View Full Version : Liam Miller
Murfinator
05/07/2011, 12:01 PM
Celtic effed up by not offering him a contract early enough. Allowed him a tantilising glimpse of the glorious EPL delights which he jumped at. Celtic fans rightly interpreted his move as foolish and disrespectful(stood by him during injuries, propelled him into 1st team) and when oul sir awex lost the league there was no way Miller, a january pre-contract signing, would be walking into MU's centre field come the summer. Career killed stone dead before it began. A few years in the hoops and it all could have been so different. Shame for the lad, he had champions league glory at Celtic, a support who took him to their hearts, subsequently shat on them, and now he's the walking definition of a let-down journeyman pro.
He was already one of the top players in the SPL which even back then was a very weak league, particularly technically so for a player like him I don't think he could have learned anymore there and perhaps would have rotted into mediocrity there instead of obscurity elsewhere. I think he made the right choice taking an oppurtunity at Man Utd, most young lads should be jumping at the chance to leave the SPL for a better standard league. Ultimately he didn't make it but I don't put that down to his decision to leave Celtic. His attitude failed him at Sunderland and like most players who go there he just wasn't good enough for Man Utd.
Junior
05/07/2011, 9:48 PM
He was already one of the top players in the SPL which even back then was a very weak league, particularly technically so for a player like him I don't think he could have learned anymore there and perhaps would have rotted into mediocrity there instead of obscurity elsewhere.
Talk about rewriting history! Miller had shown glimpses of being a great player for Celtic, notably in 2 CL games against Anderlecht & Lyon. His future looked bright. In 4-5 years he made 26 appearances (per wiki), I'd say he could have learned a hell of a lot more had he stuck around both domestically and in Europe. Poorly advised imo.
DannyInvincible
05/07/2011, 10:13 PM
I have a feeling Wiki just counts league appearances.
Junior
06/07/2011, 9:23 AM
Possibly you are correct but I think the point still stands.
AlaskaFox
06/07/2011, 9:38 AM
You are indeed correct.
DannyInvincible
06/07/2011, 2:19 PM
Possibly you are correct but I think the point still stands.
Yeah, certainly. Just being a grumbling pedant. :)
theworm2345
30/01/2012, 3:25 AM
Appears Liam got his first goal down under against Adelaide United in a 3-0 victory on Sunday. His side are doing OK in the league and are looking as though they bound for the playoffs. He seems to have been an ever present in the team.
Oh, and while you guys are laughing at him playing in the A League, I should note its about 85° Fahrenheit in Perth right now. Actually watched a little bit of the Wellington Phoenix game yesterday, the standard isn't great but maybe about the same as MLS, or somewhat comparable to League One, or some SPL sides.
I watched some of their playoffs a few years ago and their method really is confusing as hell with major and minor semi-finals (doesn't mean the same thing as in GAA), then the grand final, etc. :confused:
Snoop Drog
30/01/2012, 3:40 AM
Miller has been standout for Perth for the past two games. He controls play well and gives them an attacking edge.
theworm2345
06/02/2012, 1:29 PM
Scored again last night.
07/02/2012, 12:22 AM
wow. If he keeps turning in decent performances for a third rate team, Man U might take a punt on him!
EastTerracer
09/02/2012, 4:15 PM
Scored again last night.
Think it's the second goal shown here... tidy finish.
ccMwX5ciZhE
Snoop Drog
11/02/2012, 9:57 AM
Just watched him play vs Sydney FC. Sydney won 2-1 and Miller was disappointing. Failed to make any impact on the game at all really. Was looking forward to watching him, but he didn't get going at all...
theworm2345
30/03/2012, 9:29 PM
So Perth Glory finished third in the league at the end of the regular season and now enter in to the incredibly confusing process of deciding the two teams that will ultimately compete in the Grand Final. Their first match in these weird playoffs is Sunday.
AlaskaFox
31/03/2012, 8:53 AM
It's a bit like the GAA Championships really. 1st v 2nd play in a semi-final, and then 3rd v 6th and 4th v 5th play each other in a preliminary round, the two who win meet in the quarters, and then play a semi-final against the losing team from the other semi.
15/04/2012, 1:47 PM
Himself and Billy Memeth are into the A-League super duper deluxe grand final, been playing great stuff both of them according to a perth fan I know, actually watched an A-League game last week on TV looks to be about lower to mid table championship standard.
Snoop Drog
22/04/2012, 10:37 AM
Perth lost the GF today to a dodgy penalty 4 mins into injury time. I concur with Acornvilla that the standard is about championship level (plus ex-A League players who went to the Championship, like Nicky Carle, Dave Carney and Mile Jedinak seem to cope well with the standard).
Miller was impressive enough this season. He pulled the strings in midfield and created chances for his frontmen. He had a couple of poor games (vs Sydney being one of them) but I have no doubt Perth Glory are happy with him.
If A League is about Championship standard, and Miller is one of the better midfielders in the league, then perhaps there is options for him in England. Having said that, there are worse places than Perth to live and I understand he has a young family, so perhaps Aussie life suits him at this stage in his career.
Crosby87
12/04/2013, 10:39 PM
Was Liam the worst replacement Man U tried for Roy Keane?
http://www.givemefootball.com/339948-manchester-united-worst-roy-keane-replacements
gastric
04/05/2014, 9:35 AM
Miller's Brisbane Roar won the A League Grand Final today. Miller played, but did not have any significant impact on the result.
https://twitter.com/brisbaneroar
TheOneWhoKnocks
08/05/2014, 11:58 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDqaEQlV5AU&feature=youtu.be
This goal wins the A-League Goal of the Season award in The Guardian.
