View Full Version : Shane Duffy D Norwich b.1992
12/05/2024, 10:40 AM
Starts today against Leeds
Eirambler
16/05/2024, 7:49 PM
Fair to say already that he won't be heading back to the Premier League with Norwich next season. Looks very much a Championship standard player out there, even leaving aside the drink driving thing it's hard to see much of a role for him with Ireland going forward.
16/05/2024, 8:23 PM
Nor in defence :)
Colbert Report
16/05/2024, 11:43 PM
Two terrible mistakes from Duffy on Leeds' third goal. I've always been a big fan of his, but time to hang up the boots.
17/05/2024, 5:39 AM
Ah in fairness - he's had a decent season overall, but one poor performance (and he was hardly alone in that) and he should retire?
Honest to God like
seanfhear
17/05/2024, 5:57 AM
Last chance saloon ~ At Norwich, maybe ? !
17/05/2024, 6:57 AM
Not really. He's 32 and has had a decent season (injury aside). Premier League may be beyond him at this stage in his career, but there's plenty of other players we could say that about
Eirambler
17/05/2024, 11:07 AM
Gunn had an absolute nightmare in goal and he's off to the Euros, probably as a starter as his main competition is 41. And Hanley couldn't even get in the team ahead of Duffy and he'll be off to the Euros too. So important to keep some perspective...but having said that we're absolutely stacked at centre back relative to other positions and all of Collins, O'Shea, Omobamidele, Egan, O'Brien and Scales would be ahead of Duffy now. He'd be in the next group along with the likes of McNally, McGuinness, Cashin and Dunne, but most of those lads are still on the upswing of their careers while he's on the way down. So it's hard to justify picking him at this point.
17/05/2024, 11:12 AM
I'm not quite sure Omobamidele (can't get his game, including when he was behind Duffy at Norwich) or Scales (SPL - meh) are ahead of Duffy to be honest. We have plausible options for sure - way more than in any other position - but I don't see that Duffy isn't one of those still.
Last chance saloon ~ At Norwich, maybe ? !
Probably drink the saloon dry before driving home.
seanfhear
17/05/2024, 11:25 AM
Probably drink the saloon dry before driving home. Uber !
Eirambler
17/05/2024, 11:26 AM
I'm not quite sure Omobamidele (can't get his game, including when he was behind Duffy at Norwich) or Scales (SPL - meh) are ahead of Duffy to be honest. We have plausible options for sure - way more than in any other position - but I don't see that Duffy isn't one of those still.
My view of it is that if Duffy was at Forest he'd be seeing about as much game time as Harry Arter is. And, while Scales is no world-beater, just compare his efforts this season at Celtic to Duffy's season there a couple of years ago.
17/05/2024, 11:49 AM
Not sure there's a huge amount between Forest and Norwich to be honest. Omobamidele was badly off the pace in the November friendlies and cost us a goal against New Zealand. And yeah, Duffy had a bad spell at Celtic (followed by a disastrous spell at Fulham) but I think he's recovered well at Norwich and I'm not sure how relevant the Celtic spell is now.
Just opinions really - but I think it's too early to discard a guy who's had a solid season in the Championship. He mayn't be a starter but I think he's definitely in the shake-up for squads still.
Not sure there's a huge amount between Forest and Norwich to be honest. Omobamidele was badly off the pace in the November friendlies and cost us a goal against New Zealand. And yeah, Duffy had a bad spell at Celtic (followed by a disastrous spell at Fulham) but I think he's recovered well at Norwich and I'm not sure how relevant the Celtic spell is now.
Just opinions really - but I think it's too early to discard a guy who's had a solid season in the Championship. He mayn't be a starter but I think he's definitely in the shake-up for squads still.
You might be right in his relative ranking but i would have him at best 5th in Eiramblers list. The more important point is that he simply doesnt have the technique to excel at a higher level, including international obviously (his second touch is often a lunge/tackle; his passing is inaccurate). Certainly the wrong type of defender in the modern era where his particular style and skillset is not valued as highly. Cant deny his ability at set pieces in both boxes though!
17/05/2024, 2:04 PM
Certainly the wrong type of defender in the modern era where his particular style and skillset is not valued as highly. Cant deny his ability at set pieces in both boxes though!
Yep, that's fair - and maybe we wait to see which way a new manager (if we ever get one!) will swing things for us.
If we go back to Mick II, then maybe he has a huge role...
I think part of the reason I'd have him in the mix still is that I'm not sold on Omobamidele and Scales in particular. Either of them could kick on another gear next year (and I don't think Duffy can), in which case it becomes a much clearer decision of course.
Jolly Red Giant
18/05/2024, 10:29 PM
Once a team gets into the PL a massive gulf develops with the Championship teams - and that is the case between Forest and Norwich. Despite struggling in the PL, Forest are streets ahead of Norwich - and Omobamidele is streets ahead of Duffy. Omobamidele didn't play until the new year and has been fairly consistent in the Forest team since. Duffy is slowing down and was never that pacey - he couldn't play in the PL anymore and he had a decent season in the Championship because he had a manager who knew how to use him to the max.
texidub
19/05/2024, 5:19 AM
Could we just bring him on for corners?!
seanfhear
19/05/2024, 6:33 AM
Could we just bring him on for corners?!Special teams ~ American football style ~ Time soccer caught up.
Eirambler
19/05/2024, 7:44 AM
Only problem with that is if you sent big Duffy in just for the corners, there's no guarantee he'd make it to the box in time for the ball coming in.
seanfhear
19/05/2024, 8:42 AM
Only problem with that is if you sent big Duffy in just for the corners, there's no guarantee he'd make it to the box in time for the ball coming in.Drop him in with a Drone ~ ~ Soccer needs to adapt to the modern times ~ ~ Subs being dropped in by Drones is the way to go !
Predator
21/05/2024, 4:51 PM
Duffy's eight-month spell at Celtic four years ago is utterly irrelevant to whether or not he remains in the picture for Ireland in the coming months. It is especially irrelevant when you consider that, after leaving Celtic, he subsequently impressed for Brighton in the PL (playing 18 games and scoring one goal) and Ireland (he played 10 games and scored three goals for Ireland in 2021 - his highest number of games and goals in a calendar year for the national team).
As with any player, what matters is what he does in his next game and the next game and the next game, until he hangs up his boots. To repeatedly raise a disappointing spell at Celtic (of all places) is crazy.
It is worth remembering that Damien Delaney played centre-back in the Premier League until he was 36. Just looking at the current season, Joel Ward at Palace is 34. Zanka at Brentford is 34. Craig Dawson, who put Nathan Collins out of the Wolves team last year, is 34. Experience is a hard-earned asset to have in football and coaches believe in that.
Look at it another way: After being written off by fans last year (again), Duffy played four games for Ireland in late 2023 (captain in some of those) and was two games away from being back in the Premier League next season. Had they pulled it off, this would all be moot.
21/05/2024, 7:25 PM
The scorn heaped on Duffy here makes me uncomfortable. He's been a dedicated player for Ireland, put in big performances and scored not a few important goals. It feels to me like the discussion around the change of style under Kenny made it acceptable to scoff at Duffy because accepting that he was an important player for us and Kenny was playing against his strengths went against the narrative. So he had to be an irrelevant player, not an important one. He had to be ****. Not just maybe not the best choice of the available centre halves under the circumstances, nor just a decent player going through a rough patch of form, but a has-been who should hang up his boots in shame at what a shambling dinosaur he was. What kind of fans are ye at all?
Eirambler
21/05/2024, 9:29 PM
I think he was just unlucky that the role of a centre back in possession changed at just the wrong time for him. Similar to goalkeeper, what's asked of centre backs at the top level now is completely different to what it still was at most clubs when he was first emerging. He can't play that way - doesn't have the pace or the footballing skills, and for that reason he is unlikely to play in the Premier League again.
The scorn heaped on Duffy here makes me uncomfortable. He's been a dedicated player for Ireland, put in big performances and scored not a few important goals. It feels to me like the discussion around the change of style under Kenny made it acceptable to scoff at Duffy because accepting that he was an important player for us and Kenny was playing against his strengths went against the narrative. So he had to be an irrelevant player, not an important one. He had to be ****. Not just maybe not the best choice of the available centre halves under the circumstances, nor just a decent player going through a rough patch of form, but a has-been who should hang up his boots in shame at what a shambling dinosaur he was. What kind of fans are ye at all?
I know you’re probably not going directly at me (maybe you are!) but in my defence, my reservations about Duffy precede SK. His value proposition was always on a knife edge. His battling, aerial ability and goalscoring ability were all valuable assets that were offset by his passing, pace and touch. For me, I’d always have preferred a player with a little more on offer from the second batch. I’d groan frequently watching him give the ball away or pass the ball straight out of touch with an attempted switch. I’d celebrate the goals too obviously and generally love the commitment and dedication he has. You want that as a fan. My questioning of his ability and worth wasnt to be disrespectful of any of that. I guess it’s just preference.
The appointment of Kenny just brought forward the inevitable in terms of his standing in the hierarchy. And, as Eirambler points out, it’s the way the game has gone that’s seen the same story play out with Brighton (after Hughton left), Celtic, Fulham and, at times, Norwich. It’s not unreasonable to conclude that the Championship is his sweet spot and that he’s not really what you want from an international centre back in todays day and age.
22/05/2024, 6:07 AM
I know you’re probably not going directly at me (maybe you are!) but in my defence, my reservations about Duffy precede SK.
To clarify, no, I wasn't speaking about any one poster (or indeed about any group of ye), and I don't have any problem with posters evaluating his weaknesses as you and Eirambler have above. It's the disrespect I've seen towards him too often that sticks in my craw. This has stretched as far as posts that were angry or baffled that he's been selected for a squad, or willing him to retire. That's just way too much.
Jolly Red Giant
22/05/2024, 8:26 AM
To clarify, no, I wasn't speaking about any one poster (or indeed about any group of ye), and I don't have any problem with posters evaluating his weaknesses as you and Eirambler have above. It's the disrespect I've seen towards him too often that sticks in my craw. This has stretched as far as posts that were angry or baffled that he's been selected for a squad, or willing him to retire. That's just way too much.
Duffy being in the squad is a good thing - he has had ups and downs - had some off-field issues early on - came back from a horrific injury when he was a kid - and we don't have a massive amount of experience in the current squad.
Predator
22/05/2024, 4:15 PM
Duffy's biggest strengths have always been heading, clearing, blocking - the absolutely vital stuff that is not fashionable for a defender nowadays - but it has never been the case that he can't pass the ball.
That perceived weakness has been exaggerated ever since the Celtic days, when every single mistake was magnified and ridiculed*. The truth is that every defender makes mistakes or passes it wayward in every game. I've seen Nathan Collins and John Egan pass the ball out of play under little pressure. I've seen Ruben Dias do it. Sergio Ramos, one of the greatest defenders of the modern era, had plenty of mistakes in him.
Duffy is not as refined as John Stones, but he simply would not have played so long at an elite level if he couldn't pass the ball. It's why he has 60 caps for Ireland and played in the Premier League / top end of the Championship for so long. It's why Stephen Kenny played him so much. His fellow pros and coaches know it. Back in 2021 Jonathan Walters said: "Shane Duffy has a lot more quality than people have given him credit for down the years. He can hit 70-80 yard diagonal [passes] right onto someone’s foot and he can do those passes." Around the same time, when the narrative was bedding in, Kevin Doyle said: “He is actually good on the ball, I’ve played with him before and I’ve seen him." David Wagner spoke of his "aura" and Cristiano Ronaldo encountered that in Dublin when he was the victim of a Cruyff Turn. I agree with Walters - Duffy doesn't get the credit his quality deserves.
*Incidentally, I think this is when the outrageously negative perception of Duffy, as alluded to by John83 above, became vogue. Given the fact that some folks continue to cite that eight-month Celtic spell during Covid-19 four years later, it clearly stuck.
If Duffy couldn't pass a ball then Potter would have never played him at Brighton again after his first season. Never saw him as first choice really but rated him enough to do a job when needed.
Which he was the season after the Celtic loan. Was playing really well for Brighton the first half of the season when injuries saw him drop back to the bench during the second half. Believe though in-between both of his injuries he was still starting everyone second game.
Would I want to see Duffy called up though, nope. Think he played himself into early retirement when he decided to get ****ed drunk and drove his car. Would rather see Jake O'Brien integrated into the squad to replace what Duffy would bring.
3 year driving ban and a e32K fine for this f*ckin idiot. I didnt realize (or forgot) but its also his second drunk driving offense - well second time getting caught.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ireland-football-star-shane-duffy-given-road-ban-and-fined-32000-over-drink-drive-crash/a633562120.html
seanfhear
02/07/2024, 2:06 PM
3 year driving ban and a e32K fine for this f*ckin idiot. I didnt realize (or forgot) but its also his second drunk driving offense - well second time getting caught.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ireland-football-star-shane-duffy-given-road-ban-and-fined-32000-over-drink-drive-crash/a633562120.html
And ~ Not that it is an excuse ~ But these footballers can easily afford taxi's / uber / drivers !
I mean how stupid is Duffy ? !
Was he going out with Katie Price at one point ? !
And John O'Shea will likely still see nothing wrong with calling him up in September if he's manager which he will be imo.
EalingGreen
02/07/2024, 5:16 PM
I mean how stupid is Duffy ? !
Considering he only passed his Driving Theory Test at the 11th attempt, not very?
It could mean he's so proud of having finally got his Licence that he's determined to use it on every possible occasion.
