Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs Accept Ward Bid

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    point taken

I mis read your post. Sincere apologies.
    OK all is forgiven

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr View Post
    Eh no! He has rejected a trial at Wolves as he believes he is above going over to some English crowd for a trial, he is right. On Wednesday, there was a quote from him in the Irish Examiner saying that England isn't all that its cracked up to be and he is very happy at Cork City. Unlike most eL players, Roy has no aspirations to go back to England ASAP.

Roy didn't score for the first 5 months of the season but he was then moved up front and got 9 goals in 11 games. IMO, Roy could certainly make as big an impact in England as Doyler and should be given a shot with Ireland.

Maybe this is not true then because they say Cork refused Wolves not Roy.

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrosst...p?newsid=26029

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Praha View Post
    Maybe this is not true then because they say Cork refused Wolves not Roy.

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrosst...p?newsid=26029
    Cork City's Roy O'Donovan named eircom/ Soccer Writers Association Player of the Month for November

The 21 year old also won the award in November last year, when he finished the season in terrific form.

O'Donovan was prolific for the Leesiders in the final weeks of the campaign after being switched to centre forward from midfield. He ended the campaign with eleven league goals, four of those coming in November.

The former Coventry youth scored twice in the 4-1 win over Waterford before grabbing the only goal of the game in victories over St Patrick's Athletic at Richmond Park, and Shelbourne at Turner's Cross. He also impressed when starting up front for the Irish 'B' side in their drawn game with Scotland.

The Cork native was actually better known as a forward player during his time in England, but acknowledges that he had to be patient when he returned to Ireland given the quality of strikers that were at Cork.

"When I came back first, I just wanted to get my foot in the door and make a career for myself out of the game. At that time, I was behind Kevin Doyle, John O'Flynn, Neale Fenn and George O'Callaghan in the forward positions. The best option was to play on the right wing, but after 18 months the chance came to go back up front again, " said O'Donovan.

It was a move brought about my circumstances which almost pushed Cork into the league title frame. They had to settle for a disappointing fourth place position, but O'Donovan prefers not to dwell on the past and is looking ahead to the future with new investment helping out chairman Brian Lennox.

"It's a shame the season ended when it did because we were close to the shakeup at the end and we were just hitting form at the right time," he says.

Of course, O'Donovan himself could be a valuable asset for Cork with suitors from cross channel interested in bringing him back across the water. Wolves have been the most high profile side linked with his services, while Southend United were reported to have made a bid.

However, the player himself says that if he is to move it will have to be a fair deal for Cork. And he also believes that clubs should have seen enough of him already to be confident in making a bid, rather than needing to invite him over for a trial as has been suggested.

"I think I'm above that. If people want to see me play, they can come and see me play for Cork. They've had plenty of chances. I've played in 10 European games, around 10 under 21 games and I've got a 'B' cap in addition to playing around 80 games for Cork City. Maybe on trial, they might want to see me and get to know me as a person for a few days rather than seeing me as a footballer because there have been plenty of opportunities for that." "I don't mean to sound arrogant, but I have to be fair to the club. If people want me, then they're going to have to make a bid that's fair to everybody," said O'Donovan.

Happy now??

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr View Post
    Cork City's Roy O'Donovan named eircom/ Soccer Writers Association Player of the Month for November

The 21 year old also won the award in November last year, when he finished the season in terrific form.

O'Donovan was prolific for the Leesiders in the final weeks of the campaign after being switched to centre forward from midfield. He ended the campaign with eleven league goals, four of those coming in November.

The former Coventry youth scored twice in the 4-1 win over Waterford before grabbing the only goal of the game in victories over St Patrick's Athletic at Richmond Park, and Shelbourne at Turner's Cross. He also impressed when starting up front for the Irish 'B' side in their drawn game with Scotland.

The Cork native was actually better known as a forward player during his time in England, but acknowledges that he had to be patient when he returned to Ireland given the quality of strikers that were at Cork.

"When I came back first, I just wanted to get my foot in the door and make a career for myself out of the game. At that time, I was behind Kevin Doyle, John O'Flynn, Neale Fenn and George O'Callaghan in the forward positions. The best option was to play on the right wing, but after 18 months the chance came to go back up front again, " said O'Donovan.

It was a move brought about my circumstances which almost pushed Cork into the league title frame. They had to settle for a disappointing fourth place position, but O'Donovan prefers not to dwell on the past and is looking ahead to the future with new investment helping out chairman Brian Lennox.

"It's a shame the season ended when it did because we were close to the shakeup at the end and we were just hitting form at the right time," he says.

Of course, O'Donovan himself could be a valuable asset for Cork with suitors from cross channel interested in bringing him back across the water. Wolves have been the most high profile side linked with his services, while Southend United were reported to have made a bid.

However, the player himself says that if he is to move it will have to be a fair deal for Cork. And he also believes that clubs should have seen enough of him already to be confident in making a bid, rather than needing to invite him over for a trial as has been suggested.

"I think I'm above that. If people want to see me play, they can come and see me play for Cork. They've had plenty of chances. I've played in 10 European games, around 10 under 21 games and I've got a 'B' cap in addition to playing around 80 games for Cork City. Maybe on trial, they might want to see me and get to know me as a person for a few days rather than seeing me as a footballer because there have been plenty of opportunities for that." "I don't mean to sound arrogant, but I have to be fair to the club. If people want me, then they're going to have to make a bid that's fair to everybody," said O'Donovan.

Happy now??
    Yeah fair play to him.
    But what i meant was maybe the whole article I posted a link to was not true because it falsely reported that Cork refused Wolves not O'Donovan himself.

However, what you have posted above would explain why they think a trial with Celtic would also be rejected.
    The only problem with him saying they can come and see him play at Cork is that there are no games at the moment and the transfer window closes in two and a half weeks.
    Last edited by Irish_Praha; 12/01/2007 at 5:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Praha View Post
    Yeah fair play to him.
    But what i meant was maybe the whole article I posted a link to was not true because it falsely reported that Cork refused Wolves not O'Donovan himself.

However, what you have posted above would explain why they think a trial with Celtic would also be rejected.
    The only problem with him saying they can come and see him play at Cork is that there are no games at the moment and the transfer window closes in two and a half weeks.

It was City who rejected a trial from Wolves which O'Donovan was happy to hear. City turned down a €250,000 bid from Southend aswell and Roy said he wouldnt have gone given the choice. I have a feeling that he will sign a new contract if offered one. His current one runs out in 8 months time.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    whether you (or anyone else) ever heard of him is not the point - the point is some people posting here seem to equate a move to england as a sign that the player is suddenly great
    Nobody said that. The fact is that the standard of football and the standard of coaching is better in the English Championship than it would be in the EL. Players like Doyle and Ward will only reach the potential that they have by moving to England. At the present the Eircom League is not good enough for a number of players to reach their full potential.
    someone even went on to suggest doyle had been "developed" in his short time at reading (dOYLE IS A MATURE PLAYER - with wide experience - is game will evolve but the implication being that there was 70,000 to 5 million worth of "development" is preposterous and yes - insulting to the quality of football he faced here)

he's not some raw talent who was polished off by the english - he was a developed player in his own right
    So what you are saying is that you think Doyle had reached his peak before he left Cork, at the age of 20/21? Doyle is receiving much better coaching than what he received at Cork. There is no chance that he would be as good as he is now without making the move.
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    I'm not sure how the minimum fee clause works but if another club had offered 200,000 could Cork have rejected Reading's offer?
    No.
    By the way - I've seen plenty of Doyle post and pre transfer - there has been no great improvement in his game.
    He was voted Championship player of the year last year. He never achieved that in Ireland. He's already scored more goals for Reading than he did at Cork, playing less games at Reading.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Nobody said that. The fact is that the standard of football and the standard of coaching is better in the English Championship than it would be in the EL. Players like Doyle and Ward will only reach the potential that they have by moving to England. At the present the Eircom League is not good enough for a number of players to reach their full potential...
    Quiet probably true but theres also the other side of the coin...

Roy O'Donovan: Released by Coventry. Since then has become regular U21 & now B International.

Joe Gamble: Reading loaned him to Barnet in the Conference, then released him. Now a B International & thought to be best midfielder in the league by many.

I only mention players from my own club as more familiar with them but could this mean eL coaching actually improving players? Why did the Championship clubs fail to recognise their talent?

Is this the 'Kevin Doyle Effect'? why are so many eL players suddenly being seriously considered for moves to England and Scotland? Is it simply because these players may be cheaper than similar players in the lower leagues in England? If you look at the summer transfers there really wasn't much cash changing hands beyond the big clubs so I'm thinking that clubs are looking for bargains. Of course Kevin Doyle and Shane Long are good adverts for buying Irish.

Hooperatzi - As I said, we discuss almost every overseas transfer of Irish players on this forum. The reason it's only oversea's players is because transfer from EL to EL club are obviously for the EL forum.

Quote Originally Posted by Hooperatzi View Post
    the implication of posting this thread in the international team forum is clear.
    Obviously not.