DeLorean
15/01/2015, 11:14 AM
Signs for Cork City (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2015/0115/672748-liam-miller-agrees-deal-with-cork-city/)
What a poor move from Celtic all those years back. Got caught up in his own hype.
DeLorean
15/01/2015, 12:19 PM
Nothing worse than a young man with ambition.
18/02/2016, 9:58 PM
Moving to Wilmington Hammerheads in the states: http://www.wilmingtonhammerheads.com/wilmington-hammerheads-sign-former-manchester-united-player-20th-anniversary-season/
18/02/2016, 10:19 PM
120 appearances in the PL?
Fair play he has travelled the world playing footabll at an average level.dead right.
Colbert Report
12/11/2017, 8:20 PM
Rumours abound that Liam has passed away or is close to death in a hospice in Cork. I hope they are not true.
Fixer82
12/11/2017, 8:22 PM
Rumours abound that Liam has passed away or is close to death in a hospice in Cork. I hope they are not true.
Wow! Hope that’s not true
Olé Olé
12/11/2017, 8:43 PM
Had a search on Twitter and there's a lot of noise there. Really hope it isn't the case. Dreadful if it is.
Olé Olé
12/11/2017, 8:47 PM
https://twitter.com/barryomahony4/status/929826765492707328?s=17
Diggs246
12/11/2017, 8:56 PM
Jayus, that puts everything into perspective
12/11/2017, 9:12 PM
Still nothing official, either from the FAI, any of his previous clubs or the player himself.
EAFC_rdfl
12/11/2017, 9:21 PM
https://twitter.com/The_Tman10/status/929832947246600192
According to that he is traveling back from USA tomorrow to start chemo
Fixer82
13/11/2017, 7:43 AM
Pancreatic cancer I read which is very tough to overcome
13/11/2017, 7:51 AM
I've seen that too. My friend's dad was diagnosed with it three years ago. The survival rate is about 10% and he was only given two months. He passed two months later. Really do hope the rumours are not true.
seanfhear
13/11/2017, 8:54 AM
Hope for the best .
DeLorean
13/11/2017, 12:10 PM
Really do hope the rumours are not true.
Starting to be reported in the mainstream now - http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/41966734
Celtic & Manchester United official Twitter accounts both sending messages of support also.
Hopefully he can battle through it. I remember the diagnosis for his former clubmate, John Hartson, appeared particularly grim at one point as well, not to mention Stilyan Petrov.
Diggs246
13/11/2017, 1:20 PM
Starting to be reported in the mainstream now - http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/41966734
Celtic & Manchester United official Twitter accounts both sending messages of support also.
Hopefully he can battle through it. I remember the diagnosis for his former clubmate, John Hartson, appeared particularly grim at one point as well, not to mention Stilyan Petrov.
Tam Manus has confirmed relatively good news on his twitter, stating Liam is not in the hospice
14/11/2017, 1:04 AM
Wow, that is a shock, I saw the thread and wondered what it is about, I was thinking maybe he had signed up for some lower league football or maybe some coaching or something like that. I certainly not expecting anything like this.
It is awful news, I hope he is gonna be OK. I've been reading about it, it quite unusual to get it so young, it normally affects much older people, hopefully his young age and fitness will work in his favour, I hope and pray that will be case.
DeLorean
19/12/2017, 7:52 PM
John Hartson tweeted an update (of sorts) on Liam Miller this morning - https://twitter.com/JohnHartson10/status/943068842846314496
Just off the phone to Liam Miller.. he has a big fight on his hands,and is feeling determined and battling hard through this horrible period of his life. We send him our prayers and strength, and hope that Liam can get back to a normal way of life.
09/02/2018, 10:17 PM
There's stories coming out of Cork that Liam has passed away tonight.
DeLorean
09/02/2018, 10:38 PM
Poor fella. RIP.
seanfhear
09/02/2018, 10:42 PM
RIP . Condolences to his family .
09/02/2018, 10:55 PM
Pancreatic cancer, it has one of the lowest survival rates. Only 36, younger than a lot of the forum I'd wager. No age.
just read on wikipedia he would have been 37 on Tuesday.
youngirish
09/02/2018, 10:59 PM
Rest in peace Liam. Thanks for the memories.
09/02/2018, 11:05 PM
Ah jayz. Should be talking about him on the retirements thread, not here.
RIP
Fixer82
09/02/2018, 11:14 PM
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.
Awful for his family.
Fizzer
09/02/2018, 11:32 PM
Aw no that is rough poor fella is my age.Awful news.R.I.P. Liam
Diggs246
09/02/2018, 11:37 PM
Jayus, life is too short.. just awful
backstothewall
10/02/2018, 12:12 AM
Absolutely ****e. The most awful form of the most awful disease. What his poor family must be going through tonight. 3 young kids who have just had their world torn apart and a widow and grandparents left to try to rebuild it for them. The world is a cruel place sometimes.
DannyInvincible
10/02/2018, 12:41 AM
Awful news. RIP.
gastric
10/02/2018, 6:46 AM
Even making headlines in Australia as he played over here. Many ex team mates have spoken of him as a gentleman. RIP Liam.