View Full Version : Shane Duffy D Norwich b.1992
Predator
19/06/2010, 10:45 AM
the fact that this happened in a routine inocuous challenge, is there the chance it could happen again or something similar?! Thats the worry i have, perhaps he is weak in this area or something.As Serb says, it was a freak injury that could have happened to anyone. I'd say that if the doctors felt he had an unusual weakness that would leave him more susceptible to similar injury, he wouldn't be allowed to train so early after the incident or even allowed to play again. It's amazing that he could be training so soon though. That must be a major psychological boost for the lad.
Predator
21/07/2010, 7:14 PM
Duffy's Second Chance (http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2010/07/21/duffy-s-second-chance)
Shane Duffy (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/shane-duffy) believes he has been given a ‘second chance’ after a horrific training accident nearly ended his life.
Two months ago, a collision in a practice game with the Republic of Ireland national team left the young centre-back fighting for his life after rupturing the hepatic artery close to his liver.
Doctors discovered almost two thirds of his entire blood supply had leaked into Duffy’s abdomen, and if it wasn’t for the quick actions of the Ireland medical team on site who rushed him urgently to hospital, it could have been a completely different scenario.
Eternally in debt to the medics who helped him, Duffy truly believes he has been given another go at life and is thoroughly determined to make the most of it at Everton.
“I can't thank them enough,” Duffy told evertontv (http://www.evertonfc.com/evertontv). “I've thanked them so many times and I'll thank them again for being so good at their jobs and saving me. I'm so happy. I appreciate everything they've done for me.
“It's made me realise how important it is now to get a second chance at it. I can't describe it, that I'm still here. I'm just so happy.
“It’s hard to tell people what it feels like because no one else knows I nearly died. So I just have to live life now, and don't take anything for granted."
Duffy said he was in complete shock when he was informed of the procedure medical staff had to perform to save him.
“When I woke up about two days later they told me everything that they did and what happened,” he continued. “It was a weird thing. When it happened, I tried to get up straight away and the pain was just so sore, and then the doctor came on and I just said I couldn't breathe - he saw I couldn't breathe - and then he took me off.
“When I was in the ambulance I was just getting sharp, sharp pains in my chest so that just made it worse and I couldn't drink anything. I just blanked out from there, then I woke up and it was all done. From that moment in the ambulance, I just collapsed.”
Initially Duffy was told it would be six months before he could return to the pitch, but remarkably, the 18-year-old is back in light training just eight weeks after the incident.
“When the surgeon said to me at the start when I asked how long I would be and they said I should be back at Christmas,” Duffy continued. “But I'm just surprised that I'm able to run, do weights and do sit-ups now - it's so close.
“When I heard it would be Christmas I was gutted but I was just happy, so happy to still be here. It's just so good to be back and running. The last couple of weeks have been brilliant - getting back to training. I feel good now, and I can't wait to get back.”
The defender admitted he didn’t realise the seriousness of his surgery until the surgeons explained exactly what happened. And it was further reiterated when he saw the 10-inch ‘L’ shaped scar on his chest for the first time.
“I was just in shock to be fair because I didn't think it was serious when it happened,” Duffy added. “I thought it was maybe a cracked rib or something because of the sharp pain. But when I woke up and everyone was there - it was a bit crazy.
“I didn't see the scar for about two weeks because it was all wrapped up and then I saw it when the staples came out. It was frightening.”
Duffy will continue daily fitness work under supervision of Everton’s medical staff until he is able to join in full training with his team mates in approximately four to six weeks.
If anyone has EvertonTV, there is an interview with Duffy, but at present there is a preview of the interview to the right of the Everton homepage.
DannyInvincible
21/07/2010, 8:48 PM
Great to hear he's well and truly on the road to recovery. Unbelievable to think they originally thought he would only be back by Christmas but he's rejoining full training in 4-6 weeks. The guy obviously has a fantastic level of spirit and commitment. Hope things continue to go well for him.
Sullivinho
21/07/2010, 9:34 PM
From the brink of death to light training in the span of two months. Incredible stuff really. The lad's a gladiator.
Jacky08
22/07/2010, 3:12 PM
Best wishes to the lad
Predator
08/08/2010, 10:51 AM
Duffy Returns to Reserve Ranks (http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2010/08/08/duffy-returns-to-reserve-ranks)
Shane Duffy (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/shane-duffy) is included in the Everton Reserves squad for today's pre-season friendly with Sligo Rovers - just 10 weeks after suffering a life-threatening injury.
The Derry-born defender has made a remarkable recovery after undergoing life-saving emergency surgery in May following a freak collision during a training session on his first get-together with the Republic of Ireland senior squad.
Duffy is joined by fellow Irishman Seamus Coleman (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/seamus-coleman), who will be returning to his former club for the first time since switching to Everton in February 2009.
Any Sligo/Everton fans going to this?
08/08/2010, 10:58 AM
Tickets still available and will be on sale at the ground tonight if any of ye want to head along and see him and Seamie in action. Kick off 7pm.
ArdeeBhoy
08/08/2010, 11:28 AM
Good Luck to all concerned. And pleased for Sligo and their 'glamour' friendly.
08/08/2010, 9:25 PM
If it wasn't a friendly, Duffy would have been sent off tonight.
Sullivinho
08/08/2010, 9:48 PM
If it wasn't a friendly, Duffy would have been sent off tonight.
No psychological trauma then. :soldier:
Predator
08/08/2010, 11:38 PM
If it wasn't a friendly, Duffy would have been sent off tonight.What happened? Says on the Everton match report that Duffy shoved Ryan to the ground after a tackle. It seems like he had a busy enough game from the report, making blocks in his own box and forcing saves at the other. Was there a good crowd?
Everton match report (http://www.evertonfc.com/match/report/0910/43040/sligo-rovers-v-everton-res)
Predator
20/08/2010, 6:27 PM
Shane Duffy declared eligible for the Republic of Ireland (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101183:shane-duffy-declared-eligible-for-the-republic-of-ireland-&catid=1:senior-men&Itemid=8)
Good news for the kid. It only took about 7 months...
20/08/2010, 7:26 PM
When I opened your post, I read declared ineligible :)
Predator
20/08/2010, 7:49 PM
Ha, now that would be a shocking headline!
20/08/2010, 8:23 PM
They should call him into the U21 squad but keep it low key. Just get him involved with a few of the lads he'll be playing with in a few years.
seanfhear
21/08/2010, 1:15 PM
Note to Shane
If there are any other lads that would be interested in becoming eligible please let them know that they would be warmly welcomed and that we would do everything that we can to accomodate them.
co. down green
21/08/2010, 1:22 PM
Note to Shane
If there are any other lads that would be interested in becoming eligible please let them know that they would be warmly welcomed and that we would do everything that we can to accomodate them.
I know of one lad from the North currently playing in Britain who has already stated his desire to represent Ireland.
Fair play to the IFA for clearing up any ambiguity surrounding the eligibility issue.:party:
17/09/2010, 7:59 PM
Named in the U19 squad
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101267%3Aduffy-named-in-u19-squad-for-uefa-qualifiers&catid=4%3Aunder-19&Itemid=12
*I hope when I come back tomorrow, this thread hasn't become another battleground for GR, EG, AB, etc etc. That stuff can't be very laborious to read*
17/09/2010, 8:04 PM
I keep forgetting how young he is. Tremendous prospect.
Sullivinho
17/09/2010, 8:22 PM
Named in the U19 squad
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101267%3Aduffy-named-in-u19-squad-for-uefa-qualifiers&catid=4%3Aunder-19&Itemid=12
Great news.
Sullivinho
17/09/2010, 8:24 PM
*I hope when I come back tomorrow, this thread hasn't become another battleground for GR, EG, AB, etc etc. That stuff can't be very laborious to read*
Long live the World Rankings thread.
Has he played much reserve games for Everton this season?
17/09/2010, 8:46 PM
You could make that Micheal Ó Muircheartaigh line on Colin Corkery fit to Shane, 'making a Lazarus like recovery from near death, Lazarus was a great man but he couldn't play football like Shane'
17/09/2010, 9:20 PM
good to see Mark O'Brien in the squad as well, recovering well from heart surgery
You could make that Micheal Ó Muircheartaigh line on Colin Corkery fit to Shane, 'making a Lazarus like recovery from near death, Lazarus was a great man but he couldn't play football like Shane'
or another classic - "His father's from Donegal, his mother from Derry. Neither a hurling stronghold"
17/09/2010, 10:13 PM
Yes, but to make it fit it would have to be 'neither a football stronghold'
and at least we know that Donegal is a football stronghold, therefore it doesn't fit.
I wonder will the Derry wans have enough cop to suss that one out?
Predator
17/09/2010, 10:27 PM
Fantastic news. Duffy made his comeback to action in August and has been featuring regularly for the Everton reserves ever since and he is captaining them again. He also played the full game in Jamie Carragher's testimonial versus Liverpool, where he fared well enough against the likes of Michael Owen, Joe Cole and Emile Heskey.
It's great seeing Duffy and O'Brien in the same squad. It would almost be poetic if they formed a good defensive partnership.
The squad named is a strong one defensively, it'll be interesting to see how they get on.
Gather round
18/09/2010, 8:05 AM
Well, it is a labor of love.
Good luck to the big man btw.
ArdeeBhoy
18/09/2010, 8:13 AM
'Labour' surely. The spelling on here is appalling!
18/09/2010, 10:09 AM
Excellent news about Duffy and O'Brien. There was a local tv news item on O'Brien a few weeks back about his road back to fitness. Came across as a nice lad.
Deckydee
14/10/2010, 11:25 AM
Any news on Duffy? Have not heard anything in a while
Predator
14/10/2010, 11:37 AM
At club level it seems that Moyes is intent on keeping him there as backup, rather than letting him go on loan and with Jagielka's recent injury, he may get his chance sooner rather than later. He also recently played in our U19 Euro Championships qualifiers.
TrapAPony
23/10/2010, 11:22 AM
On the bench today against Tottenham. Great to see.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/9110606.stm
Predator
25/10/2010, 8:26 PM
To be back on the first-team bench little over 6 months after his injury is amazing. Let's hope he can keep it up.
Interestingly, I came across this piece (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/football-league-blog/2010/oct/25/northampton-town-carling-cup) which says that Northampton Town tried and failed to land Duffy on loan last week. That could be an indication that Moyes wants to keep him around. Is it likely that he'll see some first team action before the end of the season?
25/10/2010, 8:35 PM
He may be pressed into action. Everton only have four centre-halves and Jagielka still seems to be prone to the odd injury. The fact Yobo went out on loan was probably the biggest clue he'd be seeing some action.
Predator
03/11/2010, 9:56 AM
Interesting comments from Moyes regarding a possible loan move for Duffy:
Everton FC duo Shane Duffy and Jose Baxter could be allowed to leave on loan (http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/everton-fc/everton-fc-news/2010/11/03/everton-fc-duo-shane-duffy-and-jose-baxter-could-be-allowed-to-leave-on-loan-100252-27590328/)
“I'd like to put Shane out on loan. We've been keeping an eye on him at first (since his injury) and keeping him indoors. He's very good in the air though, and could have come on against Crouch (at White Hart Lane). If we find the right club he could go on loan.”
03/11/2010, 12:12 PM
Interesting - obviously wants him at a higher level than Northampton. Not sure if keeping him indoors will do much for his football career though. Really needs to be playing on grass at this stage.
co. down green
03/11/2010, 12:48 PM
Interesting - obviously wants him at a higher level than Northampton. Not sure if keeping him indoors will do much for his football career though. Really needs to be playing on grass at this stage.
The 'indoors' comment is a bit strange seeing as he's been back playing for the reserves for a while now and played in all three of Ireland's u19 qualifiers last month.
03/11/2010, 1:05 PM
Sounds to me that he spent time training indoors, in the gym etc, just over the summer and in the early season but has been doing normal squad training for some time.
03/11/2010, 4:12 PM
Yeah, it was a bad joke.
rebelmusic
03/11/2010, 5:13 PM
Gotta say i liked this quote
“Everyone in my family is Irish and so am I. We are just living in Northern Ireland. I have always wanted to play for the Republic. I grew up supporting Ireland and so did everybody around me.”
co. down green
03/11/2010, 6:15 PM
Played the full 90 today in the 5-0 win over Blackpool reserves
AlaskaFox
03/11/2010, 6:58 PM
Excellent news. Hopefully he can go on a loan for a few months and come back into the Everton side then in January.
Predator
08/11/2010, 4:00 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/duffy-set-for-preston-move-2411869.html
Linked with Preston.
Sullivinho
08/11/2010, 4:44 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/duffy-set-for-preston-move-2411869.html
Linked with Preston.
Hopefully so. A similar path of progression to his buddy Seamus would be great.
24/11/2010, 6:56 PM
Pacheco turned him inside out for a goal in the reserve derby the other day.
Highlight:
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055955594&page=1650
Predator
24/11/2010, 8:05 PM
Ouch. Beaten too easily there, but to be fair, the lad Pacheco is amazing.
He's supposed to have played well otherwise. From an Everton messageboard (http://www.bluekipper.net/index.php?s=&showtopic=57477&view=findpost&p=1585198):
Duffy : Was beaten too easily by the Liverpool attacker for their goal,apart from that he played well ,even though it wasn't a game that best suited a centrehalf of his type .He became more dominant as the game went on and it is clear that he is one of the players that the others look to for leadership.
I think he would benefit from playing first team football ata lower level for a while.
Fixer82
25/11/2010, 12:09 AM
Wouldn't be too hard on the lad. He's been out for a while. Will take him a while to get back to his best and get his eye in
Drop down a division on loan would be good for him alright
25/11/2010, 9:32 AM
Ouch. Beaten too easily there, but to be fair, the lad Pacheco is amazing.
He's supposed to have played well otherwise. From an Everton messageboard (http://www.bluekipper.net/index.php?s=&showtopic=57477&view=findpost&p=1585198):
He was top scorer at the U19 World Championships: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Pacheco#International_career
co. down green
25/11/2010, 10:18 AM
Duffy Going on loan to Barnsley
Predator
26/11/2010, 1:18 AM
The next big thing at Everton: Shane Duffy (http://www.sport.co.uk/news/Football/47350/The_next_big_thing_at_Everton_Shane_Duffy.aspx)