View Full Version : Mayo Premier Division 2009
Pages :
[
8]
hardcore
13/07/2009, 8:14 PM
it seems the northern gale has blown away..........
Still never heard what happened to him. Why did he leave? or was he pushed????:ball::eek: Can anybody shed some light?
couchpotato
13/07/2009, 9:07 PM
Still never heard what happened to him. Why did he leave? or was he pushed????:ball::eek: Can anybody shed some light?
a lot of huffing and puffing and going nowhere. half resigned/half pushed.
team morale boosted and a victory under the belts of the new management team!
hardcore
14/07/2009, 12:39 AM
Mutiny on the bounty?? Who pushed him and who are the miracle workers who took over? That erris result jumped out at me considering the recent results! well done.:ball: Was it the new management or release from the old one?
irishyop
14/07/2009, 10:42 AM
He resigned. He did his best, was fully committed, it didn't work out. Sh*t happens.
Best of luck to him.
Clearly you have another agenda here, not exactly hard figure it out either. It could not have been easy trying to get a team ready to play two divisions above where they were the year before and he took some difficult decisions, some of which were unpopular. I was critical myself of a couple of performances, but in hindsight I think the players just werent there to play in this division. Hopefully the team can pick up the points they need.
couchpotato
14/07/2009, 12:20 PM
Clearly you have another agenda here, not exactly hard figure it out either. It could not have been easy trying to get a team ready to play two divisions above where they were the year before and he took some difficult decisions, some of which were unpopular. I was critical myself of a couple of performances, but in hindsight I think the players just werent there to play in this division. Hopefully the team can pick up the points they need.
I believe the team that are there now and have been under the previuos manger are well capable of avoiding relegation.
The previous manager didnt even select players in his matchday squad whom had started the previous week and then re-selected them the following week.
I know a lot of players did not know where they stood with the management.
Their confidence in the manager seemed to go very quickly, and now that a new management team is in place, a lot of the players are more familiar with them, and they are definitly more more familiar with the players and their preferred positions.
ExCiTeD
14/07/2009, 1:16 PM
I believe the team that are there now and have been under the previuos manger are well capable of avoiding relegation.
The previous manager didnt even select players in his matchday squad whom had started the previous week and then re-selected them the following week.
I know a lot of players did not know where they stood with the management.
Their confidence in the manager seemed to go very quickly, and now that a new management team is in place, a lot of the players are more familiar with them, and they are definitly more more familiar with the players and their preferred positions.
give it a rest cp the previous manager put this squad together that you think highly of so credit where it is due. HE RESIGNED for reasons that will not nor should not be discussed on here.hes very well thought of within the club and doesnt need or deserve any criticism.he took a job nobody else was willing to touch.save the mud flinging for the nexy guy
murphs jewels
14/07/2009, 1:34 PM
Seen Castlebar Celtic B play a friendly in Charlestown 2 weeks a go and to be honest its not going to be easy for any managment team to change their fortunes over night. Some very good players but they seamed disjointed and lacked any leader on the pitch. Maybe they were missing a few players but they are going to find it tough in the second half of the season. There appeared to be resigned to loosing after going behind in the game and thats probably a result of previous preformances. Still a great result at the weekend and I wish them well for the rest of the season.
The B teams season will be clearer after by Saturday evening. If Claremorris are beaten Thursday and something can be taken from a tough trip to Partry then there is a good chance of survival.
achillrover
14/07/2009, 2:29 PM
thats all well and good but partrys a hard place to go to and come away with something
bananaboots
14/07/2009, 2:48 PM
Seen Castlebar Celtic B play a friendly in Charlestown 2 weeks a go and to be honest its not going to be easy for any managment team to change their fortunes over night. Some very good players but they seamed disjointed and lacked any leader on the pitch. Maybe they were missing a few players but they are going to find it tough in the second half of the season. There appeared to be resigned to loosing after going behind in the game and thats probably a result of previous preformances. Still a great result at the weekend and I wish them well for the rest of the season.
The players are there so theres no reason they cant avoid relegation under new management and a bit of hard work, which may have been lacking under the previous management.
juan pablo
14/07/2009, 3:10 PM
Ballinrobe Town 3 - 3 Partry Athletic
From our point of view. We showed great heart to come back from 3-1 and feel we should have won it at the end.
murphs jewels
14/07/2009, 4:17 PM
The players are there so theres no reason they cant avoid relegation under new management and a bit of hard work, which may have been lacking under the previous management.
That was under the new Management :cool:
sprah1
14/07/2009, 5:31 PM
The B teams season will be clearer after by Saturday evening. If Claremorris are beaten Thursday and something can be taken from a tough trip to Partry then there is a good chance of survival.
Don't write off Claremorris, saw them against Westport, some very good players, they'll finish top half if they keep that team together...doubt if Celtic will beat them Thursday.
Fish-Head
14/07/2009, 9:50 PM
I'd say we will.
robroy
14/07/2009, 11:02 PM
Don't write off Claremorris, saw them against Westport, some very good players, they'll finish top half if they keep that team together...doubt if Celtic will beat them Thursday.
Is glynn still with galway united?
hoop4life
14/07/2009, 11:49 PM
has the claremorris manager resigned anyone know??
The Don
15/07/2009, 8:32 AM
Ballinrobe Town 3 - 3 Partry Athletic
From our point of view. We showed great heart to come back from 3-1 and feel we should have won it at the end.
Strange game, each team had periods of dominance. Partry should have the game finished at 3-1 and having missed some great chances after halftime. But Ballinrobe should have won the game in the end, they were totally in control for the last 20 mins.
The Don
15/07/2009, 8:37 AM
Are yourself and CP on a network or do ye use the same computer:rolleyes:
I was disapointed to hear that Paul had resigned, he had put a lot of work into that team. Just seems that a few noses were out of joint because they were asked to work a little harder.
bananaboots
15/07/2009, 8:38 AM
That was under the new Management :cool:
What??? Think you mis read the quote there....i said going on from here with the new management there well capable of staying up?? Do ya want me to re phrase it again or do ya understand now?:cool:
couchpotato
15/07/2009, 9:12 AM
Poor Pitch
Iorrais def not 5 goals better,
Celtic had poor communication ,no passion and no accountability, it all went wrong on the Sat morning before the game. Lost three players before and during the game. But still Iorrais deserved perhaps a two goal victory. Even 5 months of planning can mean that if the lads don't want to be there and win it wont happen. Tough one on Sun again, but there will be a number of changes 5 in total i think
Its great finding out you have a 50/50 chance of getting dropped over an internet forum!!
irishyop
15/07/2009, 10:24 PM
Its great finding out you have a 50/50 chance of getting dropped over an internet forum!!
You really have a hang up with this don't you. You were obviously one of the players dropped. Best bet to do is have a chat to Paul, dont be on here washing your laundry.
Move on, he has.
sprah1
15/07/2009, 11:28 PM
has the claremorris manager resigned anyone know??
Not likely with a cup final around the corner!!! what is basis for that speculation?????
Closing Time
16/07/2009, 8:39 AM
I would be shocked if Celtic C would came near Claremorris today. With such a good under age set up over the last 10 years it's hard to believe they are at the bottom of Mayo League Div 2 (PL) and not in Div 1 (SL).
murphs jewels
16/07/2009, 9:00 AM
What??? Think you mis read the quote there....i said going on from here with the new management there well capable of staying up?? Do ya want me to re phrase it again or do ya understand now?:cool:
They were the missing words from your original post ......... will I have to underline everything for you :confused:. Hopefully Joe Mac can change their fortunes but as was said previously on this thread its was always going to be difficult jumping 2 divisions and getting a 3rd string to have any say at this level, espically as they were doing nothing special in the lower divisions. Celtic "B" got their wish of playing in the SL and unfortunatly that hasn't worked either and from the banter on this site it would appear that the lack of a decent Celtic side in either division has somewhat made football in the county a little less interesting, although it has led to inspired form from Swinford who ended up in a relegation play off last year with Urlar and now they are in a great position. Also newly promoted Iorras "B" and Partry have made a great impression in the division. Is the lack of a decent Celtic "B" side having a knock on effect??????
couchpotato
16/07/2009, 11:56 AM
They were the missing words from your original post ......... will I have to underline everything for you :confused:. Hopefully Joe Mac can change their fortunes but as was said previously on this thread its was always going to be difficult jumping 2 divisions and getting a 3rd string to have any say at this level, espically as they were doing nothing special in the lower divisions. Celtic "B" got their wish of playing in the SL and unfortunatly that hasn't worked either and from the banter on this site it would appear that the lack of a decent Celtic side in either division has somewhat made football in the county a little less interesting, although it has led to inspired form from Swinford who ended up in a relegation play off last year with Urlar and now they are in a great position. Also newly promoted Iorras "B" and Partry have made a great impression in the division. Is the lack of a decent Celtic "B" side having a knock on effect??????#
You have a point murph, a lot of teams lately seemed happy to be plying their trade in the premier division, almost afraid to take the step up to the super league.
But now with Celtic premierdivision team not as strong, and fahy going along nicely in the super, swinford have realised what they are capable.
i dont agree that claremorris are as good as some users are saying, and i hope Celtic B give them a game, although i have no affiliation with the squad!
irishyop
16/07/2009, 1:42 PM
It should be a good game, Celtic should have the same squad as Sunday and a few lads coming back from injury will help to boost the squad.
Its about 20 degrees outside now, probably be about 12" of rain by 6.30 ;)
hoop4life
16/07/2009, 8:11 PM
celtic b 3-3 claremorris
cracking game of football
Fish-Head
16/07/2009, 8:52 PM
How are Claremorris bottom? And when did they sign Rory Delap?
irishyop
17/07/2009, 8:12 AM
Was a good game alright, some great chances for Celtic near the end but I think a 3-3 was a fair result.
Was funny after the match the Claremorris manager approached the ref and asked him why he didn't give a number of frees, "one lad had his jersey pulled", "another was onside" etc etc etc. Ref told him to bring him the video evidence and give him a shout when he (the manager) is reffing his next match. :)
swinfordfc
18/07/2009, 8:14 PM
Swinford beat Bangor Hibs 5-1 tonight to get the show back on the road..... any word on Westport and Erris?
irishyop
18/07/2009, 8:41 PM
Partry 3 - 0 Celtic B
For 70 minutes the game was very even but 2 quick goals by Partry turned the game, Celtic pushed on and got caught for the third.
Football can be cruel sometimes. Celtic should have won against Claremorris on thursday evening had enough chances. Should also have taken something against Partry, maybe didnt deserve a win but could have held out for a point, some schoolboy errors decided the game.
hoop4life
26/07/2009, 6:34 PM
tuohy cup final
claremorris 2-1 iorras b
swinfordfc
26/07/2009, 8:10 PM
tuohy cup final
claremorris 2-1 iorras b
Congrats to Claremorris
juan pablo
27/07/2009, 4:26 PM
Well done to Claremorris on winning the Tuohy Cup.
hardcore
05/08/2009, 7:08 PM
Well done to Claremorris on winning the Tuohy Cup.
well said. it goes to show that league form is out the window in cup games. fair play to claremorris:ball:
murphs jewels
13/08/2009, 5:34 PM
Due to the sudden death of Jimmy Blakes Wife all games in the Mayo league are Posponed this weekend
mayo-man
24/08/2009, 10:42 AM
What has happened to this thread?
Why is no one posting results on here anymore?
What has happened to this thread?
Why is no one posting results on here anymore?
I think nobody is interested in this division because nobody knows what they are playing for to start with will they be promoted or not.
Swinford are home and hosed for the Super League and deservedly so.
Partry are the only other realistic team that could overhall the B teams for a automatic spot, they would have to win all their remaining games which is unlikely given how many games they seem to draw. Its a pity the league would not announce a promotion relegation playoff it would give a shot in the arm to the remainder of the Premier season where 3 or 4 teams would be in with a shout.
swinfordfc
24/08/2009, 1:02 PM
I think nobody is interested in this division because nobody knows what they are playing for to start with will they be promoted or not.
Swinford are home and hosed for the Super League and deservedly so.
Partry are the only other realistic team that could overhall the B teams for a automatic spot, they would have to win all their remaining games which is unlikely given how many games they seem to draw. Its a pity the league would not announce a promotion relegation playoff it would give a shot in the arm to the remainder of the Premier season where 3 or 4 teams would be in with a shout.
Swinford just got the better of Manulla B 4-3 yestarday in awful conditions - in fairest the game should have never being play but the ref demanded the game to be play ......
Who was the ref. How did the pitch hold up.
Bandit
24/08/2009, 7:07 PM
Great win for swinford yesterday in very bad conditions,they were leading 3-1 but let in 2 goals then scored the winner right at the end for (from what i heard) a deserved victory.We had a B Game the evening before and the pitch was swamped then let alone half two on sunday with all the rain it made.According to a few of the lads who were at the game the conditions were dangerous and the game should not have been played.Manulla keeper got a bang to the head but did not hear how he is since..( Wet conditions did not help this )
Also well done to the first team manager Sean Kavanagh for getting manager of the month for june and july.:)
Playfair
24/08/2009, 9:47 PM
I was at the game yesterday and though the conditions were difficult they were not dangerous and the pitch was playable. We were unlucky to lose in the end and nearly took a point but for a great save in the last min. It was an entertaining game with the only down side being the injury to our keeper.
swinfordfc
25/08/2009, 11:13 AM
I was at the game yesterday and though the conditions were difficult they were not dangerous and the pitch was playable. We were unlucky to lose in the end and nearly took a point but for a great save in the last min. It was an entertaining game with the only down side being the injury to our keeper.
it was a horrible injury and we wish him a speedy recovery
Some strange results yesterday, has anyone any reports onthe games.
Fish-Head
31/08/2009, 11:27 AM
Care to inform us of these results rava?
Claremorris 2- 2 Swinford
Erris 2- 3 Bangor
Partry 2 - 2 Westport b
swinfordfc
04/09/2009, 10:34 AM
Claremorris 2- 2 Swinford
Erris 2- 3 Bangor
Partry 2 - 2 Westport b
Whats strange about them?
Well you would expect wins for Swinford Wesport & Erris.