clubs ceded overwhelming control to the FAI when they signed the participation agreement. The increased prize money has to come from somewhere.

17/05/2010, 9:42 AM
So if Limerick agree to cap the attendance at 20,000 there's nothing to stop the game going ahead? Platinum One managed to make money from the Madrid v Rovers game with a 10,000 capacity, you'd imagine doubling that should make Barca v Limerick profitable if it's marketed correctly.

17/05/2010, 9:43 AM
So could Limerick make this game work with 19999 people paying in I wonder?

Edit: If it does cost €1,000,000 to get Barcelona, as the FAI say, it's hard to see how they would. Even at 26,500 it would not be easy.

17/05/2010, 9:48 AM
and if the above is the case could the FAI not have used their heads (i know i know, its nearly impossible for them to do that) and say to Limerick to decrease the capacity and the game could go ahead instead of sending a 3 line fax saying that other games are on that night so they can't play it.

17/05/2010, 9:59 AM
and if the above is the case could the FAI not have used their heads (i know i know, its nearly impossible for them to do that) and say to Limerick to decrease the capacity and the game could go ahead instead of sending a 3 line fax saying that other games are on that night so they can't play it........and how would the FAI make money out of that situation? :)

17/05/2010, 10:02 AM
.......and how would the FAI make money out of that situation? :)

Can't argue with that...

Youths4Ever
17/05/2010, 10:12 AM
'We also got correspondence from Barcelona last week saying they had not agreed to the game in Limerick at this stage. '

have Barca agreed to game or this piece from the rte article incorrect.

17/05/2010, 10:31 AM
'We also got correspondence from Barcelona last week saying they had not agreed to the game in Limerick at this stage. '

have Barca agreed to game or this piece from the rte article incorrect.

Correspondance last week could have been anytime last week before Barcelona agreed to come over. The FAI could have been talking to them Monday and Limerick got the confirmation Tuesday for example.

Rasputin
17/05/2010, 12:14 PM
Lads seriously bigger fish to fry here.
If the momentum of this FAI farce continues with the continual bad press and media attacks on our Nero like Fuhrer, Limerick may have this decision over turned and Delaney left with some serious pie on his face.
We all know Journalists read these threads so leave the bickering about Sadlier's comments to another thread.
On reflection though since we do have on of the most incompetant men in Ireland in charge of our football it begs the question how bad was the man he replaced?
Perhaps arriving at work covered in the babys blood every morning or went by the previous alias of Idi Amin.

marinobohs
17/05/2010, 12:19 PM
Lads seriously bigger fish to fry here.
If the momentum of this FAI farce continues with the continual bad press and media attacks on our Nero like Fuhrer, Limerick may have this decision over turned and Delaney left with some serious pie on his face.
We all know Journalists read these threads so leave the bickering about Sadlier's comments to another thread.
On reflection though since we do have on of the most incompetant men in Ireland in charge of our football it begs the question how bad was the man he replaced?
Perhaps arriving at work covered in the babys blood every morning or went by the previous alias of Idi Amin.

Agreed. Would there be any merit in some sort of co ordinated protest at this weekends games ? No boycott or anything as that would affect our clubs but agreement around a "Dealney out" chant or something.Appears the ast majority of fans (at least on here) are seriously p----d off at the actions of the FAI so lets tell them.

Rasputin
17/05/2010, 12:25 PM
Agreed. Would there be any merit in some sort of co ordinated protest at this weekends games ? No boycott or anything as that would affect our clubs but agreement around a "Dealney out" chant or something.Appears the ast majority of fans (at least on here) are seriously p----d off at the actions of the FAI so lets tell them.
The problem here is that I know if we put on any anti-Delaney or anti-FAI display (which I would love to see) we will have the clubs management on our backs.
Because for the simple reason that they live in fear of the tyrant in abbotstown and the FAI will have the last laugh in punishing and getting revenge on our club in every way they can, they are that small minded and bitter.
This I feel is the main reason why our chairman hasnt come out with a statement with regaurds to the Limerick-Barca game even though every Rovers fan I discussed it with last Saturday were in total support for Limerick and had some choice words about the FAI.
This of course because we have all tasted the incompetance and child like petulence fo the FAI and Delaney at some stage or another.

athloneman
17/05/2010, 12:26 PM
great idea MB, we the league followers need to show that clown that we wont stand for his crap anymore!!

and on another note if the fai refuse to sanction the barca game, limerick should reduced the capacity to 19999 and force the fai's hand in allowing the game go ahead!!

17/05/2010, 12:55 PM
However there is enough anger out there that it might just happen.

Seems to be gathering momentum alright (outside the usual LOI heads). Could be the sort of thing some young politicians could make a name for themselves over.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/05/2010, 12:59 PM
He has some cheek calling anyone naive 6 months after he was asking FIFA to let a 33rd team into the World Cup

JohnD
17/05/2010, 1:00 PM
Check this Lads:

There is supposed to be a piece on the Barca game on Liveline today. RTE Radio 1

JohnD

Rasputin
17/05/2010, 1:02 PM
The Mayor Kevin Kiely and Peter Power have been involved and possibly others. I think it will run for a while.
Surely it must since the political establishment of Limerick kicked up such a ****storm over the closing of pubs on good friday.
Surely the exact same arguements with regaurds a massive loss in revenue to the local economy would apply here aswell.

17/05/2010, 1:08 PM
Check this Lads:

There is supposed to be a piece on the Barca game on Liveline today. RTE Radio 1

JohnDCount me 100% four-square behind Delaney now.

Unfortunately my "support the opposite of whatever Joe Duffy supports" life-rule is just too sacrosanct.

marinobohs
17/05/2010, 1:27 PM
Count me 100% four-square behind Delaney now.

Unfortunately my "support the opposite of whatever Joe Duffy supports" life-rule is just too sacrosanct.

......being a Derry fan ORA can you not have two life rules :D

17/05/2010, 1:52 PM
Article in todays Limerick Leader

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/Controversial-comments-inflame-friendly-debacle.6299218.jp

At the end of the day John Delaney, Fran Gavin and Limerick FC officials need to meet up in person and sort this out. One releasing a statement, then the other and back and fourth is going to get the situation no where. If anything the FAI should learn they need to be clearer on situations like this. Not just send small three lined faxes and presume that will sufice. Tonight will be a good opportunity for Delaney and Pat O Sullivan to talk as Pat will be in attendance at the draw for the FAI Cup tonight.

DannyInvincible
17/05/2010, 1:54 PM
The problem here is that I know if we put on any anti-Delaney or anti-FAI display (which I would love to see) we will have the clubs management on our backs.
Because for the simple reason that they live in fear of the tyrant in abbotstown and the FAI will have the last laugh in punishing and getting revenge on our club in every way they can, they are that small minded and bitter.
This I feel is the main reason why our chairman hasnt come out with a statement with regaurds to the Limerick-Barca game even though every Rovers fan I discussed it with last Saturday were in total support for Limerick and had some choice words about the FAI.
This of course because we have all tasted the incompetance and child like petulence fo the FAI and Delaney at some stage or another.

There is enough nationwide anger there for this to be done in unity. All clubs should be up in arms about the FAI entering into secretive, behind-the-scenes commercial agreements that have a direct negative effect on their autonomy, even if it is just Limerick suffering because of it right now. Everyone suffers in the long-term within this straitjacket. If all clubs were to come out against the FAI together, surely the FAI wouldn't have the audacity to try and punish them all. It just wouldn't be tenable, never mind feasible.

Alf Honn
17/05/2010, 1:55 PM
The Mayor Kevin Kiely and Peter Power have been involved and possibly others. I think it will run for a while.

Any sign of the people's champions, Willie O'Dea?! Surely there's a soap box (albeit a tall one) at Thomond waiting for his arrival to support the Limerick FC cause and to damn the mercenary Delaney!

DannyInvincible
17/05/2010, 2:02 PM
Article in todays Limerick Leader

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/Controversial-comments-inflame-friendly-debacle.6299218.jp

Very dangerous game the Limerick Leader is playing; seeing a big grinning mug-shot of Delaney like that heading the article will only further rile local fury. :P

17/05/2010, 2:06 PM
Many of our fans turned up in Barca gear last Friday night.

I'm normally totally opposed to foreign shirts at our games but not in this case.

Thats an idea, maybe we shud all wear Barca colours this fridays games? (thats if I can still fit into mine!):mad:

marinobohs
17/05/2010, 2:11 PM
Very dangerous game the Limerick Leader is playing; seeing a big grinning mug-shot of Delaney like that heading the article will only further rile local fury. :P

Would go more for donning Delaney (paper) masks or white jerseys/ T shirts and a designated silence and or chant (Delaney out ?) at a given point - 15 minutes into game perhaps ?

Dalymountrower
17/05/2010, 2:56 PM
There are so many aspects of Competition Law that the FAI and their secret "third party " deal are in breach of ( sample below) any club effected by their distortion of competiton, and particularly Limerick FC should be alerting the Competition Authority who will investigate the third party "hello" deal and will enforce EU Competition Law through the Courts if necessary. Might be a pay day after all for Limerick!

The Competition Act 2002

Section 4(1) prohibits and renders void "all agreements between undertakings, decisions by associations of undertakings and concerted practices which have as their object or effect the prevention, restriction or distortion of competition in trade in any goods or services in the State or in any part of the State". The Act lists some specific types of behaviour which are expressly prohibited. These include agreements which:
fix prices;
limit or control production or markets;
share markets or sources of supply;
apply dissimilar conditions to equivalent transactions with other trading parties; or
attach supplementary obligations to a commercial contract which have nothing to do with the subject of the contract (e.g. tying).

17/05/2010, 3:35 PM
I hope this is brought to the attention of limerick fc and the Fai asap

A N Mouse
17/05/2010, 3:49 PM
Would go more for donning Delaney (paper) masks or white jerseys/ T shirts and a designated silence and or chant (Delaney out ?) at a given point - 15 minutes into game perhaps ?

Think any attempt at dissent within the ground will see clubs punished by the dictator for life ( for some real or imagined breach of the participation agreement)

Might be an idea to target fai sponsors with a boycott.

Staring with aviva.

They're all there at the bottom of the fai site. Was going off carlsberg anyway, giving up the tayto's can only be a good thing too.

DannyInvincible
17/05/2010, 4:19 PM
Think any attempt at dissent within the ground will see clubs punished by the dictator for life ( for some real or imagined breach of the participation agreement)

Staring with aviva.

Unified dissent would work. There is no way the FAI could be allowed feel it had a mandate to punish the clubs if those clubs who form its league all came out in opposition to what was going on at the top. As much as it appears to be a Delaney dictatorship, the FAI top brass has to be accountable to someone. Surely?...

As for Aviva, I can't imagine them backing any calls for the friendly between Limerick and Barcelona to go ahead. It would eat into - maybe even overshadow - any beneficial exposure or publicity they'd hope their association with Lansdowne Road would garner for the company, what with their name being pasted all over everything to do with the place.

GGAJD
17/05/2010, 4:21 PM

Staring with aviva.

They're all there at the bottom of the fai site. Was going off carlsberg anyway, giving up the tayto's can only be a good thing too.

And because they're made in the czech republic now resulting in three-four hundred people being slung on to the dole in this country.
Some sort of protest is a must at all loi fixtures on a designated date to show the stalinesque regime the strength of feeling and anger towards them and to show them there is a genuine desire to oust these fookers from the running of our league.