View Full Version : Shane Duffy D Norwich b.1992

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

11/03/2014, 11:03 AM
Whats the overall assessment is martinez likely to recall him next year and give him some opportunities?

DeLorean
11/03/2014, 11:15 AM
so what you're saying is, he would have gotten away with too, if it wasn't for those meddling kids?

Yes. Richard Keogh is Shaggy Rogers.

DeLorean
11/03/2014, 11:19 AM
Whats the overall assessment is martinez likely to recall him next year and give him some opportunities?

Stones doesn't look ready to me from the games I have seen, full back v Liverpool (0-4) and centre back v Arsenal (1-4). Granted they were difficult games. Jagielka and Distin will obviously be first choice again next season but I could see opportunities for Duffy. Alcaraz didn't cover himself in glory in his little cameos either.

DannyInvincible
11/03/2014, 5:04 PM
Isn't Distin in his late 30s now? He keeps himself incredibly fit, but he surely must be considering retirement at some point soon.

11/03/2014, 6:17 PM
Distin is 36. I'd say he has another year or two at the top level, unless his body packs in.

11/03/2014, 10:25 PM
I was surprised he wasn't recalled from loan when Heitenga moved to Fulham

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/03/2014, 4:55 PM
And they'd be out of the relegation zone if it wasn't for Derby losing to Millwall. Damn that Richard Keogh.

What?!

DannyInvincible
16/04/2014, 2:17 PM
An interview piece with Shane in the Irish Post: http://www.irishpost.co.uk/sport/shane-duffy-on-everton-yeovil-town-and-the-football-injury-that-threatened-his-life

He speaks about his time at Yeovil, returning to Everton and the injury that nearly cost him his life.

WORSHIPPING the Fab Four is part of the Merseyside DNA, a practice long established before Everton produced a quartet of Irishmen who are injecting hope and hype into both club and country.

But if the bringing together of Aiden McGeady, Seamus Coleman, Darron Gibson and James McCarthy is Goodison Park’s equivalent of rock ’n’ roll then spare a thought for Shane Duffy, the Evertonian Irish’s Pete Best.

Being known as ‘the other guy’ is a huge disservice to Duffy, though — a 22-year-old whose decision to leave the comfort zone of Everton’s first team squad for regular football at Yeovil Town has proved the making of him.

With his loan period finishing at the end of this season, the Derry man will return to Goodison Park with the intention of banging on their first team door and demanding entry, just as Coleman did five years ago after his spell on loan to Blackpool.

“This is a challenge I am thriving on,” says Duffy. “There is a huge difference between the two clubs. Being here brings you down a level, makes you humble and makes you want to work harder.

“In the Premier League, you have got everything handed to you on a plate. At Yeovil, the same money and facilities aren’t here. That doesn’t bother me in the slightest by the way. It’s just a fact of life that a Premier League club like Everton do everything bigger and better, simply because they have millions to spend on everything.

“Life at a Premier League club is so good, you don’t want to leave. They can spend millions on a team of video analysts. At Yeovil, there is one guy who does that. Everton have 10, 11 physios, masseurs, Yeovil have one. We take a bus to away games from Yeovil. At Everton, we either fly or go by train.

“Does the difference get to me? Of course not. I love being here, love playing first team football, love the fact that we have a small budget and are written off. As a defender I am in a team where our backs are always against the wall. You have to fight. That is what this club is all about. Fighting.

“It is not Premier League money that players earn. Believe me staying up would make a major difference to fellas and their families. We are all fighting for our lives.”

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/04/2014, 3:24 PM
Shane Duffy was our only Championship defender that featured in Four Four Two magazine's story on the Football League's top 50 players. He just missed the cut along with Alan Sheehan and Rhys Murphy.

Andy Reid was in the Top 5 and John Joe O'Toole also made the cut, further down the list.

DeLorean
16/04/2014, 4:03 PM
Stones doesn't look ready to me from the games I have seen, full back v Liverpool (0-4) and centre back v Arsenal (1-4). Granted they were difficult games. Jagielka and Distin will obviously be first choice again next season but I could see opportunities for Duffy. Alcaraz didn't cover himself in glory in his little cameos either.

Jeez hard to believe it's only a month ago I typed this! Stones has been seriously impressive since he got a run of games in Jagielka's absense. He looks excellent carrying the ball out of defence in particular.

21/04/2014, 3:30 PM
1-0 down to Huddersfield. If they lose this they're down in all but bizarre mathematical circles.

25/04/2014, 8:11 PM
Shane is playing live on SS1 now. 0-0 away to Brighton, early in second half.

Unfortunately Mrs S is watching a recording of MasterChef,. I'm following Drogs v Rovers on extratime.ie. 1-3 so far.

