View Full Version : Mayo Premier Division 2009

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

juan pablo
11/01/2009, 7:58 PM
Its a bit early maybe but just curious as to what preparations the other clubs are making ahead of the new season?

Are any clubs back training yet??

Cloggs
12/01/2009, 6:30 PM
any word on who made any of the teams of the year?

Footy Mad
12/01/2009, 6:51 PM
Teams were emailed to all clubs today - here is the Premier Div Team Of The Year:

Danny Kirby-Castlebar Celtic,

Willie Monaghan-Kilmore, Michael Costello- Straide & Foxford Utd, Joe Keane-Fahy Rovers, Ashley Atkinson - Straide & Foxford Utd,

Patrick Gilbert - Kilmore, Gerry Gaughan - Straide & Foxford Utd, Alan McDonnell - & Foxford Utd, Gary Goggins - Fahy Rovers,

Paul Fitzpatrick - Straide & Foxford Utd, Johnny Jordan - Straide & Foxford Utd.

Footy Mad
12/01/2009, 6:58 PM
Super League Team Of The Year

James Jennings - Manulla,

Tom O’Connor - Ballina Town, Peter Burke -Ballyheane, Declan Flynn - Castlebar Celtic, Joe Lawless - Westport united,

David Cameron - Westport United, Stevie Gavin - Snugboro, Gary Grant - Ballina Town, Andy Neary - Castlebar Celtic.

Sean McHale -Castlebar Celtic, Dessie O’Malley - Westport United

Footy Mad
12/01/2009, 7:00 PM
Division 1 Team Of The Year

Shane Nallen - Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’

John Gill - Kiltimagh/Knock Utd, Noel Cooney - Achill Rovers, Tom Gruddy -Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’, Mark Ginnelly - Inver Utd.

Dean Connolly - Ballyglass, Colm English -Achill Rovers, Ross Kenny - Ballina Town ‘B’, Gary Brett - Ballyglass

Alan Coyle -Inver Utd, Krzysztof Tablonski - Achill Rovers

Footy Mad
12/01/2009, 7:21 PM
Division 2 Team Of The Year

Martin Staunton - Clew Bay Utd.

Jonathan Beckett - Clew Bay Utd, Johnny O’Donnell -Mulranny Utd, David Maye -Cross Celtic, Enda Shield - Snugboro Utd. ‘B’

Barry Redmond -Castlebar Celtic ‘C’, Charlie O’Donnell - Mulranny Utd, Noel Mullen -Cross Celtic, Tommy Gill - Clew Bay Utd.

Johnny Oosten -Ballyheane ‘B’, Ronan Glynn - Glenisland Utd.

FahyForever
13/01/2009, 1:44 AM
Teams were emailed to all clubs today - here is the Premier Div Team Of The Year:

Willie Monaghan-Kilmore, Michael Costello- Straide & Foxford Utd, Joe Keane-Fahy Rovers, Ashley Atkinson - Straide & Foxford Utd,

Patrick Gilbert - Kilmore, Gerry Gaughan - Straide & Foxford Utd, Alan McDonnell - & Foxford Utd, Gary Goggins - Fahy Rovers,

Paul Fitzpatrick - Straide & Foxford Utd, Johnny Jordan - Straide & Foxford Utd.

What do people think of that team? It seems that the promoted teams took serious precedent.. I know that S+F deserved to get the lions share but Iīd say that Castlebar Celtic B and Westport B fancied something more considering they both finished ahead of Fahy and Kilmore. Delighted to see two Fahy players there anyway, especially Joe Keane, who deserved it last year too. I think Gary has made divisional teams about three or four times now, so well done to him as well for consistently high performances over the seven years we are up and running.

Has anyone got suggestions for people who may deserve an honorable mention from their club or any other in the division last season?

I was impressed with the Westport B Right back, think his name is Ray Kelly?? Still in school and really solid. Greg Reape might consider himself hard done by too..

Also, fair play to Johnny Beckett who got named on the division two team for Clew Bay, he might be persuaded to come to a higher level yet!! ;)

The Don
13/01/2009, 9:36 AM
What do people think of that team? It seems that the promoted teams took serious precedent..

Partry got promoted and has no player on the team.:eek:

the grape vine
13/01/2009, 10:06 AM
do players get any award for for making these teams ?

rava
13/01/2009, 10:09 AM
Partry got promoted and has no player on the team.:eek:

That seems strange. Maybe ye didnt deserve one;). I see Achill had 3 & Inver had 2. Who picked these teams or were the names pulled out of a hat.

Kilmore Fan
13/01/2009, 10:09 AM
Nice to see we got two, but it would also be nice if they got the names right. Willie, ha, ha. :D Yep you sure do get a prize. You get a nice certificate.:D

walshek
13/01/2009, 10:52 AM
lads sometimes you would wonder where these team come from. 2 years ago a player was named on the super league team of the year. the lad played 7 games for his club and was taken off at half time 7 times. intresting

kingkong
13/01/2009, 12:31 PM
Has anyone got suggestions for people who may deserve an honorable mention from their club or any other in the division last season?

I suppose you would have to put in joe keanes smaller brother an peter drevins and mark towey of castlebar celtic.

FahyForever
13/01/2009, 2:25 PM

I suppose you would have to put in joe keanes smaller brother an peter drevins and mark towey of castlebar celtic.

Dont know Mark Towey but would agree with Tomas Keane and Peter Drevins...

Ranger
13/01/2009, 2:35 PM
lads sometimes you would wonder where these team come from. 2 years ago a player was named on the super league team of the year. the lad played 7 games for his club and was taken off at half time 7 times. intresting

Wow, he must've been some player!!!!!!!!!!!
Is he still playing????????

Cloggs
13/01/2009, 2:40 PM
fully agree that reape from s and f should have been on the team as i felt that he really held the line together.anything that costello missed he swept up.arguably their player of the season in my opinion,possibly in the division.but as always teams will feel that they've been hard done by and that they've a player or two that should be on the team.haven't a clue how the teams are picked-does every team nominate a few lads in the division?

theboy
13/01/2009, 3:32 PM

As far as i know its the ref's that pick them teams and maybe the reports that do be at the games.

with regards to the team s&f deserve as many players as possible on the team, ive seen them play alot last year between cup finals etc, i thought there keeper and that reape lad should have been on it, but next year will be a different story for them. but danny kirby had a good year as well. gary goggins also had a very good year. all in all i think the team looks the part.

all ye need now is a one day special, super league team vs premier team of the year!!!!!!

Bestie
13/01/2009, 10:34 PM
I wonder who that might be. Seeing that you have the facts of the player in question, he must be from your club or either that you saw that team playing on all those occasions, even the away games. Maybe you should name the player.

robben 11
14/01/2009, 1:47 PM

Its crazy Craig Reape isnt on the team of the year.. Very consistent and solid all year and i hear he has continued that form for Galway United..

GoodFootball
14/01/2009, 4:17 PM
Its crazy Craig Reape isnt on the team of the year.. Very consistent and solid all year and i hear he has continued that form for Galway United..

fair play to him if he's on Galway united team didn't think he was gonna be on team of year though.

Best player not on that team is colin Napier who plays left back for fahy. He was outstanding all year.

Refs pick these teams so fair reflection cause f all others watch all games :)

theboy
15/01/2009, 9:20 AM

have to agree, seen ye play a few times this year and that reape lad looked good enough to make the team of the year. fairplay to him for making that step up to galway.

Cloggs
15/01/2009, 1:34 PM
have to agree, seen ye play a few times this year and that reape lad looked good enough to make the team of the year. fairplay to him for making that step up to galway.

what age is he?did he sign with a view of making the 1st team or to play with the u-20 team and try and go on from there?fair play to him

theboy
15/01/2009, 3:19 PM
what age is he?did he sign with a view of making the 1st team or to play with the u-20 team and try and go on from there?fair play to him

not sure what age he is, im sayin 19/20. like alot of the other lads that left mayo over the past few months there playin with the u20's and seen what happens after that.

hardcore
19/01/2009, 3:21 PM
fair play to him if he's on Galway united team didn't think he was gonna be on team of year though.

Best player not on that team is colin Napier who plays left back for fahy. He was outstanding all year.

Refs pick these teams so fair reflection cause f all others watch all games :)

I was thinking that it had to be refs! That makes sense. either way, fair play to everyone selected:ball:

juan pablo
06/02/2009, 3:19 PM
Any Premier Division Teams back training yet??

swinfordfc
06/02/2009, 3:21 PM
Any Premier Division Teams back training yet??

are ye back in the green yet?

juan pablo
06/02/2009, 3:27 PM
First training is this Sunday, how about ye?

hoop4life
06/02/2009, 5:38 PM
celtic c team (will probably now become the b team and play in the prem. div. seen as a team probably entering the a league) have been training for about a month now with over 30 players at training most nights. beat partry 2nil in a friendly last week

Cloggs
08/02/2009, 11:58 AM
all games involving mayo teams have been called off today.hopefully the weather will clear up for the oscar traynor game against the aul next weekend

sinabhuil
10/02/2009, 4:51 PM

Good appointment by Ballinrobe. The Connolly, Ryan and Keane trio have a lot of experience between them and they have played at a fair level themselves. As a South Mayo native it would be great to see them in the Super League playing attractive football. I think all in Ballinrobe would like to see a more youthfull look to the team. I know that a lot of very handy players have gone through Ballinrobe at underage level and these need to be encouraged. Good luck lads.

sinabhuil
10/02/2009, 4:52 PM

I understand you are playing Cross on Sunday afternoon.

juan pablo
10/02/2009, 11:13 PM
I understand you are playing Cross on Sunday afternoon.

