Results 1,661 to 1,680 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    We have been drawn against Blarney St in the AOH cup, don't expect much from game but can anyone give us some tips on them!
    Blarney Street will strong enough radiostar. Good footballers all over the park. Probably not the most physical of teams especially up front and on the wings.

Leeside, grattan should be a great game on Sunday.

Fantastic weekend again for all 3 leeside teams, 2 weeks in a row now that all 3 teams won.
    Leeside A champs and i would give chumps to village.
    Everyone cant wait for next sunday morning against the gratts, should be cracker of a game and hopefully weather will stay good for it.

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    You wont be hearing anything from me about the referee or any other referee !! But yes the game was a cracker! We led twice and got pegged back twice!! Any news on the player who was injured owl????
    surely if a referee is that bad it should be highlighted olachico

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    surely if a referee is that bad it should be highlighted olachico
    I disagree Shetland - i dont see what it will achieve to be honest!
    Last edited by olachico; 08/02/2010 at 8:19 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    I disagree Shetland - i dont see what it will achieve to be honest!

Might force them to up there standards and stop ruining our games, cos quite frankly the standard is going down hill fairly rapid

Re; Bohs-Passsage

Lots of fuss about the Ref been made here but in fairness he didnt have it easy with 2 childish teams on Saturday.Two of Bohs sending offs were IMO correct and the Passage one was a dead cert but its only an opinion and doesnt matter a whole pile.In truth Passage could have wrapped up the game before halftime but squandered chance after chance.Bohs kept playing and could have levelled matters as Passage were too busy conceding free kicks around the box and then moaning about it instead of getting on with things.Overall a fair result Bohs were in too many cups ant this should kick start their league again
    Marty

Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    Might force them to up there standards and stop ruining our games, cos quite frankly the standard is going down hill fairly rapid
    Look at how it helped Man Utd recently when Sir Alex slated a refereee - where did it get them???

Are people that naive to think me saying something on here about a ref will make any difference - I mean no offence by saying that but seriously have a think about it -

Champs ; For me it was Macroom B. Although they lost it was a result that would better most teams that play down there at the moment.
    Chumps ; Has to be Village, normally a very good cup side but were undone by carrig on this occasion. Good result for Carrig but a poor one for the prem side.

Ballyvolane 2 Blackstone 2
    Have to say it was a cracker of a game with both sides not giving an inch. A tough, physical affair that saw about 5 or 6 yellow cards and a sending off (harsh). Saying that it far from being a dirty game. Fell behind twice but levelled it up and to be honest it could have been 4-4 !!!!
    One of our player got injured during the game and although it was thought to have been serious, it turned out that nothing wa broken but he will be out for some time. Alot of credit to those who quickley got the player wrapped up, into a car and off to the hospital within a few minutes. Our own Dave Hickey and a few Blackstone lads oviously knew what they were doing.
    The referee.......no comment, although he got our second goal spot on even though there wasa big shout for offside !!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    Champs ; For me it was Macroom B. Although they lost it was a result that would better most teams that play down there at the moment.
    Chumps ; Has to be Village, normally a very good cup side but were undone by carrig on this occasion. Good result for Carrig but a poor one for the prem side.

Ballyvolane 2 Blackstone 2
    Have to say it was a cracker of a game with both sides not giving an inch. A tough, physical affair that saw about 5 or 6 yellow cards and a sending off (harsh). Saying that it far from being a dirty game. Fell behind twice but levelled it up and to be honest it could have been 4-4 !!!!
    One of our player got injured during the game and although it was thought to have been serious, it turned out that nothing wa broken but he will be out for some time. Alot of credit to those who quickley got the player wrapped up, into a car and off to the hospital within a few minutes. Our own Dave Hickey and a few Blackstone lads oviously knew what they were doing.
    The referee.......no comment, although he got our second goal spot on even though there wasa big shout for offside !!!!!!!!!!
    Should it have even got as far as the goal to even be considered offside owl ;-)

Glad to hear ye're player didnt break anything - its horrible when you hear a fella screaming and you know he is really hurt - doesnt matter whose player he is its only a game of ball at the end of the day
    Last edited by olachico; 08/02/2010 at 9:18 PM.

Wink

Good to see the CHAMPS & CHUMPS is going down well with everyone !!

To be honest chico it could have went either way.

we can all slate refs for dishing out cards etc but in the bohs v passage aoh cup game the weekend the two teams never crossed eachother or had any kind of altercations, the red cards were for lack of individual discipline, as both teams played a fair game bar the two red cards for the needless reactions of players and the others were justifiable bookings, the ref kept control of the game throughout, and as said earlier if it wasnt for the bohs keeper it would have been a walk in the park for the southsiders! Good keeper!!

Yeah have to agree owl - however i thought ye were the better side in Monard and we were the better side yesterday so on the balance of play 2 draws between us was fair enough

Quote Originally Posted by marty View Post
    Lots of fuss about the Ref been made here but in fairness he didnt have it easy with 2 childish teams on Saturday.Two of Bohs sending offs were IMO correct and the Passage one was a dead cert but its only an opinion and doesnt matter a whole pile.In truth Passage could have wrapped up the game before halftime but squandered chance after chance.Bohs kept playing and could have levelled matters as Passage were too busy conceding free kicks around the box and then moaning about it instead of getting on with things.Overall a fair result Bohs were in too many cups ant this should kick start their league again

Childish?? What do you expect when a referee puts in a performance like he did, now this isnt because we lost the game because i hold my hands up we deserved to lose the game, as for passage shud have had this wrapped up at half time is the most in-accurate reading of a game i ever heard, apart from the penalty that our keeper saved brilliantly they had no other clear chances, in the 2nd half they really piled the pressure on as you would presume with us having only 8 men, and now to be totally honest as i mentioned earlier this would have been 5 maybe 6 nil if it wasnt for our keeper.

41 Posts

norrie news

Mario,lets be honest was it that it was that someone suggested ye for Chumps or was it that, that someone was me.

Look bud I based my selection on the fact ye were at home,an lost an had a few sent off.Their wasnt anything maliceious about it.

With regards to your post about the refs,Iv lost it big time in the past an it was all spur of the moment stuff an Iv regretted it big time.If a ref came on here an ran a player or club down we'd all be up in arms.Its a junior game an Iv been involved in it longer than most of ye an 3 things have always been the focus of grief,the standards of refs,opposition an grounds.Ya get good ones ,decent ones an poor ones.An if you think going senior solves the problems think again.For Gods sake we watch the Premier on tv each week an we hear managers say the refs are poor,an the managers get punished for it,an the same will come of negative comments posted on here in time.

I'll take a wild guess here but id say the majority of sendings off in the Aul are for retaliation an decent rather than dangerous tackles.So 2/3rds of um are down to lads not being able to control their heads or their mouths,the other goes under timing.So realisticly the ref only has a 1/3rd to be blamed for(if any) an the rest are totally in the hands or mouths of the players.

So it may be a better to try improve attitudes towards the man in the middle rather than gettin him on your bad side,which you will cause they do read these posts.All a few on here have tried to give ya a little advice so try to take it the way its been given.

I'd ask ye all to be very honest on this one lads.

If a team plays well enough an takes their chances an wins a good game,the refs dosent get a mention,or just a small one to say he had a good game.

But,If a team however under performs,an has a stinker,nothin goes right(we have all had um)then nearly always the ref gets the blame.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

I know littleman but we have got this ref twice in 3 games and he was just as bad the both times, and i heard the blackstone players were disgusted by his performance, sometimes its hard on players when the man inghe middle cant do what he is PAID to do

Oh and it wasnt because it was you it was just because i didnt think we deserved it fella thats all

71 Posts

Wierdos

Go on be honest.......ye all missed talking to people who ye mighnt recognise or whose names ye mighnt know!!!

On the refs thing, we were talking about it amongst ourselves after a few games over the season and decided that reporting is not an option, because it has not been proven as a successful method at all. Ranting is an equally unsuccessful route, with both methods open to unproven retribution. Who our players talk to on the street is none of our business really.

As general comments, I do believe both sides are at fault in most cases when "the ref was terrible". However, I do believe that a lot of these incidents are avoidable if there was propoer communication from both sides. A suggestion might be a monthly or bi-monthly meeting where honest discussions from both sides should lead to improvements. The best information will come from the coalface, so maybe 3 sides are needed - Refs, AUL & club reps. I HAD A DREAM...........

As for our game at the weekend, it was like what I had seen the day before at Anfield - less poison but same no prisoners attitude. A great game, I would have been heartbroken if we had lost it and so would owl so maybe a draw is ok. We led twice, Ballyvolane had a lot of ball but not as much as our home game, and we had a good chance to win in the final minutes again. The game had everything, great goals, good chances, cards.......and the best thing was after 180 minutes of full blooded players and the lines killing each other......in great banter......everyone shook hands and we shared tickets donated by Littlemans crowd in Murphys Rock. We even sold them Blackstone Lotto tickets!!

Glad to hear the player is ok Owl, the main Blackstone nurse can be revealed as Chico himself! Otherwise we are nearly back to spit and tissue on our line!!!!!

Ballintotis in last 32 of AOH next week. Anyone play them this season?

Park utd 0 - Blarney St 1

Huge win for us down in mitchelstown on sat and one that moves us into 4th in the table... park will probably feel aggrieved not to have taken a point as they had a lot of possesion but never really ceated much... we scored early and really defended well after that which was really pleasing... very hard place to go down to and come away with the points so we were delighted...only dissapointment was the pitch down there... they played the game on there 2nd pitch which has a huge hill on it and is very hard to play football on so it makes the result all the more pleasing for us....
    im not going to get involved in this champs and chumps thing cant help feeling it will lead to some serious fall out soon...its all very well until your team gets murdered here as some pople just cant take criticism of there own team..fair play to mario for taking it on the chin i hope everyone else will when there turn comes.. and well done again to leeside great result...
    as regards the refs my own opinion is its not going to help anyones cause slating anyone here as there is a lot more people read this forum than there is post and that includes refs so you wont do your team any favours... regardless of them being good or bad we cant play without them so best just to get on with it...i think the aul could come up with some system where the each ref gets graded by all the teams in his section at the end of season and if there was a name cropping up a lot then they could deal with it in some form....
    Shetland im sure at this stage now ye dont need many tips on us....

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    With regards to your post about the refs,Iv lost it big time in the past an it was all spur of the moment stuff an Iv regretted it big time.If a ref came on here an ran a player or club down we'd all be up in arms.Its a junior game an Iv been involved in it longer than most of ye an 3 things have always been the focus of grief,the standards of refs,opposition an grounds.Ya get good ones ,decent ones an poor ones.An if you think going senior solves the problems think again.For Gods sake we watch the Premier on tv each week an we hear managers say the refs are poor,an the managers get punished for it,an the same will come of negative comments posted on here in time.

I'll take a wild guess here but id say the majority of sendings off in the Aul are for retaliation an decent rather than dangerous tackles.So 2/3rds of um are down to lads not being able to control their heads or their mouths,the other goes under timing.So realisticly the ref only has a 1/3rd to be blamed for(if any) an the rest are totally in the hands or mouths of the players.

So it may be a better to try improve attitudes towards the man in the middle rather than gettin him on your bad side,which you will cause they do read these posts.All a few on here have tried to give ya a little advice so try to take it the way its been given.

I'd ask ye all to be very honest on this one lads.

If a team plays well enough an takes their chances an wins a good game,the refs dosent get a mention,or just a small one to say he had a good game.

But,If a team however under performs,an has a stinker,nothin goes right(we have all had um)then nearly always the ref gets the blame.
    Lads just to reiterate what Littleman has said and i have said earlier , there is just no point in slating people on here it achieves nothing . With a little detective work though can anyone spot the similarity between the Bohs/Passage game and the Ballyvolane/Blackstone game????

Quote Originally Posted by Gaz123 View Post
    also coachford had a good win the weekend should start climbing up the table if they get a run of good results!
    One game at a time Gaz.
    Came back from one nil down to get a valuable 3pts, Badly wanted.
    Huge Game again this weekend, fingers crossed we can keep it going.
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.