Page 85 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3575838485868795 ... LastLast
Results 1,681 to 1,700 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

Hey Sharpshooter, i'm not involved in Grattan! But i will be trying to get to a few local games over the weekend, Macroom seems a bit far

Talking to one of the girls in work who's husband plays for Ballyvolane. She said he was saying the club might not see out this month, would be a same to see this. Anybody else with any info?

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Hey Sharpshooter, i'm not involved in Grattan! But i will be trying to get to a few local games over the weekend, Macroom seems a bit far
    my bad taught you were.its not that far 35mins drive

Blarney St Ath 2 Wilton Utd 1

Well lads another great result for us on Saturday. We went out with a game plan and to a man stuck to it. Wilton started off the better of the two teams with Paul O Mahony meeting a cross from Cian Blake but Eddie made a good save to put it over the bar. We started to get control a bit after that but not any clearcut chances for either side. A clever ball splitting the centre halves was met by Gary Nolan who pulled it away from the on coming Bella in goal for Wilton and dispatched it in to the net to give us the lead. Not many more chances in the first half. 2nd half we had said to keep up the intensity and to try get a 2nd. £mins into the half and Timmy was blown away in the box , a spotter was given. Eddie stepped up and scored. 2 nil to the Steet. We seemed to sit back then and been honest the were just coming and coming against us but the lads stood up and kept them out in the final 3rd. Wilton then got a Pen when a ball was crossed intom the box Judge went up to head away ans Shane stayed down Ref gave it. Paul O Mahony took it but it was saved by Eddie. With around 15 left Wilton got a cornor , taken low to the front post Pakie met it , Eddie saved the first attempt but Pakie followed in to convert it. We held on till the end and taught we should had had had another pen but wasnt given.

As said delighted with the win, Ballyvolane away next Sat. I see they gave a walkover against ye Inswinger?
    "Build it and they will come"

hey Dixie
    Football........its not for girls!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by footiefanatic View Post
    Couldnt have predicted a better weekend for kinsale on their return to league action!!
    A hard fought result against a tough macroom outfit, and Wilton and Leeside both dropping points (a loss and a draw respectively).
    Very early days but already starting to look good for another Kinsale title this year.
    its very early to be predicting who wins the league kinsale have only played 4 matches,the top three at the moment all have to play each other 11 or 12 matches played should gives us a better idea

Quote Originally Posted by sharpshooter View Post
    never say never in football shilts..was a good weekend for kinsale alright but as you said still alot of football to be played.more than likely go down to the last few games again this year...grattan now at the weekend will you be travelling dixie?great result for knockavilla down in little island they seem to be hitting a bit of form now..
    i agree with shilts
    looks like we will be seeing you in kinsale jersey next season!!

Any reports on the Killumney v Pearse game ?

Well done Pearse anyway !

27 Posts
    Shouldnt be talking soccer to Girls Dixie!!! Ballyvolane will not only see out the month but will see out the season. Ballyvolane are in the same boat as a lot of clubs who have a tight enough panel and last weekend was one of those occassions when too many guys had things on the same day. Could possibly have gathered a few strays to fill the fixture but have been bitten before over non registered players and wont go that way again!! AUL were contacted asap sat morning and hand was held up. As other posters have said, the amount of teams fielding unreg players is getting out of hand from what i hear. So for those of you looking for Ballyvolanes Demise - u too boo!, sorry to disappoint.

71 Posts
    Well said overthehill. I wonder will this confirmation of health spread as fast as the rumours of your demise. I doubt it. The two lads up there have put in a mountain of effort. I dont think the modern player realises that all this ego will come back and bite them. No loyalty will drive volunteers away - no volunteers - no football.

Quote Originally Posted by overthehill View Post
    Shouldnt be talking soccer to Girls Dixie!!! Ballyvolane will not only see out the month but will see out the season. Ballyvolane are in the same boat as a lot of clubs who have a tight enough panel and last weekend was one of those occassions when too many guys had things on the same day. Could possibly have gathered a few strays to fill the fixture but have been bitten before over non registered players and wont go that way again!! AUL were contacted asap sat morning and hand was held up. As other posters have said, the amount of teams fielding unreg players is getting out of hand from what i hear. So for those of you looking for Ballyvolanes Demise - u too boo!, sorry to disappoint.

Where did i say i was looking for Ballyvolanes demise?? Far from it. Are people reading between the lines again?? I simply reported what i heard on the ground. Hope they pull through it

Hill, nobody wants to see it no matter what league a team is in and if it doesn't affect your own team. A team going bust is the sign of terrible things in the league!

[QUOTE=overthehill;1461991]Ballyvolane will not only see out the month but will see out the season. Ballyvolane are in the same boat as a lot of clubs who have a tight enough panel and last weekend was one of those occassions when too many guys had things on the same day. Could possibly have gathered a few strays to fill the fixture but have been bitten before over non registered players and wont go that way again!! AUL were contacted asap sat morning and hand was held up.

Delighted to hear it was a once off over the hill, never nice to see teams in trouble which of course ye are not. Local derby for ye this saturday i see. And credit for not going down the road of fielding illegal players. Will ye incur a fine now for last Saturday? Out of curiousity with ye and Glenthorn down in numbers would it not be an idea of pooling resources together for the future as both clubs are from the same neck of the woods. Or am i being niave!!

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Way too early to be making predictions yet.
    We've only played 4 games.
    The league won't take shape until everybody has played 10-12 games.
    I'm just too confident in yer ability Shilts
    I know its very early days but just taught because the way results went with yer first league game in a long while, its already begining to fall into place for yerselves!!

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by footiefanatic View Post
    I'm just too confident in yer ability Shilts
    I know its very early days but just taught because the way results went with yer first league game in a long while, its already begining to fall into place for yerselves!!
    Thanks for the vote of confidence footiefanatic.
    But we can't put that on the mantlepiece can we?

Only trophies go on the mantlepiece and this years ones won't be given out for a long while yet.
    I'm too long in the game to be getting excited after a mere 4 games played.
    That doesn't even count as a good run, in my book!

The leading teams all have to play each other yet, twice in some cases.
    Injuries, suspensions, emigration will affect all teams.
    Throw in teams fighting against relegation and you'll find that there are no soft games in the AUL Prem.
    All to play for yet - plenty of fun and games before the end of May!

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The 'View View Post
    Some interesting results in Prem A today.Couldn't make our game today but a very dissapointing reult. From reports we were extremely poor and didn't deserve anything from the game. Apparently Glenthorn were fairly good and played well but the lead up to the game was a comedy by all accounts. At 2.20 Glenthorn had 6 players and were giving a walkover. By 02.30 they had 9 and agreed to play a half just to avoid walkover. We were warming up since 02.10 and game didn't kick off till 02.50. By then they had 11. By the end of the game they brought on 3 subs. Of the 14 they played our guys reckon about 7 or 8 were Glenthorn players. Not sure if our guys are going to object but we knew guys from other clubs playing today, complete joke really. AUL needs to sort things out. Fair play to the guy running around today knocking for players he got a good 11 out eventually. Hate to see a club struggling but today was extreme to say the least.
    Great result for ye Donaldinho, can you believe our result having beaten ye last week. But as i said this was probably the best team they'll field all year as most players were from other clubs.
    I think if this is brought to the attention of AUL it will be the end of Glenthorn.Did I hear that they were thrown out of AOH cup.

Special AUL meeting this week about finances. All club chairmen and Secretarys to attend. Sounds serious, Anyone any ideas what this meeting is about.

71 Posts
    Dunno what the meeting is about View.

3 theories:

1) The big bucks in the bank are gone via some bad Investment package.

2) They want to get teams to pay more money. I always back the AUL lads on this forum but if they cannot see what trouble clubs are in, I will be very disapointed.

3) They wanna give us money somehow. Am I being too optimistic?

Not sure Horse but fairly sure they won't be offering us money haha. I know the Aul have a lot of money in the kitty but hopefully it hasn't been invested badly. Don't think their looking for more money from teams. We have some good contacts in AUL but its a closed shop about this, no info until meeting Thurs nite. Wonder if some money is missing or if they want to invest some money in the Aviva stadium? Just some guesses, strange situation.

24 Posts
    Lads, as we are finally at the long run in stage of the season, lets see everyones tips for each division.

Premier - Leeside
    Premier A - Greenwood
    Div 1 - Carrigtwohill(Biased) Springfield!
    Div 1A - Kilreen Celtic
    Div 2 - Innishvilla
    Div 2A - Crescent Ath
    Div 2B - Cathedral Celtic
    Div 3 - De Courcey Albion
    Div 3A - Ballinhassig

Page 85 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3575838485868795 ... LastLast