McDonnell Cup final Confirmed
Snugboro V Conn Rangers 2pm Sunday Milebush

Followed by Touhy Cup Final
Claremorris v Erris B 4.30pm :ball:

why are both games on the same day?best of luck to all four teams involved

walshek
20/07/2009, 2:48 PM
Hi Lads

Has charlestown been hit with 6 point deduction?

sinabhuil
21/07/2009, 11:17 AM
I think it is long overdue for the league to issue an official table reflecting the up to date position with points deductions, etc..

walshek
21/07/2009, 11:29 AM
agreed. bit up in the air the whole thing. over half the league over and no league table. normally this would have been completed half way in the league.

rava
21/07/2009, 11:46 AM
No tables, clubs in SL and Premier wondering whats the story with promotion/ relegation, are Charlestown losing points?. More and more questions every week and still no answers. The league seem only interested in how many fines they can notch up in a season!.

walshek
21/07/2009, 11:56 AM
ageed rava. where is all the money going from fines? about 2 k every time and often more. heard from a few team that charlestown were going to lose 6 points and also moy villa issue with claremorris b is still not over. alot of team seem to be getting hit with major fines. moy villa got hit again with suspensions and fines + celtic getting fined for having fadded number?

yellowmonkey
21/07/2009, 12:13 PM
ageed rava. where is all the money going from fines? about 2 k every time and often more. heard from a few team that charlestown were going to lose 6 points and also moy villa issue with claremorris b is still not over. alot of team seem to be getting hit with major fines. moy villa got hit again with suspensions and fines + celtic getting fined for having fadded number?

Ive no problems with fines if thats the rules but theres absolutley no consistancey. If celtic got fined for faded numbers( Which is strange in this day and age) then as purplemonkey pointed out the state of Glenislands pitch, then they Should be Fined for a totally unplayable pitch. It all seems very "pick n Mix"

yellowmonkey
21/07/2009, 12:16 PM
No preview of McDonnell or Touhy Cups in any of the Locals?
Ah well, the advertiser should have somthing given their unrivalled local footie coverage :rolleyes::D

rava
21/07/2009, 1:11 PM
No preview of McDonnell or Touhy Cups in any of the Locals?
Ah well, the advertiser should have somthing given their unrivalled local footie coverage :rolleyes::D

Its up to the league to promote these finals, they do nothing whatsoever to promote the game itself within the county and for all their good work in getting facilities up to scratch, it matters little as football itself should be the most important issue. I am sure if this matter is raised again at the AGM Mr Quigley will ghost over it as usual.

purplemonkeydis
21/07/2009, 5:21 PM
i dont think i ever said that glenisland should be fined,just commented on how hard it is 2 play on

yellowmonkey
21/07/2009, 5:32 PM
i dont think i ever said that glenisland should be fined,just commented on how hard it is 2 play on

Sorry that came out wrong. I ment as you pointed out about the difficult pitch! :o

purplemonkeydis
21/07/2009, 9:08 PM
yellow monkey i see ye are favourites for the cup,according to the snugboro website.wat do you think?

yellowmonkey
22/07/2009, 9:19 AM
yellow monkey i see ye are favourites for the cup,according to the snugboro website.wat do you think?

Yes we would be purple. Given our league form, our previous cup runs and individuals super league apperances.But its only a tag! However, its much better for you guys to be labelled as outsiders as youve alot less pressure on you and you dont have to prove anything to anyone but yourselfs :)

On a different matter if both sides went to extra time or penalties we would deffinatley run into the Touhy Cup final at 4.30!! Theyve booked it very tight :confused:

purplemonkeydis
22/07/2009, 10:14 AM
bit early to go counting your league points

yellowmonkey
22/07/2009, 12:11 PM
bit early to go counting your league points

No i didnt say league points, i said form. Form is the consideration of goals for, goals against, away and home form. Im being completely statistical here purple. My own opinion would be that its the best team on the day but if the bookies wanted to get odds it would done on statistics and thus we wud be favorites thats all Im saying. But again its a different story on the day!
That explain it a little better :) ??

purplemonkeydis
22/07/2009, 12:19 PM
While im not arguing with you favorites tag i would question ur form in comparison to ares,not that it matters as i think form will go out the window

couchpotato
22/07/2009, 12:24 PM
Couchpotato.............................27
Minivan man..............................22
Purplemonkeydis, Footymad..........21
Sprah1,....................................19
Murphsjewels.............................17

*Bonus Point for correct score of cup final; Snugboro V Conn Rangers*

purplemonkeydis
22/07/2009, 3:14 PM
Claremorris B v Charlestown Darw

minivan man
22/07/2009, 10:09 PM
claremorris b v charlestown= home, cup final= snugboro b 2-0 conn rangers.:)

sprah1
22/07/2009, 11:06 PM
claremorris B v Chastown = Away

Snugboro B 3 Conn 1

couchpotato
23/07/2009, 8:55 AM
Claremorris 'B' V Charlestown ......0-3

Sngboro 'B' 1-0 Conn Rangers

murphs jewels
23/07/2009, 11:45 AM
Claremorris 'B' V Charlestown 2-3 will be tight, we plagued with injuries
Sngboro 'B' 1-3 Conn Rangers. Conn far better side

etoo
23/07/2009, 9:01 PM
Best of luck to the Boro at the weekend. Going for a 3 nil win with the boro finally getting it sorted up top.

Boro86
24/07/2009, 8:42 PM
Best Of Luck To Boro On Sunday!

robroy
25/07/2009, 2:58 PM
Best Of Luck To Boro On Sunday!
Best of luck Boro

purplemonkeydis
25/07/2009, 7:40 PM
not long now,nerves will start kikin in:)

Footy Mad
25/07/2009, 10:11 PM
Snugboro 2, Conn Rangers 1

hoop4life
26/07/2009, 6:28 PM
conn rangers won 2-1

swinfordfc
26/07/2009, 8:11 PM
conn rangers won 2-1

Congrats to Conn Rangers

purplemonkeydis
27/07/2009, 11:19 AM
tanks swinford,it was a great win,were all very delited with the win and i think it was a great game which we dominated and deserved our win,any objections?

sprah1
27/07/2009, 4:46 PM
tanks swinford,it was a great win,were all very delited with the win and i think it was a great game which we dominated and deserved our win,any objections?

Saw both finals yesterday...ye Conn fully deserving, a real peach of a goal to win it. not much between the premier and div 2 based on the teams on show yesterday. Fair play to conn supporters, turned out in great numbers..

murphs jewels
27/07/2009, 5:04 PM
Well done to conn they dominated as we predicted very good side boro were no match for them

28/07/2009, 9:48 AM
Well done to Conn Rangers. Deserved it on the day.

purplemonkeydis
28/07/2009, 10:14 PM
tanks joe,great game to play in.the league game in 2 weeks will probably be a bit of an anti climax now although it is important too.

yellowmonkey
28/07/2009, 11:27 PM
Conn Rangers far better side. That Colm Donnellan lad was on fire. Is it true he was playing Gaa up untill about 2 years ago he started playing footie ?

yellowmonkey
28/07/2009, 11:31 PM
Just to clear some things up. All players on Charlestowns books have played with this club since underage. It is at our request that the fixtures are posponed due to names submitted to the mayo league and them in turn asking us not to play certain players. We have asked for our games to be postponed until all matters are resolved and not be forced to play without a full squad. Once again i invite anybody to view our registeration books for the last number of years and see its the same players year in year out, but apparently someone took a hiding from us and went home crying and decided to derail our season. Well done to you.

Well Pinochio........ ye got found out in the end ;)

Phoenix
29/07/2009, 8:35 AM
Hi Lads. On hols for a few days and I can't find a result for the Claremorris V Charlestown game. Should have been a cracker. Can anybody enlighten me please.

Well done to Conn Rangers on winning the cup. Was rooting for Snugboro after they beat us on peno's but it was good to hear that there was no difference in the standard of football between Div 1 and Div 2. :ball:

29/07/2009, 9:23 AM
Hi Lads. On hols for a few days and I can't find a result for the Claremorris V Charlestown game. Should have been a cracker. Can anybody enlighten me please.

Well done to Conn Rangers on winning the cup. Was rooting for Snugboro after they beat us on peno's but it was good to hear that there was no difference in the standard of football between Prem and Div 2. :ball:
Game postponed, pitch unplayable.

sprah1
29/07/2009, 1:08 PM
Game postponed, pitch unplayable.

Not quite the full story from what I hear............

walshek
29/07/2009, 1:13 PM
go on yellow monkey spill the beans. have you heard some hot news on the Charlestown saga? by the way has anyone seen a a offical league table from the mayo league on any division

couchpotato
29/07/2009, 2:45 PM

it keeps getting better and better....................

swinfordfc
29/07/2009, 4:10 PM
connacht telegraph ..... at last the table ...... charlestown has lost 6 pts and thus are now on 17 pts with the claremorris game to be play on thurs night ......

29/07/2009, 4:21 PM
connacht telegraph ..... at last the table ...... charlestown has lost 6 pts and thus are now on 17 pts with the claremorris game to be play on thurs night ......
Claremorris game isn't Thursday as they are playing Achill.

achillrover
29/07/2009, 4:28 PM
indeed they are and by the looks of the mayo news it looks like we might even have official linesmen......

walshek
29/07/2009, 6:21 PM
where did the 6 come from? what about all the game they played untill this was noticed? also was this information in the displinery email? did not see it

Phoenix
29/07/2009, 9:30 PM

Can you help to fill in the gaps in the story Sprah1?? Is there a can of beans that need spilling.......:confused:

swinfordfc
29/07/2009, 10:03 PM
Claremorris game isn't Thursday as they are playing Achill.

sorry joe - you are right its coming up the following thursday - sorry again

swinfordfc
29/07/2009, 10:05 PM
its only covers the game that their were caught in - so they lose the 3 pts against conn rangers (conn rangers now received these points) and charlestown lose another 3 pts for playing these players ..... thats the end of the matter ..... the 2 players involved are banned for a month as far as i know ...

sprah1
29/07/2009, 10:31 PM
its only covers the game that their were caught in - so they lose the 3 pts against conn rangers (conn rangers now received these points) and charlestown lose another 3 pts for playing these players ..... thats the end of the matter ..... the 2 players involved are banned for a month as far as i know ...

The question raised was, did the illegal players play in any of the 5 matches prior to June 7th against Conn. Surely the league have checked this??or have they?? Simple question of looking at the match cards...if something is brought to the leagues attention they have a duty to check back and confirm legality in previous matches....or do the clubs they played have to query? The league should confirm that these players only played in ONE match..