I just heard we had a challenge match but did not know who, should be a good run out for both teams. Great achievment for Cross Celtic to be involved in Division 1 this year. I see you have a new website up and running, fair play. I am currently trying to upgrade our own but finding it hard to make time, but expect to have it ready before the new season.

sinabhuil
11/02/2009, 8:55 AM
We did not get promoted last year. Maybe next year.:o

Fish-Head
11/02/2009, 9:07 AM
You not gonna bother giving it a go this year? ;)

sinabhuil
11/02/2009, 10:28 AM
Sorry still in hibernation! Has 2009 started?

Cloggs
16/02/2009, 12:28 PM
did anyone play a friendly game over the weekend?

theboy
16/02/2009, 1:31 PM
when are this years fixtures out??

Shilts
17/02/2009, 9:32 AM
Any info on Erris Utd? Are they a good side? They can't be bad if they are the only Mayo side left in the FAI Jun Cup :ball:

swinfordfc
18/02/2009, 9:07 AM
Division 3 is confirmed for the mayo league due to be start in April

NoelM
18/02/2009, 11:43 AM
Division 3 is confirmed for the mayo league due to be start in April

Have they decided for definite that the top 5 from last years 2A and 2B will be in div 2 and the rest in div 3?

Cloggs
18/02/2009, 12:05 PM
i heard that each club are to put down a list of their players onto a website for the upcoming season.however i don't think that any other team other than themselves can look up this list to see if a player is registered with a particular team or not!bit of a waste of time surely??!!what would be the point of this?

FahyForever
18/02/2009, 1:33 PM
Have they decided for definite that the top 5 from last years 2A and 2B will be in div 2 and the rest in div 3?

I honestly think that if they do just put the two top five teams in the second division and the two bottom five teams in the third itīs an absolute disgrace. You canīt just relegate a handful of teams without prior warning! Well, unless you abuse a position of power. Can anyone verify Renovatorīs claim that the division 3 teams will no longer be able to play in the cup competitions outside of Mayo?

juan pablo
19/02/2009, 5:48 PM
Could someone please list the teams that will be in the Premier Division this year??

FahyForever
19/02/2009, 6:38 PM
Lets see..

Ballinrobe, Claremorris and Bangor came down, Westport B, Castlebar B stay where they are.

Mulranny came up.. who else?

Crossmolina, Swinford, Manulla B?

Even if thats right, which it probably isnīt, thereīs still one missing. On reflection, I may not have been the man for this job... :o

FahyForever
19/02/2009, 6:47 PM
Urlaur?

hoop4life
19/02/2009, 7:05 PM
Could someone please list the teams that will be in the Premier Division this year??

celtic b, manulla b, westport b, ballinrobe, claremorris, bangor, swinford, crossmolina.
i'm nearly sure that erris b came up along with mulranny or partry or killala??? not too sure about that.

theboy
19/02/2009, 7:10 PM
there's a very high chance of one of the B teams finishing in the top 2, so possibly no teams goin up to the SL and none coming down... would this be right??

FahyForever
19/02/2009, 7:41 PM
I remember hearing about plans for that change in rules but was not aware it had gone through! Anyone know for sure?

Footy Mad
19/02/2009, 9:32 PM
celtic b, manulla b, westport b, ballinrobe, claremorris, bangor, swinford, crossmolina.
i'm nearly sure that erris b came up along with mulranny or partry or killala??? not too sure about that.

It was Erris B and Partry that got promoted

FahyForever
20/02/2009, 2:24 PM
Ok... so itīs;

Ballinrobe
Claremorris
Bangor Hibs
Westport B
Castlebar B
Erris B
Manulla B
Swinford
Crossmolina
Partry

We have played almost all those teams in the past year or two and I think itīs really tough to call this division. Teams coming down from the top flight have varying degrees of sucess in the Premier but I think the three this year will be in contention again. Westport B could well be the team to split them, they have a very young squad and play really nice, passing football. As for the other end of the tableI have no idea really, only that Celtic īCī, as it were, may struggle. Although I read here that they have a huge squad training at the moment so who knows. Would like to see Partry do well, they are a sound bunch of lads. With the B teams ineligible to go up and the new rule that nobody in 3rd, 4th etc allowed to get promoted, teams in danger of relegation from the Super League will be hoping for a B team one/two in this division!! Best of luck to all involved anyway.