Quote Originally Posted by Hooperatzi
    on monday as a gypo he isnt good enough for the national team.
    And would you like to point me in the direction of a post claiming he's now good enough for Ireland since his move to Wolves?

It may be the international forum but trust me, every transfer is discussed here whether they have a chance of playing for Ireland or not. Most of us just like to see Irish players do well. For example, here's a thread on someone that obviously won't play for Ireland again:
    http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=36916

Just because there's a thread on Ward here doesn't mean we now think he's good enough to play for Ireland. It doesn't matter if Ward moved from Bohs, Real Madrid or Accrington Stanley...this transfer still would have been discussed on this forum just because the player is Irish.

Any Ireland fan should know who Ward is and I seriously doubt there's any regular poster on here that doesn't know who he was last week.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 14/01/2007 at 9:13 PM.

20 Posts
    I didnt. never heard of him.
    and I regularly check the international forum.(....to keep up with all the celtic news )
    I think its a bit sad that irish players have to go abroad to get any recognition. its sadder that people drag out things like better standard of coaching(..I mean does anyone actually know feck all about the standard of coaching at championship clubs??...) to justify their own inferiority complex.
    maybe playing in a successful cork team that played decent football helped doyle settle into a succesfull reading team that played decent football?

This is getting ridiculous...How much longer is this going to be dragged out? This holier than thou rubbish from eL posters is a joke. Stephen Ward ended up in the international section because he's made an international move. We're not going to discuss him in world football because he's Irish. As an U-21 international, it makes sense to leave him in here. Mods here should really have handled this one better. Some of them obviously take this "ole ole brigade" tripe seriously.

just for the record billsthoughts wouldn't consider himself an el fan...

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Donal81 View Post
    This is getting ridiculous...How much longer is this going to be dragged out? This holier than thou rubbish from eL posters is a joke. Stephen Ward ended up in the international section because he's made an international move. We're not going to discuss him in world football because he's Irish. As an U-21 international, it makes sense to leave him in here. Mods here should really have handled this one better. Some of them obviously take this "ole ole brigade" tripe seriously.
    Exactly. The pure sh*t some of the EL brigade come out with is comical. They really should read some of the cr*p they type. Doyle hasn't improved since he moved from Cork?

Yeah right. Wake up ffs. He wasn't even a regular when he first joined Reading he had to wait until Kitson got injured. Now he's one of the top scorers in the Premiership. If he'd moved straight from the EL to the Premiership I'm sure he would still have banged in the goals like he's doing now.

Do some of these people watch top level football I wonder.
    Last edited by youngirish; 15/01/2007 at 9:22 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81 View Post
    I purposely let this go into the discussion it did otherwise every similar thread will be taken over with this rubbish. I'm trying to explain what this forum is about now so I don't have to anymore, for the time being.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    just for the record billsthoughts wouldn't consider himself an el fan...
    yeah for sure...but I wouldnt have anything against it either which is what I think a few people on here do. which I find a bit weird. I was just making the point that I would normally check this section and not the other ones. and I have never heard of the guy. so basically a lot of what is bein said is balls.

As an eL fan it did rankle with me a bit when eL players are automatically put in this Forum which is called the "National Team" forum , but i do accept eb's argument that many people feel that the forum fulfills a wider remit of providing a place for comment on Irish players not playing in the Eircom League.

What gets me is that people can't understand the el fan's POV and actually think it makes US look small minded...

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    yeah for sure...but I wouldnt have anything against it either which is what I think a few people on here do. which I find a bit weird. I was just making the point that I would normally check this section and not the other ones. and I have never heard of the guy. so basically a lot of what is bein said is balls.
    Well you're not really like the average poster on this forum then as they'd usually follow the U21s. I actually find it very suprising that you, as a regular poster, haven't heard of Ward. He's certainly been talked about a bit on here.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 15/01/2007 at 12:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Exactly. The pure sh*t some of the EL brigade come out with is comical. They really should read some of the cr*p they type. Doyle hasn't improved since he moved from Cork?

Yeah right. Wake up ffs. He wasn't even a regular when he first joined Reading he had to wait until Kitson got injured. Now he's one of the top scorers in the Premiership. If he'd moved straight from the EL to the Premiership I'm sure he would still have banged in the goals like he's doing now.

Do some of these people watch top level football I wonder.
    They lost on the opening day.Doyle then got his chance (or so I remember).Hardly ages.

Maybe you should let someone who watches championship matches every second week in person judge the standard of Championship everything (coaching, players).

Sligo Rovers have better training facilities than Cardiff City.FACT.

The Championship is not the holy grail of football.Ireland fans, get off your high horses.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast