View Full Version : Liam Miller
SilkCut
15/10/2009, 1:22 AM
For all the guff he gets on this board for whatever reason I genuinely don't think I've ever seen him perform poorly in the Irish shirt. A lot of average performances sure, but he's always held his own. Which is more than I can say for a lot of the other members of the current squad. :rolleyes:
I hope you were watching the Montenegro game mate cos he was utter utter utter rubbish. He continues to make schoolboy errors like turning into opposition players as opposed to away from them like any normal footballer would. He seems to have completely lost the ability to pass the ball and he can't tackle. He spent the entire game looking like he was day dreaming, waiting for things to happen and made no contribution at all. Poor old Martin Rowlands was running around like a headless chicken trying to get involved, got a yellow card covering for Gimpy Mc Gimperson and (judging by the look on his face as he was strechered off) may have ended his career by giving his all in a meaningless game just to try and get into the squad for the playoff's. All this from a limited footballer while his esteemed midfield partner (who has had chance after chance given to him to be the player we all hoped he could be) farted about waiting for the opportunity to flick the ball delicately into the path of someone in a red shirt, still apparently under the impression that he is a Man Utd. player!
Forget about the Andy Reid debate, forget about the Stephen Ireland nonsense. Why are we not starting a poll asking why is this clown still paid to play football, or even more entertaining asking why he has not been taken quietly out of Croke Park and put in a taxi to the nearest home for the bewildered where he can quietly live out the remainder of his life pretending to be a professional athlete. Perhaps he would impress in a seven aside with a bunch of 70 year old women.
Useless.
Noelys Guitar
15/10/2009, 3:05 AM
errrr. I have berated Miller on here many times but tonight I thought he was one of our better players. He played two wonderful through balls tonight. One to Duff which for some inexplicable reason Duff decided to shoot rather than cut the ball across the box to Keane or Hunt. He still gives away free kicks in bad areas for the team but overall I thougth he did OK.
SilkCut
15/10/2009, 3:59 AM
I thought Hunt played that pass. Miller made one pass to Noel Hunt who then played Keane in. Other than that he did nothing.
If we are going to continue to pick Miller based on the fact that he once looked like he was going to be brilliant, why not re-call Stephen McPhail? He is playing at a higher level than Miller......
Miller is 28 years old and living off the fact that he once played for Man Utd. he is rubbish, this by the way is coming from someone, who like the rest of you, wanted him to be as brilliant as he could have been. At 28 there is no more potential, just a steady decline into the lower reaches of scottish football.
SilkCut
15/10/2009, 4:00 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8307920.stm
Stephen Hunt played Duff in.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1014/ireland_montengro.html
Noelys Guitar
15/10/2009, 4:11 AM
Hurt played in the excellent ball that Duff decided to take on himself. Earlier than that Miller played in the ball of the night.Miller played a beautiful ball in for Duff in the 10th min. RTE
10 min Liam Miller executes the first decent pass of the night which nearly puts Duff through. Good to see the Corkman back playing regularly again
SilkCut
15/10/2009, 5:37 AM
My apologies, he's a legend. Give him the captains armband, oh and while we are at it lets call up all his male relatives, surely the fact they are related means they are are great players.
Seriously NG, I'm not saying you think he is Pele or anything but please take off the blinkers, he is terrible.
15/10/2009, 8:25 AM
We would have been a lot better off throwing in some young player like Garvan or McCarthy into this meaninless game instead of players who are never going make an impact for Ireland and I include the luckless Rowlands in that.
15/10/2009, 9:09 AM
We would have been a lot better off throwing in some young player like Garvan or McCarthy into this meaninless game instead of players who are never going make an impact for Ireland and I include the luckless Rowlands in that.
neither were going to be released from the U21's. Garvan is captain, and by all accounts the game passed McCarthy a little, so he's clearly not ready for a full international.
Remember Thomas Butler coming on against Switzerland the night after playing for the U21s?
Thought he was without doubt one of our better players last night. Tried to play football when he had the ball. He must have been thinking of the €50 & €70 supporters were paying to be at the game and said feck it i'll try and play football!!!!
15/10/2009, 10:09 AM
neither were going to be released from the U21's. Garvan is captain, and by all accounts the game passed McCarthy a little, so he's clearly not ready for a full international.
