Personally i think this is a great idea. Realistically the junior teams are not going to win the Munster Senior Cup, even the Intermediate teams take this competition as a chance to give their squad a run out. True Cas it's a great day out for the junior clubs and the experience is good but in the long term there is nt any great benefit. So by in a way creating a Cup for the respective winners of the leagues from Cork, Clare, Kerry, Limerick, Waterford and Tipp it gives the chance to crown the most consistent junior team in Munster. If say Kinsale (Cork AUL Champions) played Pike (Limerick) i would definetly be interested in watching that game. Its a showcase for the best Junior teams in the province.
WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
Thats it 'View' not 100% sure which side it is!, but there both from the same club. I think its the same set-up a say urselves and Leeds, where yer Senior sides play MSL(& Fai Intemediate Cup) and yer Junior team plays AUL(& Fai Jnr Cup)
Although I think the side ur talking about is the Leinster Senior League side equivalant to MSL down here and they play in the intermediate cup and are called Tolka Rovers.
Whereas the side I mentioned are the Junior team playing in Aul & Fai Jnr Cup and are called Tolka (FC) ... I think(I hope!)
Anyway as the saying goes, ... ''you can only beat what playing against''
Any club looking for training facilities ? A good offer on all-weather pitch rental in Carrigtwohill posted on A.U.L. site.
Last edited by Onefootednopace; 11/02/2011 at 6:55 PM.
"Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights
Springfield 3 2 winners in Dublin v Tolka.
Backstone 2-3 Bohemians
Absolutely huge win up in monard today where 2 teams battled hard for 3 points in very hard conditions
On the game we won the toss and opted to play against the the gale force wind and Blackstone nearly took of advantage of it when they had 2 one on ones in the 1st 15 mins only to be denied by some great keeping from Tommy Martin
Took the lead on 20 mins when Christy Drisscoll hit a peach of goal that flew into the net from 20 yards out.
Blackstone came back at us and equalised on 30 mins from a set piece when Heaphy tapped in from 3 yards after some slack defending from us stayed level till the half time whistle and we wer happy enough going in level considering the strong wind.
2nd half started and we took the league again from a corner when Christy Drissoll headed in with the help of a deflection to give us 2- 1 lead.But again Blackstone came at us and levelled with 20 mins off another set piece again bad defending from us even though i think there was a suspicion of off side!!
We could have took the lead again straight away when Gary Kerrigan went one on one but Blackstone keeper pulled off a great save.
The gaffer took a chance and brought on Wayne o Leary and went 3 up front a ballsy move considering a draw would have been a great result here but it worked and Wayne layed on Christy Bullman to rifle in a rocket from 15 yards to give us the lead on 90 mins heartbreaking for Blackstone but the gaffer took the chance and we got the reward.
Draw would have probably been the fairer result but we ll grab these 3 points that will put us in great position now in the league, delighted with this result because Blackstone will take points off loads off teams up here..........
Blackstone 2-3 Bohs - pretty accurate report Scaffa - and i would have to agree with you about our second goal - thought there was a suspicion of offside too - but like most things today the ref got it wrong! To be honest i thought he was BRUTAL - and that does a diservice to the word - did he even have a whistle???
Last edited by olachico; 12/02/2011 at 5:03 PM. Reason: ok maybe he didnt get EVERYTHING wrong
Did nt think he was that bad Ola!!...tough game no one was pulling out of challenges thought your man deserved to go he was booked and does a crazy challenge on our full back and mouths off to the ref i mean come on like it was stupid to be honest and the first booking he got!! jesus man knock the ball forward when its a kick off 3 times he attempted and he could nt do it!! and mouthed off to the ref again when he got it wrong!!
Sorry scaffa i thought he was shocking - one of ye're fellas ran in on goal there at one point - he was so far offside all he was short was a deck chair - i've no argument with the sending off - I counted 6 shocking tackles on our centre midfileder - 1 yellow card - one of our subs committed a bad challenge - he got a yellow - do the sums . Just before ye're winner our winger was pulled back - the ref saw it and did nada! he should have stayed retired - i dont think he cost us the game though - thought we were poor defensively!
i also thought he got decisions bad for ye as well - this guy is supposed to be one of the best - god help the rest of them!!
We ll agree to disagree Ola but i dont think hes as bad as you make out!! But dont think some of the challenges wer that bad on the centre mid bar the one that midgy got booked for in the 1st half maybe one more ..... but the one yer sub got probably deserved he left the leg in on Spud
nah not really that low scaffa - he did try to sell us a set just before kick off the last time we played ye though ;-)
No sign of our keeper today either - seems like he doesnt like playing against ye - bevan in goal - fairplay to ye though - first strike was a beauty - good luck to ye - to be honest i'd like to see ye go on and win it at this stage!!
No bothers Ola........Ballyvolane and Blarney St beaten today any reports Shetland/Cas
Scaffa ola.....that ref tried to sell us gear aswell before our match sometime ago !!!!!..........made a serious dodgy decision in that game too.
I have been writing this for a few hours in my head! Im gonna split it into 3 - todays match, specific rant and a general rant.
We were much better than we were the previous time against Bohs - and it was the kinda game where we could have gotten the 90th minute winner too. Good hard game between two clubs who badly wanted to win. All handshakes after, gutted though.
Ola, forgot to tell you about the training balls I was offered before the game! Look, everyone has to make a living but it leaves you wide open to easy criticism. Grand if both teams bought stuff from him but when only one has - hanging yourself out for accusations of favouritism. He had a bad day at the office, getting a very high percentage of decisions wrong.........to be fair it was more 50/50 on the wrong ones today. Our guy was sent off for two silly bookings, avoidable on both sides. Scaff, what you say about the kick-off happens every week and everyone just gets on with it. Instead, our guy gets booked for a petty rule. Great knowing the petty rules, but maybe the offside one is more important. The Bohs centre forward said he was 10 yards offside..........and he is right - 10 YARDS! You cant be getting it wrong by that much. Our player's second booking was avoidable too. He reacted angrily to not getting a free near the end. The ref was 5 yards away watching the centre back link him. A clear 5 yard view. You cant be getting them wrong from that distance. Get it right and there is no yellow card - no fine! The same guy (using rough numbers as example) was tackled 8 times - 6 were frees and 2 were great tackles......guess which 2 we got! A bohs player was booked cos he kicked the ball away because it was still in play and the ref blew. Ball was still in play - correct decision equals no yellow and no fine!
The subject of fines and money in general makes we wonder what we get for our money? Of the 23 participants on the field - 1 is paid. What accountability do we have for our money? In work, we all have to answer to the person paying us. What do we get? A letter....they dont even show up at the disciplinary meetings. We can write to the AUL, but I do think we need a clearer path so that the good points made by the clubs gets to the refs. I also think (with upmost respect to the AUL) that there should be club representation at the meetings with refs. We are the people on the coalface. Its not just €42 - lots of avoidable fines too.
excellent post horse know exactly where your comeing from.,but that 42 euros becomes 48 in a premier league game total disgrace.bad result for us too yesterday,when you score 3 goals you expect to aleast get something . not to be ,terrible goals given away and puts us in a right battle with knocka, blarney st to pull away from bottom.to be fair on our lads we tried to play but knockavilla are strong and the condititions suited them ..everything goes through robbie walsh who was excellent.felt so sorry for our centre forward who got three and was still on the looseing side.that was some win for yee scaffa .not an easy place to go and win at ,think i know reff that yere on about .,think a lot of teams have met with the gear problem