Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Shams away - Match thread

151 Posts
    And Stephen has won since he came back - exactly what??

So you have to win something to be successful? Oh and btw Derry won the league cup. Obviously to prove your point your going to say that cup is a pile of crap, but I can tell you if we won it nobody would be complaining.

The bashing of cook is amazing imo. And for feck sake will ye give holmes a bloody chance. It's also no surprise that our defense was poor the last night, we were missing 3 of our starting back 4. Nobody in the league could cope with that, look at pats against galway when they were missing harris and afew others, they conceded 3!

Personally I think cook made 2 mistakes the last night(wow sack him now). 1)Boco should have started right back with parky up front
    2) I thought richie was playing well and shouldn't have been taken off(and at that maybe he was unfit/injured)

Pessimists like inside man don't realise they are doing more harm than good by posting crap. To fear ya would be as quick to talk about how morrison looks to be a promising signing and did well than to say holmes is "muck".

Also I don't care what ye say but we finished 4th last year absolutely fair and square. Cork and drogs had 10 points deducted for the simple reason that they couldn't afford to pay the players they had signed. How can they not be punished for this? Otherwise we could sign ever good player in the league and win it easily!! Stupid logic. Take for example faz. We would have still had him if drogs didn't buy him(without fully paying for him and then were unable to pay his wages). That alone could nearly have made a 10 point difference between us and them.

Dissapointing performance tbf but KEEP THE FAITH!
    Last edited by Rovers fan; 16/03/2009 at 1:08 AM.

Thumbs down

I'm all for keeping the faith but there is a major issue with this group of players in that they didn't look fit in the match against Shamrock Rovers and played with little or no spirit. I don't think anybody who was there could be blamed for being a bit embarrassed by the pathetic display.
    Brush and Peers are a few pounds overweight, although they weren't our worst performers by a long shot. Boco couldn't run either and the performance of Cash was well below par. Not even a***d to chase down their full back an a number of occassions when he was literally only ten yards away.
    Now, all this would be okay had we somehow won, but we didn't because they were hungrier and fitter than us. Yes fitter than our full time, well paid squad. Roll onto Saturday night in a certain nightspot in Sligo. There thay are, no shame at all after what had taken place 24 hours previously. This is also okay except for three or four of them are looking what I would term s**t faced. Feeling up young ones, arguing with each other and picking fights with strangers. And, wait for it, they have training in the morning with a certain Gerry Carr. Couldn't care less these lads. Believe me.
    Far from sitting tight, refocusing and getting on the training ground in good shape to work hard there must have been more than a few of them with splitting heads and dodgy stomachs praying for this particular training session to be over.
    This is not good enough.

151 Posts
    Oh, the Lord save us, Dong but you are a brave man. Pull down the manhole over your head as there will surely be bombs falling on you. If you are a student of this board you should know by now that telling the truth as you see it is not an option and any attempt to **** on the parade led by St. Paul will be met by derision.
    Bless you, you are a true traitor to the cause.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    I'm all for keeping the faith but there is a major issue with this group of players in that they didn't look fit in the match against Shamrock Rovers and played with little or no spirit. I don't think anybody who was there could be blamed for being a bit embarrassed by the pathetic display.
    Brush and Peers are a few pounds overweight, although they weren't our worst performers by a long shot. Boco couldn't run either and the performance of Cash was well below par. Not even a***d to chase down their full back an a number of occassions when he was literally only ten yards away.
    Now, all this would be okay had we somehow won, but we didn't because they were hungrier and fitter than us. Yes fitter than our full time, well paid squad. Roll onto Saturday night in a certain nightspot in Sligo. There thay are, no shame at all after what had taken place 24 hours previously. This is also okay except for three or four of them are looking what I would term s**t faced. Feeling up young ones, arguing with each other and picking fights with strangers. And, wait for it, they have training in the morning with a certain Gerry Carr. Couldn't care less these lads. Believe me.
    Far from sitting tight, refocusing and getting on the training ground in good shape to work hard there must have been more than a few of them with splitting heads and dodgy stomachs praying for this particular training session to be over.
    This is not good enough.
    Agree on the fitness thing we were second to every ball on Friday night , Cook hinted it also in the weekender last week , the messing at the beginning of the season can't have helped he needs to bring them for a few runs up the sanddunes in Strandhill till they get fit an alcohal ban wouldn't be a bad thing either or drinks only allowed if they win would be a good performance incentive .

This is not good enough.
    To be fair Dong not saying you're lieing about the going out bit, but i have seen these lads out numerous times and i never seen them getting hassle let alone picking fights and would be amazed if they started now As for the highlighted bit don't think there is too much wrong with that imo, the last time i seen them it seemed to be the other way around. I think the lads are great ambassadors for the club around Sligo. None of them have ever got into any bother even around the town.