Remember Thomas Butler coming on against Switzerland the night after playing for the U21s?
I still think Trap should have pulled Garvan from the U21s. It would benefit both the team and the player himself to have played against Montenegro. The 21s are well out of contention already and since when have the FAI given a hoot about the u21. This is bore out with the continued perseverence with Don Don.
seanfhear
15/10/2009, 4:01 PM
I still think Trap should have pulled Garvan from the U21s. It would benefit both the team and the player himself to have played against Montenegro. The 21s are well out of contention already and since when have the FAI given a hoot about the u21. This is bore out with the continued perseverence with Don Don.It would have done no harm to have him on the bench and maybe given the lad a boost now that the Roy Keane school of encouragement is been brought to bear on him.
15/10/2009, 4:23 PM
i actually taught mccarthy was good against the swiss espectilly considering they are taught to be the best team in the group
SilkCut
15/10/2009, 11:02 PM
Thought he was without doubt one of our better players last night. Tried to play football when he had the ball. He must have been thinking of the €50 & €70 supporters were paying to be at the game and said feck it i'll try and play football!!!!
Yep that is probably exactly what he thought. Feck it I used to play for Man Utd. I'm better than the other 10 men in green shirts I will try to play my own game. Try being the important word in that sentence, cos he failed. Why did he fail? Cos he can't play football. His decline truly saddens me.
Calling up Garvan or McCarthy would have served us better. Even bringing Andy Reid back would have served us better. These are players who WILL contribute in the future, Millers contribution is finished. Don't get me wrong Miller fans, I say that with as much disapointment as you. I really thought he and McPhail were going to be our midfield partnership for years.
foureyes
16/10/2009, 9:52 AM
he tried to play football alright, but he couldn't.
lots of neat little balls going straight to the opposition. he was out of his depth against montenegro, which i think says it all.
BigfeetBigsocks
16/10/2009, 10:14 AM
Its a shame Liam didn't turn into the player he looked like he was going to be when he burst into the Celtic side... I think it started with a bad decision to Join Man United...he was young and improving he was getting regular football and also european experience with Celtic was never going to break into Man Utd Squad and command starting place.. All that brashness and confidence he was getting playing with Celtic every week was diminished by Alex and Man Utd... It must be very hard to get back to your best when you have been sitting on sideline or playing reserve games for couple of years... As i said shame was looking to be a great player, still agood player but more of a squad man now rather than top biller :ball:
Murfinator
16/10/2009, 10:35 AM
Did Liam Miller run over your dog or something, Silk? Because if he didn't your vendetta against him is inexplicable. :confused:
He had a mixed game on Wednesday, though general perception I've heard is that people were generally impressed with him. He can pick some passes that Whelan, Andrews and Rowlands could only dream of, he's also more likely to make mistakes than them too so it's a mixed bag.
Overall I felt he justified his squad selection this week and I don't think any reasonable person could deny that.
ArdeeBhoy
16/10/2009, 10:40 AM
Miller is rubbish. And in terms of his career, since the day he signed for Man.U.
What was Fergie thinking? Still he got rid.
He only played because Trapp is too stubborn to bring back Andy Reid.
Murfinator
16/10/2009, 10:41 AM
Calling up Garvan or McCarthy would have served us better. These are players who WILL contribute in the future
We're not building for the future, we're building for next month. Miller has been in the squad all along and right or wrong to begin with he's the correct option to be playing at this moment in the time since he has international experience and is familiar with trap's system. If you want to stand by and claim that in our final warmup for the most important game in 7 years that we should be handing debuts to 18 and 21 year old wigan and ipswich reserves, then fair enough. Don't complain when the people who know what their talking about have a chuckle at your expense. :rolleyes:
third policeman
16/10/2009, 10:42 AM
It would have done no harm to have him on the bench and maybe given the lad a boost now that the Roy Keane school of encouragement is been brought to bear on him.
Keane's treatment of Garvan is in danger of destroying his confidence and career. He is self-evidently a player blessed with great technical ability and the physical attributes to assert himself at the highest level. The sooner he gets a move or Keans gets the sack the better. Agree with Acornvilla that McCarthy looked impressive against the Swiss without actually dominating things. I am not worried by his lack of first team profile at Wigan thus far. It's a massive step up for a teenager from the SPL to the Premership. Martinez is an intelligent and progressive manager who knows what he is doing.
ArdeeBhoy
16/10/2009, 10:51 AM
Don't complain when the people who know what their talking about have a chuckle at your expense. :rolleyes:
Judging by most of your 'posts', you are being :rolleyes: Ironic???
Because there doesn't seem to be much familiarity with what constitutes abiliity in soccer?
16/10/2009, 4:02 PM
just to clarify something, some posts have stated that Wednesday was Miller's first competitive start
According to soccerscene.ie - http://www.soccerscene.ie/sssenior/player.php?show_all_starts=1&id=28 - the 2-2 draw VS Wales at the end of the last qualification series was actually his first competitive start
twoenz
16/10/2009, 6:51 PM
Its a shame Liam didn't turn into the player he looked like he was going to be when he burst into the Celtic side... I think it started with a bad decision to Join Man United...he was young and improving he was getting regular football and also european experience with Celtic was never going to break into Man Utd Squad and command starting place.. All that brashness and confidence he was getting playing with Celtic every week was diminished by Alex and Man Utd... It must be very hard to get back to your best when you have been sitting on sideline or playing reserve games for couple of years... As i said shame was looking to be a great player, still agood player but more of a squad man now rather than top biller :ball:
Ppfft.
He played 26 matches whilst at Celtic over 4 years. He had half a season where he was in the team. A goal against Lyon does not a good footballer make. He's been dining out on could have beens ever since.
He had a great 15 minutes at the start of the second half the other night, but was atrocious apart from that.
SilkCut
18/10/2009, 11:28 PM
Did Liam Miller run over your dog or something, Silk? Because if he didn't your vendetta against him is inexplicable. :confused:
He had a mixed game on Wednesday, though general perception I've heard is that people were generally impressed with him. He can pick some passes that Whelan, Andrews and Rowlands could only dream of, he's also more likely to make mistakes than them too so it's a mixed bag.
Overall I felt he justified his squad selection this week and I don't think any reasonable person could deny that.
We're not building for the future, we're building for next month. Miller has been in the squad all along and right or wrong to begin with he's the correct option to be playing at this moment in the time since he has international experience and is familiar with trap's system. If you want to stand by and claim that in our final warmup for the most important game in 7 years that we should be handing debuts to 18 and 21 year old wigan and ipswich reserves, then fair enough. Don't complain when the people who know what their talking about have a chuckle at your expense. :rolleyes:
Murf, its not a vendetta against the guy. Its an effort to open peoples eyes to the fact he is not up to international standard. I have already said how much I hoped he would develop into a world beater. He hasn't and he won't so its time to leave him in Edinburgh where he belongs, where he is probably very happy. Your comment that he can make more passes but will also make more mistakes suggests your understanding of football is not what you think it is. Making lots of mistakes is something that is accepted at underage and reserve level, not at first class international level where one mistake can cost you a game which in turn could be the difference between qualifying for a WC or EC. He is 28 now, mistakes should not be regular occourences, he makes way too many. This is why Trap prefers players like Whelan and Andrews, they may not be very exciting but they are safe. Even calling up Rowlands backs that up, it seems to me that he felt he had no other choice but to select Miller, I wonder had McCann not been injured would he have been given a chance. There is almost always an unexpected call up to squads for major competitions so your belief that Garvan or McCarthy should not have been called up is also a little strange. The fact is Miller should be no where near the world cup, if there is an alternative such as McCarthy or Garvan. Even Andy Reid. Hopefully Steven Reid will be fit so we won't have to worry about Miller for SA.
musicinmouth
08/11/2009, 10:03 PM
Really happy for Liam Miller! This is for the guys that were sitting beside me at the last game who spent the entire game shouting abuse at Liam Miller...
--
Hibernian's Liam Miller has been named as the Clydesdale Bank Premier League player of the month for October.
The Irish midfielder arrived at Easter Road in mid-September, having been released by English side QPR.
"I'm enjoying myself day in and day out which I hadn't done for a year," Miller told the SPL website.
"As long as I am happy here, I don't see why I shouldn't stay. I can definitely see myself being here for the long term."
In a successful month in which Hibernian were unbeaten in the league, Miller was on target for the first time as his team moved into second place by beating Aberdeen 2-0.
And after an unsettled period, where he played for five clubs in as many years, the Republic of Ireland international says he is fitting in well with his new Hibs team-mates.
"I have found it really welcoming here and I felt straight away I'd made the right decision," said Miller.
"We have a really good bunch of lads and a lot of characters in the team.
"We are getting the right results on the pitch and we are training really hard and it's paying off. "
back of the net
08/11/2009, 10:12 PM
Really happy for Liam Miller! This is for the guys that were sitting beside me at the last game who spent the entire game shouting abuse at Liam Miller...
--
Hibernian's Liam Miller has been named as the Clydesdale Bank Premier League player of the month for October.
The Irish midfielder arrived at Easter Road in mid-September, having been released by English side QPR.
"I'm enjoying myself day in and day out which I hadn't done for a year," Miller told the SPL website.
"As long as I am happy here, I don't see why I shouldn't stay. I can definitely see myself being here for the long term."
In a successful month in which Hibernian were unbeaten in the league, Miller was on target for the first time as his team moved into second place by beating Aberdeen 2-0.
And after an unsettled period, where he played for five clubs in as many years, the Republic of Ireland international says he is fitting in well with his new Hibs team-mates.
"I have found it really welcoming here and I felt straight away I'd made the right decision," said Miller.
"We have a really good bunch of lads and a lot of characters in the team.
"We are getting the right results on the pitch and we are training really hard and it's paying off. "
Hibernian and the SPL are Liam Miller's level.
Fair play to the lad on winning player of the month, but imo he still is nowhere near good enough for International football and i would prefer if he was not in the squad.
08/11/2009, 11:17 PM
Hibernian and the SPL are Liam Miller's level.
Fair play to the lad on winning player of the month, but imo he still is nowhere near good enough for International football and i would prefer if he was not in the squad.
boooooooooooooooooo!!! go away with your negativity
SilkCut
09/11/2009, 12:28 AM
boooooooooooooooooo!!! go away with your negativity
Thats not negativity, its the truth. Fair play to the guy for winning an award, but he is not international class anymore.
livehead1
09/11/2009, 6:42 AM
You would have to say it probably has a lot more to do with the standard of football in the SPL rather than a Liam Miller renaissance!
irishfan86
09/11/2009, 7:27 AM
I watched the Hearts-Hibs game to see how Miller and Stokes were doing, and the commentators were going on and on about Miller, and how lucky Hibs were to have signed a player of his quality.
I know they don't post here anyway!
as_i_say
09/11/2009, 8:01 AM
Thats not negativity, its the truth. Fair play to the guy for winning an award, but he is not international class anymore.
Anymore?;)
DeLorean
09/11/2009, 11:30 AM
I watched the Edinburgh derby Saturday morning and Miller was very good. It may not be a particularly high standard but he was very workman like and good on the ball. I'm glad he is doing well anyway and long may it continue. I also felt he was Ireland's stand out player against Montenegro, especially in the first half. He seems to get a lot of soft frees given against him for some reason.
back of the net
09/11/2009, 1:43 PM
I watched the Edinburgh derby Saturday morning and Miller was very good. I alsof felt he was Ireland's stand out player against Montenegro, .
Im sure he will be fantastic in edinbburgh....hope the guy has a great career in edinburgh, but edinburgh is as far as his career will go imo.
IMO he wont be having a great career at INTL level cos he is so far below INTL level, its shocking.
At the montengro game , i saw miller play some nice passes and had a spell for about 20 mins where he was good which was followed by a period where he looked lost in our midfield as the game past him by.For the remainder of the game he was shocking.
His career in england was a failure imo simply cos the standard was to high for him
Years Team Apps† (Gls)†
2000–2004 Celtic 26 (2)
2001 → AGF Aarhus (loan) 18 (0)
2004–2006 Manchester United 9 (0)
2005–2006 → Leeds United (loan) 28 (1)
2006–2009 Sunderland 57 (3)
2009 Queens Park Rangers 13 (0)
(Stats courtesy of good old wiki)
but thats just my opinion - i have nothing against the fella , this is not an anti liam miller forum as some have been suggesting, i (and others) just believe we have much better options in millers position and they should be given the chance for Ireland ahead of miller.
Murfinator
09/11/2009, 1:46 PM
Whats very apparent from that is that he's never got a good run of games anywhere. He had one excellent season with celtic and arsed off to Man United where he never cut it, was always in and out of the Sunderland side thanks to Roy's ridiculous rotation policy and hopped around between Leeds and QPR in between.
He needs to settle in a side and get some consistent experience. The talent is there, we've all seen it in streaks but even at his age he has a lot of learning to do.
DeLorean
09/11/2009, 1:55 PM
I'm just happy he's found a club and seems to be getting on well there. That's all.
back of the net
09/11/2009, 2:02 PM
I'm just happy he's found a club and seems to be getting on well there. That's all.
well i wont disagree with u on that Delorean, the best of luck to the lad
M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 5:49 PM
Sat out training in Malahide today, muscle strain....
IF he pulls out of the squad, who will Trap call up?? (as opposed to who should he, as i think we have more or less a 100% consenus on that)
M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 7:05 PM
IF he pulls out of the squad, who will Trap call up?? (as opposed to who should he, as i think we have more or less a 100% consenus on that)
God only knows, but I reckon miller will be fine..
Razors left peg
10/11/2009, 7:17 PM
It is actually a good question, who is next in line if one of the center midfielders pull out... for the life of me I cant work it out since its wouldnt be Andy Reid I would think
M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 7:20 PM
It is actually a good question, who is next in line if one of the center midfielders pull out... for the life of me I cant work it out since its wouldnt be Andy Reid I would think
It could well be S Reid..
irishfan86
10/11/2009, 7:24 PM
I think that if Miller pulls out, Carsley will be recalled.
Razors left peg
10/11/2009, 7:29 PM
It could be Steven Reid but that would depends on his latest knock. I would have my doubts about Carsley getting a call up at his age too when he hasnt even been in a B squad for Trap
irishfan86
10/11/2009, 7:33 PM
It could be Steven Reid but that would depends on his latest knock. I would have my doubts about Carsley getting a call up at his age too when he hasnt even been in a B squad for Trap
That's a fair point, but the reality is that Miller was probably 3rd choice for midfield due to his club form.
Gibson was injured and has hardly figured for United this season.
Rowlands is out long-term.
Reid has been out long-term and cannot be ready for matches of this intensity.
Given the nature of this game, I'd say a man of Trap's experience would bring up Carsley because he's seen it all before, as opposed to a young or inexperienced player who could get caught in the headlights. This is not to say he'd usurp Andrews or Whelan as a starter, but I think he'd be first choice cover.
Razors left peg
10/11/2009, 7:42 PM
I would agree that Carsley should be next in line, but I doubt many would have picked Rowlands to get a call up when him did so it would be interesting to see what would actually happen.
Its possible he would just call up more cover at the back and O Shea would be next in line for midfield
irishfan86
10/11/2009, 7:46 PM
I would agree that Carsley should be next in line, but I doubt many would have picked Rowlands to get a call up when him did so it would be interesting to see what would actually happen.
Its possible he would just call up more cover at the back and O Shea would be next in line for midfield
I didn't think of that, but it's also a fair point given the Montenegro game.
10/11/2009, 9:48 PM
good old aertel says that if miller is injured no replacment will be called up
Razors left peg
10/11/2009, 9:56 PM
good old aertel says that if miller is injured no replacment will be called up
That would confirm then that OShea definately next in line for midfield
Colbert Report
10/11/2009, 10:02 PM
Carsley came on against Liverpool yesterday and impressed me. He isn't the most mobile player given his age but he did very well in the holding role sitting just in front of the back four. He would be a good option to have on the bench if we are up a goal with ten minutes to go in Paris.
mastershake
10/11/2009, 10:36 PM
Hate the idea of Ireland calling up Carsley.People here make him out to be a world beater.The guy is an average footballer, slow and poor distributor of the ball.Not only that but he would be easily overrun in a two man midfield which trap has employed so far.
Delap for me would easily get in ahead of him.Can operate in a multiple number of positions and has a devastating weapon in that throw of his.
wexfordman
10/11/2009, 11:19 PM
i would bring delap he trains everyday with two likely starters.and imo is better than andrews,and can come on and slot into that role no bother ,plus added set play bombardment.