Crosby87
25/04/2014, 9:08 PM
You only have 1 TV? :D

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/05/2014, 9:19 PM
http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2014/05/04/what-the-papers-say-4-may

Premier League Burnley and League One Bristol City linked with Duffy.

04/05/2014, 9:48 PM
Bristol City would be a bizarre step down. He was on loan at Burnley before and didn't get many opportunities but there's a different manager now.

Predator
05/05/2014, 9:48 AM
Wouldn't pay much heed to the Bristol City link. Should Duffy leave Everton it will more than likely be for a Premier League or Championship team.

Predator
05/05/2014, 3:06 PM
Duffy and Andy Reid in the whoscored.com Championship Team of the Season. Duffy the highest rated player.

Link: https://twitter.com/WhoScored/status/463241677818191873

DannyInvincible
05/05/2014, 3:40 PM
With the Burnley link in mind, is it looking like his next move from Everton will be permanent or are the club hoping to send him out on loan again?

Predator
05/05/2014, 4:09 PM
Hard to say. With the prospect of European football on the horizon, Martinez may want to keep the likes of Duffy around. Having said that, with nearly 40 games in the Championship under his belt from last season, Duffy won't be happy to sit on the bench as back up I'd imagine. He's currently contracted until June 2015, so a permanent move may soon be the only option.

CraftyToePoke
05/05/2014, 4:56 PM
So would ye say he is better off playing say 15 non key games for Everton but doing well in them and maybe earning himself a shot at a future there, or playing 35+ again in the Championship, at this stage lads ?

20/05/2014, 12:59 AM
According to this second-hand source on one of the Everton forums, Duffy will either go out on loan next year or be sold if a good enough offer comes in. Apparently his dad (who seems to be a bit of an embarrassment as he leaks confidential information) says he's not Martinez's kind of defender, unlike Shelbourne's Ryan Robinson who will be parachuted straight into the U21s when he signs.

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&t=586023&d=12556.72183&nmt=

29/05/2014, 10:50 AM
Duffy boosted by boss talks: http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2014/05/29/duffy-boosted-by-boss-talks

Duffy said: “Roberto told me that pre-season was my chance to shine and he’s said to me that if I am where he thinks I am – from what he’s seen of me this season – then I’m going to be involved.

“And if I’m not, we’ll see at the end of pre-season what we’re going to do. It’s a big summer for me, it’s up to me."

Predator
29/05/2014, 10:59 AM
Quotes taken from the Independent's extensive interview with him in which he talks about his flirtation with death:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/duffy-on-a-mission-to-make-up-for-lost-time-30310156.html

zero
29/08/2014, 3:32 PM
has apparently signed for blackburn for £1.5m

edit: doesn't seem to be widely reported. http://toffeeweb.com/season/14-15/news/28236.html

DeLorean
29/08/2014, 4:15 PM
That's pretty uninspiring... deflating even. TOWK won't like this one bit and I can't say I blame him this time. I suppose it should be regular football but a massive step down from Everton.

Had a quick read through an Everton message board and most seem pretty annoyed. A recurring theme seems to be that they have very little cover now and that, if they were going to sell anybody, it should have been Alcaraz.

29/08/2014, 4:18 PM
I doubt anybody would pay £1.5m for Alcaraz. Duffy wasn't going to play so he might as well go off and play regular football. He'll be playing at a higher level than he was for Yeovil anyway, and a decent run should do his chances of playing more games for Ireland a lot of good.

29/08/2014, 4:43 PM
It's up to him to impress now. Regular football is the key. The only way he or we will find out if he's good enough for Ireand is by playing. He has time on his side.

DeLorean
29/08/2014, 5:38 PM
Thought with Everton's Europa League commitments there was a good chance he'd see some decent game time.

liamoo11
29/08/2014, 6:29 PM
That's pretty uninspiring... deflating even. TOWK won't like this one bit and I can't say I blame him this time. I suppose it should be regular football but a massive step down from Everton.

Had a quick read through an Everton message board and most seem pretty annoyed. A recurring theme seems to be that they have very little cover now and that, if they were going to sell anybody, it should have been Alcaraz.

That is a fantastic move for him. 1.5 million is alot of money for a lad with a few premier league appearences

Predator
29/08/2014, 6:49 PM
Thought with Everton's Europa League commitments there was a good chance he'd see some decent game time.
Even if he did manage a few Europa League appearances, it wouldn't have been near enough for a 22-year-old defender with aspirations of playing week in, week out. We have to remember that Duffy got his first real taste of first team football at 17 in the Europa League and he only really got a full competitive season under his belt last year. After that, he, understandably, wouldn't have been content with a handful of Europa League and League Cup matches.

If I'm not mistaken, he was heading into the final year of his contract and he won't earn his bread sitting in the stands.

Predator
29/08/2014, 6:54 PM
Hopefully he can follow in the footsteps of Robbie Brady, David Meyler et al by helping Blackburn back into the EPL.

DeLorean
29/08/2014, 7:33 PM
Yeah I didn't really mean a few token Europa games, I meant a more serious involvement generally due to their extra matches. There are always going to be injuries and suspensions as well so I just thought he'd get more of an opportunity to impress. Distin is superhuman but will turn 37 this season. Anyway, it is what it is, hope it works out well obviously.

29/08/2014, 10:06 PM
That is a fantastic move for him. 1.5 million is alot of money for a lad with a few premier league appearences
Ross McCormack has none and he cost £11 million.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2014, 1:28 PM
Shane Duffy on his move to Blackburn (https://twitter.com/ShaneDuffy34/statuses/506418958472585216):

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BwcpW9rCYAE51o7.jpg

WexCar
20/09/2014, 5:52 PM
Played full game in 1-0 away victory over Fulham (http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/29186870)

Predator
04/10/2014, 10:43 PM
MOTM v Huddersfield
http://www.whoscored.com/Matches/829998/Live

DeLorean
05/10/2014, 7:13 PM
Stones stretchered off today for Everton. With Distin out of favour I couldn't help feel that Duffy would definitely have got chances at Goodison this season. Ah well, at least he's performing well at Blackburn.

05/10/2014, 7:46 PM
I was thinking the same thing myself. Unfortunate timing for him, but I get the feeling Alcaraz would still have got the nod. Now there's a player picking up a decent paycheck for doing very little.

Predator
05/10/2014, 8:00 PM
In the long term Duffy is better away from Everton. No one can foresee when an injury crisis will hit and it would have been foolish to wait around in the off-chance it might occur, especially with offers of immediate first-team football on the table.

DeLorean
05/10/2014, 8:11 PM
I was thinking the same thing myself. Unfortunate timing for him, but I get the feeling Alcaraz would still have got the nod. Now there's a player picking up a decent paycheck for doing very little.

They would be highly unlikely to get out of jail with Alcaraz playing. He does not offer the maximum security his name suggests. :)

DeLorean
05/10/2014, 8:14 PM
In all seriousness though, I think Distin is more likely to step back in. Fair enough you can't foresee specific injuries Predator, but there was always a decent chance that they would occur. With Everton's busy schedule I'm convinced he would have got opportunities to climb the pecking order.

Predator
05/10/2014, 8:37 PM
In all seriousness though, I think Distin is more likely to step back in. Fair enough you can't foresee specific injuries Predator, but there was always a decent chance that they would occur. With Everton's busy schedule I'm convinced he would have got opportunities to climb the pecking order.Absolutely, there is no denying that the opportunities would have presented themselves over the course of a long season. I agree with that, but it's whether or not waiting around was the best thing to do, for despite doing well in pre-season, he wasn't even making the bench when the competitive matches rolled round, meaning he was at the very bottom of the pecking order rightly or wrongly. He would have risked further stagnation by staying at Goodison, whereas now he's more or less guaranteed competitive first-team action and is in a position to become the rock upon which a decent Championship side build their defence.

I would argue that he's better off being the main man in a Championship defence than a bit-part back-up for a leaky Premier League defence.

WexCar
04/11/2014, 7:51 PM
Shane Duffy gets his 1st goal of the season away to Millwall

the doc
04/11/2014, 8:11 PM
Shane Duffy gets his 1st goal of the season away to Millwall

That's the second bit of good news I've had today!!!!!!

Good lad Duffs, a much better prospect at CB than the blunder boys Wilson, Clark, Keogh and Pearce.

What did Arnie say???????

04/11/2014, 8:28 PM
Hasta la Vista?

DeLorean
04/11/2014, 9:20 PM
They still managed to throw away a 2-0 lead with an extra man.

the doc
04/11/2014, 10:24 PM
Hasta la Vista?
😄
Isn't that what, opposing forwards say to Willo and co?

Supreme feet
04/11/2014, 10:36 PM
😄
Isn't that what, opposing forwards say to Willo and co?

Poor Doc. Absolutely seething about the fact that Marc Wilson is not just gainfully employed, but established as an EPL centre-back, playing a key role in a team with the best defensive record outside the top six.

the doc
05/11/2014, 9:01 PM
Poor Doc. Absolutely seething about the fact that Marc Wilson is not just gainfully employed, but established as an EPL centre-back, playing a key role in a team with the best defensive record outside the top six.

Chilli out Supa Feta,

Just giving my honest opinion.

06/11/2014, 10:06 AM
Chilli out Supa Feta,

Just giving my honest opinion.

Ever thought of a career in football management? I reckon you'd do a good job.