Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Paul McGee a disgrace

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Well you wouldn't really, given that you are involved personally with the club.

I agree with the points you have made. Things are looking up. However, I don't share your views on the gates. They are not consistent, and are dwindling in my opinion.

The concerns I have are with McGees behaviour, and the inability to commit to a contract or be offered one.

Exactly, he is involved with the club so he can see first hand that Ski is a great manager and that there was no need to start a thread complaining about the manager when things are going so well... Whoever started this thread is just sour and should realise how well things are going. As i said before i thought this season was going to be different, but a lot of Limerick fans have gone back to the bad old days when the negatives seemed to jump out at ye before the positives. "Ski" did not cost us a point in Cobh, it was an unlucky last minute goal. He was an irish international and has great experience so lets get off his back and support our manager!! If you watch this video http://www.tangledupinblueandblack.com/test.html, you will see that McGee really does care and his sending offs were a reaction as he has passion, just like everyone on here. Whether that reaction was over the top or not, is another days conversation.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post

In fairness In Exile the players looked like they hadn't a clue what to do after Skee was sent off. When Cobh went a man down they had no idea how to exploit that, you can say that that's the players fault, but I'd lay it at the door of the guy who was supposed to be analyising the game and changing tactics accordingly, who at that minute was probably sipping back a pint in the Cobh bar.

Doesnt that show how good a manager he is!! That when he got sent off, the team where clueless

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    "Ski" did not cost us a point in Cobh, it was an unlucky last minute goal.
    That's ******** in fairness, we had no direction on the pitch, so we couldn't push on for a winner, or even close the game out for the draw, and Cobh's goal was very well worked and fully deserved as far as I'm concerned, nothing unlucky about us losing down there

Doesnt that show how good a manager he is!! That when he got sent off, the team where clueless
    I never said he was techinally poor, he clearly isn't, his antics are that of a child though

They are true, but that is no reason to ask for the man to be sacked. Im not suggesting you said that, jebus, but if your agreeing that he is techinally good, then lets get behind the manager and concentrate on the excellent 4-1 win

I'll happily support him if he didn't apply to be manager of Athlone last week, I don't mind him going at the end of the season, but leaving us in the middle of a promotion chasing season wouldn't be on, and would put him right up there with Jamie Nolan and CP O'Brien in my estimations. You lot may want it proven, but from what I've heard, and from who, I'd more want it disproven than anything else. Until then I shan't be joining in with Skee McGee's Blue and White Army chants, instead will sing Limerick's Blue and White Army

Well im yet to have proof that he did apply for the Athlone job so i wont comment on that... How about Ski McGee's............ An Athlone Reject?

but I'd lay it at the door of the guy who was supposed to be analyising the game and changing tactics accordingly, who at that minute was probably sipping back a pint in the Cobh bar.
    Actually he was standing directly behind the dug-out talking to his assistants. He was hard to miss, even from where we were standing. Like the Limerick equivalent of the Tango Man.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

The opposite.Ask anyone in any management walk of life.The test of your management skils is when your not there how does the set up work!!
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

I think Ski reads foot.ie lads, Quote from Ski Mcgee: "It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club"

i reckon alot of managers do, and i know alot of players do.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

"It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club"
    This is exactly what I mean! What mischief? If the man hadn't been sent off twice in a row it wouldn't even be an issue! I don't have to fall behind everything the club does just because I'm a supporter and anybody who thinks I should is living in a Drew Wonderland to be honest.

Our manager, leaving aside his assorted merits for now, has a discipline problem that needs to be corrected. If a player was sent off twice in a row there'd be no excuses about passion and enthusiasm. Passion and enthusiasm are wonderful things but surely we can expect a grown man with McGee's experience to channel them properly?

super blues

Great attitude. Nice to see that you're happy to blow a stack of money to finish third bottom. If the club wanted to finish in that position then they would have signed the players to do it, instead of the crack squad that's there now. Before you call people muppets might I suggest a look in the nearest mirror.
    go back and read my post again joesoap.i was talking about when we did'nt know if we were going to have a club to support or not.you lot are never happy shower of big girls the lot of ye!!

The statement on the website begins "Ski was quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job ...."
    Thats good enough for me.
    As I dont know you from Adam, and I dont know your mysterious friend in the know, you'll understand my reluctance to go along with your point of view over the official line.
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    The statement on the website begins "Ski was quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job ...."
    Thats good enough for me.
    It says that alright, but then he doesn't say he didn't apply for it, and in fact he doesn't even mention Athlone after that opening statement, so that's not good enough for me

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    This is exactly what I mean! What mischief? If the man hadn't been sent off twice in a row it wouldn't even be an issue! I don't have to fall behind everything the club does just because I'm a supporter and anybody who thinks I should is living in a Drew Wonderland to be honest.
    Spot On.

As for the mischief, Ski might want to have a look where the rumour first originated from online rather than blaming the fans

It says that alright, but then he doesn't say he didn't apply for it, and in fact he doesn't even mention Athlone after that opening statement, so that's not good enough for me
    Well i can confirm tonight from speaking with Limerick37 u-21 manager Billy Barrett that Paul Mcgee did not apply for the Athlone job. All a stupid rumour.

Hi Lads
    Just my 2 cents worth
    I think he was entitled to apply for the job
    Most if not all have applied for a job while in another one
    if he thought it was a better job well and good ( i don't it is anyway)
    we are all entitled to look for another job with more money better terms etc..
    As for the double sending that on the other hand i think we need a statment from Ski or the club regarding his behavior
    As someone said if that happened to a player sent off twice in a week he and we would expect a fine of some sort
    Has Ski had to explain his actions to any of the board of the club(old keeper etc..)
    my last point . i have been reading this forum for about a year and a bit now
    and to be honest i am a bit disapointed in some people .
    if you go back 6 months.The dire state that the club was in
    and the current position we find ourselves now !
    How can people still be complaing ?how?
    Ski isn't the best manager in the world we all know that, thats why he is here, He may do very stupid things now and again. so what!
    if you look at Shelborne and look at limerick 37 and their positions we both had similar problems at start of seaon but they had an experianced manager in keely
    but we are doing so much better then them with Ski
    just think back to Last year
    and to where we are now, i for one won't be asking for Ski's head !
    relax and enjoy Lads
    its nice to be able to talk to other EL fans with a bit of cheer about your own club for a change.
    Last edited by waylanderj; 24/07/2007 at 11:57 PM. Reason: Grammar(still bad)

I don't really see anyone calling for his head. The main concerns that some have relate to his behaviour, the alleged approach to Athlone and the fact that everyone was in the dark regarding the contract situation. He has since quelled rumours regarding the contract situation. Fair enough and at least there is some stability there now, which is very important. I just don't know why it took so long to clarify.

A statement from him categorically denying his intentions for the Athlone job are now required, especially as he says he is under contract to Limerick 37.

The club also need to address his image. Aping the officials, playing to the crowd and getting sent off twice in a week are not standards becoming an EL manager. Especially our manager.

We had the problems a few years ago with Dave Hill...the discipline in the club was terrible and the managers antics and comments didn`t help...we had to get rid of him eventually...reading your forum reminds me of that time....ski reminds me a little of hill....

A statement from him categorically denying his intentions for the Athlone job are now required, especially as he says he is under contract to Limerick 37.
    Jaysus lads what is this - the bloddy peace process? The statement says "quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job". Is that not enough - you want to give him a form of words that he should utter for a small group of fans that are worried about it? If you are not interested in a job you will not apply for it. I read from the statement that he doesn't want to go to Athlone and (by implication) he wants to stay here. End of.

As our friends up North are wont to say - get over yourselves lads.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast