View Full Version : Liam Miller

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

Emmet7
10/11/2009, 11:22 PM
I'd agree with bringing delap too...I'd only bring him on if we were two goals down or something like that and really chasing a game...put on Leon Best, put Dunne and O'Shea up front and let Delap bombard their penalty area. The French like the Italians I suspect will struggle under the high ball.

M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 11:38 PM
No Delap, A Reid, S Reid, Carsley or Kevin Hunt... We forget its the trap in charge, as said above it will be O'Shea who played CM against Montenegro who will be cover for Miller if need be.. The wise Italian only wants one shock or surprise over the next week!
Ireland winning..

as_i_say
11/11/2009, 9:49 AM
I doubt the French would be quaking in their boots at the thoughts of a 36 year old grinder manning the midfiled. Carsley is good at playing 5 yard back passes and giving away pennos but thats about it.

seanfhear
11/11/2009, 9:52 AM
What about Delap as the not so secret weapon.

If we need a goal in the last 15/20 minutes Delaps throw-ins would be something that would rattle a few French.

lionelhutz
11/11/2009, 10:14 AM
I'd agree with bringing delap too...I'd only bring him on if we were two goals down or something like that and really chasing a game...put on Leon Best, put Dunne and O'Shea up front and let Delap bombard their penalty area. The French like the Italians I suspect will struggle under the high ball.

Are you serious? Please tell me you don't really believe this tactic would be successfull...

11/11/2009, 11:10 AM
Are you serious? Please tell me you don't really believe this tactic would be successfull...
I'm kind of hoping he means pushing them up for set pieces, but I'm not sure.

skimcg
11/11/2009, 11:39 AM
Miller out for home leg, nobody being called up.

EastTerracer
11/11/2009, 12:02 PM
Miller out for home leg, nobody being called up.

Shane Long also looks to be out - he didn't join up with the squad. As skimcg mentioned above it seems there are no plans for any additions to the squad. Its unlikely either would have played a part anyway but I'd be wrapping up the first choice players in cotton wool for the next few days just in case.

ken foree
11/11/2009, 3:27 PM
confirmed on 11aside that long and miller are out. have to say i don't believe these two players have done much club-wise this season so an opportunity for some spurned replacements to make an appearance perhaps?? :confused:

Irish_Praha
11/11/2009, 4:42 PM
confirmed on 11aside that long and miller are out. have to say i don't believe these two players have done much club-wise this season so an opportunity for some spurned replacements to make an appearance perhaps?? :confused:

I agree Long has done nothing of note recently at club level but Miller is in good form and has just won player-of-the-month for October in the SPL. Although some people on here would consider that being nothing of note too :p
I'm not his biggest fan but I would much rather have him available than the prospect of O'shea playing CMF and someone else having to cover at RB. I wouldn't be very confident about Gibson either, if he's fit. IMO a replacement for CMF should be called up but we still have enough strikers.

ken foree
11/11/2009, 4:48 PM
I agree Long has done nothing of note recently at club level but Miller is in good form and has just won player-of-the-month for October in the SPL. Although some people on here would consider that being nothing of note too :P
I'm not his biggest fan but I would much rather have him available than the prospects of O'shea playing CMF.

fair enough, miller's doing better than i'd thought then! he played halfway decently against nigeria if i remember. but yea... we undoubtedly need better options in there.

Murfinator
13/01/2010, 1:55 PM
Some comments I found on a hibs forum about Liam since his move.

He's been outstanding since he signed, he for sure has took me by surprise. When I first saw the news that he signed I wasn't too sure if he could get back to his celtic days, but he won me over on his debut and has been unplayable since!

great signing for us.

Liam Miller is different class and has been consistently so every game he has played for us.

Miller didn't cost a penny but, IMO, worth a fortune!

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?t=92147

13/01/2010, 2:45 PM
Glad Miller has found his level. Not good enough for international football though.

Murfinator
13/01/2010, 3:50 PM
I wouldn't say he's found his level when he's winning best player in the league awards and appearing as a different class to those around him.

I think Miller and Stokes are both top class players with a poor attitude. When they're big fish in a small pond its no problem for them, when the time comes for them to knuckle down and work for a place in a better side they aren't motivated to do it.

I wouldn't write either off for international level, Miller has always played reasonable when called upon and Stokes has never really been given his chance.

13/01/2010, 4:14 PM
I wouldn't write either off for international level, Miller has always played reasonable when called upon and Stokes has never really been given his chance.

agree. we are in no position to write off any options, particularly ctre mid options

TrapAPony
13/01/2010, 4:50 PM
agree. we are in no position to write off any options, particularly ctre mid options

...which is what the 'Granny Rule' will hopefully sort out for us.;)

14/01/2010, 8:23 AM
I wouldn't say he's found his level when he's winning best player in the league awards and appearing as a different class to those around him.

I think Miller and Stokes are both top class players with a poor attitude. When they're big fish in a small pond its no problem for them, when the time comes for them to knuckle down and work for a place in a better side they aren't motivated to do it.

The jury is still out on Stokes. He has the potential to play at a higher level.

Miller is on the way down. He is never going to play at a higher level than the SPL. He has had numerous chances both at club level and international level and has been found to be inadaquate. Ireland has plenty of younger central midfielders than Miller: players like Whelan, Gibson, McCann, Garvan Meyler. So I'd be surprised to ever see Miller in an Irish squad again.

14/01/2010, 8:46 AM
The jury is still out on Stokes. He has the potential to play at a higher level.

Miller is on the way down. He is never going to play at a higher level than the SPL. He has had numerous chances both at club level and international level and has been found to be inadaquate. Ireland has plenty of younger central midfielders than Miller: players like Whelan, Gibson, McCann, Garvan Meyler. So I'd be surprised to ever see Miller in an Irish squad again.
Ever? I'd take that bet!

14/01/2010, 9:09 AM
He said he'd be "surprised". He didn't say it won't happen.

Miller isn't hopeless. He's just not good enough to play at the top level of the game. Shame since we had such high hopes for him.

14/01/2010, 9:19 AM
honestly, I'd be more surprised if Miller isn't in a single squad by the end of the year
In fact, I'd be shocked

14/01/2010, 9:32 AM
Aye. There's more reason for Miller to be included in the squad now than previously. At least now he is playing first-team football.

Personally think Miller is a tidy enough footballer. He has shown some good passages of play for us - thought he showed a nice touch and good vision in the Nigeria friendly, but ultimately he is more than often found out at international level.

14/01/2010, 9:44 AM
Not sure how many international friendlies are lined up before the first round of the Euro qualifiers take place: but surely the likes of Gibson, McCann and Garvan plus the regulars like WHelan and Andrews will feature in any friendlies. These players, especially the young ones, need to be blooded now.

dr_peepee
14/01/2010, 9:48 AM
I have half a feeling there'll be an inclusion out of left field in the next Squad too, like O'Hara or something....

Murfinator
14/01/2010, 11:28 AM
I've always thought of Miller as the type of player who'll never win you a game but he'll never lose it for you either. He's your typical David Connolly esque kind of guy thats a mediocre premiership player for a lower half side or a stunning SPL/championship player who's probably destined to hop between both sides stuck in limbo between great successes and horrible failures.

But I think he's more than good enough for us as a squad player, I'd have no reservations about Miller coming off the bench, as far as I'm concerned there's very little between him and Whelan/Andrews/Gibson and I'd much rather someone reliable like him as an option than untested players who could turn out to be unreliables like Douglas or Alan Quinn were in the past.

Murfinator
14/01/2010, 11:29 AM
I have half a feeling there'll be an inclusion out of left field in the next Squad too, like O'Hara or something....

Has trap ever had a surprise inclusion before?

SilkCut
14/01/2010, 12:37 PM
I'd much rather someone reliable like him as an option than untested players who could turn out to be unreliables like Douglas or Alan Quinn were in the past.

I know you have higher opinion of Miller than I do Murfinator but how does that comment make sense? How do we find out how reliable a player is if we don't use them? Roy Keane was untested once, so untested in fact that the only club in England prepared to give him a chance were Notts Forest, that gamble paid off for them eh? Miller is (sorry, should be)finished at international level, yes he is doing well at Hibs and fair play to him. He has nothing left to offer us, Garvan, McCann, McCarthy and Gibson all need to be given the opportunity to show what they have to offer, even Clifford at Chelsea will be pushing for his chance in the next couple of years if he continues to develop the way he is. Before you point out that none of those guys are regulars at their clubs please remember Miller was not always a regular while playing for Ireland, at one point he did not even have a club.

Fixer82
16/01/2010, 1:46 PM
Aye. There's more reason for Miller to be included in the squad now than previously. At least now he is playing first-team football.

Personally think Miller is a tidy enough footballer. He has shown some good passages of play for us - thought he showed a nice touch and good vision in the Nigeria friendly, but ultimately he is more than often found out at international level.

at least he has a club now..

do think he's a good squad player to have though. if he can keep the form going he could fill in for Whelan or Andrews handy enough I'd imagine...

Crosby87
16/01/2010, 2:08 PM

Rory Delap.

16/01/2010, 2:39 PM
if millar scored a hat-trick today someone would complain about him.......

dr_peepee
16/01/2010, 3:41 PM

Do surprising EXclusions count???

irishultra
16/01/2010, 3:43 PM
I've always thought of Miller as the type of player who'll never win you a game but he'll never lose it for you either. He's your typical David Connolly esque kind of guy thats a mediocre premiership player for a lower half side or a stunning SPL/championship player who's probably destined to hop between both sides stuck in limbo between great successes and horrible failures.

But I think he's more than good enough for us as a squad player, I'd have no reservations about Miller coming off the bench, as far as I'm concerned there's very little between him and Whelan/Andrews/Gibson and I'd much rather someone reliable like him as an option than untested players who could turn out to be unreliables like Douglas or Alan Quinn were in the past.

he played in the championship and was rubbish, far from stunning. the spl is his level.

dr_peepee
16/01/2010, 4:32 PM
he played in the championship and was rubbish, far from stunning. the spl is his level.

I dunno. He played in a promotion winning team at Sunderland and got to the Play offs with Leeds. He's a good Championship player at best.

18/01/2010, 7:43 AM

he palyed in the champions lge and was very good on a few occasions

18/01/2010, 8:36 AM
I dunno. He played in a promotion winning team at Sunderland and got to the Play offs with Leeds. He's a good Championship player at best.
SPL/Lower regions of Championship would be similar enough, I don't think he'd add much to a club chasing promotion to the Premiership. He's not a bad player, but he's never going to set the world alight.

he palyed in the champions lge and was very good on a few occasions
That's true, but it is a good while ago in fairness. He never really reached what those few games promised after he did the bench rotation bit a Old Trafford.

I can't see him ever getting back on the Irish Team [the occasional squad appearance maybe] but with McCarthy, Meyler, Andrews, Whelan, Gibson all promising more [or of a little more ability, playing at a higher level, age in their favour] he's not likely to break into the first team again.

Murfinator
18/01/2010, 11:21 AM
More promising perhaps but better right now? Debatable. McCarthy has made 1 premiership start, Gibson has been at the centre of some horrible MU performances lately, both whelan and andrews have been dropped. Steven Reid is as ever a ticking injury time bomb.

You simply can't dismiss the option of Miller, it'd be foolish.

twoenz
18/01/2010, 11:47 AM
Trap sees something in Miller. If he's good enough to give a game to when he didn't have a club, why would he turn around and not pick him when he gets a club?

And the 2 friendlies that we've lined up at the minute, against Argentina and Brazil, aren't really the ones that you want to be playing the second string against. I'd love to see some experimentation, but there's no chance that the bean counters in the FAI are going to be allowing any of the big guns being left out in either game. We'll need a few games in June against some mid ranking World Cup teams to get new players capped, so Miller's a shoe in for the start of the campaign.

