View Full Version : Shane Duffy D Norwich b.1992
Predator
10/12/2009, 4:14 PM
There was a feature on prospective future internationals in the Irish Star today. Duffy was included, saying something like 'Duffy's competitive first team debut against AEK Athens will no doubt alert the FAI with Trapattoni looking to cast a wide net for new talent'.
Not Brazil
10/12/2009, 9:40 PM
Is that right? I thought a player could only switch once? Such is the case with Norwood for NI, right? Unless I'm missing something.
You're right Predator.
The Statutes changed in this regard recently.
You'll recall Michael O'Connor and Tony Kane - who flip flopped and back.
Now, it's change once with the "up to age 21" bit deleted.
The Fly
17/12/2009, 4:07 AM
Shane Duffy is to start for Everton against BATE Borisov in the Europa League tonight. The match is live on Channel 5 at 7.30pm.
It should make interesting viewing!
17/12/2009, 7:08 AM
Shane Duffy is to start for Everton against BATE Borisov in the Europa League tonight. The match is live on Channel 5 at 7.30pm.
It should make interesting viewing!
Seamus Coleman - the Donegal lad who played with Sligo starts too.
The Legend
17/12/2009, 6:37 PM
i just got deja vu
The Fly
17/12/2009, 8:00 PM
Duffy is playing well so far, very composed for a 17 year old.
Definately a bright prospect!
The Fly
17/12/2009, 8:32 PM
Expect a clamour for the FAI to get in contact with him.
Batten down the hatches! ;)
mr.untitled
17/12/2009, 8:34 PM
Duffy one of the best on the pitch
mr.untitled
17/12/2009, 8:39 PM
oh dear....deflected duffy OG
mr.untitled
17/12/2009, 9:02 PM
Duffy and Coleman the two best everton players on the park tonight
18/12/2009, 9:00 AM
Duffy one of the best on the pitch
Danger here!!
oh dear....deflected duffy OG
18/12/2009, 9:29 AM
Duffy and Coleman the two best everton players on the park tonight
I have to admit that I only saw the last 20 minutes of the game and Duffy looked all at sea. Deflected goal, pass that almost gave away another one, beaten for a header at a corner. Looked exhausted.
Coleman did well going forward and can pick out a nice pass.
18/12/2009, 10:05 AM
I have to admit that I only saw the last 20 minutes of the game and Duffy looked all at sea. Deflected goal, pass that almost gave away another one, beaten for a header at a corner. Looked exhausted.
Duffy was solid, but began to tire terribly.
It was a night for blooding young players. On of them, Akpan, was just about the worst footballer I've ever seen for a premier league side.
When Coleman got the ball going forward, thereactually seemed a greater sense of expectation from Everton fans than for any other player in the team. He had one lovely run with a smart inside pass to an unmarked....Osman, I think it was.
Predator
18/12/2009, 2:02 PM
Duffy was hailed as the best player for Everton by Pat Nevin. He was raving about him at half time. I think he was rewarded with man of the match too. Did any of you watch the game? Coleman wasn't as good as I expected him to be. He was one of the older lads with a bit more experience, so I thought he'd be a bit more influential, but he was fairly quiet.
http://goal.com/en/news/166/europa-league/2009/12/17/1694216/player-ratings-everton-0-1-bate-borisov
Shane Duffy (http://www.goal.com/en-gb/people/norhern-ireland/30799/shane-duffy) - 7 - Tall and commanding in the air, and got himself into the right place to deal with most balls that came into the Everton box, clearing one effort off the line. Arguably the standout performer for the Blues, though he may be slightly disappointed by the way in which Yurevich's strike deflected home off him.
He was probably Everton's best player and I don't think the goal took much of a deflection. He was very unlucky with it. The wayward pass at the end was the only thing he did wrong, other than that, he won 95% of his headers and was very composed, picking smart passes and keeping the backline tight.
18/12/2009, 2:11 PM
IQ test time.
Predator is to Shane Duffy as ___ ___ is to Sean St Ledger.
ping, up pops the acorn.
Predator
18/12/2009, 2:14 PM
IQ test time.
Predator is to Shane Duffy as ___ ___ is to Sean St Ledger.
ping, up pops the acorn.
Jesus, that's dead funny.
18/12/2009, 2:18 PM
predator im only buzzing off ye.
Christmas lunch.
Predator
18/12/2009, 2:25 PM
Aye, bah humbug and all that! :p
Still though, I'm not making up the fact that Duffy played well!
18/12/2009, 3:23 PM
Ya and im not making up the fact he plays for us!!!! :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gH9n_t1r6i4
TrapAPony
08/02/2010, 7:40 PM
Anybody know what the latest is regarding Shane Duffy? Is going to play for us or what?
08/02/2010, 7:51 PM
he has been in the nordie squad so i doubt it. he hasnt played yet but hes getting into the squad AFAIK
Predator
08/02/2010, 11:18 PM
he has been in the nordie squad so i doubt it. he hasnt played yet but hes getting into the squad AFAIK
That call-up was a good while ago and apparently a few of our coaches have been in touch with him recently, so hopefully he will make the right choice! Saying that, I don't think he would be included in our next senior squad, whereas Worthington might just call him up to tie him. Maybe an under-21 game?
Do you mean he's getting into the North's next squad? Where did you hear this?
Gather round
09/02/2010, 8:56 AM
That call-up was a good while ago and apparently a few of our coaches have been in touch with him recently, so hopefully he will make the right choice! Saying that, I don't think he would be included in our next senior squad, whereas Worthington might just call him up to tie him. Maybe an under-21 game?
Do you mean he's getting into the North's next squad? Where did you hear this?
Duffy captains the NI U-19 side this season. He has played for the U-21 as well, and was on the bench for our full international against Italy last June (although the squad for that game was mainly a mix of U-21 and Irish League players, with only three senior squad regulars.
Although we've thrown in teenagers at the deep end (Evans and Lafferty both played in the qualifier win against Spain at 18) I can't see Duffy making the side (probably not even the squad) for our friendlies this season.
The rules on dual qualification are now such that if he plays a single game for the South- even at U-19, in a friendly- he's then barred from any further NI games. As he probably has more chance of getting into the NI side, and at a younger age, that looks a stark decision to make.
As I always say at this point: what's needed from our point of view is a bi-lateral deal with the FAI that anyone over 18 getting capped at any level, can't then play for his other country. (Widen the deal to include Scotland and you could also end the silly hassling of James McCarthy by the media there).
What's needed from our point of view is a bi-lateral deal with the FAI that anyone over 18 getting capped at any level, can't then play for his other country. (Widen the deal to include Scotland and you could also end the silly hassling of James McCarthy by the media there).
The problem with this is, UEFA and FIFA laws will always overrule a situation like this. It would then take one joker who gets capped for, say, the Republic's Under 19 squad, then decides when he's 19 that actually, he always wanted to play for the North and "wasn't aware" of the agreement. He can just declare and there's nothing anyone can actually do about it. Sure, he might not get picked for the North if an agreement was in place, but I'm sure if they were good enough, an exception would be made.
EalingGreen
09/02/2010, 11:36 AM
Anybody know what the latest is regarding Shane Duffy? Is going to play for us or what?
Shane's Da posted a fairly long update on OWC, summarised roughly as follows.
His (Donegal-born) Da would dearly love him to play for ROI, but the lad himself has always been strongly committed to NI, for reasons which I quote below. Indeed, the Da drove him down to Dublin for a trial with the ROI under-age set-up (not sure what age level), which Shane came through with flying colours, much to his Da's delight. Yet when Da asked him what he thought, he merely replied it was "OK". At that point, the Da realised Shane had only gone along with the trial to please him, which he (Da) to his credit accepted was not a good enough reason for switching.
Since then, as we know, Shane has made great progress via NI, eg playing for the U-21's whilst still only 17 and even getting into the 18 man squad for the senior friendly in Italy (our squad was desperately short of players, it should be said).
However, two things look to have hacked Shane off somewhat. First, he was the only unused sub (of seven) for the Italy game. It had been agreed with Italy in the morning that only six subs would be used, yet Worthington still asked Shane to warm up, presumably leading him to think he'd get a few minutes. I don't know what NW was thinking, but it was he seems to have built the lad's hopes up, only to dash them.
Second, the NI U-21 team had a shocker at home to Iceland, after which the manager (Steve Beaglehole) had some VERY harsh words for them. From what we can gather subsequently, he was basically referring to the IL contingent, but when Shane wasn't picked for the return game in Iceland, he assumed that Beaglehole's criticism had also been directed at him (it wasn't).
It was only four weeks later, when Alfie Wylie (Beaglehole's local Assistant) phoned Shane about something, that it emerged that Shane had not been picked to travel to Iceland because Everton would not release him (Shane had been unaware of this it seems). Therefore, Shane is still as highly valued by NI as ever.
Anyhow, on the basis that these misunderstandings don't appear to have soured him, I am stil reasonably confident he'll stick with us, for as his Da said on OWC:
"any way it seems to have been sorted out by all involed,right now the dicision is purly in shanes hand what ever he dicides to do we will back him 100%.one thing is for sure there is no way shane would be were he is todayif it was not for n/ireland.from paddy mcgongle in the milk cup to dessie currie in the victory shield then paul kee u/17s to steve beadlehole u/19s 21s and nigal himself shane has so much respect for all these men any rightfull so all topmen,shane loves to play for n/ireland and always has done"
Of course, he is still only just 18, with a hell of a way to go. Moreover, Centre Back is NI's strongest position by a long way - in Jonny Evans and Aaron Hughes we've got regulars in two of the top defences in the EPL, plus another 4 or 5 CB's who feature strongly in the EPL, SPL or English Championship.
But having said all that, with an attitude like Shane's, if/when he does get to play for the senior NI team, he is guaranteed absolute LEGEND status amongst the fans from the moment he pulls on the shirt!
Crosby87
09/02/2010, 11:44 AM
Yawn.
09/02/2010, 11:45 AM
Yawn.
Thats a terrible attitude.
EalingGreen
09/02/2010, 11:55 AM
The problem with this is, UEFA and FIFA laws will always overrule a situation like this. It would then take one joker who gets capped for, say, the Republic's Under 19 squad, then decides when he's 19 that actually, he always wanted to play for the North and "wasn't aware" of the agreement. He can just declare and there's nothing anyone can actually do about it. Sure, he might not get picked for the North if an agreement was in place, but I'm sure if they were good enough, an exception would be made.
I would very much hope that he would not get picked by "the North" [sic] in such circumstances, not just because I only want players who are committed to us, and for the right reasons (see Shane Duffy, above), but also because I would not like to see us get a name for being the sort of people who would enter into such a Gentleman's Agreement because it suited us, then blithely renege on it when it didn't...
09/02/2010, 12:04 PM
..... but also because I would not like to see us get a name for being the sort of people who would enter into such a Gentleman's Agreement because it suited us, then blithely renege on it when it didn't...
Here we go again...... :rolleyes:
Regarding Duffy; he hasn't given any indications that he wants to play for us. His international prospects are far greater with the North than with us. So if that's the route he wants to choose, I wish the lad the best of luck.
EalingGreen
09/02/2010, 12:04 PM
Yawn.
Trap a Pony originally asked: "Anybody know what the latest is regarding Shane Duffy? Is going to play for us or what?"
My reply was therefore for his benefit and that of any other grown-up who might be interested.
back of the net
09/02/2010, 12:49 PM
Yawn.
Grow up and act your age ( im presuming you aint a child) , but with your above comment....i could well be mistaken.
Predator
09/02/2010, 1:18 PM
The rules on dual qualification are now such that if he plays a single game for the South- even at U-19, in a friendly- he's then barred from any further NI games. As he probably has more chance of getting into the NI side, and at a younger age, that looks a stark decision to make.
As I always say at this point: what's needed from our point of view is a bi-lateral deal with the FAI that anyone over 18 getting capped at any level, can't then play for his other country. (Widen the deal to include Scotland and you could also end the silly hassling of James McCarthy by the media there).
You're certainly right that Duffy has a tough decision to make. However, I don't think that such a 'deal' would ever come to fruition. The current rules practically prevent a player from messing about with their international future and effectively forces them to make a decision, since they are only allowed to change once.
His (Donegal-born) Da would dearly love him to play for ROI, but the lad himself has always been strongly committed to NI, for reasons which I quote below. Indeed, the Da drove him down to Dublin for a trial with the ROI under-age set-up (not sure what age level), which Shane came through with flying colours, much to his Da's delight. Yet when Da asked him what he thought, he merely replied it was "OK". At that point, the Da realised Shane had only gone along with the trial to please him, which he (Da) to his credit accepted was not a good enough reason for switching.
Since then, as we know, Shane has made great progress via NI, eg playing for the U-21's whilst still only 17 and even getting into the 18 man squad for the senior friendly in Italy (our squad was desperately short of players, it should be said).
However, two things look to have hacked Shane off somewhat. First, he was the only unused sub (of seven) for the Italy game. It had been agreed with Italy in the morning that only six subs would be used, yet Worthington still asked Shane to warm up, presumably leading him to think he'd get a few minutes. I don't know what NW was thinking, but it was he seems to have built the lad's hopes up, only to dash them.
Second, the NI U-21 team had a shocker at home to Iceland, after which the manager (Steve Beaglehole) had some VERY harsh words for them. From what we can gather subsequently, he was basically referring to the IL contingent, but when Shane wasn't picked for the return game in Iceland, he assumed that Beaglehole's criticism had also been directed at him (it wasn't).
It was only four weeks later, when Alfie Wylie (Beaglehole's local Assistant) phoned Shane about something, that it emerged that Shane had not been picked to travel to Iceland because Everton would not release him (Shane had been unaware of this it seems). Therefore, Shane is still as highly valued by NI as ever.
Anyhow, on the basis that these misunderstandings don't appear to have soured him, I am stil reasonably confident he'll stick with us, for as his Da said on OWC:
"any way it seems to have been sorted out by all involed,right now the dicision is purly in shanes hand what ever he dicides to do we will back him 100%.one thing is for sure there is no way shane would be were he is todayif it was not for n/ireland.from paddy mcgongle in the milk cup to dessie currie in the victory shield then paul kee u/17s to steve beadlehole u/19s 21s and nigal himself shane has so much respect for all these men any rightfull so all topmen,shane loves to play for n/ireland and always has done"
Of course, he is still only just 18, with a hell of a way to go. Moreover, Centre Back is NI's strongest position by a long way - in Jonny Evans and Aaron Hughes we've got regulars in two of the top defences in the EPL, plus another 4 or 5 CB's who feature strongly in the EPL, SPL or English Championship.
But having said all that, with an attitude like Shane's, if/when he does get to play for the senior NI team, he is guaranteed absolute LEGEND status amongst the fans from the moment he pulls on the shirt!
Fair play to Duffy's father for posting. I read that post too.
What I take from the post is that young Duffy evidently appreciates the dedication that his coaches at NI have consistently shown him. I can only speculate, but it would seem obvious to me that Duffy would have been brought up supporting RoI (being from Derry, playing the GAA and having a lot of Donegal connections) and presumably, he would like to play for RoI, but since he has been in the NI setup for such a long time (since he was 14?) with such support from them throughout his relatively short career, it must be very hard for him to make a decision. All this nonsense that people spout about such a decision being simply 'black and white' is just not the case and a prospective talent like Duffy should be afforded every support from us as fans.
In Duffy's father's (Brian?) post, he also claims that Duffy was recently considering changing, so I would take that as an indication that he still has a desire to play for RoI. Interestingly, Alfie Wylie seems to have only contacted Duffy's father after he heard that Shane wanted to leave.
Originally Posted by Brian Duffy
...alfie phoned me after he got wind that shane was thinking for leaving...
TrapAPony
09/02/2010, 4:54 PM
Interesting read, thanks for that Ealing Green. It's a big decision he has to make but one that should be respected either way.
I would not like to see us get a name for being the sort of people who would enter into such a Gentleman's Agreement because it suited us, then blithely renege on it when it didn't...
Sorry, that wasn't a snipe at the IFA or Shane Duffy or anything like that, I was merely pointing out the impracticality of the idea whether the agreement is between Ireland, Scotland or Northern Ireland.
Greenbod
09/02/2010, 10:39 PM
Thats a terrible attitude.
I think Crosby has been misunderstood here........it's quite obvious he's using the well known acronym You're A Wise Northerner
22/02/2010, 11:35 AM
Welcome on board Shane.
"But Nigel Worthington's plans to name Everton teenager Shane Duffy have been scrapped because the defender has opted to play for the Republic of Ireland."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8528248.stm
22/02/2010, 11:41 AM
If true then good luck to him. I hope he goes on to great things.
Predator
22/02/2010, 11:41 AM
Great news, finally!
22/02/2010, 11:46 AM
IFA and some Norn Iron papers are saying Duffy is still with the northerners? Hmmm.
22/02/2010, 11:53 AM
Maybe Shane's auld lad can let us know what's happening .... EG?
Razors left peg
22/02/2010, 11:58 AM
Kingdomkerry called this last week on the Darron Gibson thread and I must say I was skepical but fair play your source was dead on. Great news
Eirambler
22/02/2010, 12:09 PM
McCarthy and Duffy, bit of a Carlsberg Monday really!
22/02/2010, 12:20 PM
Duffy was named in the squad for the Albania friendly: http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/5487/northern-ireland-squad-named-for-albania-friendly/
Can someone clarify this?
Predator
22/02/2010, 12:24 PM
According to 'Shane Duffy's Agent' on toffeetalk, Duffy has declared for us.
I've just PM'd Duffy's da on OWC to see the craic and I'll report back with my findings.
http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/sport/Striker-selected-for-Northern-Ireland.6093221.jp
From the Sentinel: http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/sport/Striker-selected-for-Northern-Ireland.6093221.jp
While Londonderry teenager Shane Duffy, who has impressed Everton boss David Moyes, has turned down the chance to play for Northern Ireland and has opted to try and force his way into Giovanni Trapattoni's Republic of Ireland squad.
22/02/2010, 12:27 PM
Duffy was named in the squad for the Albania friendly: http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/5487/northern-ireland-squad-named-for-albania-friendly/
Can someone clarify this?
A rumour but it seems that Nigel and the Irish FA released the NI squad press release before checking Duffy's availability for selection.
Brendan 82
22/02/2010, 12:40 PM
In a year, he'll be some player
Set your reminders folks!
Ha ha I like it. Great news if true. Bit of fcuk up by the IFA site if true but am more likely to believe the BBC website than the IFA's.
Predator
22/02/2010, 1:20 PM
Duffy's father replied to an enquiry made on the OWC website:
Originally Posted by duffs
hi coachers
shane did make his decision and yes he has declared for the rep,as i have said in my last post the choice was his,
http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/index.php?s=&showtopic=28095&view=findpost&p=626086
22/02/2010, 1:27 PM
Haha!!! Quality.
EalingGreen
22/02/2010, 1:32 PM
Very possibly so.
Why not? I'm sure I'll not be "crying" over anything I've posted this time around ;)
P.S. For the record, I think Duffy can go on to be a very good player and while disappointed it won't be with NI, I don't hold anything against him for keeping his options open whilst he made his final choice.
Mind you, it wouldn't have been so easy to take had he been a goalkeeper or a striker...