View Full Version : Mayo Premier Division 2009
Pages :
[
9]
swinfordfc
04/09/2009, 1:16 PM
Well you would expect wins for Swinford Wesport & Erris.
Claremorris won the cup and are a tough team at home, Westport and Party is a local derby - form goes out the window hence the same with Erris - hope that helps :D
Ok I understand now thanks.:D
Naturally1
04/09/2009, 1:22 PM
Not if you had seen any of them play recently you wouldnt!
Bangor and Erris are probably on a par and its a derby game
Partry were 2-0 up against Westport and crusing before conceding 2 goals in 30 seconds and look the best footballing side in the leak albeit with a leaky defense
Swinford are lightweight and were always going to struggle against a more physical Claremorris side
So no - bar looking at the points table in isoltaion you wouldnt expect that!!!!
Bandit
04/09/2009, 8:28 PM
Just heard at training Ballinrobe v Swinford game is off due to Ballinrobe pitch not available..
juan pablo
05/09/2009, 1:55 PM
Just heard at training Ballinrobe v Swinford game is off due to Ballinrobe pitch not available..
Yep, The Agricultural Show is taking place on our facilities this weekend so that is the reason for it.
Postponements are piling up :O
Partry were 2-0 up against Westport and crusing before conceding 2 goals in 30 seconds and look the best footballing side in the leak albeit with a leaky defense
Swinford are lightweight and were always going to struggle against a more physical Claremorris side
So no - bar looking at the points table in isoltaion you wouldnt expect that!!!!
According to the table Partry have the best defence in the league.
swinfordfc
05/09/2009, 4:18 PM
Yep - we are very lighweight :p
Naturally1
05/09/2009, 6:31 PM
According to the table Partry have the best defence in the league.
and theres my point..the table in this case isn't reliable
A lack of consistency early on has meant the better quality teams are not necessarily those at the top. they may be but i dont think its a given.
it goes to show when the bottom team in the divison won the cup
the difference between B team/mid table teams results against the top 2 when games are on sun rather than sat has been crucial
partry athletic has lost 15 points in the last 5 minutes of games so logic says there must be leaks there somewhere and it would have been 17 by all accounts had ballinrobe not missed a last minute pen
its been a poor although exciting division where not one team is equipped to go up and wait up with their current squads
Bandit
06/09/2009, 9:36 AM
I was not at the swinford claremorris game last week but from what i heard Swinford would have won that game easily if the "lazy" ref could have kept up with the play..He waved away 2 clear cut pens cause he was 60-70 yards away from the play on both occasions..He booked one of the swinford boys for diving right at the end and after the game one of the claremorris lads told him to take it back that he DID foul him and it SHOULD have been a peno:mad::mad:..Not the first time refs have cost has swinford and prob most team points this year..
sprah1
06/09/2009, 11:41 AM
I was not at the swinford claremorris game last week but from what i heard Swinford would have won that game easily if the "lazy" ref could have kept up with the play..He waved away 2 clear cut pens cause he was 60-70 yards away from the play on both occasions..He booked one of the swinford boys for diving right at the end and after the game one of the claremorris lads told him to take it back that he DID foul him and it SHOULD have been a peno:mad::mad:..Not the first time refs have cost has swinford and prob most team points this year..
Incredibly, I've also heard that some players have cost their teams points as well this year
The Don
07/09/2009, 1:38 PM
Lost 3-1 to Bangor so its as good as over for us in the league this year. Was not happy with the amount of abuse we were subjected to during the game from sidelines yesterday, I havent witnessed anything like it since the days of playing parkside.
Fish-Head
07/09/2009, 5:27 PM
Ya I had some oul fella try and pick a fight with me down there a few weeks ago.
murphs jewels
07/09/2009, 6:59 PM
Lost 3-1 to Bangor so its as good as over for us in the league this year. Was not happy with the amount of abuse we were subjected to during the game from sidelines yesterday, I havent witnessed anything like it since the days of playing parkside.
3 years ago we had a run with them also and they were so abusive calling our english manager and right back a "tan" and so on. We reported them as it was so bad and the ref instructed us to do so. But all they got was a slap on the wrist and nothing else (G.S defended them to the death). We were acused of egging them on and the league as much as blamed us for bringing it on ourselves.
They had about 18 people in the dug out (about 6 0f them children) and the abuse and language was unbelieveable. They were threatning to come over and start fighting it was that bad. Not a nice mob :mad:
Bandit
07/09/2009, 7:15 PM
Incredibly, I've also heard that some players have cost their teams points as well this year
At least players are fit and can keep up with the play.
slab11
07/09/2009, 8:09 PM
Just as well we put them down last year, ha!;)
Its the same at underage, they seem to think its their right to shout and insult opposition players as they see fit. I seem to remember something about a Ballyheane player who found a unwanted gift in his gear bag some years ago after a game down there.
hardcore
08/09/2009, 1:16 PM
3 years ago we had a run with them also and they were so abusive calling our english manager and right back a "tan" and so on. We reported them as it was so bad and the ref instructed us to do so. But all they got was a slap on the wrist and nothing else (G.S defended them to the death). We were acused of egging them on and the league as much as blamed us for bringing it on ourselves.
They had about 18 people in the dug out (about 6 0f them children) and the abuse and language was unbelieveable. They were threatning to come over and start fighting it was that bad. Not a nice mob :mad:
Agreed. They have got away with that behaviour for years as the ML wont touch them with GS involved. Somebody is going to get badly hurt up there if ML dont do something:ball:
hardcore
08/09/2009, 1:24 PM
and theres my point..the table in this case isn't reliable
A lack of consistency early on has meant the better quality teams are not necessarily those at the top. they may be but i dont think its a given.
it goes to show when the bottom team in the divison won the cup
the difference between B team/mid table teams results against the top 2 when games are on sun rather than sat has been crucial
partry athletic has lost 15 points in the last 5 minutes of games so logic says there must be leaks there somewhere and it would have been 17 by all accounts had ballinrobe not missed a last minute pen
its been a poor although exciting division where not one team is equipped to go up and wait up with their current squads
Agreed. No team in that division is equipped for SL. Saw a few games and you wouldnt know if it was div 2 or prem! Best of luck to swinford if they go up:ball:
hardcore
08/09/2009, 1:27 PM
Ya I had some oul fella try and pick a fight with me down there a few weeks ago.
Amazing result for ye v manulla Fish-Head! Ye dont seem to be missing RM! Who got the goals? Did ye play the entire SL team or something?!:D Whos running things now that the Northern Gale is gone? Can ye stay up?:ball:
Agreed. No team in that division is equipped for SL. Saw a few games and you wouldnt know if it was div 2 or prem! Best of luck to swinford if they go up:ball:
In fairness I think Swinford & Partry look capable of doing ok in the super league. The other teams would be slaughtered.
Fish-Head
08/09/2009, 1:37 PM
Amazing result for ye v manulla Fish-Head! Ye dont seem to be missing RM! Who got the goals? Did ye play the entire SL team or something?!:D Whos running things now that the Northern Gale is gone? Can ye stay up?:ball:
Ya, it was a good result. Gives us a chance of staying if we can add a couple more wins. Goals came from all over as far as I can remember. We had two lads who've been floating between the squads all season. We now have a player/manager in Joe McD.
I think we can stay up but it won't be easy as our remaining fixtures include Swinford & Claremorris away.
hardcore
08/09/2009, 1:58 PM
Ya, it was a good result. Gives us a chance of staying if we can add a couple more wins. Goals came from all over as far as I can remember. We had two lads who've been floating between the squads all season. We now have a player/manager in Joe McD.
I think we can stay up but it won't be easy as our remaining fixtures include Swinford & Claremorris away.
Joe took over a tough job by the looks of the table a few games ago! fair play to ye and him.
BTW, Thought you couldnt "float" between teams? Is this legal? Whos doing that for ye? 2 strikers by the look of 6-2 scoreline!
Fish-Head
08/09/2009, 6:29 PM
Well it was two players that are both signed B but have played A on occassion. I'm not exactly aware of the regulations regarding players "floating" so I won't say too much more on the matter. But as far as I'm aware no rules were broken.
Ya fair play to Joe. Things have been going a lot more smoothly since he took charge. We're also playing some football now.
sprah1
08/09/2009, 8:02 PM
In fairness I think Swinford & Partry look capable of doing ok in the super league. The other teams would be slaughtered.
Haven't seen Swinford, but saw Partry twice this year.....Not Super league qualaity when I saw them...
juan pablo
16/09/2009, 6:15 PM
The forum has gone very quite. As the league is slowly reaching the end, who can one see wining the league and has it been outlined yet who can/cannot get promoted??
The Don
17/09/2009, 8:43 AM
The forum has gone very quite. As the league is slowly reaching the end, who can one see wining the league and has it been outlined yet who can/cannot get promoted??
Looks like only Swinford going up. I would have liked to see the second placed team get a playoff at least, would havekept a bit of interest in it for the closing games.
swinfordfc
17/09/2009, 3:03 PM
Looks like only Swinford going up. I would have liked to see the second placed team get a playoff at least, would havekept a bit of interest in it for the closing games.
Not up yet - 3 games to go - never say never .....
Bandit
17/09/2009, 3:25 PM
Not up yet - 3 games to go - never say never .....
4 Games to go for our boys.3 behind Westport but i game in hand..Going to be a tight one :)
minivan man
17/09/2009, 8:51 PM
some big games at the bottom of the table as well lads. claremorris v ballinrobe, manulla v celtic b, claremorris v celtic b. who will go down what do ye think?:confused:
swinfordfc
18/09/2009, 10:13 AM
4 Games to go for our boys.3 behind Westport but i game in hand..Going to be a tight one :)
sorry bandit - miss one :D
swinfordfc
09/10/2009, 3:25 PM
This is a big weekend in the premier division .........
juan pablo
09/10/2009, 3:30 PM
This is a big weekend in the premier division .........
It sure is, how does everyone see the top of the table shaping up?? One has to wonder IF Westport & Swinford slip up and Bangor can get three points, it could well end up being a 3 horse race. Speaking for ourselves if we can get 3 points on Sunday against Celtic 'B', it may guarantee us safety but anything can happen in the remainder of the season.
Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ v Ballinrobe Town DRAW
Bangor Hibs. v Claremorris HOME
Crossmolina v Westport Utd. ‘B’ AWAY
Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’ v Swinford DRAW
Partry Athletic v Manulla ‘B’ HOME
sprah1
09/10/2009, 11:25 PM
Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ v Ballinrobe Town Home
Bangor Hibs. v Claremorris Away
Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’ v Swinford Away
Partry Athletic v Manulla ‘B’ Home
swinfordfc
14/10/2009, 1:00 PM
Congrats to the Swinford lads in reaching the Super League .... now go chase Westport down for the title .... :D
quay heart
20/10/2009, 9:44 PM
if westport b and swinford win their remaining games does prem div go to a play off ?
Bandit
05/11/2009, 11:33 AM
How can ye see the division ending up,westport now 6 points clear of the boys but swinford have 2 games in hand and westport have omly manulla b to play who according to the paper are already gone.....Could be a grandstand finish :):):)
juan pablo
06/11/2009, 2:21 PM
Does anyone think the season should start a few weeks earlier next year to avoid the league dragging out. For us it seems that we will never finish the season and with the current weather conditions, can oly worsen.
Are clubs in the division still getting the numbers at training?
Westport's League i think, cant see them losing to Manulla 'B'. So who goes up and who goes down now??
quay heart
06/11/2009, 3:49 PM
i think it will be a play off.just checked snugboro web site today(excellent site lads)swinford will beat celtic b easy and they hammered ballinrobe in cup two weeks ago.couldnt see partry causing them any problems in the last game.westport should win against manulla.
swinfordfc
08/11/2009, 1:00 PM
Swinford 3 Ballinrobe Town 2 ..... roll on next weekend
juan pablo
15/11/2009, 3:49 PM
Well done to Westport United 'B' on winning the Premier Division, Comprehensive victory against Manulla 'B'.
.couldnt see partry causing them any problems in the last game.
Good call :o
quay heart
23/11/2009, 3:45 PM
Good call :o
sorry rava,didnt see many prem games this season made a bad call:(.by the way well done too jm and his team on winning title.any truth fahy are after his services ?
Cloggs
23/11/2009, 5:22 PM
sorry rava,didnt see many prem games this season made a bad call:(.by the way well done too jm and his team on winning title.any truth fahy are after his services ?
congrats to westport b on winning the league.first i've heard of us being interested in the utd manager although i'm a little out of the loop these days.who is the manager?
Clew Bay & Ballyglass are going to make it a very tough Premier Div next year.