18/01/2010, 11:30 PM
Miller has talent, undoubtedly, but his concentration levels seem to be below par. He has vision and an ability to pick a pass that no other Irish midfielder has (not even Andy Reid) but he doesn't have the all-round game to match. Perhaps he's decided to pull his socks up and his 30s will see him become a quality player, but the clock is ticking.

SilkCut
19/01/2010, 1:18 AM
Miller has talent, undoubtedly, but his concentration levels seem to be below par. He has vision and an ability to pick a pass that no other Irish midfielder has (not even Andy Reid) but he doesn't have the all-round game to match. Perhaps he's decided to pull his socks up and his 30s will see him become a quality player, but the clock is ticking.

This is actually quite a reasonable point, he can pass, to say he is a better passer than Andy Reid is questionable, but I agree he can pass - he just can't get himself into a position to do so regularly enough. I wont go back into the rest of his faults and failings but I will say that the last part of your post is disappointing, we have been saying stuff like that for years, he has had enough chances.

Carrigaline
30/01/2010, 4:32 PM
Scored today.

yapster
30/01/2010, 9:24 PM
Millar has had enough chances to prove himself over the years and failed. He is not going to improve at the age he is. He seems to hide in games and lacks courage to express himself in the game.

Murfinator
30/01/2010, 9:45 PM
That'd be an accurate description of Gibson, I wouldn't agree with that on Miller. The rare occasions he has been given an international chance I thought he's been relatively ambitious and tried to make an impact. Thinking especially of a fantastic through ball for Duff in a recent friendly (against who escapes me), his overall dominance against Nigeria and that lobbing wondergoal against Sweden. I don't think he shys away from the game.

The stuff this forum throws at Liam Miller at times baffles me. He's a good player, nobody is calling him world class or anything but it appears some people won't rest until the name of Liam Miller is tarnished into the ground and any sort of praise directed at him is taken as a personal insult by these people.

:confused::confused::confused: Someone want to explain why that is to me?

yapster
30/01/2010, 10:09 PM
At United they called him Wendy Millar

SilkCut
31/01/2010, 12:18 AM
That'd be an accurate description of Gibson, I wouldn't agree with that on Miller. The rare occasions he has been given an international chance I thought he's been relatively ambitious and tried to make an impact. Thinking especially of a fantastic through ball for Duff in a recent friendly (against who escapes me), his overall dominance against Nigeria and that lobbing wondergoal against Sweden. I don't think he shys away from the game.

The stuff this forum throws at Liam Miller at times baffles me. He's a good player, nobody is calling him world class or anything but it appears some people won't rest until the name of Liam Miller is tarnished into the ground and any sort of praise directed at him is taken as a personal insult by these people.

:confused::confused::confused: Someone want to explain why that is to me?

Its because we all know what he is capable of, like you say at the start of your post he has done some really good stuff in the past. However there is absolutely no consistency in his game. He only performs well when he feels like it. That says (to me at least) that he is not a team player, he is absolutely not someone you can rely on, I would always worry what Liam Miller was going to show up. I know there has been lots of players who could seem to not even be on the pitch for long periods of time then out of no-where win the game for their team. Ian Wright for example would be annonymous for 89 minutes but still score the winner, he however did that week in week out, Miller is capable of that but never got that consistency into his game where the players around him knew what to expect. He is like El Hadji Diouf he will win a game for you every now and then when he feels like it.
You are right Murf he is not world class and nobody is saying that, what people (you included) are saying is that he is good enough to play for Ireland - he isn't - the praise he is getting for his performances this season are well deserved, he is performing very well, but it is in the new version of the SPL a league which is no better than the LOI even including Celtic and Rangers it is not a lot better. We as Irish people would have more interest in the SPL than most, most of us remember it when players like Laudrup, Gazza, Larsson, Albertz, Gattusso, Lennon, Lambert, McStay, Collins, Gough, Viduka, Sutton, Flo, Robertson, Hartson, Moravcik, McCoist and many many more were playing there now there is Boruc, McGeady and Kris Boyd with perhaps Fleck at Rangers and Stokes who are capable of playing at a much higher level. The standard has dropped dramatically since the collapse of Setanta. Just because a player is playing well at Hibernian does not warrant inclusion in an internation squad - would you call up Billy Mehmet, Sean Dillon or any of the other Irish journeymen playing there?

