Thanks for visiting Foot.ie. If you would like to post on Foot.ie, please register. If you have any questions, please check the FAQ.
Obv the site is back up and upgraded, obv there's some things that need to be fixed, however I've been at it all day so I'll come back to it tomorrow. Feel free to add to the list here.
Since this thread began I have come to the understanding that when FIFA refer to association territory they are not referring to the the area of jurisdiction for the association. The eligibility of Bruce in 2006 confirms this interpretation. Even if the Channel Islands are under the English FA, they do not reside inside the territory of the English FA.
Hmm, yeah I see your point. I was using the Bruce example to show national selection relies on more than just geography but I see it can be argued the other way too.
It seems a bit silly that FIFA would allow a loophole like that (Pitman doesn't appear to have any connection to Wales) but I guess like anything else they'd probably take the path of least resistance.
Originally posted by boovidge
I wonder why the channel islands dont have a fifa recognised team? Surely they have as much claim as the faroe islands for example.
The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier, and Le Saux went to school in England. They're pretty protective of their sovereignty so they're probably reluctant to join together for a sports team like the Faroes.
Secondly, in an effort to get the thread back on track, (though I appreciate that may not be wholly well received ), the IFA must be applauded for one act, namely, prohibiting the appearance of this 'harmless' little banner at future Northern Ireland internationals.
Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier
Trevor Wood- from Jersey, one cap for NI in 1995.
Originally posted by Lionel Ritchie
Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there
So it will survive the campaign then? Probably joined by others in similar vein, I expect
Last edited by Gather round; 04/10/2010, 10:50 AM.
...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.
Of course, but as its purpose is mainly to get on TV and irritate RoI fans, it doesn't really matter whether it shows home or away.
As I've pointed out on this and similar threads, the reaction to the FAI picking Northern players (by both IFA and fans) looks hysterical, even vindictive. That said, the banner's just a gag, neither racist nor particularly tasteless. You're overreacting- and little point getting too upset, I reckon this may become the norm.
Comment