Watch out for Eoin Torphy,has great potential. Good to see the manager having faith in locally developed talent.
You're not the only one we were very poor, i think if Shams had scored 3 or 4 i would not have felt hard done by. To be fair under Cook we have seen very few poor perforamces but this was one. I thought Torpey did ok when he came on other than that i thought we were poor. Noctor i felt for he should never have been thrown in at the deep end like that. O'Grady or Ryan never turned up either and they seem to run straight through us. Lets hope the lads can pick themselves up for Pats next week.
Watch out for Eoin Torphy,has great potential. Good to see the manager having faith in locally developed talent.
Torphy is originally from Dublin but his family are resident in Louisburg County Mayo for some years, he was developed through the now defunct Mayo Youth Academy.
Don't worry lads. Pats will get the back lash next week![]()
Last edited by hoop4life; 14/03/2009 at 11:52 AM.
Absolutely terrible performance, no effort from most of the players(reminds me of UCD away towards the start of last season) until after we scored. Playing Noctor was Cook's worst decision since starting McCormack in the Brandywell. You can't just throw Noctor in to a game like that. He even messed up the simple thing of stopping the ball when Brush gave it to him three fecking times. Don't want to just single him out as most of the players were bad but I just think Cook made a poor decision there. I really don't understand taking Ryan off either, Torpey did well but Ryan was playing well so unless he took a knock that substitution was odd. Parkhouse needs to learn how to jump, he has height but he doesn't know how to use it, Raf has more chance of winning a header than him because he's willing to jump.
I really hope Cook gave them a talking to after that because playing like that is unacceptable. We are a better team than shams but we let them win with that muck performance last night.
Would agree with everything sligoman said there. I think the whole back four need to do a lot of work this week,danny was very poor and holmes is just not good enough if we want to be a top half team. The sooner we get butler back the better. To be fair to noctor he was thrown in at the deep end and i thought he started quite well but maybe got a bit rattled after making one or two mistakes. Give him time though,hopefully the experience will stand him in good stead. We showed shams way too much respect. And we never got the ball in the box,i think thats something that will improve when doherty returns though.As sligoman said unacceptable performance,lets hope its not repeated!
morrison looked lively in second half. other than that, not too many positives. ye looked all over the place at the back. ventre was very poor. didn't agree with cook in persisting with cretaro and boco up front for so long. they don't have the height or physical strength to hold the ball up and every time the ball went up the pitch, it came straight back at yer defence. they were under pressure all the time. not saying parkhouse is great but he can hold up the ball better than the other two.
not a great start from ye
Flap, flap,flap - sound of chickens coming home to roost. Ventre can't play and Holmes wouldn't defend OJ with a bag full of gloves. Raf should have played right full and Parkhouse should have started and Cook should have been let go when he went.
I shall now enter my bunker ahead of expected shelling from heavy artillery.
Last edited by avvenalaf; 14/03/2009 at 6:21 PM.
well i did'nt get to the game but watched it on the telly and my heart missed several beats especially in the firt half. the defence was all over the "shop". however (not making excuses) we were without almeida and keane. we will have to improve big time next week. also the windy conditions are not condusive to the type of football we try to play on the deck. a few times we put some nice moves togeather but there was very little good supply to the front runners. also i think creataro should concentrate on playing the game and not keep arguing with the officials he has the ability but shold release the ball earlier when he beats a man . he has a tendency to over elaborate. however its early days yet and next sat night will be a big test. the big danger is if we keep losing games the crowds will fall off and the money will dry up so the players need to be aware that they are being well looked after and need to perform for the jersey. however i still believe in the team and manager and a bit of luck will kick start the season for us
Shambolic display. I feel sorry for the fans who travelled because they just don't deserve that. Great fans though heard ye singing throughout, but that team doesn't deserve ye.
Serious amount of work to be done. Holmes is muck. Not only his defending but some of his touches also, there was one opportunity where the ball was spread wide in front of him and holmes ran to the ball stopped and hoofed it, and this was with 30yards in front of him to run into and in the opposition half. What I am simply saying is i don't like the cut of him at all. Secondly the poor lad Noctor. I have to say i felt for him, with 3,500 people getting on your back its hard to raise your game but this fella is really out of his league. The defence was pathetic and they were all over the shop. No organisation. It wouldn't be harsh for us to be sitting here talking about a 6-0 thrashing. We were lucky. I have never been the biggest believer in Cook and Im sure most on here know that already, but the calibre of players he has brought in is frightening, and i wouldn't be surprised to see us battling near the bottom after that display of effort on friday. I think some people tend to forget we are a full time squad and playing against teams like shams, We should be giving them a game, because on friday those shams players looked fitter and more willing than us mand thats just not on. We are a full time club and should be at least finishing in top half of the league every season. Maybe all that is just the anger thats still inside me after seeing that on the box on friday so maybe its a bit ott.
But all that aside I'd be worried after that display friday against an average bunch of part-timers.
I guess we've gotta try and be positive.
We showed that we're capable of playing decent football, but only in patches last night. Too much hoofing from Peers, not sure where that came from. Noctor did alright, but got rattled after making a mistake and then kept making them. He doesn't deserve to be written off after making a few mistakes during his debut, on one of the season's biggest occasions. Morrison played well too.
As I said in the 'tonight's latest' thread on the main forum, it's the same old problem though, isn't it? Trying to pass the ball to death around the box, going from side to side. Nobody wants to take a shot or get on the end of something. At times, we're like a poor man's Arsenal. Parkhouse must start against Pats. We need to get points on the board soon. And the sooner we have Mauro back, the better.
Short and sweet, we were a mixture of sloppy and when we tried to play passing football in the first half we were closed down too easily which lead to the ball being given away. That lead to the hoofing off the ball but conditions and the way shams were playing left us stumped and with little other option than to hoof it. Thought Ryan should have been left on as well thought he was doing good.
I would hope next week we will be able to play football. No doubt we will perform better given better conditions.
Friday night was really disapointing,
It was definetly the worst display from a Rovers team under Paul Cook.
But lets not get carried away,
It took us 5 games last season to get a win and at this stage last season we were in a worse situation statisticly.
We’ll come good, its only two games in.
Flap,flap, flap - wow it didnt take the 'i told you' so brigade to start.
You have to wonder about some people,
Keep the faith lads.
Fair play to the Forza lads for organising the red flags etc on the night.
Great atmosphere for the entire match despite the result.
I say sign up Foyzer for LB til' July![]()
[QUOTE=srfc1928;1123041]Friday night was really disapointing,
Flap,flap, flap - wow it didnt take the 'i told you' so brigade to start.
You have to wonder about some people,
No, you don't have to wonder about some people at all. Just ignore us and bog the ould head in the sand. You'll be grand.
The reason it didn't take the I told you so brigade long to start is that it didn't take long for the I told you so brigade to be proven right.
A Pat's win next weekend and the Galway match becomes a cup final.