Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Shams away - Match thread

Can't believe some people have written off Holmes already.

One poor enough game and one mistake in a game which he actually did very well in, does not make a bad player.

[quote=avvenalaf;1123119]
    Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    Friday night was really disapointing,

Flap,flap, flap - wow it didnt take the 'i told you' so brigade to start.
    You have to wonder about some people,

No, you don't have to wonder about some people at all. Just ignore us and bog the ould head in the sand. You'll be grand.
    The reason it didn't take the I told you so brigade long to start is that it didn't take long for the I told you so brigade to be proven right.
    A Pat's win next weekend and the Galway match becomes a cup final.
    We have gained 1 point extra than what we gained on those fixtures last year, deal with that bit of spin avvenalaf .

Lads we are two games into the season lets allow things to settle down a bit first and get some players like Mauro Almeida back in the team. Also Torpey i want to see more of him he seemed to have some football in him.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Can't believe some people have written off Holmes already.

One poor enough game and one mistake in a game which he actually did very well in, does not make a bad player.
    defending wise hes not great for a team that wants to be at the top

151 Posts
    [QUOTE=Rovers Maniac;1123137]
    Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post

We have gained 1 point extra than what we gained on those fixtures last year, deal with that bit of spin avvenalaf .

Lads we are two games into the season lets allow things to settle down a bit first and get some players like Mauro Almeida back in the team. Also Torpey i want to see more of him he seemed to have some football in him.
    The real spin merchants are the ones who claim that we finished fourth in the league last year and who eulogised Cook for that fact. We were actually eight points behind fourth place.

And of all the teams that finished on a full-time set up we were last. That is something that some people have tend to have forgotten. There is a huge advantage to teams on full time set ups and we have that advantage. We are full time and should be challenging at the top end of the table every season. Just remember that.

As for the Holmes debate. I've watched enough players over my lifetime to know the difference between a good player and a bad player. And after seeing him playing 180mins for Rovers and probably triple that for Finn Harps I know he is a bad player, or even worse. He is not good enough for us or any team in Europe for that matter, he belongs in the first division, if he was any good Derry would have kept him.
    Last edited by Inside Man; 15/03/2009 at 8:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    And of all the teams that finished on a full-time set up we were last. That is something that some people have tend to have forgotten. There is a huge advantage to teams on full time set ups and we have that advantage. We are full time and should be challenging at the top end of the table every season. Just remember that.

As for the Holmes debate. I've watched enough players over my lifetime to know the difference between a good player and a bad player. And after seeing him playing 180mins for Rovers and probably triple that for Finn Harps I know he is a bad player, or even worse. He is not good enough for us or any team in Europe for that matter, he belongs in the first division, if he was any good Derry would have kept him.
    I actually never said that Inside man, it was avvenalaf the quote is from, not sure what messing is going on.

Edit: Just edit it at the top and take my name out actually and it will come up as a quote from avvenalaf.
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 15/03/2009 at 7:53 PM.

Rubbish, what about Drogs and Galway? Change that quote in your previous post i never said it.

151 Posts
    No, Maniac, but I bet you wish you did

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Rubbish, what about Drogs and Galway? Change that quote in your previous post i never said it.
    I did say who finished Full time. Galway did not finish full time and Drogs... well they simply imploded and their players weren't even getting payed and not putting in the effort at the end. They would have finished ahead of us if they didn't get that points deduction.
    Just worth a mention that in 2yrs Cook has only won one cup game. What I am trying to say is some of the lads on here blow him way out of proportion.

**Indeed edited. Sorry about that i think avvenalaf was playing tricks.

They would have finished ahead of us if they didn't get that points deduction.
    Check again, no they wouldn't have.

151 Posts
    Check again, no they wouldn't have.
    Team P W D L F A GD P GSPG GCPG TGPG
    Bohemians 33 27 4 2 55 13 42 85 1.67 0.39 2.06
    St Patricks Athletic 33 20 6 7 48 24 24 66 1.45 0.73 2.18
    Derry City 33 16 10 7 46 25 21 58 1.39 0.76 2.15
    Cork City 33 15 11 7 45 28 17 46* 1.36 0.85 2.21
    Sligo Rovers 33 12 12 9 41 28 13 48 1.24 0.85 2.09
    Drogheda Utd 33 12 9 12 38 32 6 35* 1.15 0.97 2.12
    Bray Wanderers 33 11 6 16 28 52 -24 39 0.85 1.58 2.42
    Shamrock Rovers 33 8 13 12 33 35 -2 37 1.00 1.06 2.06
    Galway Utd 33 8 8 17 34 49 -15 32 1.03 1.48 2.52
    Finn Harps 33 9 4 20 26 53 -27 31 0.79 1.61 2.39
    Cobh Ramblers 33 6 8 19 27 55 -28 26 0.82 1.67 2.48
    UCD 33 4 9 20 19 46 -27 21 0.58 1.39 1.97

Notes

* Deducted 10 points for being involved in examinership process as per section 3.12 of the Licensing Manual.

