View Full Version : CL knock out stage

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11

MikeBassett
06/05/2009, 12:17 AM
Fletcher's sending off was a complete joke, no penalty in my book and not even a yellow card either. He clearly won the ball before making contact with Fabregas. The only negative on the night for United, great performance.

Ronaldo, in fairness once again proved himself tonight. He's now scrored in the Last 16, Quarter-final and Semi-final of this year's competition.

Thought Berbatov was very poor when he came on, sick of him now.

I can't see Barcelona going out of the competition at Stamford Bridge, I think we'll be in for a few goals in this one

smasher
06/05/2009, 8:26 AM
Fletcher's sending off was a complete joke, no penalty in my book and not even a yellow card either. He clearly won the ball before making contact with Fabregas. The only negative on the night for United, great performance.

Ronaldo, in fairness once again proved himself tonight. He's now scrored in the Last 16, Quarter-final and Semi-final of this year's competition.

Thought Berbatov was very poor when he came on, sick of him now.

I can't see Barcelona going out of the competition at Stamford Bridge, I think we'll be in for a few goals in this one

Clear pen in my estimation. Fletcher will be missed!

Roadend
06/05/2009, 8:36 AM
FOR SALE: 60,000 Arsenal flags. Nearly new, only waved for 7 minutes.

06/05/2009, 9:18 AM
Fletcher's sending off was a complete joke, no penalty in my book and not even a yellow card either. He clearly won the ball before making contact with Fabregas.

The first touch doesn't seem to be relevant in decisions anymore. Tackles from behind are not allowed even if the ball is played. The player was through on goal. Penalty. Sending off. These are the rules whether it's 2-2 or 20-0. Tough on Fletcher but they're the rules. Just about every tackle from behind is now given as a free kick.

KK77
06/05/2009, 9:26 AM
The first touch doesn't seem to be relevant in decisions anymore. Tackles from behind are not allowed even if the ball is played. The player was through on goal. Penalty. Sending off. These are the rules whether it's 2-2 or 20-0. Tough on Fletcher but they're the rules. Just about every tackle from behind is now given as a free kick.

Harsh but Owlsfan is totally right on this.

06/05/2009, 9:45 AM
Cracking stuff in the RTE studio tonight. Fair play to Souness sticking up and standing up to Dunphy and Giles.

Best retort back to Dunphy in ages, when he said to Souness you do not know what you are talking about.

"who exactly did you mange Eamonn"

Super stuff alright, Souness gave as good as he got. IMO he is the best analyst of the two. When you compare them to the rubbish that is on display on the beeb, itv and sky, they are miles ahead. Their "analysis" is worth watching, whereas I very rarely watch the others.

06/05/2009, 9:52 AM
tonight Souness will be in the studio Jamie Redknapp. "It's a game of two halves Richard. Int that right Andy? Tell him".

COME ON BARCA!

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 10:00 AM
Harsh but Owlsfan is totally right on this.

He came in from the side and got a good touch on the ball before Fabregas fell over him. If he went through Fabregas to get a touch on the ball I would agree with ye, and I wouldn't even call it harsh, but that's not what happened. He was pretty much side by side with Fabregas so how could it be a tackle from behind?

Weatherman
06/05/2009, 10:01 AM
Going, going, going,
United are going to rome,
It was boys v men,
Now we'll beat chelsea again,
Coz united are going to rooooome!!

It really was boys v men as dunphy n co summed up last nite. the two early goals took the gooners by surprise n there was no way they where coming back from that! the young boy gibbs has really showed his age in the two games against united, he looked lost in both legs. no stopping united now!!

Really think chelsea are going to beat barca tonite in stamford bridge, boswinga shud stay on the left to do a job on messi again and hiddink will go with anelka n drogba up top id say. chelsea will be too strong in the end as barca wont have the width of the pitch in their favour for the wide game they play. 2-0 chelsea!

06/05/2009, 10:15 AM
Super stuff alright, Souness gave as good as he got. IMO he is the best analyst of the two. When you compare them to the rubbish that is on display on the beeb, itv and sky, they are miles ahead. Their "analysis" is worth watching, whereas I very rarely watch the others.

The Beeb, ITV and Sky, especially the former two, usually have about 10 minutes max for "analysis". They don't have time to go in to the drivel that masquerades as "analysis" on RTE. Did the Panel say it was "men against boys" before the game or did they get it wrong at the start as usual (didn't see it - saw the game)? What had Drunkphy to say about Ronaldo whom he has castigated at every opportunity? I suspect Giles bemoaned the absence of Tevez before the game and never mentioned it at the end. I saw the start of the discussion at the end of the game where they picked a theme (Arsenal not spending) and did it to death - nice to see Souness disagreeing. That's what I have been pleading for for the past 20 years. Didn't hear any mention of the top Arsenal players who were missing including the Russian whom they spent a lot of money on, Arshavin. But some balance at last.

Believe it or not, I have no huge problem with the RTE panel so long as there is balance. There has been none for 20 years.

Weatherman
06/05/2009, 10:21 AM
Didnt see them talking before the match but they said after it was boys v men!! very funny towards the end when dunphy told souness he didnt know what he was talking about and then souness replied with, Who did you manage!!!!

Great Stuff!!

KK77
06/05/2009, 10:29 AM
He came in from the side and got a good touch on the ball before Fabregas fell over him. If he went through Fabregas to get a touch on the ball I would agree with ye, and I wouldn't even call it harsh, but that's not what happened. He was pretty much side by side with Fabregas so how could it be a tackle from behind?

He gets the ball. Okay.
But he plays it into an area that Fabregas can still reach and score from.
Then he wraps himself all around Fabregas' legs and brings him down.
Penalty.

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 10:36 AM
He gets the ball. Okay.
But he plays it into an area that Fabregas can still reach and score from.
Then he wraps himself all around Fabregas' legs and brings him down.
Penalty.

With a name like that I don't think I'm gonna get much joy here. You're wrong though;)

KK77
06/05/2009, 10:46 AM
With a name like that I don't think I'm gonna get much joy here. You're wrong though;)

Utd won and deserved to win but still doesn't change the fact it was the correct decesion. The reaction of Fletcher tells it all for me.

You miss the point.

He fouled him after he played the ball. The ref can give a foul at any point during that piece of play.
Its like a defender pulling an attackers shirt as he runs into the box. The ref can ignore it until he's into the box, and if the defender is stilll pulling the shirt - then he can give a penalty as he's fouling him all the time, not just when he first pulls at the shirt.

In that Fletcher thing - his foot comeas round and plays the ball. No foul. Then his legs wrap round Fabregas and bring him down - there is the foul as the ball is still there to be played by the attacker. Last man - red card. Its like saying clumsiness is not a foul, but just simple clumsiness as its not deliberate.

06/05/2009, 10:52 AM
Justice for Fletcher!

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 11:24 AM
Utd won and deserved to win but still doesn't change the fact it was the correct decesion

There is no link between the two things. I know you are just trying to show how neutral and objective you are by stating United deserved their win.

You miss the point.

I don't, I just don't agree with you

KK77
06/05/2009, 11:28 AM
There is no link between the two things. I know you are just trying to show how neutral and objective you are by stating United deserved their win.

But Utd did deserve to win. How could i say otherwise.

I don't, I just don't agree with you

Well then get glasses;)

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 11:40 AM
Well then get glasses;)

Like these is it?

http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0czecMDfUQdbn/610x.jpg

KK77
06/05/2009, 11:43 AM
Like these is it?

http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0czecMDfUQdbn/610x.jpg

Well depends on what you like yourself;)

Denis The Red
06/05/2009, 11:48 AM
I love the RTE coverage, it's like you know it's wrong but can't look away. It's hardly ever boring. There isn't a live match where I don't have a good laugh at something Dunphy said or did. Bill once revealed that he asked Souness what he thought of the job shortly after he joined and he said he loved it because you can be honest unlike other channels where the "analysts" are merely sitting interviews and putting themselves in the shop window for managers job, so they don't like upsetting anyone.

I agree with Owlsfan in his interpretation of how the rules are implemeted in this case, however my understanding of the "professional foul" is a deliberate and cynical attempt to unfairly stop an opponent from scoring when he is clearly going to. I didn't think this was the case with Fletcher's tackle. That said, the ref had to send him off because his hands are tied and because he would have to answer to his superiors for not following the rules to the letter. It just takes away from the human side of the game because a yellow would have sufficed if the ref was allowed to use common sense and understanding of the situation.
I also think there should be a process of appeal. A little dictatorial without one really.

KK77
06/05/2009, 11:51 AM
I love the RTE coverage, it's like you know it's wrong but can't look away. It's hardly ever boring. There isn't a live match where I don't have a good laugh at something Dunphy said or did. Bill once revealed that he asked Souness what he thought of the job shortly after he joined and he said he loved it because you can be honest unlike other channels where the "analysts" are merely sitting interviews and putting themselves in the shop window for managers job, so they don't like upsetting anyone.

I agree with Owlsfan in his interpretation of how the rules are implemeted in this case, however my understanding of the "professional foul" is a deliberate and cynical attempt to unfailry stop an opponent from scoring when he is clearly going to. I didn't think this was the case with Fletcher's tackle. That said, the ref had to send him off because his hands are tied and because he would have to answer to his superiors for not following the rules to the letter. It just takes away from the human side of the game because a yellow would have sufficed if the ref was allowed to use common sense and understanding of the situation.

Very true about the yellow cards and the human side of the game. Suppose these things even themselves out over the season.

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 11:53 AM
Very true about the yellow cards and the human side of the game. Suppose these things even themselves out over the season.

Not for The Fletch!!

KK77
06/05/2009, 11:56 AM
Not for The Fletch!!

Or Gomes;):D

Pious37
06/05/2009, 1:30 PM

Your a bitter man, FACT :p

KK77
06/05/2009, 1:44 PM
Your a bitter man, FACT :p

I am joking hence the :D FACT! Some people on this site:rolleyes:

06/05/2009, 2:07 PM
Bill once revealed that he asked Souness what he thought of the job shortly after he joined and he said he loved it because you can be honest unlike other channels where the "analysts" are merely sitting interviews and putting themselves in the shop window for managers job, so they don't like upsetting anyone.

Hardly an unbiased hearsay quote is it?

I don't give a damn what the panel says except when it comes to the Irish games. For 16 years (1988-2004) all 3 (Laughing Bill, Drunkphy and Father Time) launched in to personal and vitriolic attacks on the incumbent Irish manager with no balance from anyone else. Souness adds balance AT LAST.

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 2:13 PM
I think Giles would be a much more valuable analyst if he was so afraid of Dunphy. Dunphy talks complete farsical rubbish and Giles is too scared to pull him on it. He would never speak to Dunphy the way he spoke to Souness last night, especially since they kissed and made up that time.

smasher
06/05/2009, 2:21 PM
Hardly an unbiased hearsay quote is it?

I don't give a damn what the panel says except when it comes to the Irish games. For 16 years (1988-2004) all 3 (Laughing Bill, Drunkphy and Father Time) launched in to personal and vitriolic attacks on the incumbent Irish manager with no balance from anyone else. Souness adds balance AT LAST.

Dipstick Dunphy is used for the entertainment value and not his analytical wherewithall. He regularily contradicts himself and appeals to the barstool ' experts' only.
Souness and Brady, before him, provided open unbiased analysis. Brady was especially good during 'Saipan affair.

reder
06/05/2009, 2:43 PM

I dont think Rafa B is but I would say that it was a penalty looking at it from a different perspective.

Fletcher got the ball and the man but it was a tackle from behind which is a foul. As this was in the penalty box, it was a penalty. You cannot tackle from behind anymore, end of story.

As the foul was on a player who was 1v1 with the keeper, it was a red card offence.

KK77
06/05/2009, 2:44 PM
I think Giles would be a much more valuable analyst if he was so afraid of Dunphy. Dunphy talks complete farsical rubbish and Giles is too scared to pull him on it. He would never speak to Dunphy the way he spoke to Souness last night, especially since they kissed and made up that time.

Being saying this for god knows how long. Spot on great post.

Denis The Red
06/05/2009, 3:02 PM
Anyone hear if Henry is fit for tonight? He has been nothing short of brilliant lately. It would be a shame if he misses out and a let off for Chelsea. It seems Guardiola likes playing him in his old postion out wide and he's been enjoying it lately

06/05/2009, 3:04 PM
Wouldn't surprise me to see Iniesta pushed up the pitch and Keita brought in , even at the expense of Henry

KK77
06/05/2009, 3:06 PM
Anyone hear if Henry is fit for tonight? He has been nothing short of brilliant lately. It would be a shame if he misses out and a let off for Chelsea. It seems Guardiola likes playing him in his old postion out wide and he's been enjoying it lately

Trained yesterday but Barce keeping their cards close to their chest on this one.

I have a feeling for Chelsea tonight and to win the whole thing.

jmurphyc
06/05/2009, 3:17 PM
The battle between Essien and the Barcelona midfield will be interesting. Probably the best "destroyer" in the world versus Xavi, Iniesta et al (imo by far the most creative midfield in Europe). It should be very entertaining.

old git
06/05/2009, 4:58 PM
[QUOTE=Emmet7;1155367]Disappointing from Arsenal, the first goal and slip by the defender ruined the game as a competitive fixture. I hope Aresenal come back stronger from this and they will have Arshavan next year. Their defence was torn apart at will by Utd. But I think Arsenal are a better team than the final result suggests.

arshaven next year sorry emmet you are really clutching at straws if you think arshavin is the answer to arsenal problems :mad: need a hell of a lot more players ... defence has been terrible for a while now midfield only fabregas stands out and up front adabayor only turns up against to lower teams :mad:

old git
06/05/2009, 5:05 PM
Utd won and deserved to win but still doesn't change the fact it was the correct decesion. The reaction of Fletcher tells it all for me.

You miss the point.

He fouled him after he played the ball. The ref can give a foul at any point during that piece of play.
Its like a defender pulling an attackers shirt as he runs into the box. The ref can ignore it until he's into the box, and if the defender is stilll pulling the shirt - then he can give a penalty as he's fouling him all the time, not just when he first pulls at the shirt.

In that Fletcher thing - his foot comeas round and plays the ball. No foul. Then his legs wrap round Fabregas and bring him down - there is the foul as the ball is still there to be played by the attacker. Last man - red card. Its like saying clumsiness is not a foul, but just simple clumsiness as its not deliberate.

how can you win the ball first and then foul the player your momentum will carry you forward / into player most times we will be getting fouls every time a player makes a tackle now on your opionion above now ... did fabregas appeal for penalty did arsenal players appeall ...:ball:

old git
06/05/2009, 5:08 PM

gomes did not even get sent off :D:

jmurphyc
06/05/2009, 5:08 PM
how can you win the ball first and then foul the player your momentum will carry you forward / into player most times we will be getting fouls every time a player makes a tackle now on your opionion above now ... did fabregas appeal for penalty did arsenal players appeall ...:ball:

The rules clearly state that a tackle from behind a player is illegal. Perhaps the rules should be changed, but they're the rules. It was also probably interpreted by the referee as denial of a clear goal scoring opportunity, the consequence of which is a red card.

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 5:19 PM
The rules clearly state that a tackle from behind a player is illegal. Perhaps the rules should be changed, but they're the rules. It was also probably interpreted by the referee as denial of a clear goal scoring opportunity, the consequence of which is a red card.

But it was from the side, you are allowed tackle from the side. The tackles that are outlawed are the one where you have to go through a player to get the ball. Clearly Fletcher didn't go through Fabregas to get the ball. Think even referee's might disagree about this one but it clearly wasn't a tackle from behind.

MikeBassett
06/05/2009, 7:27 PM
You're spot on there DeLorean regarding Fletcher. The UEFA system is a complete joke.

Chelsea looking good to go through at the moment. What a goal from Essien!

06/05/2009, 8:44 PM
Chelsea looking good to go through at the moment. What a goal from Essien!
Not any more! Brilliant finish. Chelsea players should be ashamed of their antics at the end, good to see the ref booking some of them.

MickNolan
06/05/2009, 8:45 PM
Not any more! Brilliant finish. Chelsea players should be ashamed of their antics at the end, good to see the ref booking some of them.
He only booked Drogba...

06/05/2009, 8:48 PM
Dunphy is going on about the refereeing... jeez, hed wanna follow the LoI, then he'll know what bad refereeing is!!:mad:

Monkfish
06/05/2009, 8:49 PM

Absolutly delighted. Biggest shower of ***** ever to take the field.

06/05/2009, 8:50 PM
He only booked Drogba...

Booked Ballack after the penalty shout too.

MickNolan
06/05/2009, 8:52 PM
Booked Ballack after the penalty shout too.
Didn't see that booking but the reaction was a bit OTT imo

Umberside
06/05/2009, 8:55 PM
After the referee had walked into the tunnel Drogba turned around to the camera and shouted "He's a ****ing disgrace!". Can't believe he wasn't sent off.

06/05/2009, 8:58 PM
Jeez, pot calling the kettle black!

06/05/2009, 9:00 PM
Chelsea players reveal their true character at the end.

Don't think Manchester United have much to fear from that Barca team [maybe the return of Henry could spark them into life], they certainly don't have anything to fear from Messi though. Obviously a hugely talented player, but that's 360 minutes of CL semi final football against English teams where he's been anonymous, he's got to step up to claim that 'best player in the world' title people seem intent on bestowing upon him.

MikeBassett
06/05/2009, 9:01 PM
I haven't enjoyed watching a match as much in a long, long time. It was brilliant stuff! I couldn't have written the script any better myself!

I thought the referee was poor enough. Chelsea had six penalty appeals and three should have been given. Then we saw the Chelsea motto of 'If in doubt, cheat your way out' come through from Anelka when he tripped himself up to get Abidal sent off. Again like last night it was a terrible call by the ref to send him off.

What a great goal by Iniesta to send Barca through. Seeing the Chelsea players losing it after the final whistle was priceless!