View Full Version : Keane Walks Out On Sunderland
smasher
05/12/2008, 1:44 PM
You are joking. Sweet mother of God.
Wasn't a body check at all, he was getting to the ball well ahead of Keane and barely touched him. Radebe had it covered anyway. Keane lashed out coz he had no hope of getting the ball.
Martyn saw the whole incident so knew that Keane was genuinely injured. Haaland just got a kick from behind, got up and saw the man that kicked him was rolling around. His instant, and very short reaction, was that Keane was staying down to avoid a booking. It's what most people would have assumed.
Take off the blinkers.
80million gone amiss in Paris.......................the plot thickens!!!!
Hibernian
05/12/2008, 4:14 PM
These are not flaws, just downright thuggish behaviour. I have to laugh at all you guys trying to cover up these actions and explain them away as the acts of an imperfect person.
No. These are the actions of someone who can give it but cant take it. A person who when he cant live up to his supposed good name , decides that running away is easier than facing the challenge head on.
The foul on Haaland says it all.
That will be the enduring image.
It encapsulates the whole sorry saga.
And I have to laugh at you bringing up rubbish about the past.
Bloody move on, jesus have you ever played football in your life
First hint of things getting tough and hes out the door,he truly has no loyalty and he WILL now struggle to get another decent job.
stojkovic
05/12/2008, 11:14 PM
I've just logged on and my time machine has transported me back to 2002.
I know all the Derby and Grand National winners for the next six years.
Oh and put everything you have on Chelsea winning the Premier League in 2005. Seriously.
And at half-time in the Champions League Final in 2005 put your mortgage on Liverpool.
Now where did I leave the flux capacitor...
JoeSemi
05/12/2008, 11:30 PM
Roy Keane has again been found out as the self-absorbed, hypocritical bully he is. Demanded standards from others when a player and failed miserably as a manager in this regard. He has no respect for individuals, he is incapable of forming any sort of mutual relationships with players, and certainly was found wanting in judging what an all-round good footballer is with his ridiculous signings. Only Kenwyne Jones can be classed as anyway worthy of the price tag paid. How many of his signings were players that he had links with, directly or indirectly, yet wouldn't stand for his scare tactics in the end?
People who say the players are at fault forget that almost a full dressing room can't be wrong in judging a character. Likewise, all bar one player in 02' couldn't have been wrong in standing by the side of Mick McCarthy. You treat people with respect, you get it back - simple fact of life.
The disdain I have for Roy Keane is unwavering, despite the bullsh!t protestations that he's a flawed character. Flawed? More like another Chimbonda short of a circus in my eyes. His exit from his self-made circus couldn't have come a day sooner for Mr Keane. A bit of a thumping at the hands of the man he played puppet for for over 10 years wouldn't have sat well with the Mayfield mug I suspect. A coward flees at the first smell of trouble, and that is what he is.
Denis The Red
05/12/2008, 11:44 PM
I have to say having read some of the digusting rubbish posted here about one of the greatest players this country has ever had is making me sick.
I bet most of you are the same thrash that booed him at Lansdowne road because that hack Cathal Dervan said to and felt like crap when he got man of the match. Vultures you all are.
I've never seen such bile and hatred of a footballer since the english declared war on Maradonna when he scored that goal with his wonderful hand in '86.
I was disappointed with Tony Cascarino on Matt Cooper's show tonight when he tore strips of Roy for something that happened in a Heathrow airport toilet back in the day. I mean grow up the lot of you.
Cas got praise for telling it as it is when that's all Roy did his entire career.
It's about time people started respecting Roy for the service he gave his country, the passionate way he played and the way he steadied the sinking Sunderland ship when the damn place was heading for the blue square league or something.
JoeSemi
05/12/2008, 11:49 PM
It's about time people started respecting Roy for the service he gave his country, the passionate way he played and the way he steadied the sinking Sunderland ship when the damn place was heading for the blue square league or something.
Anybody worth their salt would have saved Sunderland that season considering Niall Quinn was at the helm against his will. Didn't want to be there as manager and was only filling a void, hence leaving the players with uncertainty every time they took the field.
As for the service he gave the country...don't get me started;)
Denis The Red
05/12/2008, 11:59 PM
Anybody worth their salt would have saved Sunderland that season considering Niall Quinn was at the helm against his will. Didn't want to be there as manager and was only filling a void, hence leaving the players with uncertainty every time they took the field.
As for the service he gave the country...don't get me started;)
START, I dare ya. Is this about Saipan again? talk about getting old. Too many glorious failures in this country I think, Roy wanted success and got slated for it. It's a shame that people will get slaughtered for principles. And who was it that got Sunderland relegated in the first place? I have nothing against Mick but to jump on the anti-Roy bandwagon like most of you sheep do is sad.
JoeSemi
06/12/2008, 12:34 AM
START, I dare ya. Is this about Saipan again? talk about getting old. Too many glorious failures in this country I think, Roy wanted success and got slated for it. It's a shame that people will get slaughtered for principles. And who was it that got Sunderland relegated in the first place? I have nothing against Mick but to jump on the anti-Roy bandwagon like most of you sheep do is sad.
Where were his principles at Sunderland? A manager earning ludicrous somes for 'working' only two days a week and throwing his dummy out of the pram the rest of the time doesn't have much principles in my opinion. Just answer me this....where does respect come into his vocabulary? He's milked a proud club dry and left them in a precarious position once one piece of sh!t has hit the fan.
As for labelling me a 'sheep' for seeing through a man who is simply incompetent at his job and hypocritical, I say more power to you trying to defend the indefensible.:)
06/12/2008, 12:43 AM
As for labelling me a 'sheep' for seeing through a man who is simply incompetent at his job
You see him as incompetent at his job, and I think you are right.
But if that is the case, why, now that Keane has finally come to the same conclusion, and has resigned so that his incompetence doesn't sink the club, why do you vilify him for quitting at the "first piece of s##t hits the fan"? Would you rather he stayed and relegated the club through his lack of competence?
Why do people think he'll struggle to get a job?
He took a club up from the Championship, and that means a lot in that league when it comes to getting another job down there. He also commands the fanbase of a small club that will jump on whatever club he finds himself at next. He's a young manager who has made mistakes, his main test will be to prove he has learnt from them and move on. Guarantee you he will be asked to apply for a dozen jobs between now and the rest of the season
Noelys Guitar
06/12/2008, 2:43 AM
Why do people think he'll struggle to get a job?
He took a club up from the Championship, and that means a lot in that league when it comes to getting another job down there. He also commands the fanbase of a small club that will jump on whatever club he finds himself at next. He's a young manager who has made mistakes, his main test will be to prove he has learnt from them and move on. Guarantee you he will be asked to apply for a dozen jobs between now and the rest of the season
I agree. And after listening to Per-Magnus Andersson's comments tonight on Radio 5 I have a feeling Keane was right to walk away. This Swedish/American sounds like the 2 morons who "own" Liverpool. He called Keane Unstable and questioned his ability as a player. Very strange interview. I can't see Quinn hanging around working with this guy either.
Drumcondra 69er
06/12/2008, 10:02 AM
I agree. And after listening to Per-Magnus Andersson's comments tonight on Radio 5 I have a feeling Keane was right to walk away. This Swedish/American sounds like the 2 morons who "own" Liverpool. He called Keane Unstable and questioned his ability as a player. Very strange interview. I can't see Quinn hanging around working with this guy either.
While Keane's ability as a player is unquestionable it's hardly a leap of faith to suggest he's unstable given his history, there's undoubtedly demons in his head at times.
barney
06/12/2008, 11:28 AM
I have to say having read some of the digusting rubbish posted here about one of the greatest players this country has ever had is making me sick.
