View Full Version : Georgia game at risk?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11

Kilcruise
21/08/2008, 8:24 PM
tbilisi oh how we will remember it, yes tickets got , away we go

21/08/2008, 8:26 PM
At this stage we're going even if the game isn't on in Tbilisi................provided the Russians are not within 20km. Flights are paid for so no point in wasting them!

Anyone else interested in watching the game in a bar in Tbilisi????

If you have travel insurance you will get your money back on your flights and you can go to where the game is actually on and see it live.

Kilcruise
21/08/2008, 8:31 PM
go on reddladd you mad thing :eek: geerrr up outha dat

21/08/2008, 9:27 PM
If you have travel insurance you will get your money back on your flights and you can go to where the game is actually on and see it live.

Not true unfortunately in all cases. My travel insurance won't refund. they also say I'm not covered if I travel to Tbilisi.

I'm still waiting for a callback too from them.

21/08/2008, 9:39 PM
Shower of feckers. Are they not obliged if the DFA recommend you do not travel

ORPCS
21/08/2008, 9:52 PM
Expedia / Turkish Airlines cancelled my flight to Tbilisi. I've flights with ryandirt and pegasus air as far as Istanbul.

Irish Star said Georgians were looking at London or Munich - I could do flights from Istanbul to Munich for a song and have a decent trip out of this.... or else its London and a Kilburn drinkathon (and not really caring what venue the match was played).

Prefered choice would be either wathcing the match in a bar in Tbilisi (travelling overland)... or else Trabzon and a black sea headersville.

Sligo Hornet
22/08/2008, 7:15 AM
im going if the game is on in tbilisi. at this stage it has to be done,

Be careful "Saint" Tom.......don't be a martyr!;)

Sligo Hornet
22/08/2008, 7:48 AM
The latest news from the Irish Times seems to put Munich in pole position

EMMET MALONE
INTERNATIONAL NEWS: FOLLOWING an apparent softening of Fifa's position on the issue, the FAI has renewed its call on soccer's world governing body to switch the venue for next month's qualifying game against Georgia unless it can guarantee the safety of the Irish team and supporters.
Association officials expressed concern that, after deciding on Tuesday the Georgians would have to nominate a neutral venue for the game, Fifa had appreciably changed its position.
Yesterday a statement on Fifa's website revealed it was continuing to monitor the situation in Tbilisi. The statement added the city nominated by the Georgians as an alternative to the capital would be used only if it were finally concluded the game must be moved.
"Fifa will assess the very latest situation in the country as of 26 August 2008 - the deadline given to the Georgian Football Federation (GFF) for them to announce an alternative venue for their qualifying match against the Republic of Ireland, scheduled for 6 September 2008," read the statement.
"Fifa has asked the GFF to name an alternative venue for this match by 26 August 2008 in order to be prepared, should the situation in Georgia still require a neutral venue."
The Georgians confirmed that they are hopeful that the game might staged on home soil after all. "If the Russian occupiers leave our country," said GFF spokesman Alexander Tsonbiladze, "then we hope that the game will go ahead in Tbilisi." If that proves impossible, he said, the Georgians' preference is to stage the game in southern Germany, possibly in Munich, so as to facilitate an easy transfer to Udine, in north west Italy where the Georgians play again four days later.
An FAI spokesman had earlier acknowledged that the issue of where the game should be played remained one for Fifa to decide but insisted Fifa must be certain the Irish travelling party's safety could be assured before requiring the team to play in Tbilisi.
"I have the greatest of respect for the Georgians," said the Ireland manager, Giovanni Trapattoni, yesterday morning, "and this isn't a question of whether I'm happy or not. I've been to Georgia many times. Tbilisi is a beautiful city. We are open to any decision about the game but Fifa must think seriously about the decision."

22/08/2008, 9:13 AM
I am all for Southern Germany. That would be perfect and not that hard to get down to Croatia and on to Montenegro.

22/08/2008, 9:27 AM
Nice to have a manager with a sense for the aesthetics who is diplomatic, courteous and able to express himself.

"I have the greatest of respect for the Georgians," said the Ireland manager, Giovanni Trapattoni, yesterday morning, "and this isn't a question of whether I'm happy or not. I've been to Georgia many times. Tbilisi is a beautiful city. We are open to any decision about the game but Fifa must think seriously about the decision."

22/08/2008, 9:37 AM
I'd be up for Munich as well!

22/08/2008, 9:37 AM
Shower of feckers. Are they not obliged if the DFA recommend you do not travel

I think the issue is that some of them dont cover "Acts of War"

22/08/2008, 9:41 AM
ya too true. a gentleman not a greasy thats for sure.

jees id love if it were in london but i cant see that somehow. might shoot over if in germany though depending how easy to get to!

22/08/2008, 9:48 AM
I was thinking Udine is very close to Slovenia, They should have it there and then a train ride down through Croatia or a bus ride could be a lot of fun.

Greenforever
22/08/2008, 8:06 PM
Not true unfortunately in all cases. My travel insurance won't refund. they also say I'm not covered if I travel to Tbilisi.

I'm still waiting for a callback too from them.

We got a refund from Czech Airlines in full, I belive the reason being that the DFA advice not to travel and the fact the ticket was bought in Ireland and flight originating in Dublin. The Dublin office agreed to the refund, no questions asked, saying they were aware of the war!,however their main offices didnt want to know.

HarpoJoyce
23/08/2008, 2:11 AM
Nice to have a manager with a sense for the aesthetics who is diplomatic, courteous and able to express himself.

You very correct, it gets reported as 'Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni said ......'

I know Mick McCarthy had to deal with alot of external forces and he came out with very simple appreciable stuff.

BradyIsMyHero
25/08/2008, 2:03 PM
Writing in Sunday Times yesterday, Paul Rowan reported that he had spoken on Saturday to VP of Georgian FA, Revak Arveladzi, who said that he was "increasingly confident" that the game would go ahead in Tbilisi. He also said his staff "were continuing efforts to find an alternative venue in southern Germanay or Austria should one be required." He ruled out both the Olympic and Allianz stadiums in Munich.

zenokelly
25/08/2008, 10:40 PM
Looks like either Poland, Germany, Austria or Tbilisi.

Have a hunch FIFA will go for the least controversial venue, Tbilisi.:ball:

http://irishexaminer.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=70750-qqqx=1.asp

25/08/2008, 10:51 PM
Krackow is a great city we would have a ball there, but I really do not mind where it is, Tiblisi would be good and I agreed with Liam Mackey the other day that it would be good to go over there and contribute it some small way to the rebuilding of the country.

Sligo Hornet
26/08/2008, 11:21 AM
This move by the Russians is certainly stoking the political fire again!:eek:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/7582181.stm

26/08/2008, 11:24 AM
This move by the Russians is certainly stoking the political fire again!:eek:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/7582181.stmIs it?

Its just a ratification of their existing policy.

26/08/2008, 12:46 PM
Today is D-Day for the venue, with no D met. :rolleyes:

26/08/2008, 1:47 PM
http://www.gff.ge/

stiofain
26/08/2008, 1:50 PM

Ah, that clears everything up!

Only messing, i'm pretty sure thats news of thier squad announcement anyway - the words in bold surely mean; goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders, strikers etc.

George2605
26/08/2008, 2:00 PM
Ah, that clears everything up!

Only messing, i'm pretty sure thats news of thier squad announcement anyway - the words in bold surely mean; goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders, strikers etc.

Indeed, that's just the squad. No official announcement has been made regarding the venue yet, with everyone hoping that it will be done either today or tomorrow. Hopefully it will be in Tbilisi (really, today's developments haven't changed much at all), but in any case we've got to know, one way or the other.

HarpoJoyce
26/08/2008, 3:25 PM

What Neil has provided is the source information. There's a small 'eng' on the extreme top right of the page for English readers. Also, here is the English page link.
http://www.gff.ge/index.php?lang_id=GEO&sec_id=1&lang_id=ENG

But, in my opinion, the English page will be one of the last sources to be updated with information on the alternate/considency venue, as the review of the Wales game was a day after.

26/08/2008, 4:42 PM
"We have made our appeal to FIFA, it is in their hands now and we await their response, but if they decide that we must play Ireland outside of Georgia, we would look to play the game in Karlsruhe," Georgian Football Federation Aleksandr Tsonbalidze told the Herald today.

more:
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/internationals/germany-calling-1463299.html

Greenforever
26/08/2008, 4:46 PM
Can't see the game being played in Tblisi at this stage, even though things seem reasonably calm, i doubt if the FAI's insurers will cover the team, and if this were to happen game is over. Insurance companies don't take risks as we all know.

26/08/2008, 5:25 PM
Looks like its fecking baden baden again, hope the same taxi driver is there, Greenforever, what you think.

BradyIsMyHero
26/08/2008, 6:10 PM
"We have made our appeal to FIFA, it is in their hands now and we await their response, but if they decide that we must play Ireland outside of Georgia, we would look to play the game in Karlsruhe," Georgian Football Federation Aleksandr Tsonbalidze told the Herald today.

more:
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/internationals/germany-calling-1463299.html

Old news regurgitated by the Herald. No statements from anybody today -either Georgian FA, FIFA or FAI.

We're still waiting

26/08/2008, 6:32 PM
Old news regurgitated by the Herald. No statements from anybody today -either Georgian FA, FIFA or FAI.

We're still waiting
This morning's Irish Times and Examiner said Krakow, Karlsruhe and Graz were the alternatives to Tbilisi. The Herald say:

"The Georgian FA today confirmed to the Evening Herald that they have selected Karlsruhe in south-west Germany as their first-choice for a neutral venue if FIFA decide to ban the match from going ahead in Tbilisi."

26/08/2008, 8:29 PM
TBILISI (Reuters) - Georgia's World Cup home qualifier against Ireland scheduled for September 6 will be played in the German city of Karlsruhe, the Georgian football federation (GFF) announced on Tuesday.

Last week, world soccer's governing body FIFA announced that the European Group Eight qualifier would be moved from Tbilisi to a neutral venue due to the tensions in Georgia following a military conflict with Russia over the breakaway South Ossetia province earlier this month.

The conflict erupted when Georgia sent in troops and tanks to try to take back the province, provoking a huge counter-attack from Russia.

FIFA set the GFF a Tuesday deadline to nominate a venue.

"We had several options but decided on Karlsruhe," GFF general secretary Ucha Ugulava told Reuters.

Georgia striker Alexandre Iashvili played for Bundesliga club Karlsruhe SC, giving the Georgians much-needed support from neutral German fans, Ugulava said.

After playing Ireland, Georgia travel to Udine, Italy, to take on the world champions in their next qualifier on September 10.

(Reporting by Vakhtang Bzikadze, writing by Gennady Fyodorov; Editing by Clare Fallon)

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/080826/2/1597t.html

Judging by that article I think Reuters are going on the original statement by FIFA which has obviously since changed. Georgia have gone with Karlsruhe in case it can't be played in Tblisi. I wouldn't go booking flights to Germany just yet though.

SUB of the day
26/08/2008, 9:21 PM
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/080826/2/1597t.html

Judging by that article I think Reuters are going on the original statement by FIFA which has obviously since changed. Georgia have gone with Karlsruhe in case it can't be played in Tblisi. I wouldn't go booking flights to Germany just yet though.

145 euro return with ryanair, dublin to baden baden, inc t&C'

26/08/2008, 9:49 PM
I would not book anything yet though. Nothing confirmed on the FIFA or FAI websites Yet and they could be just going on what the Georgian guy said.

Cowboy
26/08/2008, 10:08 PM
Thats a fair point. Myself and a few others have taken a punt on the ryanair flight. If it does not work out we are down 150 but what the hell.

I would not book anything yet though. Nothing confirmed on the FIFA or FAI websites Yet and they could be just going on what the Georgian guy said.

26/08/2008, 10:09 PM
Having already booked to Georgia via Riga I am not taking a punt until it is all confirmed. I a only going one way anyway and then try to get to Riga so I can hook up with my original route.

Greenforever
26/08/2008, 10:12 PM
Looks like its fecking baden baden again, hope the same taxi driver is there, Greenforever, what you think.

You are talking about the gorgeous Paris from Iraq I persume:D

Looking for her phone number,

Have booked flights into Frankfurt Hahn on friday morning, and on Sunday evening from Frankfurt Hahn to Bratislava, total €75 each.

We are travelling from Vienna to Pod on Monday as planned. Setting up a thread for anyone interested in sharing coach from Frankfurt to wherever the game is.

gwhite
27/08/2008, 8:02 AM
It's official, it'll be in Karlsruhe.

AidoM
27/08/2008, 8:03 AM
It's official, it'll be in Karlsruhe.

Where's that from it's not on FIFA or FAI site at the moment :confused:

BradyIsMyHero
27/08/2008, 8:14 AM
This morning's Irish Times and Examiner said Krakow, Karlsruhe and Graz were the alternatives to Tbilisi. The Herald say:

"The Georgian FA today confirmed to the Evening Herald that they have selected Karlsruhe in south-west Germany as their first-choice for a neutral venue if FIFA decide to ban the match from going ahead in Tbilisi."

Correction. I was clearly wrong on this one, and apologise to all concerned (even the Herald!)

Anybody know when today will the decion be given ?

gwhite
27/08/2008, 8:17 AM
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/soccer/georgia-qualifier-to-be-held-in-kalshrue-1463945.html

BradyIsMyHero
27/08/2008, 8:26 AM
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/soccer/georgia-qualifier-to-be-held-in-kalshrue-1463945.html

Is this definite ? It mentions "last night"

Nothing on FAI site

BradyIsMyHero
27/08/2008, 8:39 AM
Liam Mackey in today's Examiner says decision is to be made this morning

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=70848-qqqx=1.asp

Reality Bites
27/08/2008, 8:47 AM
27/08/2008 - 09:04:20
Republic of Ireland supporters can finally begin booking flights for the upcoming World Cup qualifier with Georgia.

The Georgian football federation confirmed last night that the game will be held in the German city of Karlsruhe on Saturday week.

FIFA had ordered that the game be moved from Tbilisi to a neutral venue due to the security situation in Georgia.

27/08/2008, 8:53 AM
I was in Karlsruhe in December. Lovely little city, very easy to get around with the trams and buses. Flew into Karlsruhe-Baden with Ryanair, it's about 40 mins I think on the coach into Karlsruhe. We stayed here (http://www.hotel-residenz-ka.de/eng/) it's nice, right outside the main train station and tram track. Didn't make it out to the stadium but pretty sure it's not too far out. Good luck to everyone who travels.

BradyIsMyHero
27/08/2008, 8:55 AM
27/08/2008 - 09:04:20
Republic of Ireland supporters can finally begin booking flights for the upcoming World Cup qualifier with Georgia.

The Georgian football federation confirmed last night that the game will be held in the German city of Karlsruhe on Saturday week.

FIFA had ordered that the game be moved from Tbilisi to a neutral venue due to the security situation in Georgia.

where is this confirmed ? Other media are saying decision will be taken this morning

27/08/2008, 8:58 AM
will it be possible to get tickets now if you hadnt gotten for them when it was to be in tbilisi?

BradyIsMyHero
27/08/2008, 9:04 AM
Seems to be definite now

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2008/0827/1219680055333.html

Dotsy
27/08/2008, 9:07 AM
RYanair aren't slow off the mark.

Over €200 one way to Karlsruhe on 5th Sept and the same coming back on SUnday.

27/08/2008, 9:08 AM
It still all comes from a Reuters quote from the Georgian guy who said that they would nominate Karslrhue but still want the game to be in Tiblisi. Its seems as if the first part of that sentance has been take and the secon part left out. My understanding is that FIFA are meeting as we speak.

If its a neutral venue it will be Karlsrhue but the neutral venue has not been confirmed by FIFA