Results 1,161 to 1,180 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    ola bottom line he is the manager of a team from m.s,l, and should not be manager of aul squad at all.he has fellas like you doing his job.best way to see players in action is to watch them play with their clubs on weekends he cant do that as bandon are playing.trials and get togethers on all weather pitches isnt ideal.ive sen players be superstars on all weather pitches and only average on grass,.also i see a few others here agree, and dont worry i will let it be known at aul meeting.
    Ah but Shetland I'd be going to matches anyway - regardless of any involvement with the AUL panel - so surely its better to use that knowledge rather than discard it

Tell you what Shetland - why dont you outline your master plan for the AUL team? because as far as i can see you'll complain win lose or draw - why not put your neck on the line and apply for it next year??

Quote Originally Posted by The 'View View Post
    Lads with regards to Niall O'Regan, I've known him for years since he started his coaching career. Nice guy but does anyone feel he is using the AUL job to further his coaching career or CV. If its ok to appoint a MSL manager to manage the AUL side lets get a f**king good one. For me start at home ask Patsy Freyne, if he refuses ask Billy Cronin, John Caulfield, Phil Harrington etc. Alot of fuss has been made about Willie Bruton here but the guys mentioned before he'd hardly tie their boots. But in fairness played against Willie and is a great player, why isn't he on AUL squad? From looking at the panel no one really better than him. Is the manager intimidated by a League of Ireland player?
    The View i wouldnt be certain as I've had no dealings with any MSL club during my "club hopping phase" but i'm fairly certain that there would need to be an "incentive" for those managers you've listed to do it

Ola, both Patsy and Billy Cronin have managed The MSL squad on a couple of occasions and never recieved any compensation, which I persume is what your're refering too. Next AUL AGM check the financial report for miscellaneous, might want to question that.

I wouldnt dare mention money on this forum TheView - i dont get to go to AUL meetings that much anymore as I'm no longer a delegate - i will let that to Horse or indeed sheltand to question!!

Shetland you should check that out!

yeah make sure you do shetland - i for one will be putting your name forward for AUL manager the next time it becomes available regardless of the results this season

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    yeah make sure you do shetland - i for one will be putting your name forward for AUL manager the next time it becomes available regardless of the results this season
    ola dont bother.i wont be be interested. 32 years this year involved with my club and aul and am takeing a break at end of season. to be honest ive had enough .it gets harder every year..and ola this is an oppinion forum and i express mine.others like view and paceman seem to agree.also i can tell ya your clubs centre half would be on my panel if i was manager.
    Last edited by shetland; 24/01/2011 at 7:19 AM. Reason: spelling

ola dont bother.i wont be be interested. 32 years this year involved with my club and aul and am takeing a break at end of season. to be honest ive had enough .it gets harder every year..and ola this is an oppinion forum and i express mine.others like view and paceman seem to agree.also i can tell ya your clubs centre half would be on my panel if i was manager.
    So 32 years involved with the AUL and available at the end of the season - that ticks all the boxes - I'll propose it will anyone second it

You can call round and knock on my door anytime you want to discuss it ;-)

Grattan United 1 Coachford 8

Not much to report here lads, three points in the bag, seven different scorers. Blarney St. on Saturday will be a totally different prospect. Cant see Grattan seeing out the season if they are going to be suffering defeats like this every week, very hard on them, in fairness they conducted themselves well up to the final whistle which is a difficult thing to do so fair play to them in that regard. Cant see their better players like Figo stayin on and putting up with these kind of results though.

So 32 years involved with the AUL and available at the end of the season - that ticks all the boxes - I'll propose it will anyone second it

You can call round and knock on my door anytime you want to discuss it ;-)
    ola you can propose away it aint go to happen,when i go i go no football whatsover.,but having had a taste of it this year yourself you might be in the frame.

God no - i would miss being involved with a club!! Plenty more club hopping and knocking on doors left in me yet ;-)

lads think i might have got the ball rolling about pa o connor just want to clarify not his fault he called up because he great footballer if not the best midfielder in northside when he on his game and nice fella but one game of football all years having trained at all and in the squad now ye can say that dean being niall number 2 means nothing ps ye want to get yer heads checked

your dead right trouble something fishy alright.

21 Posts
    Grattan struggling big time
    That's sad to see but they'll be back soon enough.
    Very hard on the lads having to fulfill fixtures and take a hammering just to save the club.
    Not much fun in that for them.

24 Posts
    Lads, to be fair to AUL management this year, they did ask all clubs to put names forward, so I don't think anyone can say they didn't listen to suggestions on this very site. Looking at the squad it looks fairly strong and I don't think there can be too many complaints except for maybe the player mentioned here. But I do think it is at the managers discretion to pick the players he wants. Also Niall was managing in the AUL when appointed, things change and I'm sure he is committed to winning the Oscar Traynor Trophy. As I said my only complaint was how I felt my player was treated, whether he misunderstood the instruction or not. I think if there was 17 training on the night he was there, I know for a fact that most of that 17 were involved a lot longer in the set up, so would know the run of things, would it have been so hard for 1 of the management team to make sure he knew what was going on? I know how I treat any new player at my club' certainly a lot better than what he got on that night. Olachico you are involved so maybe this is something that you could make sure is addressed, as I do believe they do listen.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Triggs View Post
    Scaffa heard down in the anglers that Littleman took a training session with Bohs during the week. Any truth in this and if so is he gonna throw his lot in with ye. If it is true good to see him back involved after the way he was treated. What's the chances of pa Connors starting on wend for the aul after today's developments in leeside/knockavilla game???
    Nah Triggs he was nt at any training session but your right it would be good to see him back has a lot of experience in football..............as a matter of fact i think i saw him at our game on Saturday well i think it was him anyhow!!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

61 Posts
    Glenbuck - I dont need to explain the squad selection process to anyone! Clubs were complaining that players werent given a chance yet when clubs were asked to send players for a trial they didnt .
    Can I take it so that there is unrest in the camp and I can expect an MSL win ? I dont want an explanation on the squad selection process, as far as I can see there is no process, We could be waiting another 43 years before the Oscar Traynor is back on The Cork AUL sideboard.

What about Shetland/Olachio for joint management of the Aul team next year!!! Could be the solution to all this. Olachio it's commendable that you are defending the selection process and fair play to you for doing so but you can't defend a guy getting selected after playing only one game for his club. It makes a mockery of the trial games. And it will dis hearten fellas in the future. Just my opinion but there has to be more to it and it does look like dean Evans is behind it. All told it doesn't look right from the outside anyway.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    Nah Triggs he was nt at any training session but your right it would be good to see him back has a lot of experience in football..............as a matter of fact i think i saw him at our game on Saturday well i think it was him anyhow!!
    You couldnt have missed him Scaffa. Small and round. Joke.

Hey Scaffa, would littleman being playing or managing?