View Full Version : Europa League 2009
Pages :
[
4]
A N Mouse
29/05/2009, 7:23 PM
That is just for the club co-efficient in the qualification rounds though. The national co-efficient will still be based on results, even in the qualifying rounds, while the club co-efficients from the group stage onwards will also be based on results.
See Annex II of this document: http://www.uefa.com/multimediafiles/download/regulations/uefa/others/82/68/51/826851_download.pdf
Lets see if I've got this right.
Basically what that's saying is that the only real change to the current system is that teams will get individual points for all qualifying rounds [based on were they exit], and not just from the first round proper as before.
The national co-efficient will pretty much be worked out the same as before, only with more teams from each association the calculation will be slightly different . [And, just to muddy the waters, they might fudge some of the percentages in the calculation]
29/05/2009, 10:16 PM
No point learning it now, its all changing an points will be based on what round you exit... :D
Yeah, I think at one point I had it for about 15 minutes a couple of years ago.
Candystripe
30/05/2009, 2:11 AM
No point learning it now, its all changing an points will be based on what round you exit... :D
WTF..........I've just been reading some guy called Bert and his interpetation of this for the past 8 hrs!!!
I come back on here and ye tell me it's all changing!!!!!!!!!!!
Only jesting, but it is a bit on the JC mad side.
sligored
30/05/2009, 9:20 AM
got my ticket yesterday
Umberside
30/05/2009, 11:06 AM
got my ticket yesterday
They are selling them already?
30/05/2009, 12:10 PM
They are selling them already?Yep, for season ticket holders, 400 club members etc. The number on the ticket I got was over 100, I think they're selling them in order too.
01/06/2009, 11:29 AM
Lets see if I've got this right.
Basically what that's saying is that the only real change to the current system is that teams will get individual points for all qualifying rounds [based on were they exit], and not just from the first round proper as before.
The national co-efficient will pretty much be worked out the same as before, only with more teams from each association the calculation will be slightly different . [And, just to muddy the waters, they might fudge some of the percentages in the calculation]
That's correct. There is more staying the same than is changing. The change you highlight in your first paragraph and also the national co-efficient will only account for 20% (rather than 33%) when working out a club's co-efficient.
A N Mouse
01/06/2009, 12:01 PM
That's correct. There is more staying the same than is changing. The change you highlight in your first paragraph and also the national co-efficient will only account for 20% (rather than 33%) when working out a club's co-efficient.
See that's the bit that gets me [why I talk about fudging the numbers]. Surely this is related to the number of teams representing a country. And should go to 25% (ie 4 teams instead of 3). Or is that taken into account somewhere else in the calculation?
As someone else already said I thought I understood it, for about five minutes.
01/06/2009, 12:33 PM
See that's the bit that gets me [why I talk about fudging the numbers]. Surely this is related to the number of teams representing a country. And should go to 25% (ie 4 teams instead of 3). Or is that taken into account somewhere else in the calculation?
As someone else already said I thought I understood it, for about five minutes.
Ok, I see how this might be confusing alright.
The national co-efficient in any one year is equal to the sum of all the club co-efficients from a particular country divided by the number of clubs from the country.
So last year the national co-efficient for Ireland was the Drogheda, St. Pat's and Derry co-efficients added together and divided by three.
However, Scotland had four clubs in Europe so their national co-efficient last year was the sum of these four clubs divided by four - it's just a matter of finding a mean co-efficient for their clubs. It was just a co-incidence that we had three clubs and therefore divided by three.
Whereas the national co-efficient above explains how many teams we get into Europe and where we enter, where the 33% / 20% thing comes in is in deciding how our clubs will be seeded in the relevent rounds.
The seeding for a club is equal to their club co-efficient plus 20% of their national co-efficient (last year it was equal to the club co-efficient plus 33% for the national co-efficient).
Therefore this year we see that Sligo have a seeding figure equal to 20% of the Irish co-efficient from the last 5 years = 1.899. However, Derry and St. Pat's have both earned 1 club point each in the last 5 years so their seeding is 1 + 1.899 (the 20%) = 2.899.
Reducing the seeding percentage from 33% to 20% therefore rewards clubs who have higher club co-efficients.
red bellied
01/06/2009, 12:37 PM
http://www.setanta.com/uk/Articles/Football/2009/06/01/Europea-League-Blatter-on-5-refs/gnid-55300/
Fifa president Sepp Blatter has announced that five referees will be used during the first ever Europa League campaign next season.
A principal referee will still be in charge, as well as two linesmen, but the big news is that Uefa and Fifa have decided to put two more officials behind each goal during the entire competition.
The addition of two officials will help the man in black to have two more eyes on each penalty area and will make his task easier.
This new measure is a test and could become general in the close future if it proves fruitful and improves the game.
“In agreement with Michel Platini and Uefa, we have decided that Uefa will test this new measure during the Europa League, not only during group stages but until the end [of the competition],” Blatter said.
01/06/2009, 1:33 PM
http://www.setanta.com/uk/Articles/Football/2009/06/01/Europea-League-Blatter-on-5-refs/gnid-55300/
Fifa president Sepp Blatter has announced that five referees will be used during the first ever Europa League campaign next season.
A principal referee will still be in charge, as well as two linesmen, but the big news is that Uefa and Fifa have decided to put two more officials behind each goal during the entire competition.
The addition of two officials will help the man in black to have two more eyes on each penalty area and will make his task easier.
This new measure is a test and could become general in the close future if it proves fruitful and improves the game.
“In agreement with Michel Platini and Uefa, we have decided that Uefa will test this new measure during the Europa League, not only during group stages but until the end [of the competition],” Blatter said.
Seems a strange one.
What are they there primarily to do ? Ajudicate on penalty decisions ? Look at goal-line/contentious goal issues ? I can assume it's to deal with penalties, given the growth in crying over this issue, and the growth in diving as well.
A N Mouse
01/06/2009, 2:47 PM
Has anyone a link to the official announcement [tried searching uefa.com]? Is it any less ambiguous than what is in the quoted article?
The bits in bold seem contradictory, with no specific mention of qualifying rounds.
01/06/2009, 9:18 PM
Has anyone a link to the official announcement [tried searching uefa.com]? Is it any less ambiguous than what is in the quoted article?
The bits in bold seem contradictory, with no specific mention of qualifying rounds.
Surely those bits you put in bold just say the same thing though ANM...? :confused:
A N Mouse
02/06/2009, 11:58 AM
Surely those bits you put in bold just say the same thing though ANM...? :confused:
Well they do and they don't steve.
Put the two together
during the entire competition [setanta], "not only during group stages but until the end [of the competition]" Blatter said.
Now setanta may view it as the whole competition, as we established before they're paying for the group stages and beyond. But to me the entire competition would include the qualifiers (= contradictory), which aren't mentioned (= ambiguity)
18/06/2009, 5:05 PM
Bump.
Draw is on Monday:). From the sites I've been looking at we can't get Andorra or San Marino anymore, they don't enter til 2nd round now. Not regionalised so chances are tis gonna be an expensive trip:(.
Anyone know what time the draw's at? I've heard different stories that it's not exactly live, that clubs are informed first and then it's announced officially then:confused:.
18/06/2009, 5:09 PM
. Not regionalised so chances are tis gonna be an expensive trip:(.
It's ridiculous that the 1st round isn't regionalised if so. Could bankrupt the club!
Anyone know what time the draw's at? I've heard different stories that it's not exactly live, that clubs are informed first and then it's announced officially then:confused:.
13.30CET on the UEFA site.
No, its live on the UEFA website
Or at least it was the last couple of years.
Chances are we'll have a game against the winner of a first round tie. Could be NI, could be a team in a disputed zone between Armenia and Azerbaijain
I'm dreading the draw
18/06/2009, 5:44 PM
God I miss the buzz of going live on uefa.com and seeing who your team will be playin in the next round of europe! best of luck with all teams in the draw
18/06/2009, 5:46 PM
God I miss the buzz of going live on uefa.com and seeing who your team will be playin in the next round of europe! best of luck with all teams in the drawWill you be joining us on our European away leg Marty?:D
18/06/2009, 5:55 PM
Will you be joining us on our European away leg Marty?:D
I doubt it! funds are very low for the away game! im tempted to go to the home match and do an overnighter.would you be able to get me a ticket for it? I still have those two programs for you!
18/06/2009, 7:18 PM
could be a team in a disputed zone between Armenia and Azerbaijain
Was chatting to a mate of my brothers who works for an NGO out there. Some of his stories...........
Still, probably still more pleasant than a Thursday night in Lurgan in July or August.
CuanaD
19/06/2009, 8:34 AM
13.30CET on the UEFA site.
Anyone got a direct link to the live page? - I can never seem to find it :confused:
19/06/2009, 8:49 AM
Michael Hayes of the FAI told me at the Fans Forum that's some clubs had requested a delay of a few hours between the draw being made and it being published to allow clubs to make arrangements. Previously the draw was live. No idea whether or not this proposal has been accepted.
A N Mouse
19/06/2009, 9:35 AM
Damned if I can find it now, but there was something in one the of releases from the start of this month indicating that the press would be informed in due course about the exact format of the draw etc.. Read into that what you will.
As regards getting the live draw visit uefa.com anytime from 11am (for the champions league and 1230 for the europa league, don't expect to see anything happen for a while) on Monday and it should be hard to miss, as long as you have flash/javscript enabled. Generally speaking bbc and eurosport will also have some form of live coverage. And if you check listings the whole thing may be on eurosport itself.
I can't see them conducting the draw behind closed doors, they like to be seen to be open about these things.
I'm nearly certain Pats would be one opf those clubs looking for the delay after the Berlin balls up but I can't see UEFA agreeing to it.
The press release probably hints at the fact that it may still be regionalised, and we're not sure exactly how the seeding will work as the draw for the first two rounds takes place at the same time. Some teams seeded in the first round would be seeded in the second round if they won through, others wouldn't be.
Time/money is an issue forme this year so I'm hoping for wales. I'll settle for anything west of budapest
19/06/2009, 12:51 PM
Aye was working it out, and I think out of the ten or so countries we can get in the First Round, there's no way I could make it to at least 4 of those...
Some mad expensive trips...
19/06/2009, 1:09 PM
I'll settle for anything west of budapest
Or anything south of €400.....
Well, yeah, absolutely
One and the same though I think
dont know if this has been listed already but here are Bohs' possible opponents in the CL qualifiers. Some really tough draws there but got to say we have a slightly better chance against some of the teams in the bottom half. Gonna be a tough one for us i think.
Possible opponents are:
FC Copenhagen (Denmark)
Levski Sofia (Bulgaria)
Partizan Belgrade (Serbia)
Maccabi Haifa (Israel)
Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia)
Wisła Kraków (Poland)
BATE Borisov (Belarus)
Red Bull Salzburg (Austria)
Kalmar FF (Sweden)
APOEL Nicosia (Cyprus)
Stabæk (Norway)
Slovan Bratislava (Slovakia)
Ventspils (Latvia)
Maribor (Slovenia)
FH Hafnarfjörður (Iceland)
Inter Turku (Finland)
Ekranas (Lithuania)
19/06/2009, 4:16 PM
dont know if this has been listed already but here are Bohs' possible opponents in the CL qualifiers. Some really tough draws there but got to say we have a slightly better chance against some of the teams in the bottom half. Gonna be a tough one for us i think.
I think Bohs' style of play might be suited to European competition. The only thing I would be worried about would be that the defence that was so solid last year has looked rather more porous this year. I'm sure the return of McGuinness will make a difference but I think the confidence in a good defence is invaluable to a team, especially in a two-legged European tie. I do think that Bohs have a good chance of doing well this year though. Obviously, like all the LOI entrants in Europe, a lot will depend on the draw.
Bohs were a better team last year anod were knocked out by poorer opposition. A lot depends on how well they do this year
I think Bohs' style of play might be suited to European competition. The only thing I would be worried about would be that the defence that was so solid last year has looked rather more porous this year. I'm sure the return of McGuinness will make a difference but I think the confidence in a good defence is invaluable to a team, especially in a two-legged European tie. I do think that Bohs have a good chance of doing well this year though. Obviously, like all the LOI entrants in Europe, a lot will depend on the draw.
the apparent collapse of our defence is also what has got me worried... Jason Byrne gives me cause for optimism but i think we would be hard pressed to even compete with any of those teams in the top half. I think last years team would have presented a stronger challenge.
That said, i would still fancy our chances somewhat against any of the scandinavian, Icelandic or Lituanian teams.
21/06/2009, 11:32 PM
Bump!
Just a reminder. Champions League 1st and 2nd qualifying round draw is 11am today, with the draw for corresponding UEFA cup rounds following at 1:30pm.
http://www.uefa.com/uefa/keytopics/kind=64/newsid=836938.html
Sligo Rovers are the only club in first round action, with St Patrick's Athletic and Derry City receiving byes into the second round of the new Europa League.
Premier Division champions Bohemians will enter Champions League qualifying at the second stage.
Sligo will be seeded in the first round, but all four clubs look set to be unseeded in the second round draws.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0621/europa_champions.html
Nine British clubs and three from the Republic of Ireland will enter the first-ever draw for the Europa League in Switzerland on Monday Scottish side Motherwell are seeded for the first-round draw along with the Republic's Sligo Rovers.
It also includes Welsh clubs Llanelli and The New Saints, plus Northern Irish sides Linfield and Lisburn Distillery.
Falkirk, Bangor City, Crusaders, Derry City and St Patrick's Athletic are in the second-round draw.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8111925.stm
UEFA Cup First qualifying round draw
Seeded teams - Rosenborg (Norway), Anorthosis (Cyprus), Helsingborg (Sweden), Motherwell, Randers (Denmark), Polonia Warsaw (Poland), Bnei Yehuda (Israel), Spartak Trnava (Slovakia), Slaven Belupo (Croatia), FC Lahti (Finland), Vetra (Lithuania), Sligo Rovers (Ireland), Dinaburg (Latvia), Rudar Velenje (Slovenia), Dinamo Minsk (Belarus), MTZ-RIPO (Belarus), Siroki Brijeg (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Szombathelyi Haladas (Hungary), Olimpi Rustavi (Georgia), Zestaponi (Georgia), Zimbru Chisnau (Moldova), Keflavik (Iceland), Fram (Iceland).
Unseeded teams - Renova (Macedonia), Inter Baku (Azerbaijan), Simurq Zaqatala (Azerbaijan), Trans (Estonia), Kalju (Estonia), Vllaznia (Albania), Dinamo Tirana (Albania), FC Irtysh (Kazakhstan), FC Okzhetpes (Kazakhstan), FC Mika (Armenia), Banants Yerevan (Armenia), Llanelli (Wales), TNS (Wales), Linfield (Northern Ireland), Lisburn (Northern Ireland), B36 (Faroes), NSI Runavik (Faroes), UN Kaerjeng (Luxembourg), CS Grevenmacher), Buducnost (Montenegro), Sutjeska Niksic (Montenegro), Valletta (Malta), Birkirkara (Malta).
pól-dcfc
22/06/2009, 1:46 AM
I enjoyed the BBC having us as "from the Republic of Ireland".
Feckers should learn their geography! We didn't fight for 90 years to be lumped in with them dirty Mexicans! Don't they know we're as British as Finchley (allegedly).
02/07/2009, 10:51 AM
Starts tonight:)
02/07/2009, 10:53 AM
Best of luck, Sligo.
Do the league proud
or at least embarrass it a little less than we did last year :D
Duggie
02/07/2009, 11:05 AM
Starts tonight:)
im not hopefull today, id say these albanians will be decent on the ball like all the eastern europeans. apparently they have a few internationals aswell. if we concede an away goal it will be curtains for the 2nd leg i think.
Boo_Boy
02/07/2009, 11:19 AM
if we concede an away goal it will be curtains for the 2nd leg i think.
Not if we score 2 ;).
02/07/2009, 11:37 AM
All the best Sligo, do us proud.
02/07/2009, 11:49 AM
sligoman, enjoy it, best of luck to my home club :D Il be home next week as cant afford to go away now, its a pity it wasn't away first and then home as id go down and cheer on my local EL club :D!
Are the team confident of winning?!
sheao
02/07/2009, 12:04 PM
Best of luck Sligo. Hopeing that ye can do the league proud.
Bunny Kelly
02/07/2009, 1:21 PM
Any radio coverage for the game tonight?
02/07/2009, 1:26 PM
Any radio coverage for the game tonight?www.oceanfm.ie Not sure if it's live or just updates.
www.oceanfm.ie (http://www.oceanfm.ie) Not sure if it's live or just updates.
Best of luck Sligo
good luck Sligo!! Back where you belong at last (in a runners up competition... ;) :p )
One nil to the malteasers in the match to find out who pats play
02/07/2009, 4:00 PM
Maltesers at home, yeah?
Edit - yeah; half an hour gone.
Be cool to see Jordi Cruyff (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jordi_Cruyff) play in Dublin!
robbieos88
02/07/2009, 4:52 PM
2-0 to the Malteasers now
robbieos88
02/07/2009, 5:09 PM
2-0 to the Malteasers now
3-0. Looks like we're going to Malta at the moment