Look they played poorly it has not happened too many times under Cook. We were missing a lot of players as and Cook tried something that did not work. Lets see what happenes against Pats on Saturday night. The infighting and people wanting to see the club fall flat on its face so they can turn around and say "I was right" is pathetic.

Avvenalaf keep clutching at those straws my friend

Were'nt we in the same position this time last year? 2 games gone, 1 point? The usual begrudgers on this stupid forum going ape sh!!t because Boco had'nt scored a hat trick yet?! Butler had a shaky start,and was critisised here.... he ended up one of our most valuable players!
    Cook siad a few weeks ago to judge the team after 9 games, he would'nt have said that if he knew the team would gel after 2 games! Almeida wont be back for another 3/4 games from what im told, and when he returns it will be like a new signing, so Keane, Peers, Ventre and Holmes is our strongest back four, like it or not, and in football the back four and the keeper take the longest to get used to each other.
    Theres no point in having a go at any of the back 4 because they are the strongest option we have!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Were'nt we in the same position this time last year? 2 games gone, 1 point? The usual begrudgers on this stupid forum going ape sh!!t because Boco had'nt scored a hat trick yet?! Butler had a shaky start,and was critisised here.... he ended up one of our most valuable players!
    Cook siad a few weeks ago to judge the team after 9 games, he would'nt have said that if he knew the team would gel after 2 games! Almeida wont be back for another 3/4 games from what im told, and when he returns it will be like a new signing, so Keane, Peers, Ventre and Holmes is our strongest back four, like it or not, and in football the back four and the keeper take the longest to get used to each other.
    Theres no point in having a go at any of the back 4 because they are the strongest option we have!

And we have 1 more goal after 2 games this season rather than 1 last season .

Your totally right about the defense. We have 3 different players in our defense compared to last season, Ventre is only filling in at centre-back so lets not get on his back so early in the season. As is Holmes, you cant judge a player after 1 good game and 1 bad game, and wheter fans like it or not, he aint movin out of left back position until atleast July so ye'll have to get used to it. As for Noctor I think he has potential but that wasn't the right game to start him in, we need to give him the same backing we gave Coleman when he started out here because he didn't just instantly become our best player. The most promising of our defenders (excluding Peers of course) has to be Alan Keane, I know he only played one game but I was really impressed with him, solid,rarely out of position and wasn't afraid to get forward, if he keeps this up he should well be the perfect replacement for Coleman.
    Coleman for Ireland

151 Posts
    OK, I will make no further comment until after nine league games. Hope everyone is still at the club at that time.

186 Posts

Not a dig

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    OK, I will make no further comment until after nine league games. Hope everyone is still at the club at that time.
    Except for this comment avv.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

This is not good enough.
    Agree with this the fitness level of the players was a disgrace.

But okay I am going to take Avvenalaf's lead and leave it for a few more games simply because its clear alot of you young bucks on here love being in kookooland and paint this whole picture of everything is rosey in the garden when its not, and when someone comes along and tries to paint the unwelcome truth you all get very uneasy...... I take my leave on this topic, for now anyway.

This is all down to poor pre season with all the messing and uncertainty.The players look unfit and the small squad size means no cover.

People are more than entitled to their opinion. In saying that let me say this, have some perspective on the season FFS! Next negative comment leads to molestation and castration as a half time show against pats. We're two games in and have had a rougher pre-season than the whole of last seasons ups and downs. FICKLE KEYBOARD WARRIORS TAKE A BREAK
    Last edited by celticV3; 17/03/2009 at 2:15 AM.

do you ever sleep before 3AM CV3?? :P

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    do you ever sleep before 3AM CV3?? :P
    I don't sleep full stop!

I can't believe the fickle moaning nature of so many Rovers fans on this forum and in general. You'd swear we'll be fighting relegation the way some go on.

Same **** every year. This time last year, we had people booing the team off in UCD...

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    This time last year, we had people booing the team off in UCD...
    That was warranted Most of the stuff in this thread is not though.

No it wasn't. But that is neither here nor there

Roll onto Saturday night in a certain nightspot in Sligo. There thay are, no shame at all after what had taken place 24 hours previously. This is also okay except for three or four of them are looking what I would term s**t faced. Feeling up young ones, arguing with each other and picking fights with strangers. And, wait for it, they have training in the morning with a certain Gerry Carr. Couldn't care less these lads. Believe me.
    This is not good enough.
    They're a bunch of twentysomething fellas. Have you never gone out on the town the night before work? Maybe they were all feeling like crap after the defeat, and they arranged to go out to lift spirits?

I'm not necessarily agreeing with it, and maybe some law needs to be laid down by the management if it affects fitness, but when you have the likes of Terry and Cole from Chelsea out on a night before training, Sligo Rovers players are hardly going to be in bed by 7pm every night.

Of course I have Brian. And in a lot worse shape too!
    But in the context of what happened in Tallaght just the night before I stand by what I said.
    I hope that their spirits are duly lifted and that they can improve for the St.Pats game.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345