Miller has found his level Murfinator and fair play to the guy but its SPL it is NOT international.

31/01/2010, 10:28 AM
the way people talk about internaqtional standard here is stupid.. you would swear we were spain not some small 4.5 million populated country.. milliar is good enough to be in the squad!!

people give out to yapster for being negative all the time.. well some of ye are giving him a run for his money lately.. especially at liams expence

yapster
01/02/2010, 9:33 PM
Its because we all know what he is capable of, like you say at the start of your post he has done some really good stuff in the past. However there is absolutely no consistency in his game. He only performs well when he feels like it. That says (to me at least) that he is not a team player, he is absolutely not someone you can rely on, I would always worry what Liam Miller was going to show up. I know there has been lots of players who could seem to not even be on the pitch for long periods of time then out of no-where win the game for their team. Ian Wright for example would be annonymous for 89 minutes but still score the winner, he however did that week in week out, Miller is capable of that but never got that consistency into his game where the players around him knew what to expect. He is like El Hadji Diouf he will win a game for you every now and then when he feels like it.
You are right Murf he is not world class and nobody is saying that, what people (you included) are saying is that he is good enough to play for Ireland - he isn't - the praise he is getting for his performances this season are well deserved, he is performing very well, but it is in the new version of the SPL a league which is no better than the LOI even including Celtic and Rangers it is not a lot better. We as Irish people would have more interest in the SPL than most, most of us remember it when players like Laudrup, Gazza, Larsson, Albertz, Gattusso, Lennon, Lambert, McStay, Collins, Gough, Viduka, Sutton, Flo, Robertson, Hartson, Moravcik, McCoist and many many more were playing there now there is Boruc, McGeady and Kris Boyd with perhaps Fleck at Rangers and Stokes who are capable of playing at a much higher level. The standard has dropped dramatically since the collapse of Setanta. Just because a player is playing well at Hibernian does not warrant inclusion in an internation squad - would you call up Billy Mehmet, Sean Dillon or any of the other Irish journeymen playing there?

Miller has found his level Murfinator and fair play to the guy but its SPL it is NOT international.

Spot on..

dong
01/02/2010, 10:42 PM
Spot on..

Yes. Spot on.
Liam Millar is a very similar player to Wright and Diouf.:D

yapster
02/02/2010, 12:26 AM
Yes. Spot on.
Liam Millar is a very similar player to Wright and Diouf.:D

actually no your right. those two are better players than Millar imo

02/02/2010, 7:51 PM
well wright is the second highest scorer in arsenals history so its a bit of a stupid comparison and also himself and diouf play diffrent positions to miller so silly comparisons atleast get someone playing the same position

SilkCut
02/02/2010, 10:54 PM
well wright is the second highest scorer in arsenals history so its a bit of a stupid comparison and also himself and diouf play diffrent positions to miller so silly comparisons atleast get someone playing the same position

Good God why do people not read posts properly, the comparison is clearly between the attitudes of the players mentioned not the positions or skill levels. It was in response to a question asking why I have such an issue with Miller. It is his attitude, he only plays well when he feels like it which was exactly what Wright did except he contributed in every game he played even if only for a short period of time, Diouf and Miller only contribute sporadically and therefore can not be relied upon. I have stated many times that Miller has talent he just does not use it and is unlikely to start now as he is 29 and his habits will be difficult to change. I could not think of a central midfielder as similar in skill and attitude as Miller but if it helps you understand where I am coming from think of Alan Mahon or Stephen McPhail both incredibly talented but ultimately unable to use those talents to any consistent effect. Neither of those guys got the oppourtunities Miller has been given, and I hate to critise either of them because of that, especially McPhail because of the issues the poor guy is dealing with now. I hope this helps you Acornvilla.

02/02/2010, 10:57 PM
yep :) still think he doesnt deserve the flack he gets thou