DO THE MATH, BABY, DO THE MATH.

Oh i know mathimatically they wouldn't have. I knew that typing it. Trust you to keep me on my toes Sligoman. But what i am saying when a team gets docked points it takes the wind out of them and it seems they have nothing to play for. What i am saying is, imo, if Drogs didn't get docked their points last year they would have finished ahead of us. Exuse me for not highlighting the in my opinion part in the earlier post.

I did say who finished Full time. Galway did not finish full time and Drogs... well they simply imploded and their players weren't even getting payed and not putting in the effort at the end. They would have finished ahead of us if they didn't get that points deduction.
    Just worth a mention that in 2yrs Cook has only won one cup game. What I am trying to say is some of the lads on here blow him way out of proportion.

**Indeed edited. Sorry about that i think avvenalaf was playing tricks.

No Galway finished full time and so did Drogs, no point bending the truth to suit your story lads.

Weren't Harps full time too? Or near enough anyway. Fairly sure they finished the season on a higher budget than us?

Yes they were, ooops Inside man and aavenalaf's story is starting to fall to peices

playing 180mins for Rovers and probably triple that for Finn Harps I know he is a bad player, or even worse..
    Love it.

With instinct like that, you could be the next Alex Ferguson.

Or just another know-it-all fan, with a crap opinion and just moans about eveything.

No, you don't have to wonder about some people at all. Just ignore us and bog the ould head in the sand. You'll be grand.
    The reason it didn't take the I told you so brigade long to start is that it didn't take long for the I told you so brigade to be proven right.
    A Pat's win next weekend and the Galway match becomes a cup final.
    Seems to me you’d rather see your prediction of failure come to fruition over the team being successful.
    I don’t understand that mentality nor would I want to.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    Seems to me you’d rather see your prediction of failure come to fruition over the team being successful.
    I don’t understand that mentality nor would I want to.
    Look, I've seen more crises in the Showgrounds than Elton John has seen hairpieces and if you have as much love for the club as I then fair play but I am signaling that, in my opinion, their is a major crisis ahead and it springs from the following.........
    1. The budget should not have been interfered with once set and agreed with FAI. If it goes wrong FAI have no ownership.
    2. When the manager walked, he should have been left walking. History shows it's foolish to go back.
    3. This squad is not good enough - too many guys who just can't hack it with Bohs, Pats, Derry and yes, even Cork, when they introduce themselves to each other.
    4. Above all times in it's existence this is one time when the club should ensure that it runs to budget as there is no point in going to the public anytime in the next three years asking them for something that they just won't have.

And finally, I hope to God I'm wrong.

Look, I've seen more crises in the Showgrounds than Elton John has seen hairpieces and if you have as much love for the club as I then fair play but I am signaling that, in my opinion, their is a major crisis ahead and it springs from the following.........
    1. The budget should not have been interfered with once set and agreed with FAI. If it goes wrong FAI have no ownership.
    2. When the manager walked, he should have been left walking. History shows it's foolish to go back.
    3. This squad is not good enough - too many guys who just can't hack it with Bohs, Pats, Derry and yes, even Cork, when they introduce themselves to each other.
    4. Above all times in it's existence this is one time when the club should ensure that it runs to budget as there is no point in going to the public anytime in the next three years asking them for something that they just won't have.

And finally, I hope to God I'm wrong.

1.Is the budget not FAI approved?
    Oh wait, it is.

2.History shows it's bad to go back?
    Stephen Kenny is having a nice time of it in Derry ain't he?

3. I thought we handled Cork fairly well last week.
    Mr Holmes had a great match bar his mistake and overall it was a great team performance.

4. We are within Budget. Hence why our squad is so small!

Regards,
    Chris

Quote Originally Posted by MickNolan View Post
    I don't think I heard youse apart from a small whisper when youse scored.
    we couldnt hear ye up the other end either

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast