View Full Version : Shane Duffy D Norwich b.1992

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

18/08/2016, 9:42 AM
This is priceless. The last 24 hours on this kids thread reads like watching a grand piano go down a staircase. :D

DeLorean
18/08/2016, 10:06 AM
The two own goals were comical enough as well unfortunately. I was hoping they'd just be deflections where he was unlucky but I think he probably should have done better with both. The first one came off the post and he directed the rebound into the net. I think he probably had time enough to react a bit better though if he was more alert. The second one was a header he would have been immensely proud of in the other penalty box.

The second yellow looked very harsh. I presumed he kicked a ball at a Cardiff player in frustration but it looked more like a shot at goal after the whistle had blown. I only saw it on mute though so I'm not sure how long gone the whistle was.

NeverFeltBetter
18/08/2016, 12:22 PM
This is priceless. The last 24 hours on this kids thread reads like watching a grand piano go down a staircase. :D

I had the Curb Your Enthusiasm theme tune going through my head.

18/08/2016, 6:57 PM
An Irish player hasn't drawn this much attention to themselves since Jonny Walters scored two own goals and missed a penalty. Duffy has definitely eclipsed that seeing as he scored an og in ye previous match as well. I read his second yellow was for kicking the ball at a Cardiff player in frustration deep in injury time. He'll have to work on his 'damage limitation' when things are going wrong.

Well at least he managed to hit the Cardiff player, could be a sign he is returning to better form.

22/08/2016, 12:56 PM
What show featured the sketch with some lads listening to a horsey race where their nag dropped back, fell over, broke a leg and finished with the commentator saying "aaaaaaand now they've shot him".

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/08/2016, 9:12 PM
http://m5.paperblog.com/i/133/1334395/tim-robbins-weekend-the-shawshank-redemption--L-yjrm38.jpeg

Duffy puts Blackburn 4-3 up against Crewe in extra time.

DeLorean
23/08/2016, 9:24 PM
Oops... had put this in the Shay Given thread by mistake.

Heads one in at the right end to give Blackburn a 4-3 extra time lead against Crewe. Byrne & Stokes both replaced on 56mins with Blackburn trailing 2-1.

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/08/2016, 10:03 PM
Brighton have had a £4.5m bid accepted by Blackburn.

Olé Olé
26/08/2016, 11:56 AM
http://www.the42.ie/shane-duffy-brighton-2949060-Aug2016/ The 42 and a few more reporting it as a done deal for 3 years. Haven't seen official confirmation though.

26/08/2016, 12:03 PM
just confirmed, four year deal: http://www.seagulls.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/shane-duffy-brighton-hove-albion-blackburn-rovers-3273273.aspx

Olé Olé
26/08/2016, 1:22 PM
Good move for him. Club record fee so they clearly rate him. They're second in the Championship and have only conceded 2 goals in their 4 games (both in a draw against Wigan). His performances last season at Blackburn were widely praised and he was under a lot of defensive pressure there. A more settled team and manager will avoid him having to put out fires and there's a good chance that he'll be in the PL next season.

Kevin Kilbane said during the week on Newstalk (or maybe it was last week) that David Moyes rated him highly at Everton. He also reckoned that maybe Duffy wasn't going to be a top level performer immediately but that he had all the tools, once he soaked up the experience, to be really top notch in his latter 20's onwards. Interesting point.

DeLorean
13/09/2016, 9:58 PM
Clean sheet as Brighton return to winning ways at home to Championship leaders Huddersfield.

DeLorean
13/12/2016, 7:40 PM
Scores at his old stomping ground to give Brighton a 1-0 half time lead at Ewood.

13/12/2016, 7:44 PM
Scores at his old stomping ground to give Brighton a 1-0 half time lead at Ewood.

His 4th against them this season. #bogeyman

DeLorean
13/12/2016, 8:01 PM
Was hoping you might have had a vid of the goal Joe :)

13/12/2016, 8:17 PM
Was hoping you might have had a vid of the goal Joe :)Not the best copy
https://thumbs.gfycat.com/KeyVeneratedDevilfish-size_restricted.gif

DeLorean
13/12/2016, 8:32 PM
Very similar to Ashley Williams goal for Everton just now.

13/12/2016, 8:54 PM
Hes some brute.

13/12/2016, 9:52 PM
Duffy does have ongoing issues with Blackburn.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/12/2016, 10:11 PM
Better quality of the goal.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/shane-duffy-scores-bullet-header-and-refuses-to-uphold-footballs-worst-tradition/106191

Shameless Shane Duffy scores against old club; celebrates.

13/12/2016, 10:50 PM
tenth goal of his career

14/12/2016, 9:11 AM
Duffy does have ongoing issues with Blackburn.

It is unusual for a player to celebrate when he scores against a former club so perhaps he does. Not our problem though :)

14/12/2016, 10:30 AM
I wasn't looking into the celebration, just that he can't stop scoring against Blackburn.

His desire to get his head onto that ball and with such force was just scary, x rated stuff, you can almost hear O'Neill purring in delight somewhere.

TheOneWhoKnocks
17/12/2016, 5:43 PM
Had been having a good game, eating up everything for Brighton, until he was outmanoeuvred by Jutkiewicz for Birmingham's goal.

Birmingham 1-0 Brighton.

Time to throw in the Towell.

TheOneWhoKnocks
17/12/2016, 6:21 PM
Towell an unused sub.

Birmingham conceded an equalizer shortly after Gleeson made way for Tesche, his replacement allowing Brighton to get a cross in from which they scored.

The co-commentator raving about Gleeson, who did an effective job sitting in front of the back two.

05/02/2017, 5:00 PM
Scored with a header in a 3-3 draw away to Brentford. Towell an unused sub.

Egan only made the bench for Brentford - what's going on there? Thought he was pretty much a fixture in the first team.

DeLorean
05/02/2017, 9:06 PM
Egan only made the bench for Brentford - what's going on there? Thought he was pretty much a fixture in the first team.

He missed the previous game with a head injury according to Towk's link on Egan's contract extension (in his own thread).

DannyInvincible
28/02/2017, 2:17 PM
Shane has been in tremendous form of late and has been receiving great plaudits from Brighton fans: https://www.balls.ie/football/shane-duffy-brighton-fans-359926

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/03/2017, 5:35 PM
Duffy injury worry.

http://www.theargus.co.uk/sport/15134252.Albion_assess_injured_Duffy_as_Bruno_admi ts_he_would_be__a_big_miss_/

Albion skipper Bruno (http://www.theargus.co.uk/search/?search=%22Bruno%22&topic_id=8655) said: “He has been superb. His performances have been amazing.

“If he is out, he will be a big miss for us.”

DannyInvincible
07/03/2017, 2:55 PM
Shane's operation on the broken metatarsal went well: https://twitter.com/ShaneDuffy34/status/839054972390092800?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C6TsC7HWYAAtUic.jpg
Successful op this morning all done! Thanks for all your support will be back in no time! Come on the lads tonight massive 3 points now

Is that bruising up to his shin though? His lower leg and foot is definitely a different complexion from the area closer to his knee. Maybe it's the lighting? A shadow? Fake tan?

Edit: Actually, it's antiseptic disinfectant from the op, isn't it?

07/03/2017, 4:12 PM
Thats exactly what it is DI, did you have to google that to figure it out ; )

07/03/2017, 4:21 PM
No, I'd say you were right about the fake tan Danny.

seanfhear
07/03/2017, 5:26 PM
Is it not the orange bit of him when he played for N Ireland when he was younger........

DannyInvincible
07/03/2017, 7:48 PM
Thats exactly what it is DI, did you have to google that to figure it out ; )

Ha, I haven't been under the surgeon's knife in years, but no actually. :)

It suddenly dawned on me what it was after I remembered having the same orangey-coloured stuff rubbed on my arm in advance of a blood-test a few months back.

07/03/2017, 9:55 PM
Did ye have SIDA in the end?

DannyInvincible
08/03/2017, 12:04 AM
Ha, erm, no... I was just getting my mineral and vitamin levels checked as I tend to suffer from mouth ulcers quite a lot.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/03/2017, 10:43 AM
The perils of social media: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/ireland-star-shane-duffy-responds-to-criticism-over-martin-mcguinness-tribute-tweet-35551027.html

Wangball
21/03/2017, 11:05 AM
More like the perils of having an opinion and the bravery to share it.

The perils of social media: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/ireland-star-shane-duffy-responds-to-criticism-over-martin-mcguinness-tribute-tweet-35551027.html

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/03/2017, 11:20 AM
More like the perils of having an opinion and the bravery to share it.

I agree but he should have exercised better judgment considering he plays for Brighton.

Wangball
21/03/2017, 11:35 AM
I agree but he should have exercised better judgment considering he plays for Brighton.

The Brighton Bomb was 10 years before Duffy was born, he has absolutely nothing to be sorry about.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/03/2017, 12:03 PM
The Brighton Bomb was 10 years before Duffy was born, he has absolutely nothing to be sorry about.

I know he doesn't.

Nice to see one of his teammates, David Stockdale, standing up for his right to free speech anyways.

https://twitter.com/stockogk1313/status/844109806562656257

DeLorean
25/04/2017, 12:41 PM
Hughton thinks Duffy should be available for Austria game-

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/chris-hughton-confirms-shane-duffy-should-be-available-for-irelands-world-cup-qualifier-with-austria-35646330.html

DeLorean
17/08/2017, 11:29 AM
Signs new deal at Brighton - https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/2017/august/trio-sign-new-deals/

22/09/2017, 9:34 PM
I have not look at the player stats for a while, however I just looked today, and guess who is out highest rated player?
Robbie Brady? No! He is 46th, our highest rated player, at not 38 is....wait for it....Shane Duffy!

So well done Shane, seems his new contract has done him the world of good.

Dunno how long he will stay that high, I guess there is a fair bit of defending to be done at Brighton though (bit like Ireland guess!!).

DannyInvincible
02/10/2017, 10:04 PM
FAI TV interview with Shane:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_DxE8_5AcQ

15/10/2017, 3:13 PM
Big injury worry for the play-offs now..

DannyInvincible
15/10/2017, 3:17 PM
Big injury worry for the play-offs now..

Sh*te. I saw on LiveScore that he was subbed off in the 83rd minute but thought maybe he was being rested as it was so late on. Do you know was the injury serious or what was the nature of it?

DannyInvincible
15/10/2017, 3:22 PM
Just seeing it was his thigh/groin (https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/919564371482865665) and he looked in a lot of pain.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DML3de-VoAA2GcO.jpg

15/10/2017, 4:07 PM
Maguire and now Duffy. Two form players getting injured isn't exactly the best preparation for the upcoming games.

Diggs246
15/10/2017, 8:36 PM
Duffy is grand