CB- A Ferdinand
CB- Collins/ Nosworthy
LM- A Reid
RM- Malbranque
CM- Whitehead
CM- Richardson
CF- Cisse
CF- Jones

Thats not a bad team the players were there for mid to top half of the table. Obviously something is wrong in the dressing room. Keane could have rode out the storm but choose to ride off into the sunset. Shame on you mister Keane cant believe he walked away. When the tough gets going Keane gets gone...

Morbo
04/12/2008, 7:12 PM
Shows poor character tbf, stupid too, walking out now will probably hurt his job prospects just as much as getting relegated would have, he should have stayed untill the end of the season and if they survived he could quit then and save face, as it is now I doubt another decent team is going to give him a chance and I don't see Keane having the patience to work his way up through the lower leagues. Whats left for Keane now, Punditry?

Denis The Red
04/12/2008, 9:11 PM
I hope he's back as soon as possible. Gives hours of entertainment when he's in the spotlight, not least provided by the very witty Mario Rosenstock. For those of you who don't know what I'm talking about, tune in to the Dempsey show weekday mornings around 8.10. Brilliant!!!

Denis The Red
04/12/2008, 9:16 PM
Couldn't be happier. First time I've ever been delighted to see someone fail and it feels wonderful to see a man, whose blind supporters think is a one- man-defeat-repellent, exposed as the weak minded, throw my toys out of the pram bully that he always was.

The man was a wonderful player, an intelligent man and entertaining to listen to. For all that, he's a c**t. For example:

A cowardly kick out at Haaland because he was having a rubbish game and injured himself in the process.

Tried to end Haaland's career because Haaland justifiably thought Keane was trying it on in that Leeds game. Got sent off with a game poised at 1-1 and incurred a ban at the same time. Hardly the actions of a man who puts winning first.

Elbowed McAteer with a game poised at 1-1 for personal revenge over comments about his book.

Walked out on his country.

Spat the dummy at United when he was no longer up to it.

Walked out on Sunderland when he was exposed as the poor manager he is.

Keane is scum. Hopefully he will disappear for good. Either way, I'm having a few drinks in celebration tonight, I've waited for this for a few years now.

Yawn!!! Haven't heard any of this before.:rolleyes:

Razors left peg
04/12/2008, 10:03 PM
Couldn't be happier. First time I've ever been delighted to see someone fail and it feels wonderful to see a man, whose blind supporters think is a one- man-defeat-repellent, exposed as the weak minded, throw my toys out of the pram bully that he always was.

The man was a wonderful player, an intelligent man and entertaining to listen to. For all that, he's a c**t. For example:

A cowardly kick out at Haaland because he was having a rubbish game and injured himself in the process.

Tried to end Haaland's career because Haaland justifiably thought Keane was trying it on in that Leeds game. Got sent off with a game poised at 1-1 and incurred a ban at the same time. Hardly the actions of a man who puts winning first.

Elbowed McAteer with a game poised at 1-1 for personal revenge over comments about his book.

Walked out on his country.

Spat the dummy at United when he was no longer up to it.

Walked out on Sunderland when he was exposed as the poor manager he is.

Keane is scum. Hopefully he will disappear for good. Either way, I'm having a few drinks in celebration tonight, I've waited for this for a few years now. :D:D:D

Id hate to go through my life as bitter as that

sonofstan
04/12/2008, 11:34 PM
Anyone see some gobsh!te from Drumaville on TV3 going on about how 'the lads were devastated' and how it had been such 'a proud day' when an Irish consortium could buy 'a premier league club in England' - I'm so not a republican, I'm nearly a unionist, but that level of cultural cringe makes me sick; proud because you can buy a 'real' football club in another country, because if it was in ireland it'd only be a copy, (like)

Drumcondra 69er
05/12/2008, 8:01 AM

Thank your lucky stars you're not Roy Keane so......

05/12/2008, 8:04 AM
Tried to end Haaland's career because Haaland justifiably thought Keane was trying it on in that Leeds game

eh... didnt he tear his cruciate in that tackle? :confused:

barney
05/12/2008, 8:19 AM
eh... didnt he tear his cruciate in that tackle? :confused:

Go and YouTube the tackle. He kicked Haaland from behind, with the ball nowhere in sight, Haaland gets up and Keane is staying down for a tackle that he would and should have been booked for. His natural reaction was that Keane was faking. What Haaland did was not unreasonable. If Keane was really that sore over it, he should have had it out man to man with him but instead he attacked him like a coward in the middle of a game five years later and tried to end his career.

I'm not a bitter person. Just cannot stand Roy Keane and his legion of blind followers.

barney
05/12/2008, 8:22 AM

I'd hate to go through life so bitter than I'd aim to deliberately injure a man and try to end his career. Takes all sorts though.

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 8:28 AM
Exactly. Would Cisse, Chimbonda, Malbranque, Ferdinand or Richardson even consider signing for the likes of Wigan, West Brom, Hull, Bolton, Stoke or Fulham? I don't think so. And 5 of those clubs are ahead of Sunderland in the table - some considerably ahead.

As well as that, I don't rate the 5 players above or tbh any of the players he signed this season. His transfer dealings have been awful and he hasn't been able to get any consistency of performance out of his players. Damning indictment for any manager.

chimbonda played with wigan
malbranque played with fulham.
think sunderland are a bigger club then the hammers so can't see your argument in ferdinand's case

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 8:32 AM
I'd hate to go through life so bitter than I'd aim to deliberately injure a man and try to end his career. Takes all sorts though.

the hard man is not the fellow who give's the dirty tackle and injures a player.
the hard man,IMO,is the c/forward who is getting "jots" kicked out of him all day by these.so called hard men,dusts himself off each time,and scores a goal to sicken 'em

barney
05/12/2008, 8:36 AM
the hard man is not the fellow who give's the dirty tackle and injures a player.
the hard man,IMO,is the c/forward who is getting "jots" kicked out of him all day by these.so called hard men,dusts himself off each time,and scores a goal to sicken 'em

Precisely.

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 8:39 AM
and how many champions league medals have you got?

what a plonker

He was not up to the job at Sunderland I will put my hat up there but to call him a loser well thats just daft as hell.

get your head out of the bucket and get a life.

i'd guess none...but neither has keane...suspended remember??

05/12/2008, 8:46 AM
Go and YouTube the tackle. He kicked Haaland from behind, with the ball nowhere in sight, Haaland gets up and Keane is staying down for a tackle that he would and should have been booked for. His natural reaction was that Keane was faking. What Haaland did was not unreasonable.

oh fair enough then, i forgot about keanes reputation for rolling around faking injury during a match :rolleyes:

dublinred
05/12/2008, 8:57 AM
Gk- Gordon
RB- Chimbonda
LB- Mc Cartney
CB- A Ferdinand
CB- Collins/ Nosworthy
LM- A Reid
RM- Malbranque
CM- Whitehead
CM- Richardson
CF- Cisse
CF- Jones

Thats not a bad team the players were there for mid to top half of the table. Obviously something is wrong in the dressing room. Keane could have rode out the storm but choose to ride off into the sunset. Shame on you mister Keane cant believe he walked away. When the tough gets going Keane gets gone...

TBH apart from the goalie I couldn't see many of them getting a game for Paul Cook at Rovers. I tihnk Keane went into management too early and tried signing a lot of people he knew , he would of been better off having a break and identifying potential targets for when he started his management career which is what i think shearer is doing at the moment.

Another theory is that he got his revenge on Quinn for Saipan by wasting 70m of his and his mates money on players with very little resale value.

barney
05/12/2008, 8:58 AM
oh fair enough then, i forgot about keanes reputation for rolling around faking injury during a match :rolleyes:

If you got deliberately kicked from behind and you turned around and saw the perpetrator rolling around the ground what would be your instant reaction? Twas in the heat of the moment and it was an instant and understandable reaction from Haaland. As I said, if Big Hard Roy was that put out, why didn't he have it out man to man with Haaland instead of what he did?

Keane has also been known to feign injury when it came to international friendly weeks so he's hardly whiter than white in that respect anyway. :rolleyes:

05/12/2008, 9:00 AM
3 threads merged...

Hibernian
05/12/2008, 9:18 AM
i'd guess none...but neither has keane...suspended remember??

OK then Premer League Medals?

and he does have champions league medal by way he just did not receive it on night of final

Drumcondra 69er
05/12/2008, 9:35 AM

Do you honestly think it was out of order for Haaland to have a go at Keane in the heat of the moment having just been booted up in the air by him when the ball was running out of play? Keane was a coward that day (head wrecked because man u were losing to Leeds so lashes out for no reason letting his team mates down on the day and missing a season as a result) and a coward when he took his 'revenge'. Had Haaland done Keane's cruciate in a tackle or by kicking him then there may have been some mitigation but the fact that Keane held a grudge purely for injuring himself and is defended for it by his legion of blind followers is shameful. It's like deliberately driving into a wall and blaming the wall or whoever built it for any injuries you suffer.

smasher
05/12/2008, 9:41 AM
If you got deliberately kicked from behind and you turned around and saw the perpetrator rolling around the ground what would be your instant reaction? Twas in the heat of the moment and it was an instant and understandable reaction from Haaland. As I said, if Big Hard Roy was that put out, why didn't he have it out man to man with Haaland instead of what he did?

Keane has also been known to feign injury when it came to international friendly weeks so he's hardly whiter than white in that respect anyway. :rolleyes:

Well said Barney.
It took an American guy to come in and sort it out at Sunderland. All these Drumaville wallies tiptoeing around Keane , afraid to challenge him on anything.
It was like some rich parent not wanting to challenge their errant child who swans around the place wasting their money like there's no tomorrow.
Meanwhile his ego is massaged by his bosses and the misguided masses who flock to North East from Ireland to pay him homage, blissfully unaware of the sinking ship that is Sunderland FC.

barney
05/12/2008, 10:22 AM
Just in case anyone is in any doubt about what a piece of filth Keane is, have a look at this clip. There's the original tackle and Keane's revenge. You'll notice Haaland looks like he just let rip with a very short comment and you could understand it given what was a stupid, cowardly Keane tackle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJuxKrnTP-k

smasher
05/12/2008, 10:24 AM
Just in case anyone is in any doubt about what a piece of filth Keane is, have a look at this clip. There's the original tackle and Keane's revenge. You'll notice Haaland looks like he just let rip with a very short comment and you could understand it given what was a stupid, cowardly Keane tackle.

I think that says it all , as if we did'nt know already.

seanfhear
05/12/2008, 10:56 AM

Between those two incidents and Saipan there is plenty of evidence that Roy Keane is a flawed character and is a guy with such a flawed character suitable to be a football manager?

Certainly none of us can take away from him that he was a great player.

Maybe its because of these flaws that some players become great as individual players.

Keane will have to question wheter he has the ability to get the best out of other people.It is a completely different gift that that needed to be a great individual player.

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 11:07 AM
OK then Premer League Medals?

and he does have champions league medal by way he just did not receive it on night of final

did not accept the medal hib's.
agree he was a great player....but nasty selfserving"who but me " person.
the list goes on...what he said to mccarthy was racist.
supposing richardson said something similar to him,what would his reaction have been to that in his capacity as a manager...he was always a bitter person..to many incidents to list here..great player,not in the same league as the all time greats,the exact opposite as a public person(cannot comment as to what he is like in his private life)....just glad i don't have to listen to him,or about him,anymore

05/12/2008, 11:11 AM
.just glad i don't have to listen to him,or about him,anymore

But equally glad of the chance to post repeatedly about him on this thread.

05/12/2008, 11:14 AM

Unbelievable isn't it? I reckon the exact same stuff was posted in 2002, and every years since whenever Keane did anything of note.

I certainly can't be descibed as a fan of the man, but jesus, some people just need to move on.

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 11:25 AM

that's what this is about...posting opinions is it not????
you may disagree with mine...opinions are never right,by definition,but i am entitled,as you are,to them...............

05/12/2008, 11:31 AM
I have heard it all now...Holy God

Please please please tell me you spotted that I was joking.

05/12/2008, 11:32 AM

no it wasn't - cause he never said THAT -:rolleyes:
tabloids ahead of themselves

05/12/2008, 11:34 AM
Well said Bennocelt, a man whose wife and kids have all been born in ENgland just like McCarthy, it does not stand up to me and even if he did say it, I would not judge him on it as clearly he does not believe it and carry it out in his day to day life. Things can be said in the heat of a moment (by the way not saying he said it).

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 11:37 AM
no it wasn't - cause he never said THAT -:rolleyes:
tabloids ahead of themselves
your were a s**t player
your a S**t manager your not even f***in' irish,for F***K's sake

exactly what he said...roll eye's away!!!!!!

smasher
05/12/2008, 12:02 PM
Unbelievable isn't it? I reckon the exact same stuff was posted in 2002, and every years since whenever Keane did anything of note.

I certainly can't be descibed as a fan of the man, but jesus, some people just need to move on.

These are not flaws, just downright thuggish behaviour. I have to laugh at all you guys trying to cover up these actions and explain them away as the acts of an imperfect person.
No. These are the actions of someone who can give it but cant take it. A person who when he cant live up to his supposed good name , decides that running away is easier than facing the challenge head on.
The foul on Haaland says it all.
That will be the enduring image.
It encapsulates the whole sorry saga.

05/12/2008, 12:11 PM
These are not flaws, just downright thuggish behaviour. I have to laugh at all you guys trying to cover up these actions and explain them away as the acts of an imperfect person.
No. These are the actions of someone who can give it but cant take it. A person who when he cant live up to his supposed good name , decides that running away is easier than facing the challenge head on.
The foul on Haaland says it all.
That will be the enduring image.
It encapsulates the whole sorry saga.

Funny I thought we were discussing the merits or lack thereof of him as a manager not as a player

You may not like him , but I don't see why Saipan and Haaland have to be brought up in every discussion about him

Hibernian
05/12/2008, 12:21 PM
Funny I thought we were discussing the merits or lack thereof of him as a manager not as a player

You may not like him , but I don't see why Saipan and Haaland have to be brought up in every discussion about him

Agree.

People cant just move on in this argument always going back to the same thing.

I have so much admiration for Keane as player.

As a Manager? Quite simply he was not good enough but I just hate this ranting on about something that is now well in the past.

05/12/2008, 12:22 PM

Well said Gustavo. As Owlsfan said earlier in the thread-

nearly all the debate here about his managerial expertise is based on which camp the person was in back in 2002.

I also think it is interesting that the same people who say "he's such a crap manager - look at all the money he has wasted, he's gonna relegate Sunderland" are now saying "if he was a real manager he'd stay and see it all through".

This doesn't make sense to me. I think Keane has come to realise he has made big mistakes, and is worried that if he continued, Sunderland would be relegated. So he has quit in order that Sunderland might turn things around under another, better manager.

Rather than simply walking away from a mess he has created, I think he hopes somebody better than him will be able to do what he has lost confidence in himself to do and sort the mess out.

Hibernian
05/12/2008, 12:24 PM
supposing richardson said something similar to him,what would his reaction have been to that in his capacity as a manager...he was always a bitter person..to many incidents to list here..great player,not in the same league as the all time greats,the exact opposite as a public person(cannot comment as to what he is like in his private life)....just glad i don't have to listen to him,or about him,anymore

Yes he did go OTT in saipan but I think we need to move on from that discussion just what I think, but understand your point

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 12:29 PM
Well said Bennocelt, a man whose wife and kids have all been born in ENgland just like McCarthy, it does not stand up to me and even if he did say it, I would not judge him on it as clearly he does not believe it and carry it out in his day to day life. Things can be said in the heat of a moment (by the way not saying he said it).

a bit like "big Ron"...i didn't know the mike was on.
if i did i would not have said it!!!!
yeah that's not racist...as long as no one hears

barney
05/12/2008, 12:32 PM

Because they expose the weaknesses of Keane the person. Because they are part of a pattern of cowardice and weak mindedness that have peppered the public life of Roy Keane over the last decade and a half. The latest bottling act just confirms what Keane is. It's all relevant when discussing him as a manager.

Buzzer
05/12/2008, 12:32 PM
Yes he did go OTT in saipan but I think we need to move on from that discussion just what I think, but understand your point

fair enough...no bother hib

Wolfie
05/12/2008, 12:33 PM
What job would he do for Sam Allardyce? Dog walker?

Feck - apologies for balls up there - Allardyce is one of the early favourites for the Sunderland job.

That said, some of Allardyce's dealings in the past have involved "seeing a man about a dog".

Noelys Guitar
05/12/2008, 12:35 PM
How many clubs (and their fans) would like to have Keane as their manager even after what has happened recently at Sunderland? I would bet lots despite what some ex-players (like Cascarino) are saying.

celticV3
05/12/2008, 12:37 PM
I'd say any other club wanting to get into the oirish market will be mad after him

05/12/2008, 12:38 PM
Roy Keane:

Great footballer
Questionable Manager
S**te Person

05/12/2008, 12:42 PM
Roy Keane:

Great footballer
Questionable Manager
S**te Person

Would agree with that. I'd have him as Pats manager though ;)

gaiscíoch
05/12/2008, 12:46 PM

Are you off your head. Haaland was trying to body check Keane thats why he lost it had a swipe. :mad:

Standing over an opponent and calling him a cheat as the player is obviously in agony is so cowardly it's not even funny.
Was Keane going to get up and fend for himself in that state I think not....
I wonder why Nigel Martyn ran straight over calling on the Physio??? Then you notice Beckham having words with Haaland.

Lets not forget that there is two sides to every story. Haaland was a master of the good fouls as I call them. Pulling jerseys, Clipping ankles, body checking opponents etc he had nothing else to offer a game cause he was crap otherwise.

I don't particularly like Roy Keane the manager too many opinions. But I loved Roy Keane the player. He did what no other player with his level of ability ever did and thats make it to the top on attitude and fight and determination because he never was a man who could beat three men and smack it in top cover did the simple things right.

Scram
05/12/2008, 1:27 PM
Roy Maurice Keane: My True Story*

Stand up. Mirror. Staring. Can I do it? A moment...NO. I'm ready. Get the dog lead. Get the wallet. Focus.
"Will you be going to the shops or not then Roy?"
It's the wife. Hands me the shopping list. On a post-it. Yellow. Like a card. Not red. Going for the ball.
"I'm not going to those f****** amateurs in Tesco again," I tell her. "Do you think Felipe Scolari's doing his shopping pushing a trolley with a busted wheel?"

I'm angry now, running it back in my mind...last time, the trolley, the big stack of baked beans half price, the wobbly wheel, children crying, losing control. Beans.

I'm sitting on the floor in the hall. The wife's standing there. "Just get a pint of milk from the corner then, love, " she says.

I get up. She comes at me. I kiss her, hard. On the cheek. The cheek was there (I think). "Take that," I think to myself.

"Take what?" she asks. I go out of the house.
Corner shop. Corner. Defend it. Zonal. I TOLD YOU TO PICK HIM UP - THAT WAS YOUR MAN.
Milk. Milk. Focus on the milk.
"Morning Roy." It's Mr Patel.
"You're a f****** crap newsagent and you're a f****** crap person," I say.
"Okay," he says.
I turn and look for the milk. Stuff, money, bag. Walking again. Blind man. Dog. Stick. Can't he see? Why can't he see? Can't he see that was offside? What is he doing?

I'm in the kitchen. Wife's unpacking the shopping. She's not happy. Teacups?
No. Shaking head.
"What's all this stuff, Roy?"
I don't understand. Stare.
"Roy. I've asked you out for a pint of milk. You've come back with four packets of rubber gloves, a Sodastream - I didn't know they still made them - six biros, not one but two copies of New Scientist, a case of Doctor Pepper and 400 Silk Cut. You don't even smoke, Roy."

"No," I say.
"And how much have you spent? Turn out your pockets," she says.
Coins, notes, clank, receipt.
"Roy."
She's talking.
"Roy, you've spent 85 quid on rubbish. Absolute rubbish. What were you thinking? And where the hell's the milk?"
Focus. Got to focus. Keep looking straight ahead. Focus.

* Not with the ****** Dunphy

barney
05/12/2008, 1:29 PM
Are you off your head. Haaland was trying to body check Keane thats why he lost it had a swipe. :mad:

Standing over an opponent and calling him a cheat as the player is obviously in agony is so cowardly it's not even funny.
I wonder why Nigel Martyn ran straight over calling on the Physio??? Then you notice Beckham having words with Haaland.

Lets not forget that there is two sides to every story. Haaland was a master of the good fouls as I call them. Pulling jerseys, Clipping ankles, body checking opponents etc he had nothing else to offer a game cause he was crap otherwise.

I don't particularly like Roy Keane the manager too many opinions. But I loved Roy Keane the player. He did what no other player with his level of ability ever did and thats make it to the top on attitude and fight and determination because he never was a man who could beat three men and smack it in top cover did the simple things right.

You are joking. Sweet mother of God.

Wasn't a body check at all, he was getting to the ball well ahead of Keane and barely touched him. Radebe had it covered anyway. Keane lashed out coz he had no hope of getting the ball.

Martyn saw the whole incident so knew that Keane was genuinely injured. Haaland just got a kick from behind, got up and saw the man that kicked him was rolling around. His instant, and very short reaction, was that Keane was staying down to avoid a booking. It's what most people would have assumed.

Take off the blinkers.

05/12/2008, 1:38 PM
Take off the blinkers.

likewise

Drumcondra 69er
05/12/2008, 1:39 PM

:D:D
Quite possibly the biggest pile of tripe I've ever read on this forum. Haaland was jockeying a ball out of play same as what happens countless times in every game of football at every level every week. If an opponenet kicked out evertime that happened in a game you'd end up with 2 keepers left on the pitch after 90 minutes. If you consider that body checking you've led a very sheltered life.......