I bet most of you are the same thrash that booed him at Lansdowne road because that hack Cathal Dervan said to and felt like crap when he got man of the match. Vultures you all are.
I've never seen such bile and hatred of a footballer since the english declared war on Maradonna when he scored that goal with his wonderful hand in '86.
I was disappointed with Tony Cascarino on Matt Cooper's show tonight when he tore strips of Roy for something that happened in a Heathrow airport toilet back in the day. I mean grow up the lot of you.
Cas got praise for telling it as it is when that's all Roy did his entire career.
It's about time people started respecting Roy for the service he gave his country, the passionate way he played and the way he steadied the sinking Sunderland ship
when the damn place was heading for the blue square league or something.
Oh sweet Jesus.
Keane never did whatever it took to win. Keane did whatever it took to look after number 1. He never gave a f**k about anyone but Roy. I know this is old ground but it's relevant when analysing Roy the man or manager.
Did Keane think about his team mates and winning when he got sent off for trying to end a man's career with a game at 1-1 and with his club chasing the title? Did he give a rat's arse about winning or anyone else when he did the same by sticking his elbow into McAteer's face with another game poised at 1-1?
The man isn't flawed, he's rotten to the core. Stop buying into the myth coz that's all it is. If anyone thinks Saipan was a point of principle then they are deluded.
As for the latest escapade, he was a **** poor manager who had a massive amount to spend and earned limited success on the back of it. However, Roy wasn't interested in learning his craft like everyone else had to and so spat the dummy when the going got tough.
Roy wasn't interested in learning his craft like everyone else had to and so spat the dummy when the going got tough.
I don't know if he realises he is doing it but he clearly creates confrontation as prelude for excuse to quit.
SunnySweeney
06/12/2008, 2:27 PM
I agree with you here. Here is a link to Per-Magnus Andersson's interview in the Guardian newspaper. I think he is taking the stance of american sports teams - where the owners are hands on and very much see the players as expensive 'assets' that are indulged and mollycoddled. The coach/manager is secondary and are often disposed of if there is any friction.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2008/dec/06/sunderland-roy-keane
06/12/2008, 4:38 PM
The coach/manager is secondary and are often disposed of if there is any friction.
What a shock! A manager is often disposed of. Never heard of that happening in the Premiership and elsewhere..
SunnySweeney
06/12/2008, 6:28 PM
What a shock! A manager is often disposed of. Never heard of that happening in the Premiership and elsewhere..
Players have the upper hand now at top tier clubs - the days of managers ruling with an iron fist have gone. The Clough and (the old) Ferguson style won't get you far today
seanfhear
06/12/2008, 7:59 PM
Did Roy jump before the Sunderland players got the chance to completely humiliate him at Old Trafford.
If a manager looses the dressing room these days the players hold his position in the palm of their hand.
I believe that Lucas Neill marched into the dressing room after a victory for West Ham and declared to Curbishley "we saved your job today"
A self respecting club would have kicked his ass out on the street for that.
08/12/2008, 10:24 AM
The Cobh job anyone? :)
Uncle_Joe
08/12/2008, 12:14 PM
Very rarely do great players make great managers. Roy turned them around in his first season but Ian Dowie did something similar in his first season with Crystal Palace, didnt win the Championship but won the playoffs.
Great Player, average manager .... so far
Den Perry
08/12/2008, 3:31 PM
whay happened in the toilet and what did that cnut cascarino say?
08/12/2008, 3:52 PM
Yeah I have said for a long time that Cascarino is nothing but a low life.
smasher
08/12/2008, 4:04 PM
whay happened in the toilet and what did that cnut cascarino say?
More than likely Cas sais it as it was which , true to form , Keane and his ilk do not like to hear, which is obviously borne out by statements such as the above.
08/12/2008, 4:18 PM
He'll be back.
'I look forward to building on those experiences and, sometime in the future, returning to football management.'