Predator
02/10/2024, 11:43 AM
Duffy was singled out for praise (https://www.pinkun.com/sport/interviews/24618076.norwich-city-shane-duffy-hailed-johannes-hoff-thorup/) by Johannes Hoff Thorup ahead of their game against Leeds United yesterday. Has played in every Championship game for them this season and is doing well for a manager who is known for implementing a patient passing game.
“I really think he has been an important player, both for our build up game and our way of defending... Some of the staff members took him aside and showed him some clips of his time at Brighton where he did this (work on the ball) and was a good player for them. We went back to that. We have a little bit of a different approach, but there are enough similarities. We showed him and the whole group.
"I like to have these unit meetings with defenders or midfielders where we show them how we want to build up, where we can defend, and go even more in-depth into the details. It comes down to him and his approach to this."
Predator
23/10/2024, 9:43 AM
Scored a fantastic equaliser away to Preston last night, running from his own half with the ball before playing a one-two with Sargent and finishing well.
seanfhear
23/10/2024, 11:04 AM
Scored a fantastic equaliser away to Preston last night, running from his own half with the ball before playing a one-two with Sargent and finishing well.
https://x.com/NorwichCityFC/status/1849006094385070125Franz Beckanbauer-ish ( stolen from X comments to be honest )
Lucky.
Demesne Lad
07/11/2024, 10:40 AM
Shane comments on getting the chance to extend his career at Norwich, after some dark days.
https://www.pinkun.com/sport/interviews/24704012.shane-duffy-determined-repay-city-redemption-mission/
Predator
25/11/2024, 8:39 AM
Captain again and decent pass for the "pre-assist" for one of Norwich's goals at the weekend. 96% pass accuracy in the game.
Molumby and Johnston featured for West Brom. Johnston rated highest out of the three per Whoscored (https://www.whoscored.com/Matches/1826977/Live/England-Championship-2024-2025-West-Bromwich-Albion-Norwich).
Predator
27/11/2024, 8:28 AM
Second goal of the season in a 6-1 hammering of Wayne Rooney's Plymouth.
Predator
01/12/2024, 11:09 AM
Duffy's Norwich defeated Mark McGuinness' Luton 4-2 yesterday. Duffy played a part in the build-up to two Norwich goals, including this one, where McGuinness gets caught a little flat-footed, allowing Crnac to steal the ball:
Predator
03/01/2025, 2:24 PM
MOTM performance in Norwich's 1-0 win away to Luton Town the other night. There was a nice moment after the game, with Duffy hugging and chatting with a dejected Mark McGuinness. Not sure if they've been in squads together before, but good to see some togetherness among the Irish lads.
Olé Olé
03/01/2025, 2:34 PM
MOTM performance in Norwich's 1-0 win away to Luton Town the other night. There was a nice moment after the game, with Duffy hugging and chatting with a dejected Mark McGuinness. Not sure if they've been in squads together before, but good to see some togetherness among the Irish lads.
As you might know, McGuinness's father is a Derry man so that might also be a connection.
seanfhear
03/01/2025, 3:27 PM
MOTM performance in Norwich's 1-0 win away to Luton Town the other night. There was a nice moment after the game, with Duffy hugging and chatting with a dejected Mark McGuinness. Not sure if they've been in squads together before, but good to see some togetherness among the Irish lads.Big Man Love ! !
Predator
09/04/2025, 10:37 AM
Linked with MLS side New York Red Bulls
seanfhear
09/04/2025, 11:57 AM
Linked with MLS side New York Red Bulls
He hasn't too many years left. He has to make the best deal for himself long term. Unless you go into, football management / media, what does a soccer player do after playing to keep himself on an even keel ~ Especially if he a wee bit prone to the wrong sort of temptations.
texidub
09/04/2025, 1:50 PM
would there be a tariff on that move now?
Eirambler
09/04/2025, 2:43 PM
No but, as I saw in a comment on Twitter earlier, the move should suit him as they drive on the same side of the road as he seems to a fair bit of the time.
10/04/2025, 3:21 AM
Reminds me of a story from Simon Kuper's Barca. Under Franco, rivals to Real Madrid were given certain disadvantages by the government to keep things on an uneven keel. For example, there's a story of a half-time visit to a dressing room by a high-ranking official making sinister implications. Anyway, Barca agree a fee for Johan Cruijff, which as we know in hindsight was a very successful transfer. Thing is, they couldn't easily pay for him. In the end, the loophole they found involved Ajax billing Barca for "agricultural machinery".
Predator
17/04/2025, 3:17 PM
Guy on the NY beat says there is 'nothing' to the rumours linking Duffy to NY Red Bulls...
Predator
04/05/2025, 2:59 PM
Finished the year strong with a his fourth goal of the season yesterday. Typically murderous header.