View Full Version : Mayo Premier Division 2009

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

ExCiTeD
20/02/2009, 2:25 PM
I remember hearing about plans for that change in rules but was not aware it had gone through! Anyone know for sure?
in a circular i got from mayo league it stated that if 2 b teams finish top two in premier then they dont get promoted and it is at the descression of the mayo league whether bottom two from super league get relegated. they may relegate them and have only 8 in super league following season.thats what it said!!!!!!

FahyForever
20/02/2009, 2:42 PM
So a typically definite response from the Mayo League. Surely it should either be one way or the other?

Actually, come to think of it, their thinking may be sensible enough. If, for example, Kilmore were second from bottom of the league and Westport B second from top of the Premier by miles.... Kilmore could decide to play a second team against Erris, say, on the last day of the season, safe in the knowledge that they could not go down.

I think the league must have put in that stipulation to ensure no unsporting behaviour took place My guess is that the two relegated teams would not go down if B teams came first and second in the Premier, but they canīt say that advertently.

By the way. . those examples were random! No offence to Kilmore/Erris etc!!!

hoop4life
20/02/2009, 3:03 PM
IMO, b teams should be allowed promotion. they have been good enough to win promotion, so they should get a crack at super league.
in the premier division last year, both westport b and celtic b tore kilmore apart.
also, celtic b beat both fahy and s &f (the only game they lost in the league all year).
as it happens, celtic b have got the chance to play in super league, but i think that if westport b or manulla b or erris b finish in the top two, they should be given the chance to play in the super league.

theboy
20/02/2009, 4:11 PM
IMO, b teams should be allowed promotion. they have been good enough to win promotion, so they should get a crack at super league.
in the premier division last year, both westport b and celtic b tore kilmore apart.
also, celtic b beat both fahy and s &f (the only game they lost in the league all year).
as it happens, celtic b have got the chance to play in super league, but i think that if westport b or manulla b or erris b finish in the top two, they should be given the chance to play in the super league.

they might be able to hold there own in the SL but the thing would be say, the last game of the season westport A play westport B, with westport A needing 3 points to win the league or the other way if the B team needed 3 points or they would go down if there 1st team had the league won at that stage..

hoop4life
20/02/2009, 5:10 PM
they might be able to hold there own in the SL but the thing would be say, the last game of the season westport A play westport B, with westport A needing 3 points to win the league or the other way if the B team needed 3 points or they would go down if there 1st team had the league won at that stage..

fair point, but its only fair that they get a chance. there are alot of stipulations and we probably won't have to deal with them as the mayo league more than likely won't allow it. theres pros and cons whatever way you look at it.

juan pablo
05/03/2009, 1:46 AM
I see Ballinrobe Town got Erris 'B' in the tuohy cup at home!!

Wont be long till the season starts, how are clubs fixed for it??

Northern Gale
05/03/2009, 11:48 AM
There is alot of talk about clubs missing players this year due to the dirty R word. how is everyone fixed??????????

Northern Gale
05/03/2009, 4:49 PM
quick question . Does anyone know for sure if a super league team is relegated down to the premier league and that club already has a team in the premier league will that mean the premier league team will get relegated? even though the premier team may have enough points to stay in that league or even win it, or will the super league team get relegated two divisions?

couchpotato
05/03/2009, 5:36 PM
quick question . Does anyone know for sure if a super league team is relegated down to the premier league and that club already has a team in the premier league will that mean the premier league team will get relegated? even though the premier team may have enough points to stay in that league or even win it, or will the super league team get relegated two divisions?

If an A team drops a division and there is already a B team competing in that division, then they must automatically drop a division regardless of points attained,

unless they finish in the top two, im not sure what would happen there

Cloggs
05/03/2009, 6:07 PM
on what date does the league kick off?

Northern Gale
05/03/2009, 7:29 PM
Premier League Kick offs in Sun April 5th
Super League is the weekend of the 23rd/24th May

Cloggs
06/03/2009, 2:48 PM
cheers for that.do all the other leagues kick off the same date as the premier division?

Northern Gale
06/03/2009, 4:54 PM
I assume so as at the Mayo League workshop held last year, they only stated that the Super League could start at a different date because their cup continues into the following year

swinfordfc
09/03/2009, 1:43 PM
Lads,

Any results of friendlies over the weekend?

GoodFootball
09/03/2009, 4:09 PM
Lads,

Any results of friendlies over the weekend?

Fahy 1-1 Swinford

Good run out for us, we have a bit to go fitness wise but played some nce football at times. A good 8 weeks to go until SL though...

Swinford looking better than last year and could be in with a shout in the promotion stakes if they keep it together :ball:

FahyForever
09/03/2009, 4:12 PM
Fahy 1-1 Swinford

Good run out for us, we have a bit to go fitness wise but played some nce football at times. A good 8 weeks to go until SL though...

Swinford looking better than last year and could be in with a shout in the promotion stakes if they keep it together :ball:

Agree with that. Was very impressed with the Swinford number 12, classy looking midfielder. Has he been with ye for long? Donīt remember him from previous encounters with ye..

Fish-Head
09/03/2009, 6:54 PM
Claremorris 1 - 3 Celtic B

Bandit
09/03/2009, 6:58 PM
[quote=FahyForever;1119426]Agree with that. Was very impressed with the Swinford number 12, classy looking midfielder. Has he been with ye for long? Donīt remember him from previous encounters with ye..[/quote

Was not at game but i would say it was prob Gordie Carter,class player celtic were after him but he stayed with us instead..I heard our boys played well against a good strong fahy,we were missing 6 first teamers to a stag so should be good comp for places for next game. Did ye have all yer lads or were ye missing a few as well.

hoop4life
09/03/2009, 7:25 PM
celtic super league squad beat ballyvary 8-3 yesterday in celtic astroturf. good work out for celtic, first time out together. russell gibbons back and amongst the goals. barry mcloughlin back aswell and also a new centre half playing from donegal. looked the part. celtic missing a few, new keeper coming for sl squad was missing and a few of the youths that played saturday were not playing because of knocks.

Northern Gale
09/03/2009, 9:29 PM
Claremorris 1 - 3 Celtic B[/quote]

Great run out for Celtic B having already beaten Claremorris in the home fixture. Celtic were missing a few starters but overall it was a great squad performance. Thanks to Claremorris for their hospitality

walshek
10/03/2009, 7:22 AM
very strong wind in claremorris. the 3rd goal was a master strick. but the goal keeper told me he never seen a ball to move in the air so much :)

Fish-Head
10/03/2009, 9:36 AM
Well I think he's having you on there because it was a clean strike and straight as an arrow with a lot of power!!

Northern Gale
10/03/2009, 3:40 PM
Well I think he's having you on there because it was a clean strike and straight as an arrow with a lot of power!!

I would prob agree with Fish-head on this one as the keeper in the 2nd half seemed very incompetent. I think there may have been a case for a dope test on him

walshek
10/03/2009, 7:18 PM
lads from the position i was in he had a pair of rugby boots and hit it with the top of his toe. would agree with the dope test. but at least he filled the goal :)

Northern Gale
10/03/2009, 9:13 PM
Are you saying the ref did not do his job? I think you need to send John a wee mail about that.
Nah the keeper was just as bad as 50% of the managment team i am afraid, and i dont mean the Finn Harps Fan

irishyop
10/03/2009, 9:49 PM
very strong wind in claremorris. the 3rd goal was a master strick. but the goal keeper told me he never seen a ball to move in the air so much :)

Them new balls are a killer, from my aerial view I think the keeper full lenght dive was very close to the ball, but due to the wonderful swerve put on it and the power by the Celtic star then I think no keeper would save it.

Good game though, fair play to Claremorris for hosting it, cat weather. :)

Claremorris2000
11/03/2009, 10:40 AM
Hello all, my name is Trevor Harris and I used to play for Claremorris between 2000-2002.
I just wanted to get abit of info off you all as to how they are getting on,This is a great website as previously all the info I have found was from the online western people.

I loved playing for claremorris and my time in the mayo league.Many a happy memory of going to places like ballavary and achill. Incidently I scored 2 absolute blinders against castlebar celtic B in a 2-2 draw at our place one yr.

Anyway any help will be greatly appreiciated and best of luck for the forthcoming season

Cheers

FahyForever
11/03/2009, 11:12 AM
Trevor, Claremorris were relegated from the Super League (the top division) last season and so will be playing in the Premier Division this one. I suggest you check out soccerbot.com, go to mayo league section and take a look. Even though they stopped updating it a couple of seasons ago, it shows all the results, scorers and league positions for 3 seasons or so. You will probably recognise a few names! All the best..

irishyop
11/03/2009, 11:55 AM
Good man Trevor, you dont fancy been sub goalie for Claremorris? I hear that they shipped the sub keeper from last Sunday to Cheltenham in the hope of a free tranqulizer ;)

***only kidding sub keeper :) ***

Claremorris2000
11/03/2009, 1:18 PM
Haha nothing would please me more than to put on the green and white again(maybe not goalie tho)

Unfortuneatly I am based in hereford now and it would be a hell of a commute 3times a week.haha

By the looks of things Claremorris have had a successful time since I left them playing in the 1st division. I think the goals of derek glynn have had alot to do with that tho.He was just starting out in claremorris when I was leaving.

So whats your hopes for the forthcoming season lads, apologies fathyforever I dont even know what league u play in and how do you think claremorris will get on?

I remember Claremorris always having very good goalies in Johnie and brendan English so hopefully its neither of them on the way to chelthenham!

Northern Gale
11/03/2009, 1:20 PM
Good man Trevor, you dont fancy been sub goalie for Claremorris? I hear that they shipped the sub keeper from last Sunday to Cheltenham in the hope of a free tranqulizer ;)

***only kidding sub keeper :) ***

Actually Cheltenham rejected him and he is on his way to the glue factory as we speak. Perhaps he will be able to catch something after this

walshek
11/03/2009, 1:23 PM
such abuse on a wen morning. trev check out www.claremorrisafc.com (http://www.claremorrisafc.com). get web site and always good information up there. good goal keeper course up there as well

walshek
11/03/2009, 1:24 PM
lads any sign of fixtures

Claremorris2000
11/03/2009, 1:36 PM
thanks alot walshek,
the website is great, actually about 8 of the players are still the same lads as I played with including Antony Barry who was the manager back then and is now a sub.haha
He must be getting on abit.

You know what lads this is bring back so many brilliant memorys I am half tempted to go back for the summer for one last season. I was doing a 1yr teacher training course over here but have just quit it(I hate kids,haha). I'm only living in hereford with my girlfriend so have no real ties to the area.

Is there a final signing on date for the season?

God am I mad to be thinking about this? haha

irishyop
11/03/2009, 2:12 PM
thanks alot walshek,
the website is great, actually about 8 of the players are still the same lads as I played with including Antony Barry who was the manager back then and is now a sub.haha
He must be getting on abit.

You know what lads this is bring back so many brilliant memorys I am half tempted to go back for the summer for one last season. I was doing a 1yr teacher training course over here but have just quit it(I hate kids,haha). I'm only living in hereford with my girlfriend so have no real ties to the area.

Is there a final signing on date for the season?

God am I mad to be thinking about this? haha

Give that beur the boot lad and get down playing soccer. They are awful muckers there in Headford :D

Just think of the benefits, beer, football, fitness, ladies idolising you in Claremorris, getting up early on a Sunday morning
As opposed to desperate houswives, home and away, "does my arse look big in this or is it the dress is too small for my arse" :)

Dont worry if you do come back, we will be very gentle with you when you visit us in Celtic Park.

Glue factory...... dont know about that. :p

walshek
11/03/2009, 2:17 PM
training on tonight at the claremorris astro pitch at 7 for fat lad team.

Claremorris2000
11/03/2009, 2:38 PM
training on tonight at the claremorris astro pitch at 7 for fat lad team.

Whats the "fat lad team" or is it some sort of derogitory term for claremorris afc

Na my girlfriend would'nt come over,she has a job lookily for her and i'd be living nr ballyhaunis with the folk's.

Any idea's when cut off is for registration for the season

cheers

Northern Gale
11/03/2009, 2:40 PM
[quote=irishyop;1120741]Give that beur the boot lad and get down playing soccer. They are awful muckers there in Headford :D

Just think of the benefits, beer, football, fitness, ladies idolising you in Claremorris, getting up early on a Sunday morning
As opposed to desperate houswives, home and away, "does my arse look big in this or is it the dress is too small for my arse" :)

Dont worry if you do come back, we will be very gentle with you when you visit us in Celtic Park.

Glue factory...... dont know about that. :p[/

Gentle and Celtic Park in the one sentance what a laugh.
Where does that fella play. Come to celtic park i hear the premier side are looking for a few good men

Northern Gale
11/03/2009, 2:42 PM
+ u can bring the wife if yeah want

walshk a friend of ours with the long grey hair just had another sprog. All is good in the hood too

juan pablo
12/03/2009, 12:41 PM
Pre-Season Friendly Result - Wednesday 11th March.

Ballinrobe Town 3 - 1 Ballyglass.

Paul Burke Memorial Cup Final this Sunday 15th March against Cross Celtic @ 3 p.m.

NoelM
12/03/2009, 1:53 PM
Pre-Season Friendly Result - Wednesday 11th March.

Ballinrobe Town 3 - 1 Ballyglass.

Paul Burke Memorial Cup Final this Sunday 15th March against Cross Celtic @ 3 p.m.

Hope we can give you guys a decent game, we're short about 4 players.

juan pablo
12/03/2009, 2:16 PM
Hope we can give you guys a decent game, we're short about 4 players.

From my experience of playing ye a month ago, ye have a fairly decent team, playing on Grass rather than Astro Turf makes a huge difference. All in all it should be a good game and a good day out Noel.

yellowmonkey
13/03/2009, 10:06 AM
A pair of runners where taken wednesday nite from the dressing rooms at Milebush round the time of the Ballinrobe V Ballyglass game. Im not blaming anyone and dont care about the runners but there was very expensive Orthepedic insoles in them that are no good to anyone but the owner. If anyone there wednesday nite could shed any light on them id appreciate it or just leave the insoles back to milebush and keep the bloody runners thanks :(

juan pablo
13/03/2009, 11:29 AM
A pair of runners where taken wednesday nite from the dressing rooms at Milebush round the time of the Ballinrobe V Ballyglass game. Im not blaming anyone and dont care about the runners but there was very expensive Orthepedic insoles in them that are no good to anyone but the owner. If anyone there wednesday nite could shed any light on them id appreciate it or just leave the insoles back to milebush and keep the bloody runners thanks :(

I wasn't there myself on Wednesday evening but i will ask our own lads tonight at training and let you know, if they were taken by one of ours it would have been by accident.

Northern Gale
13/03/2009, 12:59 PM
I wasn't there myself on Wednesday evening but i will ask our own lads tonight at training and let you know, if they were taken by one of ours it would have been by accident.

i lost a donegal hoodie in westport three years ago, can anyone find it for me please

sprah1
15/03/2009, 8:39 PM
i lost a donegal hoodie in westport three years ago, can anyone find it for me please

To assist enquiries, was that a person or a top?

Northern Gale
16/03/2009, 8:20 PM
To assist enquiries, was that a person or a top?

very apt in present climate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Northern Gale
16/03/2009, 8:21 PM
to assist enquiries, was that a person or a top?

lol ;);)

Northern Gale
18/03/2009, 1:27 PM
Chadwicks Cup Draw

Westport A Vs Castlebar Celtic B what an easy draw for us. How did the rest of use fair out?

walshek
18/03/2009, 2:09 PM
kilmore v claremorris b. long road trip. good few pubs on the way back. :)