Keane wants to return to management (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/1208/keaneroy.html)
08/12/2008, 4:58 PM
http://www.leaguemanagers.com/news/viewfromthetop-6237.html
08/12/2008, 5:44 PM
I love the fact that local long-time Sunderland fans aren't that bothered about Keane going (per TV and newspaper interviews) and find it bemusing how its headline news in Ireland and provoking a civil war played out in the media.
It really is quite ridiculous.
Razors left peg
08/12/2008, 6:55 PM
well said
smasher
09/12/2008, 8:29 AM
He'll be back.
Keane wants to return to management (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/1208/keaneroy.html)
Simon Barnes, sports columnist of the year. www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists)
Why do these guys keep turning up to tell it as it really is?
09/12/2008, 9:10 AM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists/simon_barnes/article5303845.ece
The article above by a neutral doesn't quite fit the panegyric above.
All hail Keane. To dare criticise God Almighty, who isn't slow to criticise just about everyone else, means we're all devotees of Cathal Dervan!!
To quote a friend of mine:
Keane has been given a mystique that is pretty laughable. All this stuff about high principles and the failure of the game to live up to his standards. Remove the Irishness from the equation and what do you have. Keane was by any standards one of the outstanding players of his generation. After that though we have a player who decries the way the game has gone while pocketing massive wages all the time. A manager who is incompetent in the transfer market, lacks any real tactical plan, has lost his dressing room, bangs on about professionalism while walking out when the going gets tough (got form there as well). He walked because he didn't want to be in a position where Mother Teresa gave him his P45. If he was English he'd have been fired earlier.
09/12/2008, 9:43 AM
More than likely Cas sais it as it was which , true to form , Keane and his ilk do not like to hear, which is obviously borne out by statements such as the above.
Nothing to do with Keane and outside of that debate but Cascarino is nothing but a low life. Do a bit of digging about him on the net or read his book or even just listen to him and you will see what sort of character he is. He is also a terrible pundit too and it is amazing that he is let anywhere near a microphone.
09/12/2008, 9:48 AM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists/simon_barnes/article5303845.ece
The article above by a neutral doesn't quite fit the panegyric above.
All hail Keane. To dare criticise God Almighty, who isn't slow to criticise just about everyone else, means we're all devotees of Cathal Dervan!!
To quote a friend of mine:
Keane has been given a mystique that is pretty laughable. All this stuff about high principles and the failure of the game to live up to his standards. Remove the Irishness from the equation and what do you have. Keane was by any standards one of the outstanding players of his generation. After that though we have a player who decries the way the game has gone while pocketing massive wages all the time. A manager who is incompetent in the transfer market, lacks any real tactical plan, has lost his dressing room, bangs on about professionalism while walking out when the going gets tough (got form there as well). He walked because he didn't want to be in a position where Mother Teresa gave him his P45. If he was English he'd have been fired earlier.
Its a good article except for a few things. Keane is not a crap manager as he too was top of the Cocal Cola Championship like Mick Mc Carthy is and he too won manager of the month. So the journalist is tying himself up in knots with his argument there. Incidently McCarthy is not a crap manager either he is a very good manager, so Keane was wrong there. Like any complex issue there is grey and to me in this there is very little black and white. Both good managers with McCarthy more experience and a better manager at this stage. Both great captains for Ireland and if I met either I would shake their had and say fair play for the great service they gave the Irish team. If this is the civil war well then I am Labour.
smasher
09/12/2008, 10:18 AM
Nothing to do with Keane and outside of that debate but Cascarino is nothing but a low life. Do a bit of digging about him on the net or read his book or even just listen to him and you will see what sort of character he is. He is also a terrible pundit too and it is amazing that he is let anywhere near a microphone.
If you replaced Cascarino with Keane in your sentence nobody would argue with you!
09/12/2008, 11:32 AM
If you replaced "nobody would" with "I would not" , I think you may be correct. To say that nobody would argue with me is not correct whatsoever.
09/12/2008, 11:34 AM
I read what Cas had to say and could not see anything outrageous.
He thought Keane had done a good job and should have stayed.
(But maybe he couldn't hide some glee)
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2008/12/5/1228491824927/Tony-Cascarino-001.jpg
"He's taken the easy option. He's not rolled up his sleeves and even with as much courage as Roy Keane says he's got, this is the end for him.
"He'll not manage again. No-one will give him the opportunity to manage a football club because they won't trust him. That's the bottom line.
"Up until the last few weeks where it's gone pear-shaped and he's not had the results, I thought he'd done a good job.
"But they are only two wins away from mid-table.
"You're going to have bad results in your management career as you do in your playing career. But you don't just walk away."
09/12/2008, 11:57 AM
I would agree, I don't think that Cascarino has said anything totally over the top in relation to this. I just think his analysis of the game is rubbish and his character is dodgy to say the least. Double life, playing poker sopranos style.
smasher
09/12/2008, 11:59 AM
If you replaced "nobody would" with "I would not" , I think you may be correct. To say that nobody would argue with me is not correct whatsoever.
Fair enough, but I think you get my point.
Cas hit the nail on the head and sometimes the truth hurts.
As for analysis of the game, that's a matter of opinion. Not many are as bad as Dunphy and Humphries ( nauseating diatribe on Keane) whose rantings get regular press coverage
Drumcondra 69er
09/12/2008, 2:35 PM
I read what Cas had to say and could not see anything outrageous.
He thought Keane had done a good job and should have stayed.
(But maybe he couldn't hide some glee)
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2008/12/5/1228491824927/Tony-Cascarino-001.jpg
"He's taken the easy option. He's not rolled up his sleeves and even with as much courage as Roy Keane says he's got, this is the end for him.
"He'll not manage again. No-one will give him the opportunity to manage a football club because they won't trust him. That's the bottom line.
"Up until the last few weeks where it's gone pear-shaped and he's not had the results, I thought he'd done a good job.
"But they are only two wins away from mid-table.
"You're going to have bad results in your management career as you do in your playing career. But you don't just walk away."
He also said that Roy Keane accosted him in the gents in Heathrow in an attempt to intimidate and bully him and that he laughed it off and told him if he ever had any issues to feel free to come and see him. This was after Matt Cooper asked him was he having a go at him for walking away because Keane had a go at Cas in the press previously and Cas said in a jokey fashin that 'it wasn't just the press, he had a go at me in the toilets in Heathrow as well!' He said that Keane did this to a number of Irish teammates (although maybe not in a public toilet!) over the years depending on his mood and that it had also happened with Man u teammates but been kept quiet by the club. He said Keane was basically a bully. He's entitled to his opinion, he may be a sh1t pundit but I can't see why anyone has a problem with him saying any of this. Check last Friday's Last Word on todayfm.com and the interview should still be in the 7 day archive. Can't link in to it from work unfortunately.
And as for the clown who suggested above that people having a go at Keane were doing so on the behest of Cathal Dervan (that old chesnut!), cop yourself on, we're big enough to have our own opinions without relying on some gob****e from the Daily Star or whatever rag he submits his excuses for articles to these days to tell us what to think....
09/12/2008, 2:52 PM
http://www.todayfm.com/Shows/Weekdays/Matt-Cooper/listen.aspx
Just listend to it. The problem I have with Cascarino is that he does not leave his anaylsis to football. He brings personality into it. He said that O Leary was not a nice person and he basically tore his character to shreds on the airwaves and he has done the same with Keane. Now that is fine but those in glass houses should not throw stones. Cascarino is no one to be going on about personality.
smasher
09/12/2008, 3:24 PM
I would agree, I don't think that Cascarino has said anything totally over the top in relation to this. I just think his analysis of the game is rubbish and his character is dodgy to say the least. Double life, playing poker sopranos style.
I think that fot a Keane supporter to label someone else a ' dodgy character' is bit rich.
09/12/2008, 3:27 PM
I am not a Keane supporter and I agree Keane is a dodgy character so where does that leave you now. I said earlier if its a Civil War I would be labour, so go read a history book.
The point I am making is that the analysis of Keane or any footballer or manager when conducted on the airwaves should be kept to their ability etc. In addition Cascarino is in no place to be having a go at Keanes character when his is as equally flawed. It is a bit rich for Cascarino to be having a go at Keanes personality.
If you stop seeing things in a binary Keane V Mc Carthy or Keane is wrong everybodly else is right then you may understand this. In addition there are element of the Pro Keane who see things in a binary way also.
smasher
09/12/2008, 3:39 PM
I am not a Keane supporter and I agree Keane is a dodgy character so where does that leave you now. I said earlier if its a Civil War I would be labour, so go read a history book.
The point I am making is that the analysis of Keane or any footballer or manager when conducted on the airwaves should be kept to their ability etc. In addition Cascarino is in no place to be having a go at Keanes character when his is as equally flawed. It is a bit rich for Cascarino to be having a go at Keanes personality.
If you stop seeing things in a binary Keane V Mc Carthy or Keane is wrong everybodly else is right then you may understand this. In addition there are element of the Pro Keane who see things in a binary way also.
Keane has cast aspersions on his own players publicly and not just their football ability. He did the same to Mick McCarthy and you have labelled Cascarino ' a low life'.
By the way, please keep politics out of sport.
09/12/2008, 4:00 PM
I know, I am not defending Keane, have you not got that. Have you not got the contradiction that is Cascarino having a go at Keanes character. That is what I am commenting on. I could not care about Roy Keane and some northern English football team.
In relation to poltics it was an anology. Some people call the Keane V McCarthy the civil war of Irish sport and I was saying if it is a civil war well them I am Labour in this instance.
So what else has Cascarino done or said apart from having a go at Keane and O'Leary that makes him a dodgy character, just curious?
10/12/2008, 6:33 AM
Read his book.
10/12/2008, 7:56 AM
Neil you're banging your head against a brick wall.
FWIW I think you're spot on.
Life isn't simple and is rarely black or white and the polarised, naive and frankly absurd self-reinforcing views trotted out in this thread and on every radio phone-in show are a direct result of slavish subscribion to the views of the gutter press and reflect very poorly on us as a nation.
Get a life people and move on.
10/12/2008, 1:06 PM
Read his book.
This one ?http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41HSX934SSL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU02_.jpg
19 goals for Ireland. Good performer on the field and under the sheets, apparently :p
10/12/2008, 3:21 PM
This one ?http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41HSX934SSL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU02_.jpg
19 goals for Ireland. Good performer on the field and under the sheets, apparently :p
My copy has a much cooler cover...
10/12/2008, 3:30 PM
When the line is used about glass houses it usually refers to some hypocrisy.
In the matter of what Cas criticises Keane about, there is no evident hypocrisy.
We all know Cas is not a quitter.
Cas has thrown in an anecdote into his football column which may reflect negatively on his subject but done to support his point.
The anecdote supports his analysis of Keane the bully. The location of a public toilet certainly has shock horror appeal, a man should be left in peace during his vulnerable moments. I'd hope Keane allowed Cas to finish the business and waited until he was putting a few finishing touches to his hair.
Cas's point covers a good part of Keane's belligerent approach to getting his way.
If you don't know these character types then it won't make much sense to you.
If you don't agree with these bullies then they regard you are against them.
Everything is personal. Keane's attitude to his fellow pro's is a case in point, like Schmeichel who wasn't one to be intimidated.
In amongst his complex contradictions, Keane is a bully.
It is a sizable part of his persona.
Keane has been well paid for his Sunderland stint. He had some hits but overwhelmed by all the misses.
He had the support of his employees, he refused to sign a 2 year contract, some call that integrity. I'd agree with Cas, the evidence more points that Keane is a quitter.
10/12/2008, 6:02 PM
and a much better read than keanes bio