X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BonnieShels
    • Jan 2009

Get out for that one.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Comment

• Charlie Darwin
      Banned. Children Banned. Grandchildren Banned. 3 Months.
      • Jan 2010

Originally posted by geysir
      Since this thread began I have come to the understanding that when FIFA refer to association territory they are not referring to the the area of jurisdiction for the association. The eligibility of Bruce in 2006 confirms this interpretation. Even if the Channel Islands are under the English FA, they do not reside inside the territory of the English FA.
      Hmm, yeah I see your point. I was using the Bruce example to show national selection relies on more than just geography but I see it can be argued the other way too.

It seems a bit silly that FIFA would allow a loophole like that (Pitman doesn't appear to have any connection to Wales) but I guess like anything else they'd probably take the path of least resistance.

Originally posted by boovidge
      I wonder why the channel islands dont have a fifa recognised team? Surely they have as much claim as the faroe islands for example.
      The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier, and Le Saux went to school in England. They're pretty protective of their sovereignty so they're probably reluctant to join together for a sports team like the Faroes.

Comment

• Stuttgart88
        • May 2004

An Irish friend of mine played for the Channel Islands in the World Island Games. Just thought I'd throw that in.

Comment

• The Fly
          • Sep 2008

FFS, if anyone wants to pursue this fascination with the channel islands further - Bergerac is repeated daily on the 'Alibi' channel!

Here's a taster to get your mouth watering.....

Last edited by The Fly; 03/10/2010, 8:58 PM.

Comment

• The Fly
            • Sep 2008

Secondly, in an effort to get the thread back on track, (though I appreciate that may not be wholly well received ), the IFA must be applauded for one act, namely, prohibiting the appearance of this 'harmless' little banner at future Northern Ireland internationals.

Last edited by The Fly; 03/10/2010, 9:49 PM.

Comment

• Predator
              • Apr 2009

Whoever came up with that banner must be a genius. Bet they're raging they can't show off their wit.
              End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

Comment

• Charlie Darwin
                Banned. Children Banned. Grandchildren Banned. 3 Months.
                • Jan 2010

haha that's pretty good actually

Hand of Prod was funnier though.

Comment

• geysir
                  • Apr 2005

Is that a green UJ, cast off in a heap?

In general I'd agree, these Nordie kids who support the Republic should never forget who owns them.

Comment

• Gather round
                    • Apr 2006

At least the team would play for (the) Jersey
                    No need to be Sarky.

Comment

• BonnieShels
                      • Jan 2009

Is that the most amount of jokes ever told about the channel islands?
                      DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Comment

• Lionel Ritchie
                        • Nov 2003

Originally posted by The Fly
                        Secondly, in an effort to get the thread back on track, (though I appreciate that may not be wholly well received ), the IFA must be applauded for one act, namely, prohibiting the appearance of this 'harmless' little banner at future Northern Ireland internationals.

Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there.
                        " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Comment

• Predator
                          • Apr 2009

In general I'd agree, these Nordie kids who support the Republic should never forget who owns them.
                          Well, this is it, isn't it?
                          End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

Comment

• Gather round
                            • Apr 2006

Originally posted by Charlie Darwin
                            The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier
                            Trevor Wood- from Jersey, one cap for NI in 1995.

Originally posted by Lionel Ritchie
                            Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there
                            So it will survive the campaign then? Probably joined by others in similar vein, I expect
                            Last edited by Gather round; 04/10/2010, 10:50 AM.

Comment

• Lionel Ritchie
                              • Nov 2003

...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.
                              " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Comment

• Gather round
                                • Apr 2006

Originally posted by Lionel Ritchie
                                ...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.
                                Of course, but as its purpose is mainly to get on TV and irritate RoI fans, it doesn't really matter whether it shows home or away.

As I've pointed out on this and similar threads, the reaction to the FAI picking Northern players (by both IFA and fans) looks hysterical, even vindictive. That said, the banner's just a gag, neither racist nor particularly tasteless. You're overreacting- and little point getting too upset, I reckon this may become the norm.

Comment

Working...