View Full Version : Shane Duffy D Norwich b.1992

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

21/03/2016, 1:00 PM
Just saw it. Good goal alright. Celebration worthy of a bigger event!

26/03/2016, 11:08 AM
This is a photo for his parents ......from the IT

http://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.2587614.1458955651!/image/image.jpg

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/04/2016, 12:19 PM
Gave away a penalty and sent off.

02/04/2016, 12:42 PM
http://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/classy-shane-duffy-donates-republic-of-ireland-jersey-to-local-charity/72441

Great stuff from Shane Duffy. The charity mentioned is also something I'm involved in and Shanes father will also be involved in the match in August. Fair play to him.

DeLorean
07/04/2016, 2:24 PM
Duffy not really accountable for either goal which is good given that Paul is on foot.ie today :)

Ya, but at the weekend he was poor, he seems to get carded a lot.

Who would you have as our first choice centre back pairing Paul? Just curious.

07/04/2016, 3:03 PM
I always think people get carried away with these one off performances in International games, when these lads like Duffy and Keogh and Clark have to perform to impress they are totally switched on, and dont have that McShane think with the head(reactionary) not the safe experienced option, they will look good. They generally do. BUt when it comes to the weekly stuff or the more settled games they are prone to switching off or losing concentration. Stutts will remember I asked this question exactly to MON and Keane - and i had someone tell me recently that they were told by someone there my two questions were the only real proper insightful questions asked(i am not trying to sound like a d1ck here for once :D) - how do you "train" players who are prone to these lapses of concentration whether purely mental or brought on physically through fatigue or whatever. They never really answered it, which left me thinking you can't. It seems nowadays there are more defenders like that than there were, or the mistakes are more costly or both.

I'd have Clark in with O'Shea, O'shea is not the best but he is most experienced of the lot, and i think these lads are similar to phil babb - not as bad - that with someone with experience and a level head beside them they can consistently - and thats the important word here - perform at a high level and (temporarily perhaps)eradicate those mistakes from their game.

I heard what (Cl)owen said about Stones recently, he can play ball like pique or puyol, that he is the only English player who could get in the Barca team. I had a good laugh at that. He can't defend for the same reasons above. Maybe though in his case its literally down to big game experience - I havent seen enough to be honest.

CraftyToePoke
07/04/2016, 3:14 PM
So do you think that about Hendrick, out of interest ? As I am starting to wonder if this is the case, as earlier on when he broke in their side, he was linked with fast moves a division up but we are some time later now and not only is he still a Derby player, he is still in and out there. Maybe he is as Giles called them, an 'on their day' player but isnt week in week out at that standard ?

Fixer82
07/04/2016, 3:20 PM
I always think people get carried away with these one off performances in International games

Well said. Let us not forget McShane's great performance on his debut V Czech Republic

#lestweforget

DeLorean
07/04/2016, 3:28 PM
You never try to sound like a d1ck Paul, I think it just comes naturally :p

I'd be happy with O'Shea and Clark. I think Duffy is plenty young enough to eradicate these lapses, if they even exist to a great an extent as you seem to think. We're not looking looking for the next Alessandro Nesta, a player who can do a decent job for us for the next few years will be fine.

I also think any central defender would look bad at Aston Villa at the moment, and for some time really. It's a pity Clark didn't get that move to West Brom some time back, if it was a concrete interest.

As Stutts regularly mentions, Keogh is brave in possession and carries the ball out of defence well, at Championship level at least, but I think he can be panicky, rash and awkward in tighter situations. As good as they are, the likes of Muller and Dzeko possibly suited him to an extent, but I'd fear for him with the likes of Hazard running at him with pace, doing his step-overs. Hopefully we're set up well enough to prevent that from happening.

CraftyToePoke
07/04/2016, 3:36 PM
I also think any central defender would look bad at Aston Villa at the moment, and for some time really.

A bit of truth on this certainly, I was at Villa Park recently when he played Vs Everton and there were a couple of Villa midfielders in front of him who could have skipped their shower post game so meager were their efforts. Clark was ok, not standout or anything, but didn't play badly.

DeLorean
07/04/2016, 3:45 PM
Yeah and there's been games where he has been at least partially at fault for goals too, but I think it's inevitable with the constant pressure their back four are under. Something has to give eventually. They just do everything wrong as a team.

08/04/2016, 9:47 AM
So do you think that about Hendrick, out of interest ? As I am starting to wonder if this is the case, as earlier on when he broke in their side, he was linked with fast moves a division up but we are some time later now and not only is he still a Derby player, he is still in and out there. Maybe he is as Giles called them, an 'on their day' player but isnt week in week out at that standard ?

It is exactly what I think about Hendrick. But with him its more fits and bursts. I don't think he has the consistency to be a top midfielder. Again its difficult to tell from the first game or two. He will give his all, and perhaps in those games its the ones where he will show a higher level than normal. I never got the thing about him moving up myself I didn't see anyone coming in for him unless he managed to get promoted with a team from Division 1.

*I am just waiting for Junior to come on and out Stutts and I about some average-run-of-the-mill young irish we watched at a game once :D

08/04/2016, 10:36 AM
I'm saying nothing, though I would like to point out I was also at that FAI / Monkeano brekky in London and MON needed a translator to understand your questions.

I think the "on their day" tag can apply to a lot of players at international level. We've had several down the years. It doesn't bother me so much as long as their "on days" are for us.

I think Hendrick has shown flashes of something a bit more than ordinary, much much more so than Meyler for example. His assists for two vital goals (O'Shea and Walters) were invaluable.

09/04/2016, 4:06 AM
Meyler is more defensive, Hendrick does not contribute as much there but is better on the offensive.

09/04/2016, 2:07 PM
isn't a lack of inconsistency a good thing?

09/04/2016, 4:19 PM
Not if he's not inconsistently bad

25/04/2016, 11:51 AM
"3 Shane Duffy’s Euro 2016 hopes have taken a knock after being dropped to the bench for Blackburn’s last two games following a couple of individual mistakes in last weekend’s game against Huddersfield."

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/04/2016, 2:23 PM
4th goal of the season for Duffy today.

30/04/2016, 3:01 PM
Shane Duffy’s Euro 2016 hopes have been given a boost after scoring.

30/04/2016, 3:11 PM
He is 6th in the championship stats, that goal might boost him up a place or two.

09/05/2016, 1:46 PM
Won Blackburn goal of the season for this strike against Brentford: http://www.rovers.co.uk/news/article/shane-duffy-3099531.aspx
goal at 1:27
K8CzMOOgeDs

DeLorean
09/05/2016, 2:37 PM
Surely won celebration of the season too.

10/05/2016, 11:34 PM
Good goal, I was expecting something a little more spectacular but I guess I am hard to please!

DannyInvincible
25/05/2016, 1:04 AM
Shane on coming back after the life-threatening injury and his hopes of making the final squad: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/euro-2016/its-a-big-thing-for-me-and-my-family-shane-duffy-thankful-to-be-in-ireland-fold-after-lifethreatening-injury-34743377.html

Duffy said: "I appreciate everything after [the life-threatening injury], to be honest. It's been six years since it happened and to be back in the fold is obviously a big thing for me and my family.

"But it's not just this, it's being back playing on the pitch and everything in my life, to be honest.

"I do look at everything a bit differently after that, to be honest. It took me a while to get going and I came back a bit early from it, but it's one of those things."

Derry-born Duffy was then an emerging player at Everton, but eventually had to take a step backwards before he could get his career heading in the right direction once again.

Loan spells with Burnley, Scunthorpe and Yeovil handed him the regular football he craved before he got his chance at Ewood Park, securing a permanent move in September 2014, and he has not looked back since.

His development has been such that he was worked his way into O'Neill's sights having been denied a debut under Giovanni Trapattoni by his injury back in 2010.

Duffy finally got his chance in an end-of-season friendly against Costa Rica in Philadelphia in June 2014, but had to wait until the 1-0 friendly victory over Switzerland in March this year for his second appearance.

However, he revealed he set himself a target as he watched his compatriots head for the Euro 2012 finals in Poland from his armchair, and that target could yet be achieved.

Duffy said: "I probably wasn't ready four years ago. I sat there and I was obviously watching the lads, and you want to go out and represent your country if you are in the game.

"It was just, 'I want to try my best to try to get to the next one - and if I can't get to that one, I'll try my best to get to the next one after that'.

"You have got to set it as a target and that's what I did, and hopefully I can be there."

Duffy's hopes of making the squad have been increased by the news that Stoke's Marc Wilson will not make it because of injury, while fellow defenders Paul McShane and Alex Pearce have been placed on stand-by.

09/06/2016, 3:08 PM
Shane Duffy: It's surreal to be here - http://www.rovers.co.uk/news/article/shane-duffy-euro-2016-republic-of-ireland-3138877.aspx

Olé Olé
19/07/2016, 9:26 AM
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/celtic-step-up-chase-for-blackburn-s-shane-duffy-1-7482011

Linked with Celtic again. Swap move with James Forrest mentioned about the place, or something like it. It's been in a couple of tabloids I think.

PL sides mentioned in that article also. PL move would be ideal but I'd rather see him at Celtic than Blackburn or another Championship side come the new season.

Sidenote: Ciaran Clark linked with £4.5m move to WBA in tabloids today too. Don't think that would be the best move for Ireland. I could see him playing left back in a Pulis flat back four comprising of four centre-halves. And I don't think that's his long-term position for us.

DeLorean
19/07/2016, 9:50 AM
He should wait and see if Celtic qualify for the group stages of the CL before making his mind up!

19/07/2016, 10:06 AM
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/celtic-step-up-chase-for-blackburn-s-shane-duffy-1-7482011

PL move would be ideal but I'd rather see him at Celtic than Blackburn or another Championship side come the new season..

Why is that? Standard of the Championship is overall higher than that of the SPL so it would be better for him to be playing at a higher standard, especially if, as DeLorean says, Celtic don't make the group stage of the Champions League.

Olé Olé
19/07/2016, 12:45 PM
Why is that? Standard of the Championship is overall higher than that of the SPL so it would be better for him to be playing at a higher standard, especially if, as DeLorean says, Celtic don't make the group stage of the Champions League.

DeLorean has put that to me before and I've given my opinion on it as well. But I'll repeat what I think for you. I think that there's a good chance they'll get into the CL, I like Rodgers and I think that playing at Celtic hasn't done Virgil Van Dijk any harm.

DeLorean's suggested strategy could be the best for him but hard to see a Derry lad thinking like that maybe?

19/07/2016, 1:48 PM
DeLorean's suggested strategy could be the best for him but hard to see a Derry lad thinking like that maybe?

To really rub it in to our Derry folk, you could have written ..... '...............no offense meant but hard to see a Derry lad thinking like that' ....

Olé Olé
19/07/2016, 8:18 PM
I was more referring to my perception that with a father from Donegal and being from Derry himself then it's hard to see him not being a Celtic supporter.

19/07/2016, 10:35 PM
I was more referring to my perception that with a father from Donegal and being from Derry himself then it's hard to see him not being a Celtic supporter.
I see that now,
I don't know how I read it that you thought it would be hard for a Derry man to think strategically,
which might have have a few grains of truth in some cases :)

DeLorean
21/07/2016, 1:06 PM
I see Grant Hanley has signed for Newcastle. Blackburn will surely do everything they can to keep Duffy now. Actually Richard Keogh was linked with Newcastle too, so that'll probably soften those rumours too.

seanfhear
21/07/2016, 2:24 PM
How many quality games would Duffy play in a season if he signed for Celtic .Sadly for Scottish football the English Championship is probably a higher level .Ok ,he could play a few european games but what happens id Celtic are knocked out early.

If we could hire Sam Alardyce to teach our Centre backs to defend in his spare time.......................

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/07/2016, 7:04 PM
According to The Sun, Brighton have bid £2m for Duffy.

http://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/report-brighton-bid-for-shane-duffy/88545

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/07/2016, 8:33 PM
£3m bid turned down, another one being prepared according to the Lanc Telegraph.

Can't see Blackburn selling him a week shy of the the new season.

They have sold Hanley already and they don't have a lot left in reserve.

Can see Blackburn struggling this season.

29/07/2016, 11:29 PM
Might be win-win for us if they do sell him without time to find a replacement. Could mean Lenihan getting a chance at centre-half.

30/07/2016, 9:12 AM
£3m bid turned down, another one being prepared according to the Lanc Telegraph.

Can't see Blackburn selling him a week shy of the the new season.

They have sold Hanley already and they don't have a lot left in reserve.

Can see Blackburn struggling this season.

Only a year left on his contract so if they want to cash in they need to sell him now or get him to sign a new contract. Blackburn have been struggling since they were relegated. Rumours of Wednesday being interested as well as they are short a centre-half.

11/08/2016, 4:39 PM
linked with a move to Sunderland today to replace Kone

CraftyToePoke
11/08/2016, 5:05 PM
Even though they signed McNair and the other fellow from Man U ?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37034471

13/08/2016, 3:32 PM
Puts through his own net in what is a disastrous result for Blackburn. This years Bolton?

CraftyToePoke
13/08/2016, 3:36 PM
Byrne & Lenihan in the middle too, with Stokes & Duffy all starting, bad times.

DeLorean
13/08/2016, 4:41 PM
This years Bolton?

Yeah, although they might have some competition from Newcastle. :)

Real ale Madrid
17/08/2016, 7:05 PM
2nd og in 4 days for Duffy.

TheOneWhoKnocks
17/08/2016, 7:07 PM
3rd own goal in 4 days for Duffy.

17/08/2016, 7:27 PM
:eek2: Is he pushing for a transfer or something?

17/08/2016, 7:53 PM

"Duffys on fire, all of Blackburn terrified!
Duffys on fire, all of Blackburn terrified!
Na na na na na na na, na na, na na"

TheOneWhoKnocks
17/08/2016, 8:45 PM
Sent off too. He can kiss any last remaining hopes of a PL move goodbye and sign that new contract Blackburn offered him now.

17/08/2016, 9:59 PM
2 own goals and sent off.
Does not get much worse than that.

I bet Blackburn fans were glad to see him sent off!

If he had stayed on he might have got a hat trick!

DeLorean
18/08/2016, 3:43 AM
An Irish player hasn't drawn this much attention to themselves since Jonny Walters scored two own goals and missed a penalty. Duffy has definitely eclipsed that seeing as he scored an og in ye previous match as well. I read his second yellow was for kicking the ball at a Cardiff player in frustration deep in injury time. He'll have to work on his 'damage limitation' when things are going wrong.