X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lim till i die
    • Mar 2004

I don't post that often here anymore.

Is this fella for real? Or a super try hard wum?

Wow.

Comment

• marinobohs
      • Mar 2009

Who would have thought, facilitating the crowd was more interesting (for some) than the game itself 😁

Honestly, some of the snowflakes on here are embarrassing.

Comment

• sbgawa
        • Aug 2016

snowflake with a chip on both shoulders

Comment

• marinobohs
          • Mar 2009

Originally posted by sbgawa
          snowflake with a chip on both shoulders
          Cliche overload 😁 perhaps we should open crowds ie 🙄

Comment

• Nesta99
            • Jul 2007

Debating overcrowding at LoI games is a touch of a stretch I will agree. Actual away attendance at the game in question isnt really the point. What is essential is that if or whenever it happens that there is an unexpected load on facilities/staffing available, that there is a timely response!!! Every club has an Event Controller, there is a Garda presence, and stewards need to be on the ball too. Seeing Ezeikial's observations of being there on the night as little more as being a wum, snowflake, ott, in any way is a risky business. It wasnt a Hillsborough or Heysel (as were included in the wiki link) but its not something to ever be dismissed!! Jaysus if anyone has ever seen the incredible way in which the Bradford tragedy so quickly got out of hand then general sense would suggest that quicker reaction may have been a consideration and discussed post match even at LoI games. Mostly in my experience issues have developed due to having one or two stiles open while selling tickets at that stile, with a batter of people outside frantic to get in to the ground. So far not to the extent of a major crush happening, but the same people that oversee these smaller games also oversee much larger events be it games in the Aviva, Croke Park, concerts etc. If they have been allegedly slow in managing 7 or 800 people then lets seriously hope its never 7 or 8000.

Ive been in Oriel during a few friendlies, one with Liverpool early 90's and it was f*cking horrible with 12k in the place that is no different than what is there today, the old Landsdowne when they still had the cageing on the south terrace circa 1995 and on both occasions it took no more than 10 minutes for the fun to turn to panic. In Oriel they passed kids (as I was myself at the time) over the then premiter fence with the touchline the 'overflow'. In landsdowne I ducked and dived toward the section gate and eventually a Garda opened the gate and people were falling out of the section breathless due to the crush (it was to the right and below where the old TV studio used to be looking toward the pitch). Now nothing ultimately happened these times bar a bit of a scare but if they were never discussed they could have been worse on another occasion. Its always a learning curve, should be seen as nothing else and never dismissed!! You wont get 12k in to Oriel Park in a hurry and those dividing fences in Landsdowne were taken down.
            Last edited by Nesta99; 14/03/2019, 12:33 AM.

Comment

• dundalkfc10
              • Jun 2011

Originally posted by Lim till i die
              I don't post that often here anymore.

Is this fella for real? Or a super try hard wum?

Wow.
              I have a feeling he is <Mod Snip>

Mod: Don't name people on here please.
              Last edited by Mr A; 14/03/2019, 12:15 PM.

Comment

• dundalkfc10
                • Jun 2011

Unfortunatley be less than 50 of us in Derry tomorrow night, No Bus Companies will take fans up there still.

Heading up with a mate in the car, looking forward to it and a few pre match pints with few Derry lads

Comment

• EatYerGreens
                  • Feb 2016

Originally posted by dundalkfc10
                  Unfortunatley be less than 50 of us in Derry tomorrow night, No Bus Companies will take fans up there still.

Heading up with a mate in the car, looking forward to it and a few pre match pints with few Derry lads
                  That's a real shame, and very behind the times too.

Sure the likes of Linfield, Glentoran, Coleraine etc have been playing there with no hassle. Bringing union and ulster flags with them, and singing 'party tunes' in some cases (i.e. Coleraine). If their fans aren't getting attacked despite all that, then Dundalk should have nothing to worry about. Though I get why the bus firms are still reluctant.

Comment

• dundalkfc10
                    • Jun 2011

Originally posted by EatYerGreens
                    That's a real shame, and very behind the times too.

Sure the likes of Linfield, Glentoran, Coleraine etc have been playing there with no hassle. Bringing union and ulster flags with them, and singing 'party tunes' in some cases (i.e. Coleraine). If their fans aren't getting attacked despite all that, then Dundalk should have nothing to worry about. Though I get why the bus firms are still reluctant.
                    Few seasons ago, buses were attacked on 2 separate occasions (local scum on way out of ground) and the bus companies won’t go anymore.

We get same bus driver every away game and he says every time it’s Derry, not allowed take use there.

Comment

• EatYerGreens
                      • Feb 2016

Originally posted by dundalkfc10
                      Few seasons ago, buses were attacked on 2 separate occasions (local scum on way out of ground) and the bus companies won’t go anymore.

We get same bus driver every away game and he says every time it’s Derry, not allowed take use there.
                      I know all that, but my point still stands. If union jack carrying Coleraine fans can go to a game at the Brandywell, sing GSTQ and the Sash, and then leave without incident, then Dundalk fans should have nothing to worry about (and by extension, the bus company).

I get the issue, But times have changed.

Comment

• mcgonigle
                        • Nov 2006

Originally posted by EatYerGreens
                        I know all that, but my point still stands. If union jack carrying Coleraine fans can go to a game at the Brandywell, sing GSTQ and the Sash, and then leave without incident, then Dundalk fans should have nothing to worry about (and by extension, the bus company).

I get the issue, But times have changed.
                        The bus companies are basing their decision on experience. This was not 10 years ago, it was as recent as 2 and 3 years ago, it happened multiple times and was not isolated to Dundalk. Why would they take the chance? While it might not have happened since the redevelopment Derry cannot guarantee it will not happen again

Comment

• Nesta99
                          • Jul 2007

Its understandible from the coach companies I suppose. But things do change, it will probably take a while for the companies to get the message though. It is a shame as Derry is one of the best away trips, always a great chat with the Derry fans in the pubs before the game. How's the atmosphere in the new Brandywell? Ive yet to visit and crowds are up after a few lean years. There was always a cracking atmosphere, especially back in the heady days of the late 80's between Dundalk and Derry...that penalty in the cup final was more than made up for the following year!!! ;p

Comment

• Nesta99
                            • Jul 2007

Originally posted by mcgonigle
                            The bus companies are basing their decision on experience. This was not 10 years ago, it was as recent as 2 and 3 years ago, it happened multiple times and was not isolated to Dundalk. Why would they take the chance? While it might not have happened since the redevelopment Derry cannot guarantee it will not happen again
                            Can any club really make any guarantees!?

Comment

• dundalkfc10
                              • Jun 2011

Originally posted by Nesta99
                              Its understandible from the coach companies I suppose. But things do change, it will probably take a while for the companies to get the message though. It is a shame as Derry is one of the best away trips, always a great chat with the Derry fans in the pubs before the game. How's the atmosphere in the new Brandywell? Ive yet to visit and crowds are up after a few lean years. There was always a cracking atmosphere, especially back in the heady days of the late 80's between Dundalk and Derry...that penalty in the cup final was more than made up for the following year!!! ;p
                              Can’t wait for a few pints up there tomorrow, heading up at 3 to a have a few pre match. The locals/fans in the pubs be 100%

Comment

• Nesta99
                                • Jul 2007

Enjoy! Wish I was able to go myself. Ye ould be in the pub by 5.30 so enough time to get 1 or 2 more than a few - make up for the lack of cans not bussing it

Is the Brandywell Pride supporters group still on the go? Whenever they were at a match in Dublin they'd head home via Dundalk and in to Oriel for a few beers. Couple of time the Lillywhite was opened up for them and there was even chips and cocktail sausages ordered in from Mullens for them. Good bunch of lads! We were a 1st Division club then so about as close as it got to premier division football in Oriel then...
                                Last edited by Nesta99; 15/03/2019, 9:00 AM.

Comment

Working...