Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs Accept Ward Bid

20 Posts
    honest I havent. gamble , o donnovon I have heard first about on here.
    everyone in the country knows who jason byrne is. thats it.
    cant think of any other that gets amention on here.....maxi?

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Soper View Post
    They lost on the opening day.Doyle then got his chance (or so I remember).Hardly ages.

Maybe you should let someone who watches championship matches every second week in person judge the standard of Championship everything (coaching, players).

Sligo Rovers have better training facilities than Cardiff City.FACT.

The Championship is not the holy grail of football.Ireland fans, get off your high horses.
    Kitson was injured on the opening day. Himself and Lita were the regular starters for the next 5-6 games until he got injured again but don't let the facts obstruct you when making a point.

On that note I'll take your other FACT with a pinch of salt if you don't mind.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    honest I havent. gamble , o donnovon I have heard first about on here.
    everyone in the country knows who jason byrne is. thats it.
    cant think of any other that gets amention on here.....maxi?
    Which is exactly why it should have been posted on here to inform you. EL fans you really need to get those chips off your shoulders.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Which is exactly why it should have been posted on here to inform you. EL fans you really need to get those chips off your shoulders.
    Surely if one wished to be informed on eircom League players then the eircom League forum would be a better place to go,

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Surely if one wished to be informed on eircom League players then the eircom League forum would be a better place to go,
    Is this for real man? It's obvious Billsthoughts has never been to the EL forum and the lad is going to Wolves.

Kitson was injured on the opening day. Himself and Lita were the regular starters for the next 5-6 games until he got injured again but don't let the facts obstruct you when making a point.

On that note I'll take your other FACT with a pinch of salt if you don't mind.
    I said ''if I remember correctly'.I could have been wrong.

On the FACT question, fine.Dave Jones must have been wrong

Can anyone point me to threads discussing Joe Gamble & Roy O'Donovan considering they are after all B Internationals ?

Waiting...

(BTW if i see those threads i will tone the rhetoric down)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    What gets me is that people can't understand the el fan's POV and actually think it makes US look small minded...
    I'm not calling anyone small-minded and can appreciate why a fan of an Eircom League club feels underwhelmed when one of their players goes to England. It's the "here come the ole ole brigade" rubbish that I can't stand and that has absolutely no place on this forum. Everyone here took the time out to sign up to this website and all the posters so far involved in this argument post regularly, commenting on Irish football. For someone to just bleat out this "ole ole" argument about people on this site - and for mods to take it seriously - just because they're not a signed up member of the 400 Club is disgraceful.

If you want a target for your "ole ole" 'argument', go to the corporate suites where people are there with free tickets from the FAI as it's a good networking opportunity. Sure it's good craic and we'll have a singalong if that Richie Keane fella scores and does his somersault. Have a go at those. Don't have a go at people who are here posting about Irish football and don't happen to support an Eircom League club.

This thread is six pages long now and instead of it relating to the transfer of a young Irish player to a big English club, we're getting bogged down with this nonsense discussion.

20 Posts
    Is this for real man? It's obvious Billsthoughts has never been to the EL forum and the lad is going to Wolves.
    I do the odd time to check on the broader stuff.
    jesus I should get me own thread!
    I was just pointing out I would have fitted the profile bein suggested earlier and I have never heard of ward thus the implication that he was discussed a lot before on this forum would seem to be false.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81 View Post
    If you want a target for your "ole ole" 'argument', go to the corporate suites where people are there with free tickets from the FAI as it's a good networking opportunity. Sure it's good craic and we'll have a singalong if that Richie Keane fella scores and does his somersault. Have a go at those. Don't have a go at people who are here posting about Irish football and don't happen to support an Eircom League club.
    But the point we make is how can you support Irish soccer if you don't support your local side? I'd also ask what makes you better than those who get the free ticket?

131 Posts
    I was just pointing out I would have fitted the profile bein suggested earlier and I have never heard of ward thus the implication that he was discussed a lot before on this forum would seem to be false.
    He has been discussed here at least a couple of times before. I'm sure someone can find you the thread. I can't locate it.

But the point we make is how can you support Irish soccer if you don't support your local side? I'd also ask what makes you better than those who get the free ticket?
    Because I'm Irish and I'm proud to be Irish. And I'm always interested in following the careers of the best Irish players (nearly all of whom play abroad) and not the poorer players who are never going to be good enough (this is the vast majority of players in the EL bar a handful of notable exceptions). I also think the FAI is run by a shower of wanke*s who consistently ruin our chances at international level with their amateurish setup and numerous blunderings (appointing Stan) even though IMO we nearly always have the talent to qualify for major tournaments. I therefore am not too keen to be providing them with more of my hard earned bucks to p*ss away.
    Last edited by youngirish; 15/01/2007 at 1:21 PM.

I never said he was discussed a lot but if you're a regular poster here and follow the Irish players I'm very suprised you didn't know Ward.

Go here:
    http://foot.ie/search.php

and search for the word Ward. "Search in forums" = Ireland.

He has been in and out of the U21s for the last 3 years.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    But the point we make is how can you support Irish soccer if you don't support your local side?
    I live in Grand Canal street so never grew up with a "local" side. I may live closer to somewhere like Richmond than plenty of Cork fans do to Turners Cross but to me Cork City are representing the city of Cork. Cork to Cork people is nothing like Dublin to Dublin people. Most of us couldn't care what county Duff is from as long as he's Irish. It's not the same with Cork. If you're from any part of Cork then you'll feel proud to see Cork City do well. I don't really know what I'm trying to say tbh but a local team for Dubs is really local.

A couple of years ago I went to a few Pats matches with my nephew and I really wanted to become a supporter but I just had no affinity with them. I still follow the league and will go to the odd game, watch most of the televised games.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 15/01/2007 at 1:26 PM.

I think there is too much labelling in this thread to be honest. Too many "EL Brigade" comments and "Ole Ole Brigade" comments. I think that does not add to the debate in anyway. For what its worth I think there is nothing wrong with a player who goes to an English club being discussed in the Ireland forum but I would say that if people call for him to be in the senior squad due to where i.e. what country, he plays his football then that is wrong. Ward was a long way off best player in the Bohs team and I think he is a long way off to be in an Ireland full sqaud. Nothing wrong with his transfer to Wolves being discussed in both the EL forum and the Ireland forum in my view.
    In Trap we trust

storm in a tea cup I'd call it

anyway - best of luck to Ward.

Its great to see players get a chance and el clubs get a fair transfer for them.
    I hope he makes an impact. The same with all the players who have recently switched to Scotland and Championship sides.

It can only benefit the EL in the long run if a fair percentage of these players go on to make big impacts cross channel. Transfer fees will rise steadily.

on a related point I disagree that we're witnessing a haemorrage of "talent" - as mentioned in the Tribune. A lot of these transfers are speculative - Ward has been bought on potential alone - he only scored 1 goal last season (AFAIK)

Keegan and Molloy are the Old Age Pensioners of teh league and hardly "rising stars" - good players but again no loss in the overall scheme of things.

Dillon - a loss no question - but no Owen Heary in fairness.
    Bobby Ryan - again no spring chicken.

Byrne - the best striker in the league - but once again has had plenty of seasons in football here.
    Last edited by wws; 15/01/2007 at 1:24 PM.

What are the clubs going to do with 'all' this money. For the good of Irish football I'd like to see it used to keep young Irish players for 1-2 years more (e.g. Connor Clifford). But I wonder if they will start to prey on poorer leagues, might there be an influx of cheap Lithuanian talent?

Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    What are the clubs going to do with 'all' this money. For the good of Irish football I'd like to see it used to keep young Irish players for 1-2 years more (e.g. Connor Clifford). But I wonder if they will start to prey on poorer leagues, might there be an influx of cheap Lithuanian talent?
    Good question. Unfortunately the figures as they curently stand - for transfers would not pay for infrastructural projects - ie ground developments. The money would than go to meet the current costs of running a professional EL team - ie wages - for current and new players. I doubt if there will be an influx of Lithuanian players. There are very few Eastern European players who have ever made a go of it in Irish football.
    And, I'm open to coreection but we were rapidly catching up on many of the smaller eastern euro nations in terms of UEFA ranking.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81 View Post
    If you want a target for your "ole ole" 'argument', go to the corporate suites where people are there with free tickets from the FAI as it's a good networking opportunity
    Do you honestly think that the FAI are going to turn around to their biggest corporate sponsors and say "by the way, we appreciate the money but you'll have to buy your tickets like everyone else and sit in the bucket seats in the North Terrace"? Cop on.

Sponsors such as Eircom, Umbro, FIAT, and some of the banks and building socs, pour money into Irish football, and they get free tickets in return, it's a fact of life and it's not going to change. It's the bogger saps in jester hats with families in tow that get to most people, I'd imagine. Telling people to sit down and stop swearing, as they cannot see the match, because they're used to watching football on the telly.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

I don't support a local side because there was no local side to support when I was growing up. Soccer was always my first game and I played it at juvenile level until I was 17. I continue to play it socially. Is it my fault that I didn't have a club to support? Come on Dodge.

Christ, I'm not a better person than someone in a corporate suite. But if the person is there for the networking opportunities, I'd guess that I'm more of a fan than he is. I don't have issues with this, the FAI needs the cash (other than the time my German boss got a ticket to the Ireland/France game thanks to Eircom and spent the next day telling hilarious tales about "all those men in nylon tops"), but what we have here is one group of supporters slagging off another group of supporters for their supposed lack of support and it's lousy.
    Last edited by Donal81; 15/01/2007 at 2:10 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    Do you honestly think that the FAI are going to turn around to their biggest corporate sponsors and say "by the way, we appreciate the money but you'll have to buy your tickets like everyone else and sit in the bucket seats in the North Terrace"? Cop on.
    I understand the concept of corporate sponsorship, thanks very much. If you read my post, you'd see that I was using corporate suites as a comparison with people who support Ireland and go to games regularly, not questioning the concept of corporate sponsorship (although thanks for the explanation on how it works).

Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    It's the bogger saps in jester hats with families in tow that get to most people, I'd imagine. Telling people to sit down and stop swearing, as they cannot see the match, because they're used to watching football on the telly.
    Really? Because there seems to be an awful lot of people on this forum who go to games regularly but still get abuse for not supporting a local side.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast