Page 29 of 74 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2010/11

Quote Originally Posted by Mega Tots View Post
    Some of the stuff that goes on with St Michaels is disgusting,last year was a disgrace what went on but no point bringing that up,the same ref in question gave incredible decisions against peake villa with his brother in law the manager of saints,where else would you get it? the whole country is laughing at the TSDL and of course an incident was going to happen eventually when Lewis sends family members to ref saints games,the whole thing is corrupt and the fixtures is another issue that everyone is aware of
    corrupt is a bit strong with the TSDL. maybe 'shabby' is the word..take the game last year with saints and town that was on the same day as the all ireland, could that have been changed to another night or day, might have got more in the gate, but no they decided to go ahead..who is calling these stupid decisions. megatots I feel your anger towards saints but this is down to the TSDL, who chose times and refs, not saints. I have played against saints and to say the ref was influenced by certain powerful players would be correct and very frustrating to see and be involved in....with the same bodies involved with the TSDL it will become laughable...again the situation with games that need to be replayed because of extra time not being played!is there anyone on this that can suggest anything that could make the league more exciting?because keep going the way it is it will lose to tv games and other sports.

Quote Originally Posted by rushy12 View Post
    corrupt is a bit strong with the TSDL. maybe 'shabby' is the word..take the game last year with saints and town that was on the same day as the all ireland, could that have been changed to another night or day, might have got more in the gate, but no they decided to go ahead..who is calling these stupid decisions. megatots I feel your anger towards saints but this is down to the TSDL, who chose times and refs, not saints. I have played against saints and to say the ref was influenced by certain powerful players would be correct and very frustrating to see and be involved in....with the same bodies involved with the TSDL it will become laughable...again the situation with games that need to be replayed because of extra time not being played!is there anyone on this that can suggest anything that could make the league more exciting?because keep going the way it is it will lose to tv games and other sports.
    Well as our Limerick friends will tell you Saints seemed to be all about the rules and fairness last year yet they never saw fit to tell Lewis that the managers brother in law was reffing their games and perhaps this was inappropiate?????????

saints are not breaking any rules , Pike did, which was proved so we are not going down that road. doesnt matter who is refereeing a game it could be my uncle rushy for example, if the game is being played well and not leaving it up to refs to make big decisions then who cares..now that we are talking about this surely some one will spot this and report it to the league so that these stupid and I repeat stupid decisions that are being made by the hierarchy of the TSDL, NOT BE MADE AGAIN. so megatots I ask you was it saints fault that this ref was appointed? no. you get on with it, and if you can give a roar that turns a decision so be it..we all have done it..plenty of clonmel refs going around the block over the years refereeing clonmel games..played a game years ago the refs son was playing!but good to debate about these thing as some of the efs are just cruel at times.

Your missing the point.....YOU CAN NOT HAVE A FAMILY MEMBER REFFING THE GAME.....and a club as big as saints should have the integrity to ring the league and say come on this is making us look bad as well....instead they are happy to take the advantage...it lacks class

Jesus to be fair when you put it like that its hard to argue with it,a few years ago Peake Villa arrived into the complex in clonmel with only 9 players and mckeever only started 9 players for Town and everybody at the game admired the class of Town so i see what your saying,a big club like saints should set an example

tony maher has often reffed matches when his brother, son and brother in law have played for killusty, paddy keane reffed a few games when his son played too

132 Posts
    refereeing is a minefield, but was speaking to someone today who had considered going to the referees course in cahir tomorrow, but was told if he did, he would have to cut all links with the club he was involved in.. couldn't even be a member of the club

Now lets be honest, football people are football people.. they are in it, because they love it.. and then if they try to make a contribution back as a referee, and God knows its hard enough to get people to do it.. they have to cut themselves off from any other part of the game completely.. that's crazy in my opinion

What difference would it make for a referee at a Dualla/Ballyneale 4th division game, if he was helping out to coach his own clubs schoolboys for example ? Nuts

The fixtures thing is always going to be a constant source of controversy. People say its a thank less job making the fixtures and yes it probably is but St michaels will always be seen as ones that do well out of it and its hard to argue against that. Clonmel Celtic had to play in cooke park earlier in the seaso at 8 o clock on a sunday night and this sunday they have to play at the highly unusual time of 4.30 I know for sure that it was not Clonmel Celtic that requested these kick off times and its certainly not done to facilitate them so I wonder what the reason was? In any event you can be certain that those kick off times were done solely to benefit St Michaels. I know if I was still a player I'm not so sure i'd be that willing to facilitate when the same thing would never happen for my club.

Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    refereeing is a minefield, but was speaking to someone today who had considered going to the referees course in cahir tomorrow, but was told if he did, he would have to cut all links with the club he was involved in.. couldn't even be a member of the club

Now lets be honest, football people are football people.. they are in it, because they love it.. and then if they try to make a contribution back as a referee, and God knows its hard enough to get people to do it.. they have to cut themselves off from any other part of the game completely.. that's crazy in my opinion

What difference would it make for a referee at a Dualla/Ballyneale 4th division game, if he was helping out to coach his own clubs schoolboys for example ? Nuts
    Ah refereein is a great hobby...thoroughly enjoy it, it was hard not to get urge to play again by god you do miss it but i can understand the stance on no more affliation to clubs because that can cause a minefield of trouble towards yourself which you can't stop.... people accusations of favourtism etc as every decision you make 50% will agree 50% won't its life....

thats a good point and I hope it never happens again it only brings controversy to a game before a ball is kicked. but to leave it now, its gone done and dusted. only thing I will say is that when your a good team or a strong team (saints, town etc.) you dont wait to see who the referee is, it shouldnt matter or worry a team that are decent. I hate when managers say 'lads todays ref is blah blah say nothing to him he will give us nothing and remember the time 16 years ago when he didnt give a peno' bulls**t like that, worrying about a referee before the game.. fellas should be going out to play knowing not to say anything and keeping their mouth shut..when was the last time a ref changed his mind..i think it should be mandatory for refs to meet the teams before a game and have a few words to let them know what he is about..some refs will say I will explain a decision if needed some wont. there is some idiots out there that shout and roar at refs over petty frees and throws, braindead. shouting at these refs is like asking cowen to step down (pointless excercise)

I agree with you about this craic of standing on the line and contesting EVERY decision,arguing over throws and frees 70 yards from your goals,it is ridiculous and there is one manager who is at it every week for 90 minutes and supporters on the line cant even enjoy a game he is so irritating

one referee who town hate gettin is johnny lyons, from time to time he definitly seemed to have a grudge against the club!

I agree with you about this craic of standing on the line and contesting EVERY decision,arguing over throws and frees 70 yards from your goals,it is ridiculous and there is one manager who is at it every week for 90 minutes and supporters on the line cant even enjoy a game he is so irritating
    I know who your on about, thats a distinctive voice tho! I am starting too feel your annoyance with Saints megatots..dont leave that fester into a personal thing! you will become an angry little man.

Quote Originally Posted by ComeOnTownNow View Post
    one referee who town hate gettin is johnny lyons, from time to time he definitly seemed to have a grudge against the club!
    In fairness i think Lyons accepted that himself and apologised which he probably deserves praise for although he really did "do" them in some big games

132 Posts
    Fully agree with the vast majority of that post.. but as for a referee changing his mind.. last Sunday, David Slattery scored a goal for Cashel which the referee gave, and then overturned after protests from Clonmel Celtic. Cashel were 2-1 up, that would have made it 3-1, and put them out of sight. Within 5 minutes, he had evened up the game, by giving a blatantly offside goal to Clonmel Celtic, who duly took the lead with a cracker only a few minutes later. He then "did" Clonmel Celtic, by giving Cashel a very dubious penalty in injury time. On balance, even as a Cashel supporter, he shouldn't have given the penalty.

The referee turned what was a cracking game, with not a bad tackle in it, into an absolute farce, simply because he bottled one decision, and then left everything else run away from his.

I do however like your idea of referees talking to teams, or at the very least, the team manager and captain before a game, and letting them know what he is about. I honestly think dealing with the referee should be similar to rugby, the captain being allowed to question a decision, and the captain only. If the referee's were willing to explain contentious decisions, then a lot of conflict could be defused.

lads i have been off dis a few weeks. just a few things.

1. In relation to the Saints v Celtic game being on at 4.30 everyone should be happy anyone that wanted to go but had a game clashing can now make what should b a cracking game of football between two super teams.

2. I would like to voice my annoyance at all the criticism being leveled toward a great club like St. Michael's with some of the above posts. It is testament to Michael's that you never see any of their supporters on this slagging off other clubs.

3. The ironic thing is that I recently spoke to a player in the TSDL and he told me of a certain center forward that he is friends with that plays in the TSDL for 1 of the big 2 clubs that has up to or over 4 to 5 usernames on this forum and keeps posting comments about himself in regard to how many goals he has so far, how hasn't he been capped for Ireland and so on and now the same fella is trying to drag down the good name of St. Michael's FC.

4. The club that this player plays for was a great club before he ever joined them and will be a great club when he leaves.

apologised?? did i miss something hooper??? fill me in "s'il vous plait"

Quote Originally Posted by ComeOnTownNow View Post
    apologised?? did i miss something hooper??? fill me in "s'il vous plait"
    I heard at the start of this seaon he spoke to a committee member and said he wanted a clean slate and admitted maybe he got a couple of calls wrong

fair play to him if he did but by god he got an awful lot wrong, last year up in cooke park in the tipp cup i heard town were robbed (i think) johnny is actually an alright fella off the pitch but cudnt understand some of his decisions! hopefully thats put to bed!

Was there any games played today? Both Celtic games were off.

Page 29 of 74 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast